Renovations Grille, Price of grille

apalexar
post Mar 20 2021, 08:57 AM

apalexar
1,383 posts

QUOTE(JasonTheGreat @ Mar 20 2021, 08:05 AM)
Hi, just wondering, nowadays there’s mesh looks grille like Panther Optima. Any reason no one go for that?
I think the only reason one to not go for it it's the price laugh.gif
Now I'm comparing Arxtech/optima, panther, renex and solidmesh, the one with good quality and best price will get my money.
apalexar
post Mar 20 2021, 12:45 PM

apalexar
1,383 posts

QUOTE(JasonTheGreat @ Mar 20 2021, 09:21 AM)
Hi
Please share your findings. I’m interested.
I’m in dilemma as my new house comes with folding door already. To change to the mesh I need to discard the current folding doors which is quite a waste.  So I’m doing a deep consideration
So far renex has the better quotation compare to others, but still need to visit showroom to understand the products.
apalexar
post Mar 20 2021, 09:13 PM

apalexar
1,383 posts

QUOTE(Coolken @ Mar 20 2021, 08:26 PM)
I just went to compare arxtech and panther. One thing i noticed is the amount of airflow restriction these mesh gives out. It darkens the house significantly and although both looks very solid and safe, but i feel it makes the house dark and reduces airflow (chi). Decided to give it a miss and use only the Optima windows, door etc. Will be giving 3kim a call this week
My sliding door grille and kitchen security door are going for 3kim, installation on early Apr soon.
For all windows and main swing door will go for mesh type but the brand of it still to be decided, if it darkens the house then just open it when people at home since you still keep the casement window after install their mesh.
apalexar
post Mar 20 2021, 10:03 PM

apalexar
1,383 posts

QUOTE(Coolken @ Mar 20 2021, 09:44 PM)
Oh, i forgot one important point.. These security mesh is very difficult to wash/clean and it gets dirty really fast..
A vacuum should be good at cleaning the dust.
apalexar
post Mar 23 2021, 03:29 PM

apalexar
1,383 posts

QUOTE(YH820 @ Mar 22 2021, 04:14 PM)
Yeap, with vacuum cleaner or u can clean wif spraying water but that wud be a mess.....
n able to prevent mosquitoes......  thumbsup.gif
grill wise juz thinking of wiping it even once a month will be headache..... ( no maid.... doh.gif )

just my 2 cents....
Have you install with panther or arxtech? How was it so far?
apalexar
post Mar 23 2021, 04:19 PM

apalexar
1,383 posts

QUOTE(JasonTheGreat @ Mar 20 2021, 10:01 PM)
I was under the impression I will get airflow with mesh until you said otherwise.
QUOTE(Coolken @ Mar 20 2021, 10:41 PM)
Me too... I think easily 90% reduction in airflow
Here's some lowyat member reviews who owned the product:

arxtech user (hondaracer) - Airflow is ok, i can feel the wind blowing into the balcony. Visibility is also ok, i can see outside from my living room on the day time but it restrict visibility into the home.

panther user (kimzee) - Well I believe it depends a lot on where your house is located. As my house is fronting the ocean constant offshore wind is available. Another major advantage for me is their T6 aluminium (premium grade) is guaranteed rust proof for IIRC 12 years. compare that with having to paint metal grille every year or worst very IMO tacky all SS grille.
For land locked house if there are hilly terrain nearby with good windy breeze then the mesh will allow for in/out airflow without much obstruction.
For stationary air (when there is no wind), it does not help much, but you can always install ceiling fans to disperse warm air inside your house.
It is especially useful at night when you can open your door when sleeping as the mesh will prevent insect from coming into your house and it is relatively secure from minor intrusion.

arxtech user (MeToo) - 0.9 is good. I'm currently using 1.2mm feels too thick, visibility also affected...

This post has been edited by apalexar: Mar 23 2021, 04:19 PM
apalexar
post Mar 23 2021, 05:25 PM

apalexar
1,383 posts

QUOTE(YH820 @ Mar 23 2021, 05:04 PM)
sweat.gif  actually none.... but in the middle of surveying for mesh..... for house renovation....

so far narrowed down to arxtech and panther..... went to panther booth during fair tat day.... now waiting to arrange another time to go visit arxtech place...

sweat.gif

am impressed by panther's mesh for their mesh locking system..... but for the casement window they seem to have lesser choice.....

but anyway, will check out arxtech, then onli compare....
What you mean by lesser choice for casement window? hmm.gif
apalexar
post Mar 24 2021, 01:01 AM

apalexar
1,383 posts

QUOTE(YH820 @ Mar 23 2021, 09:21 PM)
Er..... i'm looking for the type tat 1 frame holds both casement window n mesh.....

at 1st, get to noe there is such window from arxtech (as they oso hav optima which do windows, door n etc....) so will look nice n less messy if window n mesh can use the same frame....

I did confirmed with panther.... they also do such window.... but the glass they hav is only 2 layer laminated glass..... if nid other type of glass, they hav to order or we can source ourselves.....

Optima n arxtech provide more selection of glasses.... in terms of sound proofing.... n oso their window has more colour choices and even wood grain design... while panther onli 4 colour.....which is matt black brown grey n glossy white  hmm.gif 

From MeToo's review on 1.2mm too thick.... n darker indoor..... make me swing again.... doh.gif ... oledi saw 1.0mm panther at the fair.... did see n feel the thickness of premium mesh.... airflow wise.... cant tell at fair.... sweat.gif imagine 1.2mm means thicker.....hmmmmm....

So, will visit optima arxtech later and oso german window.... n c if wanna do both in 1 frame wif 1 provider or pick 2 diff provider but doing 2 frames.... 1 window 1 mesh..... hmm.gif but actually only 1 window nid combo, others just nid to add on mesh.... sweat.gif

rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
I see.. as for me my main concern is safety, design and visibility so only need to compare the price and it's quality between diff brands laugh.gif
apalexar
post Mar 25 2021, 09:26 AM

apalexar
1,383 posts

QUOTE(YH820 @ Mar 24 2021, 03:31 PM)
yea.... so far only saw panther in person..... arxtech onli can check online which is kinda limited for the info..... but so far.... both design is similar..... juz tat nowhere mentioned on arxtech's mesh locking system... whether is using tension screw crimping or same screwless like panther..... (or some old post mentioned b4 but not sure how true it is....)

btw, good job on gathering each brand's user's review.... thumbsup.gif
Looking forward to your review then, either panther or arxtech brows.gif
As for me guess will choose between panther or another one called renex.
apalexar
post Mar 25 2021, 05:29 PM

apalexar
1,383 posts

QUOTE(YH820 @ Mar 25 2021, 05:04 PM)
Hmm.... ic... mayb can visit renex as well.... cuz looked for their info on9 but lagi limited than arxtech.... lol....

haha.... mayb u will get ur mesh faster than me..... i havent even start reno....  doh.gif
Only able to visit showroom end of next month, after make decision then installation should be around May or June sweat.gif

Yeah one more thing, panther request 50% for first payment, and another 50% on 7 days before installation date.

This post has been edited by apalexar: Mar 25 2021, 05:31 PM
apalexar
post Apr 27 2021, 08:08 PM

apalexar
1,383 posts

QUOTE(rizer @ Apr 27 2021, 11:06 AM)
I'm surprise why lowyat forumer keep recommend 3kim
i read the good feedback at forum and decided to let them install grills of my landed house.

However the powder coat start rusty after 2 month installation and the sales girl doesn't respond at all after full payment done.
What a bad service.
QUOTE(IMF2025 @ Apr 27 2021, 03:22 PM)
Hmm this is unacceptable. Still under warranty, can claim from them.
I also used 3kim which I found from here as well. Mine is still good after more than a year.
If not mistaken it's listed that no warranty for rusty products cause it depends on area installed.
Btw I'm using 3kim sliding grille and security door as well.
apalexar
post May 11 2021, 11:51 PM

apalexar
1,383 posts

QUOTE(YH820 @ Mar 26 2021, 04:56 PM)
hmm.gif wow.... tat means if not satisfy on the day of installation oso cannot do anything except complain....=.=" hmm.gif
Have been decided to go with panther after some comparisons, installation at end of next month smile.gif
How's yours?
apalexar
post May 12 2021, 11:35 PM

apalexar
1,383 posts

QUOTE(YH820 @ May 12 2021, 03:49 PM)
yo, I actually shortlisted panther and arxtech after some comparison (though just surveyed 4 suppliers in total).

All produce quality products, but personally, I like panther for its mesh windows' function and features....n yea.... only mesh window..... For arxtech, their mesh window is not bad, wif some thoughtful design too..... together with optima window, more choices n style....

If i only nid to do mesh, wud go for panther.....  sweat.gif

yea, in the end have decided to go with optima & arxtech for the balance of mesh and window..... due to the varieties of window they r having.... n more choices on appearance.....  sweat.gif
(Also mom like their winblind window for kitchen.....  laugh.gif )
doh.gif due to mco, now not sure when will be my renovation starts.....
Arxtech would be my choice as well if they have 0.9~1.0mm mesh thickness, 1.2mm is a bit over and make the price higher, more security though sweat.gif

Renovation should be doable even in this MCO, my KC installation start next week and they never mentioned there's delay about the date.
apalexar
post Sep 26 2021, 09:34 PM

apalexar
1,383 posts

QUOTE(JasonTheGreat @ Sep 26 2021, 07:31 PM)
Hi
So Arxtech and Panther is different? Can you PM the quotation of casement window with mesh? Just want a rough idea how much
Actually it's better if you could provide the dimension of your window and get the quotation direct from them, cause sometimes they got promotion ongoing.
I just got my unit installed with Panther and would rate 4/4.5 out of 5 for them smile.gif
apalexar
post Sep 26 2021, 10:56 PM

apalexar
1,383 posts

QUOTE(kuanleng @ Sep 26 2021, 09:39 PM)
How much (per Sqft) you got offer from them?
For deluxe mesh casement window around 105/sqft before 20% discount, and to get 20% total order before discount should above 15k. Got the deal before metal price is increase, not sure if they still having same promo not.

QUOTE(JasonTheGreat @ Sep 26 2021, 10:04 PM)
Hi, so what was the complain on the 0.5?
1. Edges of mesh frame are quite sharp if without sanding it, it's not that difficult so I do it myself with a sandpaper.
2. Some screws found below mesh frame part are not smooth to the frame surface level, not that obvious though.
3. There's still some tiny aluminium residues found at installation area even they had tried to clean it with their own vacuum.

Already give feedback to their sales so hopefully they improve those I mentioned in future, anyway quite satisfied with their products which give premium look and safety. smile.gif

This post has been edited by apalexar: Sep 26 2021, 10:59 PM
apalexar
post Sep 27 2021, 09:03 AM

apalexar
1,383 posts

QUOTE(JasonTheGreat @ Sep 27 2021, 08:37 AM)
Thanks for sharing. I got quotation from Panther in July with 20% but of cos my house is delayed so I’m still surveying Reliance, Renex and Panther. With mesh so you feel airy?
You will still have the airflow there with mesh installed but I can feel it's reduced compare to full open window, can't exactly tell how many percent of airflow is reduced though. In this case Arxtech most probably will have less airflow due to thicker mesh.

*Yeah room will be a little bit darker as well, but won't affect viewing from inside to outside.

I did surveyed Reliance and Renex as well earlier, skip Reliance is because some bad reviews regarding their late delivery and aftersales service, and I did visit Renex showroom before Panther but it was removed from my list later just because Panther mentioned they're not even count as their competitor laugh.gif

This post has been edited by apalexar: Sep 27 2021, 09:06 AM

0.0189sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:01 AM