TSkimhoong
post Apr 1 2010, 06:48 PM, updated 16y ago

5,154 posts

Welcome to the Emirates, where Gooners live and breathe Arsenal!
Credits and photos:

Fixture (2009/10):

April    
03  Sat  Barclays Premier League  H  Wolverhampton  1  0
06  Tue  UEFA Champions League   A  Barcelona  19:45 
14  Wed  Barclays Premier League  A  Tottenham Hotspur  20:00 
18  Sun  Barclays Premier League  A  Wigan Athletic  13:30
(If Arsenal reach the Champions League Semi-Final this match will be played on Saturday April 17, kick-off tba)

20  Tue  UEFA Champions League  A  Inter/CSKA Moscow  19:45
(If Arsenal progress to the Semi-Final)

24  Sat  Barclays Premier League  H  Manchester City  17:30
28  Wed  UEFA Champions League  H  Inter/CSKA Moscow  19:45 
(If Arsenal progress to the Semi-Final)

May
01  Sat  Barclays Premier League  A  Blackburn Rovers  15:00 
09  Sun  Barclays Premier League  H  Fulham  16:00 
22  Sat  UEFA Champions League  N  Final  19:45
(At Santiago Bernabeu, Madrid)

All the above are according to UK time

Latest Replays:
QUOTE(Walaoeh! @ Apr 4 2010, 12:30 AM)
Recommended sites for football and Arsenal news:
UK-based sports sites:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/default.stm
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/football/
http://www.rockynewsnow.info/ - Its a modified version from NewsNow and concentrate solely for arsenal.. It also filtered out most crap, unreliable stuff from the blogosphere .. And best feature which still chuckled me, renamed some team/ sites to funny names .. that one you will have read yourself, it wont be much of a problem to know the original team anyway if you are an Arsenal's supporter for a while.

or follow good quality arsenal blogs which often have good insight and fan-written articles:
Arseblog ( http://www.oleole.com/blogs/arseblog ) - good old drunken arseblogger who swears at anything that's not arsenal
A Cultured Left Foot ( http://aculturedleftfoot.wordpress.com/ )- decent writeup and opinions
Gunnerblog ( http://gunnerblog.com/ ) - same as above
Goodplaya ( http://goodplaya.com/ )- probably the most accurate player analysis after a match
3rd Gen ( http://www.third-gen.com/ )- pretty good too
Arsenal Insider ( http://www.arsenalinsider.com/ )- very pro-Arsene site, but many good articles to read... great weekly TGIF, but not sure whether they still do it or not
Untold Arsenal ( http://blog.emiratesstadium.info/ )- My newest favourite arsenal site written by a die-hard old school gooner
http://www.goonernews.com - all-in-one Arsenal news web
http://arsenalist.com/ - for replays and highlights
http://myarsenalvlog.blogspot.com/ - for videos and highlights
http://arsenalanalysis.blogspot.com - technical analysis on Arsenal

For news and progress about the kids, try
Young Guns ( http://youngguns.wordpress.com/ )
Arsenal Youth ( http://arsenalyouth.wordpress.com/ )
This post has been edited by kimhoong: Apr 13 2010, 09:37 PM
TSkimhoong
post Apr 1 2010, 06:49 PM

5,154 posts

The Emotional Highbury and The Grand Ashburton Grove

Highbury 1913-2006

For the majority of their time in south-east London, Arsenal played at the Manor Ground in Plumstead, a three-year period at the nearby Invicta Ground between 1890 and 1893 excepted. The Manor Ground was initially just a field, but the club installed stands and terracing in time for their first Football League match in September 1893. They played their home games there for the next twenty years (with two exceptions in 189495), until the move to north London in 1913.

user posted image user posted image

Arsenal Stadium, widely referred to as Highbury, was Arsenal's home from September 1913 until May 2006. The original stadium was designed by the renowned football architect Archibald Leitch, and had a design common to many football grounds in the UK at the time, with a single covered stand and three open-air banks of terracing. In the 1930s, the entire stadium was given a massive overhaul, with new Art Deco West and East stands constructed, opening in 1932 and 1936 respectively; in addition, the North Bank terrace had a roof added, which was later bombed during World War II and not restored until 1956.

At its peak, Highbury could hold over 60,000 spectators, and had a capacity of 57,000 until the early 1990s. The Taylor Report and Premier League regulations forced Arsenal to convert Highbury into an all-seater in time for the 199394 season, reducing the capacity to 38,419 seated spectators. This capacity had to be reduced further during Champions League matches to accommodate additional advertising hoardings, so much so that for two seasons (199899 and 199900) Arsenal played Champions League home matches at Wembley, which could house more than 70,000 spectators.

Final moments - the emotions run high in Highbury

user posted image user posted image user posted image

Ashburton Grove 2007-present

Expansion of Highbury was restricted because the East Stand had been designated as a Grade II listed building and the other three stands were close to residential properties. These limitations have prevented the club from maximising the revenue that their domestic form could have brought in recent seasons. After considering various options, in 2000 Arsenal proposed building a new 60,000-seater stadium at Ashburton Grove, since renamed the Emirates Stadium, about 500 metres south-west of Highbury. The project was initially delayed by red tape and rising costs, but construction was completed in July 2006, in time for the start of the 200607 season. The stadium is named after its sponsors, the airline company Emirates, with whom the club signed the largest sponsorship deal in English football history, worth approximately 100 million; however some fans refer to the ground as Ashburton Grove, or the Grove, as they do not agree with corporate sponsorship of stadium names.The stadium will be officially known as Emirates Stadium until at least 2012, and the airline will be the club's shirt sponsor until the end of the 201314 season.

Construction and completion of the Ashburton Grove

user posted image user posted image
user posted image user posted image user posted image

TSkimhoong
post Apr 1 2010, 06:49 PM

5,154 posts

Some photo sharing dedicated for Ramsey's injury

QUOTE(mengdez @ Mar 7 2010, 12:22 PM)

TSkimhoong
post Apr 1 2010, 06:50 PM

5,154 posts

< for future use >
TSkimhoong
post Apr 1 2010, 06:51 PM

5,154 posts

Some posts from previous thread:

QUOTE(cry4freedom @ Apr 1 2010, 05:45 PM)
It seems our Captain Courageous is out of the season.

Fabregas has suspected broken leg

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id...sleague&cc=4716
QUOTE(meaj @ Apr 1 2010, 05:49 PM)
Am I the only one feeling that Thierry Henry didn't play wholeheartedly last nite? And having said that, I didn't like how Pep Guardiola sent him on against us towards the end of the game. It was like he was telling Henry to prove his loyalty to Barca and finish off the Gunners. Could have been a damn major headline today if that happened.

But no matter what happens, we already know that:
1. Barca's #14 is a Gunner. He didn't seem to be playing with with his whole heart for the Catalans last nite.
2. Arsenal #4 is a Catalan. He has always played with his whole heart for the Gunners.
QUOTE(Breaktru @ Apr 1 2010, 06:00 PM)
Perhaps more than 50 50 chance considering the excellent form in first few games of this season . However , neither did the other 3 Top 4 played with their best team without injuries this season . Liverpool with Gerrard and Torres out for some time , MU with Rooney out for few weeks and Chelsea with Drogba to ANC , Ashley Cole etc .

Though arguably we have the longest key players missing for the rest of the season compared to other , namely RVP and now Fabregas , Gallas , Ramsey , Arshavin .

However , injury is part of the game it's up to the other players to step up . A club is not only about 1 player .

Hopes Nasri will continue to become dangerous , Bendter to utilize his chance more and Walcott to not only excel in speed , but in crossing and shooting as well . Oh , and we have Dudu as well . Please Eduardo , rise and be the player that you're once was .  smile.gif

LOL yeah Henry was like non-existent yesterday . Same goes to Messi .
QUOTE(Walaoeh! @ Apr 1 2010, 06:01 PM)
Arsenal vs Barcelona full match highlights: http://bit.ly/8Yr8WL
QUOTE(1809 @ Apr 1 2010, 06:20 PM)
QUOTE(joe405 @ Apr 1 2010, 06:40 PM)
maybe its also time for merida to step up??

Added on April 1, 2010, 6:43 pmFabregas - I fear I have broken my leg

Fabregas - My booking was very unfair

Denilson - Nasri can come in and help us

Source
lipkhin
post Apr 1 2010, 06:56 PM

1,390 posts

1st post!
SUSAzurues
post Apr 1 2010, 06:59 PM

▲▲▲▲
958 posts

Looks like nothing is in the balance of Arsenal's hand now. No thanks to countless of injuries, if Arsenal did survived Nou Camp and turn out to be the winner history will be made.

But now move on to the next match eh?
bobotorix
post Apr 1 2010, 06:59 PM

146 posts

song must play at midfield so we can break barca momentum going forward
tapirus
post Apr 1 2010, 07:01 PM

(︶ε︶メ)╭∩╮ a�tE(R)isk
1,237 posts

welcome to new thread..good comeback by our players..next leg we can win the game even without our general..
aladdin
post Apr 1 2010, 07:08 PM

True Love Never Runs Smooth
4,346 posts

wow...new thread~
lipkhin
post Apr 1 2010, 07:25 PM

1,390 posts

Arsenal are keeping tabs on Catania's Japanese striker Takayuki Morimoto, according to a report from the News of the World.

The report implies that it is the player's potential commercial value in the lucrative Asian market that makes him particularly attractive to the Gunners.

The 21-year-old has been linked with Manchester United in the recent past and has reportedly atttracted favourable assessments from the Gunners' European scouts.

Relegation-threatened Catania are well aware of his potential value though and are unlikely to allow the forward to move on the cheap.

ljf123
post Apr 1 2010, 07:26 PM

1,061 posts

ashravin injured?
zstan
post Apr 1 2010, 07:33 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(ljf123 @ Apr 1 2010, 07:26 PM)
ashravin injured?
ytea..3 weeks..gg
ESLord
post Apr 1 2010, 07:34 PM

54 posts

yeah, out for 3 weeks. We can complain abt our injuries all we want, but Man U and Chels also has their own problem.

So, forget abt AA, wish Cesc get well soon, pray Gallas a new man next season, we just march on with what we have. This is where we proof our worthiness.....

If we cannot go through at Nou Camp, at least give our best fight and come back with Pride.
lipkhin
post Apr 1 2010, 07:36 PM

1,390 posts

btw, goals and highlight of the champions league match:

http://www.goalvideo.net/champions-league/...-2-2-barcelona/
aladdin
post Apr 1 2010, 07:37 PM

True Love Never Runs Smooth
4,346 posts

2 goals by Zlatan Ibrahimovic were just brilliant! How we gunners hope we have this kind of finisher in our team. Damn miss henry now....

Almunia actually had a great game. He might take part of the responsibile on the. But I would say Thomas Vermaelen should be the 1 who need to take the full responsibility. He payed too much focus on Messi, and created too much space for Zlatan Ibrahimovic.

Our captain seems not hurt that bad. Hopefully Nasri can steps in. Nasri is another guy who played very well. Love this guy.

ivanau88
post Apr 1 2010, 07:38 PM

3,777 posts

I am not really worry about Cesc's absent. The team ECL away record I think is one of the best even against the peak of man utd last season we only manage to concede one goal.

I am concern with who will replace Gallas. AW cannot deploy Campbell because we have to play offside trap against Barca. Sol clearly does not have the pace to do that. Song need to be in the middle to burst forward. The team only can rely on Silvestre.
ESLord
post Apr 1 2010, 07:47 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(aladdin @ Apr 1 2010, 07:37 PM)
2 goals by Zlatan Ibrahimovic were just brilliant! How we gunners hope we have this kind of finisher in our team. Damn miss henry now....

Almunia actually had a great game. He might take part of the responsibile on the. But I would say Thomas Vermaelen should be the 1 who need to take the full responsibility. He payed too much focus on Messi, and created too much space for Zlatan Ibrahimovic.

Our captain seems not hurt that bad. Hopefully Nasri can steps in. Nasri is another guy who played very well. Love this guy.
Firstly, and for once, i do not blame Almunia on this match. The first goal he looked stupid to come out and got chipped. But he dun come out, Ibra could easily muscle Song off and have an easy shot on goal. He was hoping for Song to keep him tap for a while longer allow him to close in.
The second- there is none a keeper could do which such a strike.
Thirdly, the number of saves he done, i doubt many of it was luck. if he were any less impressive, we would had conceded 4 or 5.

Henry... nah, i dun miss him that much. He was great, i idolized him.
Would he make any different if he stayed with us? Unlikely.
His performance last nite, simply remind me of his last season with us- in which he was over his peak.

He always wanted to get the ball and carry the team alone, but physically and technically just could not out-do new generations of defenders.
We need a good finisher, no doubt- the likes of RvP, and the supposedly effective AA and NB52.

StarGhazzer
post Apr 1 2010, 08:08 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(meaj @ Apr 1 2010, 05:49 PM)
Am I the only one feeling that Thierry Henry didn't play wholeheartedly last nite? And having said that, I didn't like how Pep Guardiola sent him on against us towards the end of the game. It was like he was telling Henry to prove his loyalty to Barca and finish off the Gunners. Could have been a damn major headline today if that happened.

But no matter what happens, we already know that:
1. Barca's #14 is a Gunner. He didn't seem to be playing with with his whole heart for the Catalans last nite.
2. Arsenal #4 is a Catalan. He has always played with his whole heart for the Gunners.
It's Pep's job to play whoever that he deems suitable, and he probably was hoping Titi can perform some magic at that stage. It's hard to say whether Titi really mucked around due to his Arsenal sentiments or he's merely losing it (or both), but for a player of his calibre and who has won everything, he doesn't need to prove anything anymore.

The old #14 will always remain in our hearts... the new #14 however, showed us what he can do and if he scores the winning goal in Nou Camp he'd ascend straight to legendary status.

QUOTE(aladdin @ Apr 1 2010, 07:37 PM)
We do. He was brilliant for the first 3 months... and has been crocked ever since. Note that Ibra also missed quite a lot in the first half where they tore us apart.

QUOTE(ESLord @ Apr 1 2010, 07:47 PM)
Firstly, and for once, i do not blame Almunia on this match. The first goal he looked stupid to come out and got chipped. But he dun come out, Ibra could easily muscle Song off and have an easy shot on goal. He was hoping for Song to keep him tap for a while longer allow him to close in.
The second- there is none a keeper could do which such a strike.
Thirdly, the number of saves he done, i doubt many of it was luck.  if he were any less impressive, we would had conceded 4 or 5.

Henry... nah, i dun miss him that much. He was great, i idolized him.
Would he make any different if he stayed with us? Unlikely.
His performance last nite, simply remind me of his last season with us- in which he was over his peak.

He always wanted to get the ball and carry the team alone, but physically and technically just could not out-do new generations of defenders.
We need a good finisher, no doubt- the likes of RvP, and the supposedly effective AA and NB52.
Manny was brilliant, if anything it showed that Song-Vermy does not work. In fact, Song looked lost as a CB. I don't think Silvestre will instill much faith either so signing Sol might prove to be vital after all. Will the aging Sol be ready to take on Ibra once again? I'm not sure about technical ability but if Sol plays he'll be fully committed after opening the scoring and losing the final in 06.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Apr 1 2010, 08:12 PM
Breaktru
post Apr 1 2010, 08:18 PM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

QUOTE(Azurues @ Apr 1 2010, 06:59 PM)
Looks like nothing is in the balance of Arsenal's hand now. No thanks to countless of injuries, if Arsenal did survived Nou Camp and turn out to be the winner history will be made.

But now move on to the next match eh?
Yes , Wolves first . Like The Professor said , 1 game at a time .

119 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0306sec    1.05    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:25 PM