Photography Nikon D40/D40x/D60/D3000/D5000 V8, Entry Level Digital SLR from Nikon.

project-o
post Apr 6 2010, 10:58 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Would like to offer a different opinion on this. In my opinion, the 18-105VR or the older 18-135 lens is the ideal "partner" lens for the 70-300VR lens as they have more or less the same sharpness and image quality. The 70-300 due to crop factor becomes 105-450 on a DX body(range becomes 18-105 then 105-450).

For a single lens solution, I feel 18-200VRII or a used copy of the older model should be a good choice to cover a wide range.
QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Apr 5 2010, 11:29 PM)
whoa wait wait wait... bad idea there. if u wanna get 70-300, dun get 18-105... no use having duplicate range of 70-105

if u want 70-300, juz keep with ur 18-55 kit lens. missing 55-70mm not much problem. for ~RM2700 i think better get Tamron 17-50 VC and SB600 flash. but then u'll end up with two lens... i thought u said u only want 1 lens?
ur 80-200 can only manual focus, and maximum aperture is f4. 70-200 can autofocus on D3000, and maximum aperture is F2.8 n got VR summore. big big difference
what body u using? if D40-D5000 then cheapest 50mm is the 50mm AF-S f1.4, RM1800 biggrin.gif
project-o
post Apr 8 2010, 11:45 AM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Interested.... what price am I looking at ?
QUOTE(Isepunye @ Apr 7 2010, 11:35 PM)
any takers for my 18105mm? want to replace it with 55200 VR smile.gif
project-o
post Apr 9 2010, 12:58 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Haven't tried microwave but I normally dry them in the sun.
QUOTE(noobie1 @ Apr 9 2010, 12:15 PM)
seriuosly...all silicon gel can be reuse like that??
i just knew shocking.gif  shocking.gif
project-o
post Apr 9 2010, 07:57 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

When Canon implemented AF they decided to go straight to the focus motor in the lens which is called EOS (Electro Optical System). Canon EOS models do not have an AF motor in the body but have contacts to the AF motors in the lens much like Nikon AF-S.
QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 9 2010, 06:21 PM)
All Canon models have AF motor, I'm not sure about Sony's.

0.0364sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:12 PM