Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V4, Latest:NO cap 4 unifi packages 4 now ^_^

mylinear
post Mar 29 2010, 02:56 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Mar 29 2010, 02:48 PM)
Well, if u think about it, optical fibers doesn't conduct electricity..so theoretically, it should be safer than copper lines. biggrin.gif
I'm getting mine installed this Saturday.
Does the voice line via fiber work if there is no power in the house? Copper line phone works since there is power for it from the exchange.

mylinear
post Mar 29 2010, 07:55 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Mar 29 2010, 06:21 PM)
the new undersea cable I believe is the recently completed Asian American Gateway (AAG) - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AAG_(cable_system)
I thought this was already in operation? It must be, because there has already been a problem on it a couple of months ago.

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...1135&sec=nation
mylinear
post Apr 4 2010, 12:36 AM

974 posts

QUOTE(sohlican @ Apr 3 2010, 09:50 PM)
Think about it guys, if TM gives us all unlimited bandwidth for all packages, then if there is a network congestion, blame TM; don't come and blame the users.
Maybe you can call TM and find out exactly what they mean in their FAQ.

41. Why TM is offering unlimited packages & at the same time limits the amount of traffic?
Unlimited means that there is no time capping for user to access to the Internet and it does not mean that user can download/upload an unlimited volume of data.

http://www.streamyx.com/customer_care/cust...stomer_care_faq
mylinear
post Apr 8 2010, 12:11 AM

974 posts

QUOTE(Arlington @ Apr 7 2010, 12:24 PM)
How many installation teams are allocated to each area?
They started with total of 60 installers.

http://www.tm.com.my/about-tm/media-centre...HSBBLAUNCH.aspx

mylinear
post Apr 8 2010, 01:11 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(bladegun @ Apr 8 2010, 12:24 AM)
By excluding the IPTV, they can either reduce the price or increase the cap. This will definitely make more people happy.
The IPTV is "as if" being bundled in "free" in the package. For example, if RM149 included a IPTV charge, lets say RM49, that means 5Mbps HSI is RM100. That in turn means Streamyx prices have to be reduced due to the slower speeds.

Only if you say IPTV has a price to it, then you can remove it an substitute with increased cap. But IPTV is using local bandwidth. Increased cap means increased international bandwidth. That cost extra which cannot be covered by removing IPTV as there is no price attached to it as I say above.

I posted in another thread:

My guess is that there will be a cap either at the advertised limit or maybe higher to say its based on user feedback and usage. I doubt it will be lower than initially stated.

I also think they may charge more to remove the cap, eg pay RM50 extra per month and get without the cap. This will then come back to be the same as the RM199 BIZ5 package. So if you are a home user and you can get the BIZ5 package, this could be the reason why. The difference being in IPTV and voice call rates. It does not work the other way though.

mylinear
post Apr 9 2010, 12:21 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Apr 9 2010, 07:31 AM)
7 hours without sleep.. 3 hours sniffing and analyzing packets in wireshark.. 4 hours acquiring the software, setting up the proper codecs and preparing an IPTV content list from the wireshark dumps.. and finally..
Although I am not in need of such info at this time, I'd like to take a moment to thank rizvanrp for sharing his findings and info with the rest of us.

It is refreshing to see some being unselfish in giving out info when most of the time most of us act as "takers" and not "givers". This sort of sharing and learning is part of what Internet is all about. This sort of attitude used to be more common in the earlier days of the Internet here but seems to have been overtaken by our "kiasu" attitude later on.

Kudos to rizvanrp .
mylinear
post Apr 19 2010, 12:59 AM

974 posts

QUOTE(iipohbee @ Apr 18 2010, 07:08 PM)
Put the jokes aside.

Did you know that in Japan, Taiwan and South Korea the isps there are sometimes using porn to promote their packages?
They promote with ideas like "view your porn movies smoother with our high end packages as such.."
If you surf to their isps sites somettimes you see very interesting banners.

When will we have such kind of openess?
Not necessary here. Because the users upgrade and pay for higher packages on their own either because their current packages do not provide the expected speeds, or they want to download more or faster, or get premium IP etc... no need for promos from ISP.

mylinear
post Apr 20 2010, 12:34 AM

974 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Apr 19 2010, 08:17 PM)
This is what i dont understand. I think they have covered quite alot of places, only lack of manpower to do the cabling job for the demand. So they say not covered yet.
How can they say yr area not covered when the fiber box is just near your place.

Weird  blush.gif
The areas will be covered only after the exchanges serving that area are upgraded to support Unifi. Those boxes on poles don't really mean much. There are areas where those boxes have been installed on poles early this year but the areas are only supposed to be covered either in Q3 or Q4. Those boxes will be hanging around till then...

I think most likely what has happened is that all those box installation and cabling were sub-contracted out to many parties. All those parties of course have gone out to do their work as fast as possible so that they get their money for the work. This does not necessarily mean Unifi wil be at those areas soon though, not until TM upgrades the area exchanges. If not for all those sub-contractors, I don't think so many areas would have been installed with the cables and boxes in the past few months or so.

Added on April 20, 2010, 12:36 am
QUOTE(budakhops @ Apr 20 2010, 12:17 AM)
guys.. wanna ask? can i just upgrade my 1mbps that still have contract left to unifi vip5 package? need to finish my contract 1st or just change to unifi?
p/s: i'm at seksyen 13, shah alam...
You should be able to move to Unifi without any penalty. Call 100 or 1 300 88 1222 to ask your questions.

This post has been edited by mylinear: Apr 20 2010, 12:36 AM

0.0641sec    0.17    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:22 AM