-= Naza-Kia Forte =- <Club> V5, Leaves You Speechless

StarGhazzer
post Mar 16 2010, 12:51 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(iluvena @ Mar 16 2010, 11:32 AM)
ahh.. last 2 days i got dashboard rattling sound.. but not hear anything on the next day.. same like what singaporean encounter with their forte. anyone facing the same issue?
QUOTE(lone_rider @ Mar 16 2010, 11:44 AM)
hmm..KIA so called "CBU" also got rattling problem ka? heheh
i thought only proton have this..its more to QC problem..loose here and there
Mine comes from Korea... no rattling sound from the dashboard so far. Some forums mentioned that it is due to a tiny gap between the glovebox lid and the dashboard; easily fixed by glueing a thin, soft rubber strip along the top edge of the glovebox.

However, I do experience an annoying rattle that comes from the driver/passenger reading lamps which is only evident when going over bumpy roads. Push hard onto the plastic xsurrounding the lamps and the rattle disappears, so it's most likely a loose piece inside. Will probably fix it during the next service which is still 11000km/9 months away.

The heavy beat from the speakers ocassionally will cause the door panels to shake too, but that's only if you're playing bass-heavy songs at a loud volume.
StarGhazzer
post Mar 16 2010, 05:17 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(iluvena @ Mar 16 2010, 02:18 PM)
same here.. but the volume is at level 6 only.. quite irritating for me. huhu
Yup I set my volume at 6 too... 5 is too soft, while anything more than 7 will blow up my ears...

Mega TT.... Cera cannot swim ler... T_T
StarGhazzer
post Mar 16 2010, 06:14 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(coolxcool @ Mar 16 2010, 06:00 PM)
it has child lock at the back door rite? no?
Got.

QUOTE(iluvena @ Mar 16 2010, 05:50 PM)
got one cun gal owner in FB
must invite!!!
phelix already preying her...  vmad.gif
QUOTE(phelix @ Mar 16 2010, 05:51 PM)
hahahahah~ what the heck....
she never talk to me also~
These two buayas... shakehead.gif

Come come... I got 2.0L, >1.6 tongue.gif rclxm9.gif
StarGhazzer
post Mar 16 2010, 07:23 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

Whoa... K5 on the road...
http://kiatf.com/bbs/view.php?id=photo_mycar&no=168

Funny looking from this angle.

Driver-focused dashboard ala BMW style, but the plastic rim housing the console looks cheap... need clearer pictures though.
user posted imageuser posted image

Skinny rims... rear end looks tantalising.
http://kiatf.com/bbs/view.php?id=photo_mycar&no=165
StarGhazzer
post Mar 17 2010, 08:11 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(kiaforteclub @ Mar 17 2010, 08:24 AM)
anyone compared FC difference between shifttronic vs full auto drives? shocking.gif
No significant difference for me in either auto or shiftronic. The latter is more fun to drive although shifting it at the wrong rpm will sometimes cause a jerky upshift.

QUOTE(iluvena @ Mar 17 2010, 05:25 PM)
but dunno why they change the name to Cherato! kinda weird.. sweat.gif
Singapore = Cerato Forte
Australasia, Middle East, Russia = Cerato
Elsewhere = Forte
StarGhazzer
post Mar 18 2010, 04:36 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(prominen @ Mar 18 2010, 03:35 PM)
3 hour not open this thread, suddenly my gaming setup has been posted here instead on the right thread... icon_idea.gif

btw my gaming setup is all funded by myself and not my parents...and yes I managed to support that bcoz I have side income doing small business... drool.gif
the tv is 42", just upgrade last month from 32"...

after calculating this and that, I planned to get one by early next year bcoz by the end of the year I might get promoted... icon_rolleyes.gif

fyi, for those wondering what car I drive today, the answer is Kancil...this use belong to my sister and give it to me... whistling.gif
Kancil -> Forte... what a big jump...
Honestly, you are free to spend whatever you want but like most of the others mentioned, 2K salary paying for 80K car... whoaaaaaaaaa... monthly installments gonna kill you mate, not forgetting the petrol.

Anyway, drool.gif at K5 poison...
http://kiatf.com/bbs/view.php?id=photo_mycar&no=181
http://kiatf.com/bbs/view.php?id=photo_mycar&no=179

Absolutely beautiful. The rims may look space-age but it actually gives the Optima a unique look. Gorgeous butt too with obvious Bangle bootlid. It would be real sweet if there was a red LED strip on the bottom bumper that lights up when the brakes are depressed instead of a mere reflector.

StarGhazzer
post Mar 20 2010, 06:57 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(whiteforte @ Mar 19 2010, 10:13 PM)
My odo is now 3K. How was yours last time?
I have pumped Shell, BHP, Caltex & recently Petronas. Can feel that Caltex is powerful! All fuels give almost similar mileage. First time pump Petronas, reset trip computer, after driving 15km, it read 5.8L/100km. The best so far. Now after some city driving, shot up to 7.4L/100km.
It's the first time that I've heard someone's Forte computer showing low FC after filling up. Most of the time it will overcalculate and show 13-15L/100km before gradually dropping to the average 8-10L/100km. 7.4 in city driving is still pretty good; for city I usually get 8 on the display although the real-life, manually calculated numbers are not surprisingly higher.

Anyway, clear SLR bling bling shots of the K5.... hell... want... new... car.... nowwwwwwww.......
http://www.slrclub.com/bbs/vx2.php?id=them...lery&no=1259987
StarGhazzer
post Mar 20 2010, 06:53 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(yhlee12 @ Mar 20 2010, 11:29 AM)
noticed there's no signal light on the side mirror... the signal light's near the A pillar... something of a trend for new design nowadays?
Base model tadak...
High end model ada...There's a thin strip of LED lamps at the side mirrors...

QUOTE(epo @ Mar 20 2010, 02:14 PM)
why rim so small...?  tongue.gif
Base model mah... High end model should get the bling bling space age rims as shown above.

QUOTE(shamsul_LP @ Mar 20 2010, 06:07 PM)
btw...any 2.0 owner here...
2.0? Me. laugh.gif but not in Msia.

Theophilus Chin photoshopped some great looking Kias... Koup cabriolet... Forte hatchback...

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Mar 20 2010, 06:53 PM
StarGhazzer
post Mar 21 2010, 01:41 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(akkk @ Mar 20 2010, 11:03 PM)
Thanks. So now I guess my choice will be between City 1.5 or Forte 1.6 smile.gif

Tested City, Civic & Forte today...

The Honda sales more professional compared to the Forte sales guy (tak-apa style). Car wise, City seems better in terms of handling but Forte is more fun to drive.

Civic is nice but my feeling is if I going for Civic price range, I'll get a Lancer GT. Haven't has chance to test Lancer yet. But I think for my usage, I'll probably get the City or Forte...
Go test the Lancer, it's a pretty good package if you're willing to pay more.

As for City vs Forte... you're in a Forte thread so you pretty much know our answer. If you're talking about handling, the relatively narrower and taller City with smaller rims won't eat take on corners as well as the 17"rim Forte would. Having said that, neither car will give you the feeling of a go-kart.

QUOTE(redz3 @ Mar 21 2010, 12:00 PM)
Anyone has a personal opinion as to what 'a fun car to drive' means? Handling? Speed? ICE? NVH?

Is your forte 'a fun car to drive'?
I don't want to feel bored driving 3 hrs to-back from work dly.
If you love your car, it will always be fun to drive regardless of what other people think. I enjoy driving different cars, be it my own Forte, or the old baremetal Kelisa; even the heavyass, roti-looking, but funky Xsara Picasso in our family.
StarGhazzer
post Mar 22 2010, 06:37 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(imoza05 @ Mar 22 2010, 04:38 PM)
Hi All,
Is it this MAZDA will taking over FORTE???...Expertise, Pls review and share pro's and cont's...

http://www.mazda.com.my/mazda2.aspx

Mazda2 1.5SDN V-spec
(DN59-RAA) 1.5L Sedan, 1498cc OTR RM 77,622.00
without Insurance
Mazda2 1.5SDN R-spec
(DP55-RAA) 1.5L Sedan, 1498cc OTR RM 80,622.00
without Insurance
Mazda2 1.5HB V-spec
(DN77-RAA) 1.5L HB, 1498cc OTR RM 79,822.00
without Insurance
Mazda2 1.5HB R-spec
(DN78-RAB) 1.5L HB, 1498cc OTR RM 82,822.00
without Insurance

Can't compare between these two. Forte is a C segment whereas 2 is a B.

For interior space, the 2 is tiny even for a B segment. The 1.5L is good enough for city driving but it whines and groans whenever going up hills as with most smaller cc engines. Handling wise it's probably quite easy and precise due to its light weight and hatchback configuration. Exterior design is very subjective, but personally I quite like the sporty looks yet the feminine and cute rounded surfaces of the interior dash is a huge turn off.

If not for the price, I would actually recommend the Jazz which has a more versatile interior space and larger boot would be more practical. But of course, this is a Forte thread so you know my answer for best recommendation.

Too bad the Venga is only available in Europe.
StarGhazzer
post Mar 23 2010, 03:13 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(christ_liew @ Mar 23 2010, 12:33 AM)
do u guys feel that our bumper is a bit too soft? when u push on it, u can hear the gree gree sound~
Bumpers are supposed to be soft nowadays, unlike the older cars which have a black hard strip across it. The Forte's bumper does indeed give one the impression of being overly soft, but it has its purpose by being flexible. My Forte got kissed on the butt before by an emergency-braking Camry and luckily there wasn't even a scratch nor a dent. Only two very tiny nibs visible beneath the rear bumper which you won't see unless you squat down and look for it.
StarGhazzer
post Mar 23 2010, 06:06 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(phelix @ Mar 23 2010, 09:44 AM)
hahaha~ too bad for mazda.. too plain la that car.. seems mazda 3 can compete with forte only.
my car got kissed too!! same thing happen, no scratch mark nor dent. but yes u can see 2 tiny nibs.. wondering what was that.
Probably from the offending car's number plate.

It's hard to say whether the Mazda 3 is a better car than the Forte as there's no many direct comparison tests apart from this one; which is somewhat unfair as it pits the 2.4SX vs the 2.0 3. Having said that, if you go through most reviews it is pretty much agreed that the Mazda offers sharper handling but loses out in NVH and interior (esp rear) space.

Another interesting review which throws in the Golf for fun, where it loses the top spot to the 3 Sport. Nevertheless the Golf tested here is a low spec one that doesn't have the 7-speed DSG or the acclaimed 1.4TSI engine. There's also another review in the Australian Wheels Mag (not as good as Autocar tongue.gif) which chooses the Golf as the winner so again it depends on which spec models are you looking at.

I suppose there's still no "fair" comparison between the C segment rivals. For example do you compare the SLi/SX Forte vs the full spec Mazda 3 (Maxx Sport here in Australia)? If you really go hardcore there's the 2.3L MPS or even the fire-breathing, Golf GTi-rivalling SP25. Or do you go by similar prices, where in this case you only get a bare metal low trim 3 Neo with no goodies?

At the end of the day, it still depends on what one wants from a car. Some don't give a crap about occupants' comfort and just want a zippy ride; some prefer an all rounder; some want bang for buck; some just want a box with 4 wheels. As I always say, the various C segment rivals are more similar to each other than they are different - test drive them and pick the one that tickles your fancy.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Mar 23 2010, 06:12 PM
StarGhazzer
post Mar 23 2010, 08:12 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

Played around with photoshop and gave Cera a facelift... stuck K5's bumper onto it and now Cera has LEDs tongue.gif

user posted imageuser posted image
StarGhazzer
post Mar 24 2010, 07:53 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(blackfortetoo @ Mar 24 2010, 06:45 PM)
today my bosses saw my car

he was so excited kept asking me how much does it cost

one drives an E class and the other a C class

the he said his daughter kept pestering him for a Forte  rclxms.gif
LOL... how to fight with C class?

C63AMG from Tassie beside Cera... walaoeh 6.3L V8... 3 biji Theta II also cannot fight. The price? Can buy 6 Forte liao...

Sexy 18" rims.
StarGhazzer
post Mar 27 2010, 07:29 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Beatmasta @ Mar 27 2010, 06:22 PM)
bugger my sister in law sister drive in her Audi A5 to my house damn freaking huge car, how much is the car anyway? make my forte damn small to it cry.gif
You import Cadenza from Korea to tapao her A5 loh biggrin.gif
StarGhazzer
post Mar 28 2010, 08:14 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 28 2010, 07:44 PM)
what's the big deal with leather seats anyway?........i actually prefer good quality fabric......the only good thing about leather is that it is easier to clean.......that's why airasia used leather for all their aircrafts seats........

if not for the fact that the 2.0l comes with leather, i would never have bothered to wrap on new leather covers........
Totally agree. Leather, apart from "looking" upmarket doesn't necessarily provide more comfort. In fact in hot and sunny Malaysia it'll burn your bum and when you're sweaty it sticks and peels your skin.

As for Nicky's post... go easy on him ler... I actually don't feel that he's trolling; if anything, it's how poor Naza's leather wrapping is. After all, a showroom model is supposed to be as perfect as possible to attract potential buyers. All of us here are proud of our Fortes and will be more than willing to defend it, but honestly speaking I do think that Kia has much room to improve before it can truly vanquish the Japs. It's elder sister Hyundai is still ahead in this aspect.

Having said that, if anyone has sights on the Forte, you're in for a good treat.
StarGhazzer
post Mar 28 2010, 09:26 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(NiCkY @ Mar 28 2010, 09:08 PM)
bro, thanks for ur words. u and i already been so long in LYN, what kind of flaming also saw before, its ok for them to flame or shoot, just show how kiddo/immature they is, who cant take feedback/complaint positively.
No worries. I speak out for what I believe in.

I still think the Forte is a better choice than the overpriced, under-spec City (It's a Forte thread, what do you expect? tongue.gif); but of course at the end of the day you're the one driving and paying for the car. There's no point for us to praise the Forte if it doesn't suit your needs. If the City is what you want and need, go ahead and buy it... don't bother about what others say... there'll always be fanboys be it Honda or Toyota, same goes with Kia.

At the end of the day, what we car buyers want is a car that gives ourselves the feeling of satisfaction every time we open the door and seat behind the wheel; not listen to what people are bragging or whining about.

Speaking of which, there's something noteworthy which I read from autoworld's forum:
Price difference between X20 and Civic = approx. RM30,000
Loan interest = 3.5% x eg. 5 years loan = RM5,250
Total amount of difference = RM35,250

Civic 2nd value after 5 years = estimated RM76,800 (calculated at 10% depreciation/year)
X20 2nd value after 5 years = RM57,900
Price difference = approx. RM18,900

So you see ... at the end of the day, the total initial payment price difference would have offset the 2nd value difference. The difference is actually greater because imagine you have RM35,250 in your bank account ... even if you were to put it into Fixed Deposit running at 3.5%p.a, you would have made a couple of thousand in 5 years time. Granted the above calculation is based on assumption, you have to ask yourself this ... do you think, 5 years from now, the 2nd price of the 2 cars will apart by more than at least RM35,250? Compared to the Civic, you pay less but you get a more comfortable car that has comparable cabin space. The only setback is .... you're not driving a "Honda".

http://forum.autoworld.com.my/index.php?showtopic=91397

Again, the reason I posted this is not a jab directed at the Jap rivals; but just to highlight how good a bargain Korean cars are. Everybody should at least consider a Korean car these days when looking for a ride, don't be myopic and be blinded by the outdated perception that Korean cars are "high FC + low resale".
StarGhazzer
post Mar 29 2010, 08:30 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(wnew @ Mar 29 2010, 01:24 AM)
I think miet are right...Mud flaps are the important + priority mod here..I had to agree to that because my forte is Black..and to certain forterian which are dark or white or silver cannot escape from rain and mud...I wash my car every these days because after rain when you drive back from office or even buy some grocery at near by..sure you got some dirt...Dark colour stick on dirt very obvious..Newly construct road have lots of Tar..and not easy to detect in dark paint also...very le-cheh one...
Even Titanium Silver. Cera now looks as if she has a rash due to rain drops and mud... And I just waxed and polished her 2 weeks ago sad.gif

I don't understand the use of the glass plate. For bling?
StarGhazzer
post Mar 31 2010, 06:44 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Wind82 @ Mar 30 2010, 10:24 PM)
My 2.0 with 90% city drives gives me 13 to 15 liter/100 KM.

Seems like bro twtang is getting damn good fc.
Give it a bit more time. Cera's getting around 10L/100km in urban driving, 11 if there are heavy jams.

QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 31 2010, 12:12 AM)
how's the sound insulation? at what speed only feel noisy?
Pretty good. Cruising at low speeds you probably won't hear much unless you are accelerating hard. At highway speeds the wind noise is quite prominent but it's comparable to other C-segment rivals. Engine noise at 100kmh is barely noticable because (1) wind noise is louder (2)2.0 only revs at 2.2K rpm (3)you'll probably be enjoying the good quality sound from the speakers.
StarGhazzer
post Apr 1 2010, 01:34 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

WHOA.... bright red brakes behind the bling bling space rims?
I want K5.

0.0555sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:19 PM