Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V4, Latest:NO cap 4 unifi packages 4 now ^_^

powerfulcool
post Mar 26 2010, 09:55 PM

179 posts

so macam mana ni? got limit or not. this thread starter said dont have, but this website still states the existence of the cap: http://www.unifi.my/unifi/index.php?option...d=76&Itemid=206
powerfulcool
post Mar 26 2010, 10:04 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(whatsayyou @ Mar 26 2010, 09:57 PM)
bloody hell, can u read the twitter post and do some thinking?
ah shove it up your behind. the website should be the main source of information, the rest are secondary from which i havent had the chance to look at. you're a typical 3rd-world malaysian, dont you have some respect for others?
powerfulcool
post Mar 26 2010, 10:11 PM

179 posts

thanks guys. i came here to ask about it... too many pages to brose through to find out the secondary source
powerfulcool
post Mar 26 2010, 10:15 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(BlueWind @ Mar 26 2010, 10:11 PM)
Channels are the least of worries now as they will more added later on. What most of us want now is TM to be more generous on the capping limit.
aside from the internet service, the mini Astro and free phone service is a big sell for me. im thinking of stopping astro service after the world cup.

will TM or other terrestrial channels broadcast the world cup?
powerfulcool
post Mar 26 2010, 10:17 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(googelizer @ Mar 26 2010, 10:13 PM)
once the cap starts ... its gonna get worse... bandwidth will decrease and price will go up... im sure that'll happen knowing malaysian companies
if i recall correctly, streamyx prices have never gone down UP. the packages have been upgraded, customers are paying the same price for the price of their old packages, and they've introduced higher speeds for low prices.

give TM a credit where it is due, TM has never increased the price for their internet service products...

This post has been edited by powerfulcool: Mar 26 2010, 10:17 PM
powerfulcool
post Mar 26 2010, 10:18 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(squall0833 @ Mar 26 2010, 10:16 PM)
Look at the title of this thread,

Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V4, Latest:NO cap 4 unifi packages 4 now happy.gif (Unifi)
Dude, what do you mean NO cap 4 unifi packages now?
weren't that 60,90,120GB still there?? :/

N
here, id avoid being an ass like the other forumer earlier. i understand that some have better things to do than surf forums all day and night, so things like this comes as news to us....

http://star-techcentral.com/tech/story.asp...&sec=technology

This post has been edited by powerfulcool: Mar 26 2010, 10:20 PM
powerfulcool
post Mar 26 2010, 10:30 PM

179 posts

since RM150 is not much different than RM110, id jump ship now

im moving out of the house in subang by the end of the year though. and if the new place in KOta Damansara doesnt have HSBB, will i be penalized? biggrin.gif
powerfulcool
post Mar 26 2010, 11:18 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(whatsayyou @ Mar 26 2010, 10:31 PM)
and u're a 2nd world malaysian? from the bottom of your heart, do u personally feel that the website can be relied upon? That timely information will be reflected in the webpages? This is tmnet we are talking about.

Anyway the sub-title of this thread already has the answer. People just need to be more aware and read, instead of rushing to post. And use the mass in their skull to do some thinking.
yada yada yada go talk with your dog. we have matters to discuss here.
powerfulcool
post Mar 31 2010, 04:30 PM

179 posts

eh can you list down the typical points needed to purchase, a movie, a documentary channel etc...

that would give us an idea how much 1000 points is worth and if we need to top it up with cash when needed
powerfulcool
post Mar 31 2010, 07:37 PM

179 posts

will VDSL users in high rises able to watch IPTV? if VDSL is limited to 24mbps, and if the IPTV only utilizes 8mbps, i dont see why not. but i need to confirm smile.gif

This post has been edited by powerfulcool: Mar 31 2010, 07:41 PM
powerfulcool
post Apr 1 2010, 01:19 PM

179 posts

hahaha the response on Unifi registration is OVERWHELMING according to the CS

so much for the boycott. the only people boycotting are:

a. super heavy downloaders
b. people who cant even apply for the service
c. the so-called 6% who hog 80% of total streamyx bandwidth
powerfulcool
post Apr 1 2010, 02:03 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Apr 1 2010, 01:25 PM)
or people who believe that tmnet shouldn't just get away with providing sub-standard services.

Its overwhelming because simply put, they are launching in high income areas, the people can afford to burn the money, they don't really care. Doesn't mean we should just keep quiet and let them do as they please. I see unifi as a step backwards rather than a step forward.

Even since unifi was launched, my internet is worse. Wait till more and more people subscribe to unifi, and watch the experience degrade more and more. They are just repeating what they've done with streamyx before. We need them to change, we need them to prepare our nation for a broadband future, and as long as consumers like yourself are so apathetic, they won't because they have no reason to.
how can you determine that it's substandard before you have used it? you;re the typical complaining-malaysians aren't you? complain3 without having experienced the service or product beforehand. it's not fair for TM to get the flak before it's even officially launched; getting the flak from people who havent used the service no less. noisy non-buying customers

it's overwhelming because people see it as a value for money; RM150 for a triple play service? that's a good deal compared to what we had previously (typical 1mb broadband cost RM100+ but you're getting 5mbps for just RM150 plus another 2 services)

the argument that it's response is overwhelming because it was launched in high-income area is plain bullshit; the cost for broadband is the same throughout the whole country; if residents in high-income area find it to be a good deal, residents in other areas with broadband access will come to the same conclusion.

btw, do explain what's so sub-standard about the service? free equipment (the 802.11N router alone should set you back RM300!) free IPTV, free local calls, 10cent/minute to mobile numbers (cheaper than most other mobile to mobile calls)...

as for streamyx, my service has never been better. and without numbers and samples, whatever you experience cannot be used as a measuring stick for the internet service by streamyx

you call me apathic, but you know for a fact that you guys are sore and butthurt. TM is changing, they've invested RM9 billion in this project to wire our houses up for the future. tell me what else do you want? even the Americans are having a lot of problem setting up last mile fiber optics network. they are arguing as to whom to pay the bill.. heck, TM is lining up the fibers down your backstreet out of their own pocket without the guarantee that butthurts like you lot would subscribe to the service.

give them some credit and stop being such a pain in the ass for the rest of Malaysians. we dont care about your need to hog the bandwidth. we welcome a certain set of caps to make you lot behave with the bandwidth usage anyway.

p/s havent you guys caused enough damage to the rest of Malaysians by selfishly saturating the streamyx network by downloading 24/7? you 6% used up 80% of the bandwidth. how long do you expect to continue with this selfish behavior? it's about time we take out the whip and get you guys in order. and if you guys dont like the cap, feel free to not subscribe to it. we could use a little less of you lot.

This post has been edited by powerfulcool: Apr 1 2010, 02:24 PM
powerfulcool
post Apr 1 2010, 02:16 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(ProComplex @ Apr 1 2010, 02:13 PM)
According to the installer, the tv set top box can be located near the tv separate from the modem and router provided the router can be connected via lan to the tv set top box as the connection from the set top box to the router is via rj45 connection. Not sure about wifi connection but it should also work I guess esp if you use N speed perhaps thats why an N speed router is supplied.
i wonder how is the dect phone connected to the router? wirelessly or through LAN?
powerfulcool
post Apr 1 2010, 04:24 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Apr 1 2010, 02:42 PM)
That's why we're getting people to post results.

so? it still doesnt give you, a non-user, from complaining about a service you've never used. ive heard nothing short of satisfaction save for a few bad connections to the US servers from the trial users. they are downloading at close to their max speed when connected to multiple connections. the IPTV is flawless, no technical problems there and the same goes to the dect phone service.

what does a chicken user like you have to complain about?

Triple play service that doesn't provide people with anything they really want. You call that value? Landlines are hardly used by most people anymore, IPTV channels are a joke, and guess what, you're paying for it. You call paying for something you don't want/need value? laugh.gif Amazing.

it has to start from somewhere, and those are the free channels anyway, as they go along new channels will be added. your vision is too short-sighted. you expect them to compete against astro in terms of channel listing even though TM has just started this service not a few weeks ago?

So if a rich person thinks a nasi lemak worth RM5 is good value, everyone else will come to the same conclusion? Your impeccable logic amazes me. People with high income CAN AFFORD the prices, people with lower income can't. The cost may be the same throughout the whole country, but the disposable income of the people staying throughout the whole country is different (and many times, by a large margin).

what an idiot. you are comparing an internet service to nasi lemak. nasi lemak gets its raw marerials from local business - rice, santan, eggs, all the ingredients to make them are cheaper in rural areas. whereas is it much more expensive to connect rural areas as the population is more sparse, and the user uptake are considerably lower. you simply cannot compare the 2. in fact TM is doing the rural area residents a favor by offering internet connectivity at the same price urban areas are getting.

let me just say this again, you are a retard for comparing internet service to nasi lemak.

Look at how much we're being charged for broadband compared to other countries all around us. Compare it dollar to dollar, and you'll see that our internet is bloody f***ing expensive.

you mean indonesia and philipines? I kid; sure, you meant singapore and probably thailand. tell you what, since you proposed the point, you should come up with the source. where is this source comparing the broadband service prices across the region.

Sub standard service includes

• Throttling

• Slow speeds

• Bad pings

• Unreliable connections

• Frequent downtimes

as lame as an ass. all you are doing is speculating. you have no points just like the rest of your post. you are an idiot with a foolish agenda... non of your accusations has materialized but you are pointing them out as if they will happen.

You don't have numbers as well do you? I spent 30+ minute loading a 3 minute youtube video, tell me how that is great service? My 1mbps line is downloading files at 30kBps (from gmail), tell me if that is great service. (My ADSL signal is fine if you're wondering)
Out of their own pocket? laugh.gif They were subsidised by the government, do you pay your taxes? I do. So they did use my money to build the infrastructure and yet can still charge high prices? Utter bollocks.

aaa it's fun to see my point flying past above your head. what i was saying is anecdotal examples are useless. just because you are experiencing a bad service it doesnt mean the service is bad as a whole. if anecdotal evidence is a valid point of argument, i would like to point out that everyone in my neighborhood has been having a wonderful streamyx service for the past 2 years, all 1000 household... believe me, because i've asked them. 1000 users vs a single user like you having a problem, that' 0.1% bad service rate, so streamyx must be great biggrin.gif

tl,dr: your anecdotal evidence is useless in measuring the service quality; so shut it already with your problem from downloading asian porn ok?

Your argument doesn't make any sense anyway. Any sort of business needs to make an investment to provide infrastructure and support for their products. Its not like they're giving it free, if they want my business they need to make things attractive and provide a good service. It wouldn't be so bad if they used only their own money, but the government subsidised them, which means that I paid for the infrastructure as well.

they invested 9billion into the infrastructure, and you are saying that they cannot decide on the price points? are you a communist? why are you against capitalism. at RM150 per month there are thousands registering for the service. why? because they "provide a good service". prospective customers are attracted to them. only download monkeys like you refused to subscribe to the service because of the possibility of a cap. tell you what, none of us users are TM miss you 6%.

government is only subsidizing RM2billion probably to connect rural areas where no other ISPs would due to the low ROI.

I wonder if you know the meaning of the word 'apathetic' in the first place laugh.gif

haih, condescending much? this is how you deliver your points eh?

im not apathetic. i saw a good service and give them credit by registering for it. you on the other hand is too butt hurt because TM is going to change your pirating lifestyle.

Credit is given when credit is due, and they've not done what I deem necessary to give them any sort of credit. Until they can make a promise and even put it in my contract, guaranteeing a certain level of service quality, only then I'll give them credit because it shows effort and commitment to quality.

Just watch, as most of you are happy with unifi now, give it sometime, and you'll all be complaining like you did with streamyx, and why? Because you all signed up for a 2 year contract which doesn't promise or guarantee you anything and you can't do shit about it. You never fought for your own rights as consumers. and you will rightly get fleeced because of it.

If you ever used the internet in other countries, then you'll know why I say their service is sub-standard and this is not my opinion alone. Friend who came back after studying for a few years in US, UK, AU, JP all say the same thing, internet here sucks. What's the main difference in these countries? The consumers fight for their rights, and make the companies listen.
haha you are so full of shit. all your points are based on speculations on your part. just fyi, i just got back from the States and i can say the AT&T adsl service there suck more. it's not all gold and roses there. they are having problem with connecting the whole US with fiber anyway, and TM is doing it for free for you without a guarantee a butthurt like you would register for it.
powerfulcool
post Apr 5 2010, 06:58 PM

179 posts

user posted image user posted image
FFFF YEAAAH!

This post has been edited by powerfulcool: Apr 5 2010, 07:50 PM
powerfulcool
post Apr 6 2010, 11:40 PM

179 posts

i already have mine. and i dont understand why people bothered to hold off from subscribing when the price is only 1RM40 more expensive than 1mbps

this is a superb service biggrin.gif all of you are missing out tongue.gif
powerfulcool
post Apr 8 2010, 04:04 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(igothack @ Apr 7 2010, 02:25 AM)
I believe tons of people are signing up for Unifi in the available areas. The sales rep told me that the technicians are fully booked until April 21st.

I guess all your boycotting failed.

im in subang and the same applies. Unifi FTW. Boycotting are for losers

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Apr 7 2010, 11:29 AM)
According to the guy in charge of the project at TM, so far only 400 subscribers tongue.gif

Still, the boycott fails because Malaysians are just lousy consumers. Complain about how horrible things are, and will still fork out the cash for an overpriced service.
cant argue against that. and this attitude applies to students as well. when they dont understand what the teachers are saying, they dont ask the teachers but ask their friends. Malaysians are generally pusses.
powerfulcool
post Apr 9 2010, 08:44 AM

179 posts

woah good job rizvan. can you share the steps you took to stream over the network?

i know all of us would appreciate it, teh set top box is shitty yes.
powerfulcool
post Apr 9 2010, 10:34 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(heizad @ Apr 9 2010, 10:28 AM)
my dad just call me to inform 5 hours for the installation to be done sweat.gif
mine was 8hours, flat... it's not even that big a house
powerfulcool
post Apr 9 2010, 04:06 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Apr 9 2010, 03:40 PM)
I'll post a guide in a bit however this method doesn't work with all channels. As dongster said, there is DRM (or rather scrambling) employed. So it can't be used to replace your STB but its good for streaming HD channels.

Channel list : http://athena.my/imagehost/chanlist.txt

I extracted that by sniffing the STB as it requested an IP from the IPTV service DHCP servers and set itself up. It contains the channel names, properties (encryption/HD/PIP stream/channel bandwidth/etc.) and multicast information to connect to the stream. TM uses UDP multicast for streaming open channels along with RTSP which enables them to provide services such as VOD (RTSP sends account information and time duration for stuff you stream). I've stripped out my account information from the RTSP requests in this file though.

(deleted)

As you can see, I chose Luxe.TV HD for a few reasons. I like it because its HD (IsHDChannel=1). Streams at 8000kbps (ChanBandwith=8000) and has no DRM/scrambling employed (ChanEncrypt=0). I'm assuming they don't use encryption on HD channels (8000kbps+) because the STB can't handle it. Standard channels range between 2000-2048kbps and are all encrypted.

The video quality was much better than using the STB though. Hopefully they won't encrypt the other HD channels as they add them to the IPTV network.
ooo, i hope this will not discourage them from introducing more HD channels; if the STB's inability to handle 8000kbps + DRM is true.

0.0728sec    0.60    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:53 PM