Photography Nikon D40/D40x/D60/D3000/D5000 V8, Entry Level Digital SLR from Nikon.

silver_de_gene
post Apr 10 2010, 01:07 AM

89 posts

i plan to sell my 18-55 for 18-105 but a lot of ppl telling me that 18-105's performance is not compitable with 18-55

http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/18-105mm.htm

what u guys think?

any d5000 out there with battery grip? is battery grip helpful in taking picture vertically?
silver_de_gene
post Apr 10 2010, 01:30 AM

89 posts

fcuk90: according to the article, 18-55 is better than 18-105. that is what holding me back from replacing my 18-55 with 18-105.

faiz92: yeah man.. i'm thinking the same about bg. but i dont want to spend something that doesn't benefit me.

general_nic: if i'm not mistaken, u have a battery grip with d5000 right? how does it feel with ur d5000 with bg and without? big differance?

i found a place selling nissin di622 at RM420 brand new with 1 year warranty. is this the cheapest or there's cheaper than this?

This post has been edited by silver_de_gene: Apr 10 2010, 01:34 AM
silver_de_gene
post Apr 10 2010, 02:16 AM

89 posts

faiz92: what lens are u using?

fcuk90: my friend told me that the shop is in digital mall ground floor. i'm buying one mid of the month. of course i need the range, but if the quality is not as good i might as well save more for 55-200 or 18-200.

This post has been edited by silver_de_gene: Apr 10 2010, 02:18 AM
silver_de_gene
post Apr 10 2010, 02:31 AM

89 posts

ezrasang: nice explanation. btw, silver_de_gene is a girl. haha.. anyway, i dont have a big hand and my pinky sits nicely on the body. my concern for bg is taking picture vertically. it feels so uncomfortable taking picture vertically. i always tend to avoid taking pics in V position coz my pic will appear blur. right hand feels tired. how much is a bg for d5000 cost? is phottix bg good? i think it's less than RM150. do i have to buy extra battery for bg?

general_nic: what bg are u using? how much is it?

This post has been edited by silver_de_gene: Apr 10 2010, 02:35 AM
silver_de_gene
post Apr 10 2010, 02:50 AM

89 posts

yes it is. it says there for d5000.

http://shashinki.com/shop/phottix-bpd5000-...era-p-3670.html

so u are using meike MK-5000. how much is it? it wire attach to it too?
i saw the wire at the side of the grip. will it trouble us with the wire sticking out at the side?

This post has been edited by silver_de_gene: Apr 10 2010, 02:53 AM
silver_de_gene
post Apr 10 2010, 03:17 AM

89 posts

oh. so without the wire there's no vertical function is it? i dont mind the look. what i mean is the wire sticking out wont be a trouble for us to take pic. like an extra wire at the camera
silver_de_gene
post Apr 11 2010, 06:45 PM

89 posts

i want to spam pic too

This post has been edited by silver_de_gene: Apr 11 2010, 06:46 PM
silver_de_gene
post Apr 11 2010, 06:54 PM

89 posts

i was in a dilemma too as in which to choose fro between 18-200 and 55-200. hope this'll help

http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/18200/versus-55-200mm.htm
silver_de_gene
post Apr 12 2010, 01:02 AM

89 posts

what does it mean by producing soft pics? not sharp?

what's the diff between 50mm 1.8 and 50mm 1.4 besides of the apperture and built in motor? is their lens quality any difference?
silver_de_gene
post Apr 12 2010, 02:11 AM

89 posts

ok. so 50mm 1.4 is sharper than 1.8. but do ppl really use 1.4 or 1.8? i have a 50mm 1.8 but i think the bokeh is too much. i personally feel that the bokeh in 2.8 is just nice.

start to love the 50mm 1.8 on my d5000. eventhough i can't af. but it's fun to manual focus. just that i can't focus fast enough yet that's y i use my 50mm on still objects only (i can take my own sweet time to focus)
silver_de_gene
post Apr 13 2010, 12:27 AM

89 posts

nic: how much is ur sigma?

This post has been edited by silver_de_gene: Apr 13 2010, 01:01 AM
silver_de_gene
post Apr 13 2010, 01:18 AM

89 posts

wah, then it must be a very good lens lah. even nikon 50mm 1.4 is cheaper right?
silver_de_gene
post Apr 13 2010, 04:26 PM

89 posts

nic: does ur meike batt grip has shutter/apperture dial?
silver_de_gene
post Apr 13 2010, 04:35 PM

89 posts

spam

Added on April 13, 2010, 4:36 pmc.p.u: how come urs dont have? any diff between urs and nic's?

Added on April 13, 2010, 4:38 pmguys, is this pic sharp enough? or can be sharper? how can i improve on it?

This post has been edited by silver_de_gene: Apr 13 2010, 04:38 PM
silver_de_gene
post Apr 22 2010, 09:04 PM

89 posts

QUESTION:

anybody knows anything about macro photography here? can't afford a macro lens or a teleconverter. can i use extension tube with my D5000 and 50mm 1.8? at least i can move closer to the subject
silver_de_gene
post Apr 22 2010, 10:36 PM

89 posts

what's a raynox 250?

nic: read about reverse ring but dont understand what and how does it work. heard that close up filters will degrade the quality of the pic coz it's like adding another glass element to ur lens
silver_de_gene
post Apr 26 2010, 11:29 PM

89 posts

hi guys, i know this is not the place to sell stuff but i would like to give all my fellow forumers this good deal first. my friend is jumping ship to canon and sell all his nikon stuff at err... i think kinda good price la. pls email the owner if anyone is interested

1. nikon 12-24 f4 (dec 2009 with warranty) RM2400
2. nikon 35mm 1.8 (april 2009) RM600
3. sb400 (dec 2007) RM300
4. D40 + kit lens + 2x SDcard - RM1000
5. 'item reserved by me'

pls email to adrchew@gmail.com

0.0407sec    1.03    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:50 PM