19 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Display Calibration Fundamentals : My Take, Display Calibration

Kiding
post May 10 2011, 12:14 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ May 9 2011, 02:43 PM)
Will spend some time later to review the data.

There are various gamma options on the Optoma. I believe Cinema was almost 2.5 and PC was close to 2.2 the last time I calibrated one. Reducing contrast shd elimnate the clipping.
After lower my contrast and change the gamma curve type to 1, the gamma chart is better now, but at above 70% grey, the value is now shoot up sweat.gif Luminance chart also get improved, only the RGB has slightly higher delta value. take another one and half hours to calibrate yawn.gif Will further calibrate the RGB next time when free.

Anyway, thanks for the advice. below charts are the result of second calibration

Gamma Chart

Luminance Chart

Attached File  after2.zip ( 4.21k ) Number of downloads: 11

TSanfieldude
post May 10 2011, 06:00 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ May 10 2011, 12:14 AM)
After lower my contrast and change the gamma curve type to 1, the gamma chart is better now, but at above 70% grey, the value is now shoot up  sweat.gif Luminance chart also get improved, only the RGB has slightly higher delta value. take another one and half hours to calibrate  yawn.gif Will further calibrate the RGB next time when free.

Anyway, thanks for the advice. below charts are the result of second calibration

Attached File  after2.zip ( 4.21k ) Number of downloads: 11

Looks much better now. U might be able to push up contrast 1 notch though.

Do post ur HCFR files as well.

Did u do the gamut? While it does not have a CMS, u still need to set colour and tint correctly. This will effect gresycale sometimes if u hv to make big changes. Let me know if u need assistance.
Kiding
post May 11 2011, 09:44 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ May 10 2011, 06:00 PM)
Looks much better now. U might be able to push up contrast 1 notch though.

Do post ur HCFR files as well.

Did u do the gamut? While it does not have a CMS, u still need to set colour and tint correctly. This will effect gresycale sometimes if u hv to make big changes. Let me know if u need assistance.
The HCFG file is attached as after2.zip, you may download it.

I didn't run the advanced color management, too tired to do it, my SVS sub will come in this weekend laugh.gif and then need to run the REW too sweat.gif probably will do it when have more free time.
TSanfieldude
post May 15 2011, 12:08 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ May 11 2011, 09:44 PM)
The HCFG file is attached as after2.zip, you may download it.

I didn't run the advanced color management, too tired to do it, my SVS sub will come in this weekend  laugh.gif and then need to run the REW too  sweat.gif  probably will do it when have more free time.
Post it when u get around to it. Sometimes after adjustments in the colour and tint, the greyscale is altered.

This post has been edited by anfieldude: May 22 2011, 02:02 PM
Mickey C
post May 28 2011, 06:41 PM

616 posts

I used HDTV Calibration Wizard to calibrate my Plasma HDTV.
Result very good...
DannyOP
post Jun 4 2011, 07:39 PM

5,220 posts

Where to get the wizard?
TSanfieldude
post Jun 4 2011, 08:00 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Jun 4 2011, 07:39 PM)
Where to get the wizard?
Danny if u r looking for a disc, try the Spears and Munsil or DVE. They might be easier. Disney World of Wonders disc is also not too bad.
ahmadkhairil
post Jun 4 2011, 08:39 PM

46 posts

@anfieldude
is it necessary to calibrate for every av input?

Do you calibrate seperately for sd/hd source
TSanfieldude
post Jun 4 2011, 11:08 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(ahmadkhairil @ Jun 4 2011, 08:39 PM)
@anfieldude
is it necessary to calibrate for every av input?

Do you calibrate seperately for sd/hd source
Yes.

HD colour space and SD colour spaces are different for one. The other point is that displays refresh different signals at different refresh rates. Most of the times, that changes the greyscale and colour points,
waihoe
post Jun 10 2011, 02:37 PM

19 posts

@anfieldude,

After following your many posts on various threads on this forum (many thanks for all the info & experience), i've decided i''ll need to invest on Calman.

I have some question from which you might know the answer to.

- Does i1Display2 support projectors?
- Which pattern disc should i go for? DVE HD or Spears & Munsil? (i have the DVD version of DVE)
- How big of a difference are there between different Colorimeter? (ie, i1Display2 to X2 to DTP-94 to ...) <- i know this would be a bit difficult to answer as i myself don't know how/what i'll be using it yet.

For sure i'll be using it for PC (currently borrows Spyder3 Elite to calibrate) and for a flat panel (have not bought one but eyeing for 50VT20 or possibly 50VT30) but also looking into the possibility of using projection.

Thanks in advance for any questions answered. I truly will appreciate your knowledge and experience.

I also gathering you perform on-site calibration too. (PM me for details?)

Cheers!
WH.
TSanfieldude
post Jun 11 2011, 01:53 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(waihoe @ Jun 10 2011, 02:37 PM)
@anfieldude,

After following your many posts on various threads on this forum (many thanks for all the info & experience), i've decided i''ll need to invest on Calman.

I have some question from which you might know the answer to.

- Does i1Display2 support projectors?
- Which pattern disc should i go for? DVE HD or Spears & Munsil? (i have the DVD version of DVE)
- How big of a difference are there between different Colorimeter? (ie, i1Display2 to X2 to DTP-94 to ...)  <- i know this would be a bit difficult to answer as i myself don't know how/what i'll be using it yet.

For sure i'll be using it for PC (currently borrows Spyder3 Elite to calibrate) and for a flat panel (have not bought one but eyeing for 50VT20 or possibly 50VT30) but also looking into the possibility of using projection.

Thanks in advance for any questions answered. I truly will appreciate your knowledge and experience.

I also gathering you perform on-site calibration too. (PM me for details?)

Cheers!
WH.
1. The i1 display 2 is a colorimeter. It supports projectors, plasmas and lcds.
2. Both the DVE and S&M do not have all the necessary test patterns to calibrate the displays (the DVE has most but some of them are full screen that is not really suitable for plasmas and pjs). U could get the free AVS HD 709 disc.
3. With higher price normally comes better build or quality.

That said, all colorimeters drift with time. The cheaper ones might drift faster. The spectros are much better for this. Also colorimeters tend not to read colours that accurately (even the high end ones). The higher end colorimeters (K-10. C5E) have onboard storage so it can be recalibrated. The X2 or the DTP-94 do not but Calman has tables in the software that they can store offsets after they recalibrate the meter.

I will PM on calibration details in a PM.

This post has been edited by anfieldude: Jun 11 2011, 01:55 AM
waihoe
post Jun 16 2011, 11:45 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jun 11 2011, 01:53 AM)
1. The i1 display 2 is a colorimeter. It supports projectors, plasmas and lcds.
2. Both the DVE and S&M do not have all the necessary test patterns to calibrate the displays (the DVE has most but some of them are full screen that is not really suitable for plasmas and pjs). U could get the free AVS HD 709 disc.
3. With higher price normally comes better build or quality.

That said, all colorimeters drift with time. The cheaper ones might drift faster. The spectros are much better for this.  Also colorimeters tend not to read colours that accurately (even the high end ones). The higher end colorimeters (K-10. C5E) have onboard storage so it can be recalibrated. The X2 or the DTP-94 do not but Calman has tables in the software that they can store offsets after they recalibrate the meter.

I will PM on calibration details in a PM.
Anfieldude,

Thanks for your replies. Will take note of what you've said. thumbup.gif
I went to look at the 50VT20K again last night and look pretty set on getting that.

Still awaiting for your PM... whistling.gif
TSanfieldude
post Jun 30 2011, 04:42 PM

3,858 posts

I recently completed the THX Video Calibration Certification. Will write more of the experience in the days to come.
Kiding
post Jun 30 2011, 06:14 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jun 30 2011, 04:42 PM)
I recently completed the THX Video Calibration Certification. Will write more of the experience in the days to come.
Congratulation, sifu rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
htkaki
post Jul 3 2011, 11:06 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Congrats!! rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
geforce1999
post Jul 4 2011, 11:13 AM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

Congrats. Will need your assistance after I upgrade my projector a couple years later notworthy.gif
DannyOP
post Jul 4 2011, 07:39 PM

5,220 posts

Congrats! Can I book your time once my projector is in?
TSanfieldude
post Jul 5 2011, 08:19 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Jul 4 2011, 07:39 PM)
Congrats! Can I book your time once my projector is in?
Sure give me a call when its in.
pierreye
post Jul 6 2011, 12:55 PM

1,308 posts

Wow bro. I didn't know you are so extreme into video calibration. Anyway, congrats on the certification. I think kind of hard to get anyone certified in THX Video Calibration in Penang. I previously met a self proclaim THX certified calibrator but when I see him setting up the video projector, I really doubt he know how to set even the basic contrast and brightness setting as he just eye ball it using movie material. Not even a simple test pattern to set the correct video level blink.gif .

Anyway, hope you can share with us some tips for self learn calibrator. The calibration that I always struggle is CMS. Need lots of iteration between CMS and greyscale to nail it perfectly.
TSanfieldude
post Jul 6 2011, 01:38 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ Jul 6 2011, 12:55 PM)
Wow bro. I didn't know you are so extreme into video calibration. Anyway, congrats on the certification. I think kind of hard to get anyone certified in THX Video Calibration in Penang. I previously met a self proclaim THX certified calibrator but when I see him setting up the video projector, I really doubt he know how to set even the basic contrast and brightness setting as he just eye ball it using movie material. Not even a simple test pattern to set the correct video level  blink.gif .

Anyway, hope you can share with us some tips for self learn calibrator. The calibration that I always struggle is CMS. Need lots of iteration between CMS and greyscale to nail it perfectly.
No problem pierreye. CMS was also discussed in depth during the training.

As far as I know, there is no THX certified professional (home theater or video calibration) in Penang. There are some THX Certified Professional (Home Theater I & II) in KL which is not for video. THX Certified Professional Video Calibration, I believe I am the 1st in Malaysia, Singapore. There is a chap in Thailand that is THX Certified Video Professional before me. The THX website shd be updated in about a month that shd show my status in Penang.

19 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0278sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:30 PM