TSbrotan
post Mar 17 2010, 01:25 PM, updated 16y ago

2,392 posts

A contractor quoted me roughly RM 12k for my front porch roof

My area around 21.5 x 18 feet

Price including all material and also making the supporting beam. The roof will be using those normal roof tiles

Don't have those function for redirecting rain water to a special outlet

If want this function, add about RM 3k

Is this considered expensive?
Tohsan
post Mar 17 2010, 02:36 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Mar 17 2010, 01:25 PM)

A contractor quoted me roughly RM 12k for my front porch roof

My area around 21.5 x 18 feet

Price including all material and also making the supporting beam. The roof will be using those normal roof tiles

Don't have those function for redirecting rain water to a special outlet

If want this function, add about RM 3k

Is this considered expensive?
how is the front car porch looks like? if u hv a picture to show will be much easier to estimate.
TSbrotan
post Mar 17 2010, 03:23 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(Tohsan @ Mar 17 2010, 02:36 PM)
how is the front car porch looks like? if u hv a picture to show will be much easier to estimate.
something like below

porch picture
Tohsan
post Mar 17 2010, 03:27 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Mar 17 2010, 03:23 PM)
something like below

porch picture
I think the price they quote you is market price.

btw if your house currently is sharing carporch roof with neighbour, mean half belong to you n half is belong to your neighbour house then usually Majlis like MPSJ won't approve your application, they will deem it as illegal.

TSbrotan
post Mar 17 2010, 04:18 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(Tohsan @ Mar 17 2010, 03:27 PM)
I think the price they quote you is market price.

btw if your house currently is sharing carporch roof with neighbour, mean half belong to you n half is belong to your neighbour house then usually Majlis like MPSJ won't approve your application, they will deem it as illegal.
not sharing
mingyew
post Mar 17 2010, 04:55 PM

4,177 posts

for other costing i have no comment.

But for rain water drain of car porch roof seem like a bit expensive.
TSbrotan
post Mar 17 2010, 04:56 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(mingyew @ Mar 17 2010, 04:55 PM)
for other costing i have no comment.

But for rain water drain of car porch roof seem like a bit expensive.
you mean adding 3k is expensive?
fuzagi
post Mar 17 2010, 05:37 PM

Cushcushiers
1,052 posts

the rain gutter for 3k is expensive. the porch could be 5% less. ask for the discount. they usually quote undiscounted price to u.
Tohsan
post Mar 17 2010, 10:28 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Mar 17 2010, 04:56 PM)
you mean adding 3k is expensive?
what is the material they use for the rain gutter?
TSbrotan
post Mar 17 2010, 11:03 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(Tohsan @ Mar 17 2010, 10:28 PM)
what is the material they use for the rain gutter?
not sure
Tohsan
post Mar 18 2010, 09:11 AM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Mar 17 2010, 11:03 PM)
not sure
when they quote you the charges, its better for u to ask them list down the material use and attached with a picture about the car porch that u want to avoid future dispute. Sometime whatever you said and they agreed might come not out as result, it might be totally opposite becos there is nothing to counter check against.

This post has been edited by Tohsan: Mar 18 2010, 09:12 AM
9replica
post Mar 19 2010, 02:21 PM

Slightly on high side. I believe the contractor expect u to bargain.

For gutter it is also on high side, even it includes combination of:

1. Galvanised iron valley gutter
2. Galvanised iron flashing sheet
3. UPVC gutter
4. UPVC rainwater down pipe

[COLOR=red]Qualification: May b their workmanship are better, as the above rate was based on contractor with foreign workers.
May b the design n layout is different, as i based on conventional simple design.[COLOR=red]
TSbrotan
post Mar 20 2010, 10:42 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(9replica @ Mar 19 2010, 02:21 PM)
Slightly on high side. I believe the contractor expect u to bargain.

For gutter it is also on high side, even it includes combination of:

1. Galvanised iron valley gutter
2. Galvanised iron flashing sheet
3. UPVC gutter
4. UPVC rainwater down pipe

[COLOR=red]Qualification: May b their workmanship are better, as the above rate was based on contractor with foreign workers.
                    May b the design n layout is different, as i based on conventional simple design.[COLOR=red]
bro,

what is your expectation of the price ?
9replica
post Mar 23 2010, 09:41 PM

QUOTE(brotan @ Mar 20 2010, 10:42 PM)
bro,

what is your expectation of the price ?
+- 2k for gutter.
for porch, i need the details eg, thickness, grade of concrete etc
as material and labour determine the overall rate.

Qualification:i did not mean the contractor is not honest.
However sometimes they are not efficient as they carry out more than 3 jobs at one time.
They are not able to supervise properly and as such the productivity of workers are low, wastage are high
So the common method of [(material + labour + machinery) + wastage] + profit
become higher than their norm when they undertake a job at one time

This post has been edited by 9replica: Mar 23 2010, 10:01 PM
TSbrotan
post Mar 23 2010, 10:51 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(9replica @ Mar 23 2010, 09:41 PM)
+- 2k for gutter.
for porch, i need the details eg, thickness, grade of concrete etc
as material and labour determine the overall rate.

Qualification:i did not mean the contractor is not honest.
However sometimes they are not efficient as they carry out more than 3 jobs at one time.
They are not able to supervise properly and as such the productivity of workers are low, wastage are high
So the common method of [(material + labour + machinery) + wastage] + profit
become higher than their norm when they undertake a job at one time

details don't know lah

i know my porch 18.5 x 21.5
chiehlim
post Mar 24 2010, 02:52 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Mar 23 2010, 10:51 PM)
details don't know lah

Hi Brotan,

I got a quote from my contractor for my car porch 20 ft x 18ft, rm12K (concrete slab with rc column, beam and slab, rain water down pipe, plastering). Add another rm1600 for water proofing.

I am still waiting for plan submission by my draftman in order to start work...

This post has been edited by chiehlim: Mar 24 2010, 02:52 PM
9replica
post Mar 24 2010, 09:57 PM

QUOTE(brotan @ Mar 23 2010, 10:51 PM)
details don't know lah

i thought your porch are normal structure with timber
truss and roof tiles as not many people will construct concrete slab porch + roof tiles due to costs.
However, i may be wrong after looking at the picture taken which is with concrete slab. rclxub.gif

It is difficult when detail not available. Eg.
Compared to "ChiehLim" quote, yours is with roof tiles and therefore
water proofing is not required. However his is without tiles and water proofing is a must.

Yours is not expensive if it is with concrete slab + timber truss and roof tiles.
TSbrotan
post Mar 27 2010, 11:59 PM

2,392 posts

anyone else have any comments ?
chiehlim
post Mar 29 2010, 01:26 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Mar 27 2010, 11:59 PM)
anyone else have any comments ?
Hi Brotan,

Where is your new house? Looks like you are also doing renovation. Me too..., we can share points.

TSbrotan
post Mar 29 2010, 01:30 PM

2,392 posts

not yet start

now preparing work only

at ss3

0.0185sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 12:59 PM