Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V4, Latest:NO cap 4 unifi packages 4 now ^_^

tweiyang11
post Mar 28 2010, 11:12 AM

131 posts

QUOTE(paultantk @ Mar 28 2010, 08:56 AM)
2. Anyone know if Bukit Jelutong got coverage yet? I see the green box just behind my house but my road name not in their coverage DB. Anyone know when it'll be covered?
wana ask the same question too... anyone here willing to go to TMpoint and ask about the coverage here? laugh.gif

edit: ahh nevermind.. seems like user "capultion" had already checked for us...

This post has been edited by tweiyang11: Mar 28 2010, 11:14 AM
tweiyang11
post Apr 6 2010, 04:10 PM

131 posts

hey guys.. got two questions here:

1. what is the speed of IPTV set top box? 100mbps or 1Gbps? (connection speed - i know IPTV uses ~8mbps only)

2. can i connect the IPTV set top box to a aztech homeplug, then another homeplug connected to the RG router?
because i like to put my modem and router at upstairs while my TV is downstairs.

thanks for the help smile.gif

This post has been edited by tweiyang11: Apr 6 2010, 04:10 PM
tweiyang11
post Apr 8 2010, 07:46 AM

131 posts

hey there.. got one question wana ask those who are using the UniFi now..

if you connect the IPTV set top box to the ports behind the FiberHome modem instead of the D-Link RG, will it work?

if it works, then it means we can use our own router instead of the one TM provided. rclxms.gif

can someone try it out for me? thanks! =)
tweiyang11
post Apr 8 2010, 11:08 AM

131 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Apr 8 2010, 10:57 AM)
Installation in progress..  a bit complicated since it's underground.
after the installation is done tell us how was it..

cuz my house is also "underground type" with all those green pedestals...
tweiyang11
post Apr 8 2010, 05:10 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Apr 8 2010, 11:37 AM)
The contractor said not all underground installations are complicated, it depends on the layout of the house and where you want to put your PC and all.
Since my room is practically at the back of the house (2nd floor), they'd have to pull the cable, 'wrap' it around to the back into my room.
Btw, yesterday they did 4 installations.  sweat.gif

Another thing is, an easy installation is not a sure thing even if the green box is in front of your house. The contractors had to pull the cable for about 200m for one of the houses that they've worked on, despite the green box being right in front.

Similarly, the green box is just 2 houses away from mine but they had to pull the cable for around 100m.

I was also told that the waiting time for installation now is around 3 weeks.  sweat.gif
sweat.gif everything u said here is same as mine.. room --> same place , green box --> same distance ... but what do you mean by "wrap it around to the back of your room"??

anyway... anyone here can answer my question?

if you connect the IPTV set top box to the ports behind the FiberHome modem instead of the D-Link RG, will it work?

if it works, then it means we can use our own router instead of the one TM provided. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by tweiyang11: Apr 8 2010, 05:11 PM
tweiyang11
post Apr 8 2010, 05:30 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(heizad @ Apr 8 2010, 05:27 PM)
my room oso at the back of 2nd floor but i want them to connect the modem to the current wireless access point can ar? the AP is at the family hall..center of 2nd floor btw..
can.. my plan is to put the fiberhome modem at my room.. (2nd floor, back of the house).. then connect a LAN cable to the hall... (middle of the house)... that way all the AP is left untouched.. juz replace the ADSL modem can edi..
tweiyang11
post Apr 9 2010, 08:32 AM

131 posts

QUOTE(KyonG92 @ Apr 9 2010, 08:26 AM)
nice dude!! but can you tell me what happened to your astro after you subscribed to IPTV
astro and IPTV are two different things lah bro... you can have both of them side by side... (or one on top, one below brows.gif )

Added on April 9, 2010, 8:33 am
QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Apr 9 2010, 07:31 AM)
7 hours without sleep.. 3 hours sniffing and analyzing packets in wireshark.. 4 hours acquiring the software, setting up the proper codecs and preparing an IPTV content list from the wireshark dumps.. and finally..

REALM FIRST !

Managed to get Unifi's IPTV to stream over any network (wired/wireless) into any PC on my home network ! Yeah biggrin.gif ! No more shitty set top box !
NICE!! when i get my Unifi can you teach me how to set up the VLAN thingy using my dd-wrt router? i will PM you when Unifi is installed.. (Q3..long way to go)

This post has been edited by tweiyang11: Apr 9 2010, 08:33 AM
tweiyang11
post Apr 9 2010, 07:56 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(calvin_yit @ Apr 9 2010, 07:04 PM)
they got nail the rj45 cable to the wall for u?? along the ceiling... or just help drill hole. then sendiri paku? some picture would be nice. was thinking of doing same thing like u. router near pc, iptv box near tv
same here.. but my difference is that i plan to use a pair of aztech homeplugs to connect from upstairs router to downstairs IPTV.. don't know its possible or not.......
tweiyang11
post Apr 10 2010, 06:47 PM

131 posts

one question for user rizvanrp ( i hope you will read this smile.gif )

currently i'm using a Linksys WRT310N (dd-wrt)

i'm planning to use my linksys instead of the DIR615 provided by TM..

so... regarding the VLAN tagging issue.. is it as simple as "Setup>Networking> under VLAN tagging > fill in the tag number (i assume is vlan id), interface and priority"??? [these steps refers to the dd-wrt GUI]

thanks for the help.

tweiyang11
post Apr 10 2010, 08:56 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Apr 10 2010, 08:41 PM)
I can't tell you for sure that it will work because I currently don't have a dd-wrt router to mess around with. However, someone else confirmed that as long as you have the VLAN ID (500) it should work as he managed to get it working on his own hardware. I've probed, retrieved and confirmed the VLAN IDs myself and it appears he was correct. Having dd-wrt firmware means having full control over the router so I'm pretty sure there's a 99% chance it will work as long as you know what you're doing smile.gif

In any case, they will provide you with a DIR-615 router so you could probably post some screenshots here later and we'll try to help you get it up and running on your WRT310N.
wokay.. then i guess my wrt310n can be used then thumbup.gif

as for the screenshots... hmm.. sorry ya.. still long way to go... my area is scheduled Q3

but i will still post up screenshots / how-to when i figure out how to set up using a dd-wrt router...

btw.. an unrelated question...

which router is better ? (in terms of cpu performance)

DIR-615 TM version or Linksys WRT310N?
tweiyang11
post Apr 10 2010, 10:09 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Apr 10 2010, 09:50 PM)

The PPPoE connection must be made on eth0.500 (VLAN ID 500) and not just eth0 like Windows dialer normally does. Failure to have PPPoE run through eth0.500 results in no PPP server response. Basically, as long as your router firmware supports PPPoE connections and VLAN tagging.. it definitely will work for Unifi biggrin.gif
wow.. thanks for taking the trouble to find out these things.... thumbup.gif

to make things short i just need to put port 1 (connected to fiberhome modem) into a seperate VLAN, assign VLAN ID 500 and i'm good to go rite??

NICE~~ icon_rolleyes.gif
tweiyang11
post Apr 10 2010, 10:27 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Apr 10 2010, 10:12 PM)
Put the Internet/WAN port into VLAN ID 500 and set the PPPoE dialer to use that, if possible.
hmm.. i guess i got it.. but i think the PPPoE dialer part is not possible on the dd-wrt (unless i missed something..)

i've attached some screenshots of the dd-wrt.. if can please teach me how to configure... (assuming the WAN port is connected to FiberHome modem)

Main setup page

VLAN settings

VLAN settings (2)

tweiyang11
post Apr 10 2010, 10:44 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Apr 10 2010, 10:40 PM)

Looks correct to me but I really cant tell you how to configure it just yet. I have to get my own dd-wrt first then I'll write up a guide for it. But whatever the case, it definitely will be possible via the web interface or by SSH-ing into the router itself. The PPPoE dialer would default to the WAN port I guess so there's no need to set it specifically.
okay.. thanks alot (x10000) for the help!! hehehe..

if next time when i got my unifi and encounter some probs i will ask you la... biggrin.gif
tweiyang11
post Apr 11 2010, 01:00 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(MX510 @ Apr 11 2010, 09:29 AM)
As long as they router itself have VLAN should be fine

Having dd-wrt is a plus :-)
YUP!! nod.gif AGREE!!

QUOTE(surreall @ Apr 11 2010, 11:58 AM)
WRT610N v2 and tagged VLAN

What model wireless router with gigabit lan ports will support vlan? My dad is going to kill me since I just begged him too buy me an expensive router.  doh.gif

my wrt310N (gigabit) works fine.... hmm.. are you referring to old posts from dd-wrt forum? cuz sometime ago gigabit switch doesnt support VLAN tagging... new realeases oni can...  hmm.gif

tweiyang11
post Apr 11 2010, 01:33 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(surreall @ Apr 11 2010, 01:17 PM)
I read it here http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php...82c0572b7e74125

So can WRT610N use vlan? I think mine is ver 1 not ver 2, still can?
I read a little bit for flashing DD-WRT but still not confident to try it. If failed my whole family will kill me, except my mom.  icon_question.gif
hmm.. from what the forum said.. wrt610n is kinda shaky... i suggest you buy the wrt310n.. since (to me) the VLAN tagging works and its not *that* expensive la.. hehehe.. u still can reach 270mbps using the wrt310n... unless you want dual band?? hmm.gif

btw.. flashing dd-wrt on a linksys is EASY... trust me nod.gif
tweiyang11
post Apr 11 2010, 05:05 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Apr 11 2010, 04:55 PM)
.. maybe the GUI says it supports VLANs but it doesn't actually work?
ya... i was thinking of that also.. maybe the GUI says can.. but in actual fact it cant do VLAN tagging.. until now i cant test it out cuz my area is not ready for unifi yet... but i still got two other routers (buffalo & WRT54g) that *might* support vlan since its megabit switch only..

0.0694sec    0.70    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:25 PM