iPhone 4 and iOS 4, Discussion Thread

triple02
post Jun 8 2010, 10:49 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(lck @ Jun 8 2010, 09:34 AM)
i called maxis and got one guy said that maxis gonna bring in the iphone4 and ETA could Q4 2010 or maybe next year...
Well I think that should be correct mate, since based on the release dates by Apple on WWDC we are not on the July release...most probably in September and thats ard Q4 of this year..

btw way guys....i read that iOS 4 has some issue's where there are some bugs...do you think itll be ok to upgrade from V 3.13 to 4 for I3GS?
triple02
post Jun 8 2010, 11:09 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(lck @ Jun 8 2010, 10:53 AM)
im definitely going to upgrade to OS4 when launched...cause gonna try out the multitasking and some other functions....about bugs..i think most of the device would have bugs...it will take time for them to rectify or future updates to fix...
allright thats great! thanks for the input! i think ill wait for the official release to come out on the 21st before upgrading! biggrin.gif

QUOTE(ataaan @ Jun 8 2010, 10:53 AM)
i already upgrade my 3.1.3 to 4.0 beta 4..
my iphone running just fine...
my MMS, Tethering, Camera can zoom n alot thing working fine
thanks ataan, just waiting patiently for the 21st for the official upgrade, the iOS4 features are really promising...

QUOTE(elainor @ Jun 8 2010, 10:55 AM)
cant wait it to be released in Australia...will queue up at the middle of the night to buy it^^ this is the first iphone that i would buy!!!
so lucky Australia is on the July release!! tongue.gif I always wondered whats the fuss surrounding IPhone's only when i got it i knew its more than just a phone! never regretted getting it eventhough it costs nearly an arm and a leg here in Malaysia, I'm sure you'll enjoy every it every minute

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Jun 8 2010, 10:56 AM)
Same here.

In fact,. already wrote a letter to Dear Santa for my X'mas present. tongue.gif
Iphone 4 or iOS4? tongue.gif ...i just got my Iphone about 1 month ago...cannot tahan the poison...wasnt sure when IP4 will be released but i guess it should be roughly in September or October 2010...now to save up for IP4 but i wonder whats the price is gonna be like..hmmm
triple02
post Jun 8 2010, 11:14 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Jun 8 2010, 11:10 AM)
it's been so long since i last see you in LYN. Iphone4 announced and you're back here.
I've always been here and some other threads posting actively...just that you've been searching me in the wrong threads tongue.gif
triple02
post Jun 8 2010, 11:26 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(x132755 @ Jun 8 2010, 11:17 AM)
the price also very nice in US just 199..
may same as the price 3gs b4...
now 3gs OMG...value drop hf..
we are not in the US fyi..rolleyes.gif plus even at that price you'll still need to have a contract with AT&T which balloons the price
plus do you really think Maxis and Digi are going to sell IP4 at those retail prices in the US? ..Economics 101

therefore dont worry people will look for a 2nd hand 3GS irregardless of the IP4. the second hand value for 3GS will only depreciate further is there is a Iphone 5 release if there is actually, like take an example your Iphone 3G now in co-relation to the IPhone 4 release...
triple02
post Jun 8 2010, 11:52 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(baby shane @ Jun 8 2010, 11:41 AM)
Buying an iPhone has got nothing to do with the software & technology crap.  Simply it is 'THE' phone to be seen with, the 'IN' thing.  It is just like buying LV bags, going green etc etc
come on bro...dont generalise, to a certain extent i do agree with you that IPhone is the in thing to be seen in but not all IPhone users cut out off the same cloth, taking from your context its like saying Nokia are meant for noobs who doenst know anything about phone's, Androids are for hardcore geeks that likes to customise their phones to infinity, Samsung and SE phones are for those fanboys. Well for me at least i got it because it does so many things for me so well compared to other phone's (not that it matters but i have a BB and an Android as well) its my own personal organizer heh...beats of hiring a personal assistant
triple02
post Jun 8 2010, 04:25 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(s3an_looi @ Jun 8 2010, 04:22 PM)
Kidding about the price.

How's the life cycle 1 year? I think with a phone like this it should last around 2-3 years.

Also I hope there'll be a product like this:
http://www.mophie.com/product-p/1059_jpa-ip3g-blk.htm

I can't bear to put this on the table and find out that it scratched at the back or the screen  cry.gif
I think tinkerbel referenced the timing of each Iphone released which is done on a yearly basis from IPhone 2G rite up to IP4, of course the life cycle of the phone can be more than a year if you dont intend to upgrade it to the latest version biggrin.gif
triple02
post Jun 8 2010, 04:37 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(s3an_looi @ Jun 8 2010, 04:27 PM)
Just gotta make a conscious decision and say "No" to upgrading ... heck like saying "no" to drugs.

When new phones with new features come out. It's hard to resist the temptation. Just gotta be happy with what you bought.
QFT biggrin.gif

some are into upgrading when a new phone with new features are out some are content with what they've have..i belong to the latter, I guess to each their own,

just gonna wait till 21st June for the official iOS4 release and see whats what...at least it'll run on a similar OS bar certain features
triple02
post Jun 8 2010, 04:59 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(s3an_looi @ Jun 8 2010, 04:57 PM)
What is "IS" and what "proper cover" are you talking about?

What's the definition of "Spam" in a thread like this?
IS = Invisible Shield

Proper cover a proper cover for a Iphone like your silcone or acryclic casing for example...

yeah how do you define spam?? tongue.gif
triple02
post Jun 22 2010, 02:45 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

so let me get this confirmed to bring up multitasking tab just press the home button twice?
triple02
post Jun 22 2010, 02:57 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(ruztynail @ Jun 22 2010, 02:54 AM)
the purple app in yr iphone. last time cannt click into it. now you can..

actually i have been accessing it for quite awhile already.. but very limited content..

yeah mate its been working since the past week but only for podcast unless it works for purchasing music too now i dont see a reason to go gaga over it
triple02
post Jun 22 2010, 03:05 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(knuckleballer @ Jun 22 2010, 03:01 AM)
Holy my iTunes didn't detect the latest OS4 :S

is your itunes version 9.2?
triple02
post Jun 22 2010, 04:47 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

Irrelevant Post...DG73 you may delete this

This post has been edited by triple02: Jun 22 2010, 05:40 AM
triple02
post Jun 22 2010, 05:00 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(knuckleballer @ Jun 22 2010, 04:56 AM)
Any idea where the Settings icon went? Sorry noob here. Just updated OS4. Thank god all my apps still here biggrin.gif
Just try to re-sync it back to ITunes and see if it works mate...biggrin.gif
triple02
post Jun 22 2010, 05:39 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

i decided to update my firmware..curiosity killed the cat..tongue.gif

my oh my Steve Jobs may have winner here....its worth staying up late to get the firmware updated! Im on iOS4 now...new feature i noticed its the Spotlight search under Settings>General>Spotlight

You can configure what you want Spotlight to search specifically.and the new mailbox feature is so clean and simple as well!

but the most noticeable difference of it all is how snappy the interface is after the update! and i wonder how snappier it'll be with iPhone 4

Mine is an unjailbroken I3GS no issues whatsoever with updating or post update...everything is there as its supposed to be and works fine as its supposed to...

those on V3 with UnJB-ed iPhones...its a highly recommended firmware to upgrade to! I had my doubts but boy I'm not regretting the update! rclxms.gif

though it seems like more of the issues reported here are with JB'ed Phones?.. hmm.gif .though i might be wrong...

EDIT:

More new function with Wallpaper

can set 1 for Home Screen and 1 For Lock Screen and you can preview them under Settings>Wallpaper

This post has been edited by triple02: Jun 22 2010, 05:55 AM
triple02
post Jun 22 2010, 05:46 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(DeanKueh @ Jun 22 2010, 05:45 AM)
Anyone knows how to delete apps? Nt really the same with the previous firmware. The "x" is gone.
thats odd..just tested it and its there for me? I keep pressed the App and the icon wiggles and the X comes up
triple02
post Jun 22 2010, 05:51 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(DeanKueh @ Jun 22 2010, 05:48 AM)
Are you on ios 4?
If you didnt happened to read my previous post yes i am on OS4
triple02
post Jun 22 2010, 05:59 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(tommyfai @ Jun 22 2010, 05:55 AM)
u guys using restore or straight update it ?
I dont understand your question? what do you mean?

there are two ways to update

one is to download the file from Itunes and update via Itunes..simple straight forward process..which i did and works

another is to download from an external link and update it

restore is only used when something is wrong with the Iphone...there is no such thing as Restore Update..if that answers your question
triple02
post Jun 22 2010, 09:47 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Jun 22 2010, 09:43 AM)
and just to add.... the multitasking u need to double press the home button right....

expect the home button problem will arise later on...
yeah thats rights press home button twice to access the multitasking tab
triple02
post Jun 22 2010, 11:58 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

another thing i just noticed for iOS4 oni Phone 3GS is the bootup time of the iPhone previous V3 takes about 19secs for iOS4 now it takes a full 10 second more at 29secs hmm.gif

EDIT:

Just checked my MMS Settings its all there...i can see MMS messaging in Settings>Messaging

dont seem to have any issue's with sending MMS as well

This post has been edited by triple02: Jun 22 2010, 12:12 PM

0.0383sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:56 PM