USB Memory Support for the Xbox 360 coming April 6, Awesome feature !
Apr 7 2010, 12:43 AM
17 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
Can you transfer saves between the Xbox and PC with this update? I would do it myself but my box isn't connected to the router.
Apr 7 2010, 12:48 AM
3,390 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
nope, files are still encrypted i guess
Apr 7 2010, 01:03 AM
17 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
Then I guess I shouldn't have to rush since I already have a 120g and a built in 256mb memory. Read the features, I was hoping to be able to put music files on the hdd with the usb. Sigh.
Apr 7 2010, 02:00 AM
161 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: New Caprica |
good, now i can transfer those stubborn game saves (namely DOA4, Forza 2) from my old hard drive using the transfer content utility.
Apr 7 2010, 09:33 AM
Yeah, you can even use the transfer cable and hard disk to transfer as well.
Apr 7 2010, 09:54 AM
171 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: earth |
haven't connected to live for 2 days now. after this system updates, can i make a backup of my game saves or i just can transfer the files into a new usb memory?
Apr 7 2010, 11:19 AM
you can copy/move ur game saves from the 360 hard disk to a thumb drive.
Apr 7 2010, 01:05 PM
161 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: New Caprica |
Apr 7 2010, 02:04 PM
2,782 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: BANGSARian |
Apr 7 2010, 06:36 PM
6,986 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: E-Poh.../Pen-Nang.../Pee-Jay/S.Jaye |
Apr 7 2010, 07:31 PM
77 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: Sesame Street |
just want to know, is this feature will remain forever? my xbox 360 is at my hometown and right now considering to buy a new one but bernard only have unmodded arcade (no elite) right now. so that means i still can save game without hard disk with this feature right? and transfering my saves from old xbox 360 to new one?
Apr 7 2010, 08:54 PM
19 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
i guess this means that there is definitely going to be a X360 slim. This update is so you can transfer all saves n profiles to the slim....right?
Apr 7 2010, 11:05 PM
375 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: Desa Petaling, Kay El |
QUOTE(hazardcradle @ Apr 7 2010, 07:31 PM) just want to know, is this feature will remain forever? my xbox 360 is at my hometown and right now considering to buy a new one but bernard only have unmodded arcade (no elite) right now. so that means i still can save game without hard disk with this feature right? and transfering my saves from old xbox 360 to new one? this is a permament feature. but... anyone with a modded console to try download this? |
Apr 8 2010, 09:45 AM
86 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
Anyone know whether can install games on USB drive?
Apr 8 2010, 05:58 PM
QUOTE(Jcsy @ Apr 7 2010, 02:04 PM) Yes, confirm can use the cable connected to a hard disk to move stuff back and forth but NOT USE the hard disk connected to the cable as an active unit. What I DO NOT know is that, the original transfer program (the disc that came with the hard disk) could transfer licenses as well so that you can play on the purchasing console without being online.Not sure about this method of copying. |
Apr 9 2010, 09:22 AM
375 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: Desa Petaling, Kay El |
QUOTE(marauderz @ Apr 8 2010, 05:58 PM) Yes, confirm can use the cable connected to a hard disk to move stuff back and forth but NOT USE the hard disk connected to the cable as an active unit. What I DO NOT know is that, the original transfer program (the disc that came with the hard disk) could transfer licenses as well so that you can play on the purchasing console without being online. Original transfer program can only transfer from lower to higher capacity and different HDD size using diff disk. Sometimes pepble at SG service center also confuse & give you only 20GB to 120GB and cause problem to peole with 250GB/60GB. They do not transfer encrypted saves, rented movies & license. You need to online for the license transfer.Not sure about this method of copying. |
Apr 9 2010, 01:59 PM
well... can't test that much, but I think it works like an actual external hard disk, so you can move the data to and from the hard disk.
Apr 9 2010, 11:11 PM
78 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Right Behind You.. Heee.. Heee.... Heeeee..... |
urmmm... this may sounds like a noob...
but what's the usb support for? just so that I can install games on it, aye? I hope they will enable the option of saving the content of my thumbdrive into my x360 hdd... lecehlah kalau mau lepak2 dalam bilik sambil dengar lagu kuat thru x360, kene cucuk pendrive... |
Apr 10 2010, 12:01 AM
Nope.. copying raw music files from USB into the hard disk is still not supported. Probably don't want to run afoul of the RIAA
Apr 10 2010, 04:28 PM
104 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
so what is the minimum read/write speed for the thumb drive
to be considered good for this? i tried using an old thumb drive, the process successful but say my thumbdrive will affect game perfomance. |
| Change to: | 0.0331sec
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 07:43 PM |