Is there a way to use own router for unifi? I have a wrt610 with me. Sifu please enlighten me.
Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V4, Latest:NO cap 4 unifi packages 4 now ^_^
Apr 17 2010, 11:59 AM
3,569 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
Is there a way to use own router for unifi? I have a wrt610 with me. Sifu please enlighten me.
Apr 17 2010, 01:56 PM
QUOTE(KAHAK @ Apr 17 2010, 12:13 PM) there always a way The stock dir-615 has no gigabit lan. Wireless performance is not as good as wrt610. The wrt610 was running dd-wrt. Now I keep it in the box. I believe there is a way. I am noobie in networking. Sifu, please help. |
Apr 17 2010, 11:31 PM
QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Apr 17 2010, 03:21 PM) Read this thread, start about 10-15 pages back. I've already set up a direct connection via the Fiberhome modem without using the DLink. VLAN ID for Internet is 500, IPTV is 600. Your wrt610 with dd-wrt has to have VLAN support (which I heard a lot of gigabit capable dd-wrt routers dont). Establish two VLANs on the WAN interface of your router. Have the router connect the PPPoE via VLAN ID 500. Bridge VLAN ID 600 with a physical port on your router so you can plug the IPTV in.. and you should be good to go. Thank you sifu for the answer. I don't blame you for not using the stock dir-615 though.. not only does it lack gigabit, it's draft N and has some connection limits imposed on it. Specs are lower than other dir-615's too and it starts dropping connections and slowing down once you hit the 150-200 TCP + UDP connection mark. Inside the DIR-615 : ![]() 8MB flash/32MB RAM for the DIR-615 rev G1 which they provide.. Anyway, I'm ordering a MikroTik RouterBoard 750G/450G which has gigabit + 680mhz atheros processor + 32/256MB RAM + 64/512MB flash and runs RouterOS. Should definitely be capable of handling the 20mbps connection load and costs about RM230/400 depending on the model. No point trying to find a router to install DD-WRT on when I can already get a fully supported RouterOS/OpenWRT embedded system I will explore the option of setting VLAN on WRT (hopefully it's there). |
Apr 18 2010, 10:52 PM
QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Apr 18 2010, 01:39 AM) Okay guys, I've spent the last 2 hours doing this ._. You are the man. And I have *very* good news --- » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « --- Not only can you run Unifi through your DD-WRT router, you can run DD-WRT on the TMnet DIR-615 G1 router. After looking at some FCC documentation, I realized the chipset (CPU, RAM, FLASH) were exactly identical to the D-Link DIR-615 D1. I took the plunge and reflashed the TM router and YEAHHH Will continue my testing later UPDATE @ 2.00AM : This is f**king sweet UPDATE @ 2.06AM : MRTG graphs, full Linux console, SSHd and telnet support, bandwidth graphs, full control over connection limits, system load and status information.. AHHHH Unifi 20mbps + DD-WRT on TM DIR-615 G1 == *orgasmic* Is is possible to help to set it up on WRT610? It's flashed with dd-wrt. DD-wrt wiki says wrt610 has no vlan support as yet. I am happy to advance a fee for a token of appreciation. This post has been edited by ronaldjoe: Apr 18 2010, 11:16 PM |
Apr 19 2010, 07:33 AM
QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Apr 19 2010, 04:37 AM) Linksys WRT610N? Sigh... According to this page : http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linksys_WRT610N I doubt its possible then. Technically, you don't need to preserve the VLAN tags when you forward packets. It just needs to be able to read and reply with VLAN tagged packets on the WAN interface (vlan2) only. But if the switch is just passively stripping off VLAN tags (much like what Windows does), nothing will work It will not work.. but not because the ports on the Fiberhome are locked. The IPTV STB does not understand VLAN tags, the DLINK router does this 'translation' for it by listening on 2 VLAN IDs on its WAN/Internet port. Its configured to be aware of VLAN's 500 and 600. PPPoE connections are pushed through VLAN 500. The last port on the DLINK router (IPTV port) however is bridged with the WAN interface on VLAN ID 600. You can wire your Dlink router to any port on the Fiberhome modem and it'll work. In fact you can wire any VLAN enabled Linux computer to any port on the Fiberhome modem and have it connect to Unifi for you Thanks for clarification. |
| Change to: | 0.0573sec
8 queries
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:01 AM |