Samsung Galaxy S i9000 official thread

gzero
post Jul 2 2010, 10:46 AM

345 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jul 2 2010, 10:01 AM)
nvr worry about the con from the company i buy(reputable company in UK)
phew, dhl delivered it next to my apartment.lucky i go there and ask else im now frustrating..charging now and wondering can i on it while charging tongue.gif
i asked them not to include 8gb memory card with GBP20 cheaper but end up they still include kingston class 4 8gb with lowered price..got free memory card tongue.gif
If i were your neighbour i'll be very happy to see a free Galaxy S arrive at my doorstep so early in the morning. No way i'm returning it!

This post has been edited by gzero: Jul 2 2010, 10:47 AM
gzero
post Jul 2 2010, 08:35 PM

345 posts

Personally I don't feel that this phone is anywhere near slow to begin with, it It is already fast.but this method just made it faster smile.gif

This post has been edited by gzero: Jul 2 2010, 08:37 PM
gzero
post Jul 3 2010, 12:14 AM

345 posts

QUOTE(mAxPC @ Jul 2 2010, 06:26 PM)
Very tempted to flash my Singtel set with the European firmware, everytime I reboot the phone I get the Singtel Ideas bootscreen tongue.gif or even when I off the phone lol
lol, i already flash my singtel set to European firmware on second day of purchase. Really can't tahan singtel logo and their rubbish apps. In fact, i did this to my previous N97 singtel's set as well.
gzero
post Jul 3 2010, 01:18 AM

345 posts

then sign up and terminate right away lo... RM 1.7k+ RM500, still cheaper than retail
gzero
post Jul 4 2010, 06:30 AM

345 posts

the i9000 IDLE battery life is phenomenal imo. At least for me, it only drain about 1% battery every 1 hour constantly (from 100% -> 80% takes 20hrs, the battery scale is pretty linear so far, i've tried dropping 50% to 40% and it still takes about 10 hours so the 1% for 1 hour rule is pretty accurate. then i can't tahan and start playing with the phone liao..hahahah!). That means if i leave my phone idle all the way, it will last 100 hour or slightly longer than 4 days. Much longer than my 2.5-3days on N97.

However if i start using apps that drains battery like MSN/Market/Web browsing, the battery consumption rate increase from 1% per hour to about 10-15% per hour. Meaning it'll last about 6-7 hours of continuous torture. This is about the same as my N97. Nothing outstanding here. I have no idea know how GSMArena set can last so long under moderate usage. If fact, no one else other that GSMArena that managed to reproduce the result.

Added on July 4, 2010, 6:34 am
QUOTE(Nicklly @ Jul 4 2010, 04:51 AM)
Anyone know this I9000 can use what gps navigation apps?.. really need help on this.!!
None that i know off sad.gif (at least not a good one) I missed garmin on my previous nokia though, really hope they will port to android but it's very unlikely.

This post has been edited by gzero: Jul 4 2010, 06:40 AM
gzero
post Jul 5 2010, 04:46 PM

345 posts

Hey i just realized something, i can't find a way to use my own senheisser headset to make call and use the handset mic to talk (i.e : use earphone to listen and talk to the phone). the voice simply wont output to the headset. need to use the samsung original handsfree kit only can?

can somebody else confirm this?
gzero
post Jul 5 2010, 05:43 PM

345 posts

no landscape for me to, in both homescreen and apps.
gzero
post Jul 5 2010, 10:07 PM

345 posts

Guys, i have a brand new set of Galaxy S 16gb from Singtel for sale on behalf of my friend. Check this out :

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1480439&hl=

and spread the news biggrin.gif
gzero
post Jul 5 2010, 10:22 PM

345 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jul 5 2010, 10:08 PM)
before you bored of galaxy s,here a rumor about galaxy s2: laugh.gif
http://phandroid.com/2010/07/05/before-the..._medium=twitter
spec looks too good to be true, dont hold your breath tongue.gif , even if it's true i hope it'll be released 1 year from now, so i can renew my contract and get it cheap cheap!

This post has been edited by gzero: Jul 5 2010, 10:23 PM
gzero
post Jul 6 2010, 07:01 PM

345 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jul 6 2010, 04:53 PM)
lol if not they give u unsealed box?  sweat.gif

Added on July 6, 2010, 4:53 pmbtw, swype is not working on Messaging in latest firmware. when i try type with swype and send it,the message will not send and its cleared...need to use stock keyboard only can..

but Handcent no problem with it...
Swype is fixed in Modaco custom rom r2 smile.gif will try it out now. and guys, sorry i won't be uploading his ROM anymore, i don't think it's fair for the creator. If you truly support his work, please donate it personally to get early access to his ROM. Otherwise you can wait a little bit before the public pre-bake version is out. Eventually you will still get them smile.gif

Source : http://android.modaco.com/content/samsung-...online-kitchen/

This post has been edited by gzero: Jul 6 2010, 07:03 PM
gzero
post Jul 6 2010, 07:51 PM

345 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jul 6 2010, 07:22 PM)
i tried plug my iphone earphone into galaxy s for radio but my earphone dun have sound..only the speaker has sound..so i need to use galaxy s earphone only got sound?
My sennnheiser earphone works fine, but only for music listening. can't use to make call aka as handsfree.
gzero
post Jul 6 2010, 08:20 PM

345 posts

QUOTE(gooleng @ Jul 6 2010, 08:02 PM)
Hi, Do I need to root my phone 1st before i can run the Rom ? just a noob question. thanks
Nope, but u need to flash to the firmware required. Then apply the ROM. The ROM will root the phone for u
gzero
post Jul 6 2010, 10:45 PM

345 posts

QUOTE(gooleng @ Jul 6 2010, 10:16 PM)
Ohh. Thank you !!! Ill try it tonight. I hope everything will go as order. I just can't stand the black screen lag while loading apps.

1 more question. which im not sure whetehr it's been answer b4. Do i need an external Sd card before i does the ROM mod ? or just use the existing internal SDcard? thank you
The internal SD is fine, just place the Modaco ROM to your root directory after flashing to the new firmware smile.gif
gzero
post Jul 6 2010, 11:48 PM

345 posts

Hey guys, i just realized that even though officially the phone has support for Flash Lite 4. It's not enabled by default in the browser. So, we can't see any flash content. To enable it, you must do it manually by first running the browser, click the option softkey -> More -> Settings -> Enable Plug-ins

Then only you can see flash content that are supported.

This post has been edited by gzero: Jul 6 2010, 11:48 PM
gzero
post Jul 7 2010, 12:10 AM

345 posts

QUOTE(kcwo @ Jul 7 2010, 12:05 AM)
Did you all test the google map? I try to search "my location" in it. But it fails many time and sucess rate is low. I try it at sea park, digital mall, sungei way area and sri petaling. Not easy to lock it. Have anybody facing the same problem?
The my location is actually google latitude and it can determine your location based on your wireless/mobile line signal (GSM) or sattelite, or both..depending on which you enable. Satellite is very battery consuming and sometimes slow. But the GSM mode is very power saving yet fast but at a cost of accuracy. Mine is quite accurate though. I disabled sattelite, only enable the wireless mode.

Added on July 7, 2010, 12:12 am
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jul 6 2010, 11:56 PM)
ya,i only knew it few days ago when i try to install flash 10.1..too bad it not working..
btw flash lite 4 is a flash version 9 smile.gif
Oh really? I didnt know that, thanks for enlightening me biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by gzero: Jul 7 2010, 12:12 AM
gzero
post Jul 8 2010, 01:56 AM

345 posts

QUOTE(STE1 @ Jul 8 2010, 12:01 AM)
Thanks for info.

Actually found a local reseller of the invisible shield.

http://www.dewrappers.net/2008/11/placing-orders.html

Will email them to see if they have SGS version.
I will say again for the second time, there's a lowyat forumer selling EVERYTHING directly from ZAGG US (Invisible shield product) at a whopping 30% discount of what you see in their official website inclusive of postage all the way from US to your doorstep. The GS bulk is proceeding very quickly because it's very hot a the moement. Only take 1-2 weeks to reach your home.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1381277&hl=

Added on July 8, 2010, 1:58 am
QUOTE(derrickmoo @ Jul 8 2010, 01:04 AM)
If you guys are looking for nice leather case and screen protector.. do let me know.. as im bringing in PDair great quality leather case.. currently only 3 designs only.. coz is too new.. smile.gif anyone is interested do let me know.. taking bulk order now!! cheers mates! lets make our galaxy looks more glamour!!
Do u have those flip leather case? biggrin.gif If got i'm interested, but i want to see the picture first to make sure it's not ugly tongue.gif

This post has been edited by gzero: Jul 8 2010, 01:59 AM
gzero
post Jul 8 2010, 05:27 AM

345 posts

QUOTE(muok @ Jul 8 2010, 05:13 AM)
bros, how is the battery life for the phone? i mean with regular everyday use. how long does one charge last?
1 day once, just like every other phone. I surf net/MSN about 3-4 hours daily. If no net browsing, just for occasional call and sms probably can last 2-3days. It has a especially bad battery consumption when HSDPA is being used. Weird.

This post has been edited by gzero: Jul 8 2010, 05:29 AM
gzero
post Jul 8 2010, 11:36 PM

345 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jul 8 2010, 11:13 PM)
Need to ask what free apps to use to backup the Android before I upgrade the firmware without rooting?
my backup pro, not sure if it's free or not..maybe partially
gzero
post Jul 9 2010, 04:49 AM

345 posts

QUOTE(Nicklly @ Jul 9 2010, 03:56 AM)
Agree with that the battery drain pretty fast even I dint use much
Anyone know why?
9 hours already since my last charge, battery show 85% left. Did some few calls and occasional SMS in between. Not too bad for me.
Did u use live wallpaper? Because it will consume more battery, not to say a lot more...but it's quite noticeable.

This post has been edited by gzero: Jul 9 2010, 04:51 AM
gzero
post Jul 9 2010, 07:21 PM

345 posts

QUOTE(jangyelo @ Jul 9 2010, 06:10 PM)
My phone takes over 2 hours to fully charge. Is this normal?
Using the charger not through usb cable.
The charger is only rated at 0.75A, and the battery is 1500mA or 1.5A. So theoritically, you will need 2 hours to charge from zero to full. But of course, it's not 100% efficiency, so it will always take more than that.
USB is only capable of 0.5A. So to get zero to full, you will need 3 hours ++.

As opposed to Nokia "Fast-charger" at 1.2A. I'm tempted to use it for my Galaxy S. LOL! Dunno can or not.

Added on July 9, 2010, 7:25 pm
QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Jul 9 2010, 05:14 PM)
Does it also have the weather effects when you turn on the screen?
E.g. Rainy weather, drops of water will appear on your screen and a windscreen wiper will wipe them away.
The animation you mentioned is a paid app widget called Beautiful Widgets. But u can download it somewhere if you know where to find. It's a huge battery drain though, but the animation really really nice smile.gif

This post has been edited by gzero: Jul 9 2010, 07:25 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0471sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 01:03 PM