Propose Ring, Where to get

chiahau
post Mar 15 2017, 08:25 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(WahBiang @ Mar 14 2017, 11:51 PM)
yeah maybe... brand sometime will tell a lot, is like Apple vs Xiaomi, u can get better spec with the same price but still a lot ppl wan Iphone...
Yeah.

So if you're willing to pay a premium, those brands are to look for.

If not, go find other brands.

Premium got its own benefits and advantages also.

Most important thing is, buy same spec but design not nice later wife won't wear or just keep inside house till dunno when. Izzit worth to save on that? smile.gif
chiahau
post Jun 29 2017, 02:12 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Peter emirates @ Jun 29 2017, 09:20 AM)
Any ideal of platinum vs white gold?
Solitaire is ready. Was thinking to get platinum.
As Tiffany & co are platinum only.
Will think platinum will be nice or good?
Have no ideal... confused.gif
Definitely Platinum > White gold. Just that it has low resale value if you want to resell it in the future. Not that white gold is any better.

If can afford Tiff & Co, go ahead. Many naysayers will say better to get those diamonds and self design the ring for your own purposes.

While it may be cheaper for you to consider, I'd think that getting a rock from such stores matters.

Most of the ladies in office are wearing Tiff & Co rocks anyways from where I am sitting biggrin.gif
chiahau
post Aug 11 2017, 04:39 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(DozeMeWithTea @ Aug 11 2017, 04:30 PM)
swarovski ok?

What do you think.

I mean I can just propose her with this ring first then later down the road when I am more financial stable I get her a proper diamond ring?
Why don't you tell her this instead :-

"Darling, I could buy you a crappy ring now and we can be happy. Or you can wait and I could buy you a tiffany few years down the road. All I ask is for your patience at this moment."

For me, if you're gonna do something, don't do it half assed. Proposal in once in a lifetime.

But if you really can't afford it, forget it lor. No point killing yourself over a ring.
chiahau
post Aug 11 2017, 04:49 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(lingleeyen @ Aug 11 2017, 04:42 PM)
Well, not necessary. A good ring doesn't guarantee a damn thing about happy marriage life.
Either way, if you can afford it, you would've bought it.

Simple theory. I am okay to splurge. Others may not.

That's why we have this forum to voice out our opinions biggrin.gif

QUOTE(annann91 @ Aug 11 2017, 04:45 PM)
Very true! The most expensive ring doesn't symbolise a happy marriage too!
Better to cry in a Lamborghini than a bike tongue.gif

Heard that saying before?
chiahau
post Aug 11 2017, 04:58 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(annann91 @ Aug 11 2017, 04:57 PM)
Lol. I assume you spent quite a lot on your proposal ring?  laugh.gif
Not as much as others did tongue.gif

But I am happy with it.
chiahau
post Aug 17 2017, 10:56 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(DozeMeWithTea @ Aug 17 2017, 10:12 AM)
Hi guys, what do you think of this?

18K Yellow / White Gold
Diamond - 0.30ct
E,F color; VS1 clarity
Triple Excellents
Fluorescence None
No price how to give you a definitive answer?
chiahau
post Aug 17 2017, 12:22 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(DozeMeWithTea @ Aug 17 2017, 11:34 AM)
Sorry. It's RM6k.
What's ur budget limit?

Looks pretty good if it comes with a GIA cert.

VS1 is basically a non factor unless you microscope it.
chiahau
post Aug 18 2017, 11:19 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(DozeMeWithTea @ Aug 18 2017, 09:23 AM)
0.30ct
E/VS2,
3Ex,
None Fluorescence

What about this? I read some article but i still not sure what i should look for when getting a ring.
What's your main goal?

Big rock? Excellent color? Good cut?

You did not state your budget limit, hard for people to advise one.

I could tell you there are better diamonds out there. Just whether you think it's within your budget or not only.
chiahau
post Aug 18 2017, 11:29 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(DozeMeWithTea @ Aug 18 2017, 11:22 AM)
Main goal: Propose only

Budget: RM5k max

Any diamond shop recommended? Zcova? Idodiamond? poh kong?
Main goal for the diamond la....

You want bigger carat, you need to sacrifice other factors lor.

I think the 0.37 u shared yesterday is quite okay ah.
chiahau
post Aug 18 2017, 12:27 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(darkmusses @ Aug 18 2017, 11:48 AM)
I plan to have this ring : Trinity de Cartier ring

Anyone get this ?
What you want to know about it?

It's an wedding band rather than proposal ring.

I have one and few of my friend has it.
chiahau
post Aug 18 2017, 04:42 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(darkmusses @ Aug 18 2017, 02:23 PM)
I have 2 thoughts on this :
Purpose : Wedding ring

1. Buy from shop
2. Custom made one with similar design ( I know ppl doing gold )
    - Purely made from Gold as I'm sensitive towards silver but paint to rose and silver

How was the ring after wearing few years .. As in worth getting ?
If you want to buy from shop, you're like buying the ring for the branding purpose only. Unless you're talking bout others like Poh Kong and etc.

As for custom make, no issue also. You just give them a design you like and you'll get a ring with better quality perhaps compared to commercial ones.

After few years ah? I am not sure about males one coz some of us don't wear it on a daily basis (Some hang inside shirt with a necklane or some sort).

But for female ones, I saw a couple of them who wears both engagement rings and wedding band for quite a prolong period but still looks nice.

Maybe you gotta send it for "maintenance" after a while but generally, since the engagement is already on a platinum band, it does not "dull" much compared to standard gold.

Hope that helps.

chiahau
post Nov 21 2017, 11:20 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(genjo @ Nov 21 2017, 09:22 PM)
What can i get for budget 1k - 1.5k ?

Any suggestion ?
Nothing much?

No cert diamonds also need about 3k that range to start, I think.
chiahau
post Nov 22 2017, 01:09 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Nov 22 2017, 11:55 AM)
Yes heard of it and the woman who said it got backlashed for being shallow.
Irregardless.

Love don't pay the bills. Money does.

Shallow or not, it's her choice.
chiahau
post Dec 27 2017, 02:58 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(pyp1988 @ Dec 27 2017, 09:41 AM)
Hi Sifus, will you recomend to go for SK ALLOVE series?
What so special with this series of diamonds?
Because the price is slightly higher.

Thank you
As long as your other half likes it + you can afford the price, it's okay d.

Make sure the diamonds has certs, at the very least just for future resale value ( If you want to be safe ).

QUOTE(ProSambalEater @ Dec 27 2017, 10:30 AM)
H-0.42-SI2-3ex

4500 with white gold ring setting

shld i go for it? im looking to get as big as i can lol
Looks big / Sounds big.

Have you checked out the diamond yourself?

If it comes with certification, it's pretty decent.
chiahau
post Jan 2 2018, 04:15 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Jan 1 2018, 09:15 PM)
Cert provides authenticity that the diamond is not fake, correct? But I'd say cert or no cert, diamonds don't have that much re-sale value, unlike gold. I stand corrected, though smile.gif
Diamond with certs holds its value better than diamond without certs.

Of course resale value won't be great but does that even matter when you want to purchase a diamond ring? laugh.gif
chiahau
post Jan 2 2018, 09:01 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Jan 2 2018, 08:38 PM)
Is there ever a way to ensure that the diamind is not swapped? Can't engrave anything on it, can it?
That's why if it has a cert, people would hesitate to do anything funny coz you can trace it back.
chiahau
post Jan 3 2018, 07:38 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Jan 2 2018, 10:07 PM)
Trace it back to what?  Crooks can take the ori diamond, swap it with some cheapo plastic still, right?

Haven't seen the diamond cert. Maybe its got more details that one can check against the diamond, like weight etc...
Whenever you send it to service or whatever, counter check it with the information on the cert to ensure such nonsense does not happen.

Problem is, I don’t do diamonds without certs so it’s hard to tell what dishonest people would do with it laugh.gif

If you’re so afraid of such, get the diamond from big brands like Tiffany or Cartier. Confirm they got no time to swap out your diamond with a fake.
chiahau
post Apr 4 2018, 11:34 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(jurkflash @ Apr 3 2018, 09:10 PM)
so sad case

Google lowyat to see rings info and details about IGI and GIA, viewed many back pages nearly have heartattack, everyone is rich here, 10k ring 11k ring.....

i was just looking for 2-3k+ ring.... damn pathetic
Nothing wrong bout 2~3k rings.

You can find a 0,3 carat in WahChan due to the recent promotion.
chiahau
post Apr 26 2018, 11:31 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(dRaKoZ @ Apr 26 2018, 05:36 AM)
is ZCova a good place to purchase rings?
have seen i do jewellery but i'd prefer if they place the price sad.gif
looking for minimum 0.8-1 carat (below 1 carat most likely because when it touches 1 carat the price differs in big amount)
Depends on your budget, seriously.

0.0321sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:19 PM