Starter HT system, Entry Level Components

matyeo
post Mar 22 2010, 08:20 PM

352 posts

QUOTE(netherlord @ Mar 22 2010, 12:23 PM)
Okay going to window shop at Desa HT Kepong this evening,

Any recommendation of AVR and subs that i should look out for?

AVR Base Line Function should include 5.1, DD, DTS, HDMI Video input/output (minimum 3 for PC, BD player and PS3), 1 Optical (PC, HDMI sometimes got problem with sound) and some auto speaker calibration function (Noob here i dont think i can manually set up my speakers  cry.gif )

As for Subs, as long as i can BOOM BOOM POW!!! Happy here  rclxms.gif

Room size is small bedroom 9 feet all around (yah small box heheh  blush.gif )

Total Budget is RM2k+  (cant top up liow  cry.gif )

willkso : Thanks for the link  notworthy.gif , looked into that thread and found some candidate, will look out for them at the shop.

Thanks for all the replies so far.
bro.. if u said AVR for your pc,bd and ps3 that mean you need avr with DTS-hd/DD-tru hd...i think
very hard to find...becoz your budget only 2k including sub....
but if you want to grab AVR with only normal DD/DTS + HDMI ok lol... biggrin.gif
TSnetherlord
post Mar 22 2010, 11:07 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(matyeo @ Mar 22 2010, 08:20 PM)
bro.. if u said AVR for your pc,bd and ps3 that mean you need avr with DTS-hd/DD-tru hd...i think
very hard to find...becoz your budget only 2k including sub....
but if you  want to grab  AVR with  only normal DD/DTS + HDMI ok lol... biggrin.gif
Matyeo: actually i kinda already expected that cry.gif but on my visit to Desa HT a salesman recommended me to take Onkyo SR507 AVR and also Onkyo SKW-204 subwoofer

So now my estimated setup will be as follow :

Toshiba Regza 32AV550E LCD TV (got this for free so i really cant complain) tongue.gif

Onkyo SKF-330 Speaker set (Buying it from Pucca) icon_idea.gif

Onkyo SR507 AVR (might change based on suggestion) rolleyes.gif

Onkyo SKW-204 Subwoofer (might change based on suggestion) rolleyes.gif

Please leave your comments or suggestion so i can learn from all the sifu here

As the setup above is only a newbie begining, i might upgrade those items later. Take note iam only getting the AVR/sub next week so i have some time to consider changing it.

Please enlighten me on my setup

All advice and suggestion greatly appreciated.

Thank you. notworthy.gif

willkso
post Mar 22 2010, 11:19 PM

993 posts

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Mar 22 2010, 10:14 AM)
Thanks, reading it the whole topic..
You're welcome. Actually got some other comment on this thread too..
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1348551
TSnetherlord
post Mar 26 2010, 07:37 PM

118 posts

cry.gif Anyone here?

Any sugesstions for me atm?

IF not then i might end up buying the set biggrin.gif Not that iam unhappy about it, would just like to compare abit with other brands before i plunge into it.

Just looking for good/bad opinions laugh.gif

oh well i guess there no more answers to be found in this thread cry.gif Thanks to those who replied and helped.

Iam closing the thread and hope to learn more from HT guru's all around notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by netherlord: Mar 27 2010, 11:32 AM

0.0168sec    0.67    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:17 AM