Photography Nikon D90 v6

KTCY
post Apr 25 2010, 08:45 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

Actually i feel a little too bright. Just my thought.
KTCY
post Apr 25 2010, 08:55 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

^
I know. Still .. Hmm....
KTCY
post Apr 26 2010, 07:13 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(@meno @ Apr 26 2010, 03:36 AM)
celciuz, nicely done pieces there...
I'd prefer to slightly overexpose as well for portraits and the reason you've mentioned earlier.
And for your pics, it's just nice on both my calibrated screens, doesn't really look too much over, just nice.

Btw, for creamy bokeh, KTCY, remember the 105 DC we tested, damn that's one of the most poisonous portrait lens ever built...
If you can find the 135, thats even better.
But currently, i'm happy with the loaned 85 F/1.8 in my drybox...The bokeh is still fantastic eventhough not as good as the 1.4... laugh.gif

Oh ya, isepunya, if u expect creamy bokeh at the range of 17-50, u better hope u have something <1.4, for anything at 2.8, it just wouldn't really work...

Before the 1.2, lets just wait for the 85 F/1.4 VR which is due to release soon, that i believe will be another extremely poisonous lens...
135 sweat.gif sad.gif

I used to owe 2 pieces of 85mm f/1.8 but sold off both unit tongue.gif
KTCY
post Apr 26 2010, 08:59 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(illegaldragon87 @ Apr 26 2010, 07:32 AM)
yup... i think for tis 1 a lil bit too over... try lower it till u can at least see the shape of the shoulder...  smile.gif 

jus my 2 cent...  icon_rolleyes.gif
I know why already. The face looks pale. Very pale in fact.
KTCY
post Apr 26 2010, 09:49 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

^
If you think alright, then just stay with it. Just our comment & critics.

No point keep defending that it looks alright to you but to other it's not. Photos taken are not just for viewing of your own. So whether to take or not, is up to you. After all, just our 2cents.

And again to me, it's look pale and overexposed. Very pale in fact. I rest my case.
KTCY
post Apr 26 2010, 04:30 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(illegaldragon87 @ Apr 26 2010, 03:38 PM)
my bad to point out my comment... causes a debate here... pai seh pai seh...  notworthy.gif
Yeah. People can't accept we just keep quiet lo sad.gif
KTCY
post Apr 27 2010, 11:09 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(CANONPIXMA @ Apr 27 2010, 09:45 PM)
wat bout optech strap? any1 using it?
Am using it laugh.gif
KTCY
post Apr 28 2010, 11:18 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

35mm f2 in teh house flex.gif`
KTCY
post Apr 28 2010, 05:40 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Apr 28 2010, 02:21 PM)
why not get 35 F1.8?
Because that lens sucks big time.
f2 version so much better. Can you shoot at f2 using f/1.8 version and get all the details ?

Am gonna do a test soon to show that that 35mm af-s is not even par with f2 version smile.gif

QUOTE(maxh3h3 @ Apr 28 2010, 03:15 PM)
35 1.8 is a dx lensfor a different
the price of 35mmf2 is like almost 1 for the price of 2 35 1.8
Please get the fact right before even post up doh.gif
It's just few hundred more sweat.gif

QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Apr 28 2010, 05:09 PM)
not so much la...
IINM its like 800 and 1100
nod.gif

This post has been edited by KTCY: Apr 28 2010, 05:41 PM
KTCY
post Apr 28 2010, 06:49 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(aralei @ Apr 28 2010, 06:15 PM)
which i shud buy first, lens,speedlite, or battery grip.im on budget btw T_T
Speedlight biggrin.gif
KTCY
post Apr 29 2010, 07:28 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(benzene88 @ Apr 28 2010, 10:30 PM)
Taken at ISO 3200

Noisy but lovely pic smile.gif

QUOTE(maxh3h3 @ Apr 28 2010, 10:41 PM)
nice high iso shoot smile.gif
one dont have to use iso 3200 if he got a fast lens like 1.4/1.8
its a last resort settings
Not really. Sometime hotel lighting especially when I go fine dining, f1.4 might not enuff too and too shallow if use at f1.4

QUOTE(Isepunye @ Apr 29 2010, 12:57 AM)
anyway, picta spam laa

Lovely biggrin.gif

QUOTE(pedagang @ Apr 29 2010, 01:52 AM)
Not trying to "derhaka" to sifu , but i think the 35mm DX F/1.8 deserve a little better (not sucks big time)

when i bought my D90 the only lens i want is prime normal lens

yep i admit i have not much money to afford expensive, also i'm new to dslr.

But upon reading this 2 review i made my mind based on amount of money i had that time (as student doctor)
so bought the 35mm DX F/1.8

also this one guy one lens

now i'm a qualifed doctor and obviously i can afford any lens/cam
But still i'm using my D90 + 35mm DX F/1.8 coz , that is what i want to learn on
If i can learn just medicine for 6 years, why not just one lens for any number of years

Yup 35mm DX F/1.8 had weakness , but it is not sucks big time.
just my to cents as a student of D90  smile.gif
really hope to see your test 35mm F/1.8 vs 35mm F/2.0 coz i'm happy to see the weakness so that i can learn how to improve my technique
If compare with f2 version, it sucks. sleep.gif
To be honest, 50mm f/1.8 also better than this lens tongue.gif
Have you ever play the f2 version before ?

This post has been edited by KTCY: Apr 29 2010, 07:29 AM
KTCY
post Apr 29 2010, 09:05 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

^
The result of photos will tell you how sharp the AFD version @f2 compare with f/1.8 @f2 smile.gif

Add on : I too believe in Thom but read the drawback.
Longitudinal aberations. Colors aren't focusing to the same plane at maximum aperture, and is difficult to remove. Bokeh is impacted.

I'm referring to wide open aperture. Any lens can be sharp if step down.

Anyway, you should try out yourself too besides just trusting anyone else.

This post has been edited by KTCY: Apr 29 2010, 09:11 AM
KTCY
post Apr 29 2010, 09:28 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

^
I know but anyhow, maybe you should really try out.

Lots of photographer looking for that lens instead of the 1.8 version. smile.gif

KTCY
post Apr 29 2010, 09:41 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(shadowshine @ Apr 29 2010, 09:35 AM)
^
http://www.bythom.com/Nikkor-35mm-D-lensreview.htm
"The 35mm f/2 just doesn't make the grade against the f/1.8 DX lens. First, it's more expensive and slightly slower. It has slightly more vignetting and the corner performance isn't up to that of the DX lens. It is also not AF-S, so won't autofocus on the recent low-end consumer DSLRs. That's a lot of minuses. In terms of pluses: it works on FX bodies and has a very nice manual focus ability, including DOF markings. On balance, a DX user should choose the DX lens. If you have both DX and FX bodies, the f/2D starts to make some sense, especially if you're stopping down some."
I read that laugh.gif

Still the images on 1.8 softer than f2 version tongue.gif
KTCY
post Apr 29 2010, 10:13 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(shadowshine @ Apr 29 2010, 09:46 AM)
We need to compare the overall of lenses, f1.8 version still pretty sharp even for Ken and Thom standard. Just want to share that 35mm 1.8 is a very good consumer lens.
^
I never deny it's a good consumer lens, but it's not par to what my friends and I looking for. See the word I bold it ? It's for consumer. tongue.gif

Besides, a friend of mine, located at Abu Dhabi too ask me to find him f2 version.

Anyway, I rest my case because I know how good it's and how bad it's. Been at least own f2 twice or thrice (sell buy sell again and buy again laugh.gif ) , I know the AF-S version is just not par with what I'm looking for because it's soft. Way too soft.
KTCY
post Apr 29 2010, 10:54 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(CANONPIXMA @ Apr 29 2010, 10:48 AM)
wat bout 50mm1.4afd stop down to f2 compared to 35mm wide open at f2?? which is sharper?
AFD 50mm f/1.4 sharp at f2.2 onwards. Am using it now brows.gif

QUOTE(shadowshine @ Apr 29 2010, 10:52 AM)
The are a few versions of 50mm... beside the point, though sharpness is very important, there are many other aspects of a good lens. smile.gif
He already mentioned AFD 1.4 la doh.gif
Read properly before even post laugh.gif
KTCY
post Apr 29 2010, 11:05 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(shadowshine @ Apr 29 2010, 10:56 AM)
That was edited. smile.gif
My apologize then wink.gif

QUOTE(skincladalien @ Apr 29 2010, 10:57 AM)
how much is a 35mm f2D? is it still in production?

anyway being a user of 35mm f1.8 for half year+, my comment is bad chromatic aberration, slight barrel distortion at edge. f2 never touch b4
laugh.gif 300 bucks different tongue.gif
And you get a metal back lens brows.gif
KTCY
post Apr 29 2010, 11:08 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(CANONPIXMA @ Apr 29 2010, 11:01 AM)
damn, time for upgrade brows.gif 50 1.8 damn soft.. not my liking unless, feels like oof....

Added on April 29, 2010, 11:02 am
yup edited, sorry coz after i posted it den i realize they hav the afs version of it hehe
1.4 is cheap. Less than 1k brows.gif

QUOTE(shadowshine @ Apr 29 2010, 11:03 AM)
50mm 1.8 is not soft when step down... for me at least... smile.gif
Any prime lens that step down also won't feel soft le.
My fisheye sharp even at wide open and freaking sharp if I step down tongue.gif

QUOTE(hsienming @ Apr 29 2010, 11:04 AM)
good ma no need smoothen out face  whistling.gif
laugh.gif SKII brows.gif
KTCY
post Apr 29 2010, 11:20 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(CANONPIXMA @ Apr 29 2010, 11:10 AM)
how much is tat???? rm999? sweat.gif

Added on April 29, 2010, 11:11 am
i mean shoot wide open ma... my meaning is will the 50 1.4afd when shoot wide open soft as the 501.8 shoot wide open
f1.4 at wide open. Just export from Lightroom and resize in photoshop smile.gif

This post has been edited by KTCY: Apr 29 2010, 11:41 AM
KTCY
post Apr 29 2010, 11:33 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(CANONPIXMA @ Apr 29 2010, 11:26 AM)
i think its much sharper than the 50 1.8 drool.gif

Added on April 29, 2010, 11:30 am

I only know how to buy sharp lens tongue.gif
Not a soft lens tongue.gif

This post has been edited by KTCY: Apr 29 2010, 11:41 AM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0402sec    1.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:42 AM