Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V3, UniFi website, pricing, packages & FAQ !

rajulkabir
post Mar 24 2010, 10:18 PM

1,428 posts

Would it have made sense to wait and start thread v3 after the end of this flurry of one-line replies like "boring lah" and "unifi lol"?
rajulkabir
post Mar 25 2010, 01:40 AM

1,428 posts

QUOTE(woeijian @ Mar 24 2010, 10:29 PM)
why not we stop posting until we read the newspaper 2moro? sure those newspaper has the internal price for now. cos they going to publish.
If it's going to be in the newspaper tomorrow, then a lot of people already know. The ad had to be at the newspaper office today (Wed 24) or earlier, and many people there would have seen it before it went to the press this evening.
rajulkabir
post Mar 25 2010, 01:57 AM

1,428 posts

QUOTE(chulk @ Mar 24 2010, 11:43 PM)
streamyx RM160 for 4M.
HSBB RM150 for 5M.

i wonder why you guys feel its expensive.
1) Because Streamyx 4mbps for RM160 was already very expensive compared to Thailand and Singapore

2) Because HSBB is rumoured to come with a less-than-generous bandwidth cap, whereas Streamyx has none.
rajulkabir
post Mar 25 2010, 02:06 AM

1,428 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Mar 25 2010, 12:56 AM)
As for Malaysia, they lay cable to HK/Taiwan/Japang (my guess), and this is far cheaper that Australia. So why are we paying as much as Australia? To cover the cost for Fibre optic cables?
To cover the cost of launch ceremony featuring an endless succession of boring bands, and then a fireworks display that woke up my baby sleeping halfway across town.
rajulkabir
post Mar 25 2010, 02:22 AM

1,428 posts

QUOTE(poh880 @ Mar 25 2010, 01:17 AM)
Verzion FiOS cost $89.99 around RM306 included telephone, IPTV and 15M/5M internet connection. We will be TM can beat it or not... lol
You cannot even begin to compare.

With FIOS you can actually use the high speed for international destinations. I have a client on FIOS who needs to access one of my servers in Europe. She consistently gets close to full speed in transfers to and from that server. With HSBB, testers are getting international speeds to most destinations that are the same as I get with Streamyx (i.e., dog slow).

Now, the "value-added" services.

TM IPTV includes what, 20 channels? Of which maybe two or three I would ever even consider watching. Then look at the FIOS TV lineup: http://www22.verizon.com/Residential/FiOST...annelLineUp.htm (enter zip code 20812, just as an example). Can you even count all those channels? And how many are HD?

FIOS includes unlimited free phone calls throughout the country plus Canada. Last I saw, TM was charging RM0.15/minute on their VoIP line.
rajulkabir
post Mar 25 2010, 09:00 AM

1,428 posts

QUOTE(MX510 @ Mar 25 2010, 07:42 AM)
I'm not sure wether HSSB ip is static or dynamic if static get ready to get DMCA take down notice if u run utorrent inside your PC
How?

DMCA takedown notices can only be sent to organisations that have filed their contact information with the US government for this specific purpose. Those organisations may then pass the note on to their client, if appropriate.

TM doesn't have a filing. And DMCA doesn't apply outside of the USA anyway.
rajulkabir
post Mar 25 2010, 05:22 PM

1,428 posts

QUOTE(g-string @ Mar 25 2010, 11:29 AM)
usually what they mean by cap is that once you go over, you pay per kb. this is what is practiced overseas. they dun cut ur connection, just let you enjoy and you pay end of month.
Only in Aus/NZ and Africa, both of which are severely bandwidth-constrained regions.

Almost nowhere in the rest of the world will you see charges after the cap is reached. Either there is no cap, or the connection is just slowed down.
rajulkabir
post Mar 25 2010, 05:50 PM

1,428 posts

QUOTE(ipaqfreak @ Mar 25 2010, 12:29 PM)
I dun believe the statement...... the bandwidth is coming in is the same IP.... they do caching and capping base on IP.....
what talk ......TM
Believe it or not, you're wrong. The IPTV box has its own IP address in a different VLAN.
rajulkabir
post Mar 25 2010, 07:48 PM

1,428 posts

QUOTE(woeijian @ Mar 25 2010, 02:10 PM)
what the uses of streamyx zone ID?
It lets you access TM wifi hotspots. I think they have them at Kenny Rogers and Delifrance or something. I used many years ago while waiting for Streamyx to be installed, and it was really slow. Maybe better now.
rajulkabir
post Mar 25 2010, 08:56 PM

1,428 posts

QUOTE(satoshi.mifune @ Mar 25 2010, 08:18 PM)
quote from igothack post
The sales representative told me that the bandwidth will not be throttled once you go over your cap. Instead, you will be given bandwidth overage charges which means for every GB you go over your limit, you will have to pay an additional fee.

The actual overage charge rate is still unknown.
Call them again and I bet you'll get a completely different answer.
rajulkabir
post Mar 25 2010, 10:37 PM

1,428 posts

QUOTE(mylinear @ Mar 25 2010, 09:58 PM)
For voice line, it seems you cannot retain your existing number. Because different technologies. Its only a number, surely  there is a way to get the system or exchange etc to use the same number.

Of course there is. It has nothing to do with "different technologies", it's just because TM didn't develop a procedure for transferring the numbers.

Anyway, what happened to the boycott thread?
rajulkabir
post Mar 25 2010, 10:39 PM

1,428 posts

QUOTE(jimmy.soo @ Mar 25 2010, 10:38 PM)
got closed down and mod advised to continue it here... since its related
(my rant deleted)

Edit: Never mind, I see it's been merged with Extreme Unifi Slowdowns - http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1367918

This post has been edited by rajulkabir: Mar 25 2010, 10:43 PM
rajulkabir
post Mar 25 2010, 11:05 PM

1,428 posts

QUOTE(vivre @ Mar 25 2010, 11:03 PM)
Just a quick question, for the high rise condo/apartment like me and most of us in Klang Valley.. TM will make use of VDSL right?

Via VDSL, it will make use of existing telephone line, right? If yes, will the speed reduce or been affected (i.e. not a true 20mbps)?
It shouldn't be affected. VDSL2 can go much higher (ten times higher) than 20mbps.
rajulkabir
post Mar 25 2010, 11:10 PM

1,428 posts

QUOTE(cipan2001 @ Mar 25 2010, 11:06 PM)
So any complaint ??
Yes, that means you are signing a 2-year contract and don't even know what the cap will be and how it will be implemented. Big risk if you ask me, I wouldn't do it. I am not opposed to caps but I am opposed to mysterious and potentially wide-reaching changes to my terms of service.

0.0483sec    0.96    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:41 PM