Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V4, Latest:NO cap 4 unifi packages 4 now ^_^

dr2k3
post Mar 28 2010, 12:21 PM

Speculator
3,569 posts

QUOTE(gzero @ Mar 28 2010, 11:13 AM)
Strongly agreed. We earn RM1k here, they earn equivalent $1k on the other side.

RM100 here for a DVD is 10% of our salary.
$40 there for a DVD is merely 4% of their salary.

That explains why everything in SG seems "much cheaper". All boils down to currency value and cost of living, just like prasys said.
1k salary on both side

3mb 27.9SGD = 9.3 per mb so 4mb =37.2...

they pay $37 for 4mb...roughly...we pay 140-150....even 24x(blood sucker) at starting

even after conversion only RM93....leave the throttle problem aside...its the freaking price....we have to pay insane amount of money on top of all the connection problem

even their 10mb is way way way way cheaper than our 2mb or 4mb...its ur singtel btw

dr2k3
post Mar 28 2010, 12:31 PM

Speculator
3,569 posts

QUOTE(raptar_eric @ Mar 28 2010, 12:27 PM)
well, we can't just do direct conversion of the rate, and compare the prices... alot of factors are being taken into consideration, esp the cost of living, and salary range, etc.
why cost of living and salary range have something to do with how ISP decide the price ?
dr2k3
post Mar 28 2010, 01:07 PM

Speculator
3,569 posts

QUOTE(gzero @ Mar 28 2010, 12:47 PM)
If you must compare, let me do it for you. Lets compare apple to apple. In SG, singtel equivalent is their MIO Home 10Mbps which includes ADSL Line, free call to all fixed home line and IPTV equivalent and it cost $57 all inclusive per month. That's like RM135 here?

Unifi 10Mbps cost RM199.  Is that really much of a difference? Not to mention, how long has 10Mbps be around in SG now? Forever? and how old is our HSBB? 1 week old? 2 at most?
You expect a new service which is even faster than our old ADSL and yet cheaper? What are they going to do with the existing service ADSL then? phase it out immediately?
i saw $47 ...why u wan compare with highest o_O...i thought most consumer compare with lowest price o_O

if compare how old....our streamyx 2mb is consider old enough to compare? our OLD ADSL(copper) is almost the same as their Faster HSBB(Fiber)pricing?

logically speaking it should be theirs more expensive because of low subscriber and "expensive international bandwidth" and yet they are cheaper....

u compare same speed oso more exp...u compare to low speed also more exp than theirs

existing ADSL? reduce price....phase out and upgrade ( same as reduce price)

=====================================

btw...is there any official bandwidth cap on singtel broadband?

This post has been edited by dr2k3: Mar 28 2010, 01:36 PM
dr2k3
post Mar 28 2010, 01:10 PM

Speculator
3,569 posts

btw...is there any official bandwidth cap on singtel broadband?

no option to del post = ="

Added on March 28, 2010, 1:16 pm
QUOTE(silverhawk @ Mar 28 2010, 01:01 PM)
Do not agree

What tmnet is doing now is basically saying. Ok, you paid RM100 for this cake. However, you can't eat the whole cake, you can only take one bite. Even though you paid for the whole cake, because other people also paid for the whole cake, so they can also want to take a bite. Don't be greedy and selfish! Other people also want to eat the cake ok!

They charge you for a whole cake, but only give you one bite. They charge everyone for the whole cake, and give each one bite, the more people buy the whole cake, the smaller your share becomes. From a business point of view, this is amazing, because your cost remains the same, but your profits increase with each new customer. And the customers are all so gullible to accept the one bite for a price of a full cake.

If secret recipe were to do this, surely kena sue already. Yet there are people still defending tmnet.
actually we are only paying for 1 bite....i estimate 1mb dedicated lease line is around 2-3k?simply guess...

25:1....25 people share 1 line =/

This post has been edited by dr2k3: Mar 28 2010, 01:25 PM
dr2k3
post Mar 28 2010, 01:48 PM

Speculator
3,569 posts

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Mar 28 2010, 01:42 PM)
No, they are paying for priority. So using a cake analogy, they get their cake before everyone else. Even if you were first in line and they came 2 hours later, they get the cake before you.

Doesn't mean you don't get your cake. Your cake just has lower priority. Which is the problem they are having now. They can't produce enough cakes, so they are giving one cake to many people who paid for 1 cake, instead of increasing production to give 1 cake to people who paid for it.
ur priority make sense....

they r giving one cake to too many people......still we pay for only a portion of the cake..not the whole

whole cake(whole dedicated 1mb "pipeline" = 2-3k)(true 1mb or whatever mb dedicated lease line is 20 times more than what u are currently paying)...thats why we have 25:1 contention ratio....they split the cost between 25 end user so it seems slightly affordable to consumer

This post has been edited by dr2k3: Mar 28 2010, 01:54 PM
dr2k3
post Mar 28 2010, 02:13 PM

Speculator
3,569 posts

QUOTE(xpresside @ Mar 28 2010, 01:55 PM)
malaysians are used to being pampered with no cap. i was in aussie, adsl+ internode also got cap. each month 100+ aud i think. compare sg and malaysia like compare peanut to watermelon
maybe u all just too rich or dont bother or ur ISP is just taking advantage of you and u guys just keep quiet

in taiwan where even free stuff shrink by 1cm they will shout on media and consumer sue company if their price is unreasonable(even with black and white contract)....police didnt do their job properly lead to property dmg/financial lost....they can sue government for compensation(wonder when will this happen in our country)...their 10mbs only 30 to 6x RINGGITMALAYSIA

This post has been edited by dr2k3: Mar 28 2010, 02:21 PM
dr2k3
post Mar 28 2010, 02:28 PM

Speculator
3,569 posts

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Mar 28 2010, 02:23 PM)
You guys still don't understand the analogy >"<

We are paying for cakes, because they advertise it as such. We are not paying for bites. If a cake is 1mbps, then a slice is something like 256kbps or something and a bite something like 56k laugh.gif (which is what we get with streamyx sometimes). If they advertised that we're paying for bites and if they have extra cakes we can have it(off-peak limits), then no one would be complaining. 

However they want to market it enticingly, yet don't want to deliver on promises.
it just your perception that ur paying for whole 1mb or maybe they advertise wrongly.....it did state it will go up to 1mb for the amount you pay....and it did(1 bite/taste of 1mb already =P)....but didnt say anything about 24/7 1mb...=p

i know what u mean lol~

This post has been edited by dr2k3: Mar 28 2010, 02:32 PM
dr2k3
post Mar 28 2010, 02:34 PM

Speculator
3,569 posts

consumer in our country is too quiet...just let ppl take advantage....we actually have the right to sue the company for false advertisement
dr2k3
post Mar 28 2010, 02:43 PM

Speculator
3,569 posts

QUOTE(Aggroboy @ Mar 28 2010, 02:31 PM)
I don't know why you guys are clinging so tightly to the false advertizing argument.

Every company advertizes bombastically and overpromises anyways, my current employer won't get projects at all if they don't overpromise.
i was wondering how ur employer survive all this year....

promise 2 but give 1?thats call cheating... no ppl sue ur employer?

dr2k3
post Mar 28 2010, 02:58 PM

Speculator
3,569 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Mar 28 2010, 02:56 PM)
can home user apply for the unlimited business ?
no....u need to register for a company first

0.0600sec    0.27    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:21 AM