4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

HTPC V2, Home Theater PC Setup, HOWTO and Guides

peter32
post Mar 15 2010, 07:35 PM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

My take is slightly different. For me sound quality is of higher priority, so for me, an AVR is basic necessity. But this following configuration is more future proof :

1. Get HTPC with basic graphic configuration (enough to run HD video of course.)

2. Buy a soundcard that can decode HD audio and with analogue audio output that supply latest sound config such as lossless HD sound.. unfortunately there are not many in the market place. One good product is Auzentech Home Theater HD which cost about RM1K ! I am still waiting for other product with similar spec.

3. Get a used out of date AVR, with NO HD DTS, even with normal Dolby Digital will do, but must have analogue audio input, ideally with 7 audio input, ie. an AVR that can serve as a power amp. Coupled with a set of speakers which u can upgrade initially from 5.1 to 7.1 in future.

Then use the Audio PCI card to decode HD DTS or lossless audio, feed its audio output to an old and much cheaper AVR as power amp.

In future, should there be any new audio format, just change the PCI audio card will do. It maybe expensive, but its still cheaper than RM6K AVR with latest technology.

Thats my take. and my sincere advice.
peter32
post Mar 15 2010, 08:46 PM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

I agree. Nowadays for a decent price we can get a good featured AVR.

But with RM1.5K, u can get a used THX rated good powered AVR with old specs ! That alone is future proof. You can upgrade speakers without thinking of underpowered AVR in future.

peter32
post Mar 15 2010, 08:57 PM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

Wait...

Before u do, remember its not easy to get an audio card that can decode lossless HD audio into analogue and provide a pre-out from the sound card.

But you can easily find any sound card that has digital output, which u can hook it into an AVR. But that way you will lost the HD lossless feature.

So although my plan is economic, its hard to get a soundcard that does the movie decoding for the time being. I am still waiting for that to come to our shore....
peter32
post Mar 19 2010, 01:34 PM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

Until now, I have using mobo sound card and video chip from the 785 series, it works perfectly. I use the optical audio output from the mobo and decode with my AVR (NAD T763), other than some software tweak to make digital SPDIF output as standard in software side, I don't have any problem decoding the sound from the BD disc.

Except one problem. It can't decode Lossless HD sound. But it can play DTS HD sound from the BD disc, and played flawlessly.

Can I tell the difference between those DTS or HD DTS? I don't think so, but to be honest, we will need a blindfold test in order to know. Its not fair to comment without proper test environment.

Lossless HD audio can only be transmitted via HDMI cable to the AVR that has such connection. My AVR is old style DTS ES etc.. no hdmi.
peter32
post Mar 31 2010, 04:22 PM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Mar 30 2010, 07:30 PM)

very nice HTPC. most of HTPC are desktop.
will you guys like also tower as HTPC?

like this:

The HTPC case design goes opposite to the geek's CPU ideal design. HTPC tends to be low key, where simplicity is the luxury, unlike the gamer CPU that comes with LED lights, fans, overall intimidating look.

The best analogy is the design of minicompo with 1000Watt wording splashed across the speakers, and an audiophile Hifi that comes with only 2 huge dials, with only one LED light to indicate that its 'on'. Its quite a different set of ball game.

Furthermore, just like in a cinema, any light that blinks below the screen is a distraction, so is the fan noise. Thats why HTPC is so low key in design.

Btw, the distraction can be a pain. My htpc blu ray drive blinks when I ran it. Still thinking of using a black tape to cover it.
peter32
post Apr 6 2010, 09:21 AM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

Remote control is most likely generic. One will have to configure the software, eg. eventghost, to make it works for the XBMC.

Most remotes works partially at least for the Window Media Centre though. I used one that sold thru lowyat forum HERE , very cheap, but works very well for the window 7 Media Centre software. But it does not work for the XBMC.

Because of that I now use only the Media Centre that comes with the win 7 home ultimate.

I have no time as yet to really sort through the Eventghost to config for the XMBC though. Any sifu here did it may want to share with the clueless like me smile.gif

peter32
post Apr 8 2010, 01:33 PM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

I found a tutorial page that may benefit most of us that want to tweak our remote controller for XBMC.

XBMC remote controller Configuration tutorials

And there's this PDF file that show how to make XBMC sensitive to remote control too:
Click here

This post has been edited by peter32: Apr 8 2010, 01:45 PM
peter32
post May 16 2010, 10:28 AM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

Can the arcsoft TMT 3 played mkv files and flac audio files?
peter32
post Jun 3 2010, 05:06 PM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ May 29 2010, 06:58 PM)
got newb question, which is better? to copy my dvd movie to iso file in hdd (used software to mount when seeing movie) or shud i rip it to avi or mpgs?
Eng Tat, so far, the easiest is to rib into good quality Iso file, but space consuming.

Alternatively you can convert it into Mkv file, with proper softwares, you can exclude foreign audio tracks and foreign subtitles. You may also change the audio into lossless Flac file and incorporated into mkv file too. But expect the Mkv file to also be space consuming.

I tried myself by using recommended technique etc.. but failed to convert it into lossless flac.

To make life easy, just go to www.makemkv.com, download the beta, and try the fast and easy one click conversion, but you cannot deselect the unwanted audio tracks and subtitles.

Added on June 3, 2010, 5:10 pm
QUOTE(temppei @ Jun 3 2010, 01:49 PM)
Hi Guys,

just bought the 4 bay hotway casing. Having prob getting all hdds detected via esata. using gigabyte GA-MA785GM-US2H. running on win7.

any ideas? manual says support port multiplier. but wonder why cant detect the hdds in the hotway casing. USB is fine.

Updated ahci drivers etc. doesnt seem to work still.
Temppei, I am looking at the casing too. Keen to find out how you solve the problem with this Mobo. My Mobo is the same as yours, and currently also running into drive space problem.

This post has been edited by peter32: Jun 3 2010, 05:10 PM
peter32
post Jun 3 2010, 07:53 PM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

temppei,

From some search, it seems tht you may want to enable AHCI in Window 7 in order for the cpu to auto-detect the eSata drive:

It was mentioned in this forum i just found: http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=616292

And here's how to enable it in Win 7: http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/61869...ista.html?ltr=A

Tell us how it works after you tried. smile.gif

peter32
post Jun 6 2010, 12:10 PM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

temppei, after reading through some stuff, have you contemplate getting a separate eSata outlet PCIe card that can recognise port multiplier replacing the default Mobo eSata? I have read that such PCI card does not cost that much, probably less than 50?
peter32
post Jun 7 2010, 12:27 AM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

I am thinking of getting some solution too, but more inclined to get a dedicated NAS for home server type of thing. I am just about to move to a new place, which comes with in-wall network cables installed. So a gigabyte switch is probably an option.

One advantage is to reduce fan noise in front of the TV. Its just too annoying.

But to cut cost perhaps the hotway maybe a good idea too, likely to be with raid control.
peter32
post Jun 30 2010, 02:04 PM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Jun 30 2010, 10:53 AM)
then the cost will rapidly rise taking into consideration the price for another pc for storage or another set of NAS for storage.
NAS/storage server ain't cheap. i'd rather go with one solution that caters for both media and storage. cheaper in the long run.

i'm using a silverstone htpc case that fits 6 hdd (8 hdd after a simple mod) and another 3 on the dual 5.25" bay. so a total of 11 hdd could be stacked in there. currently using an extra mini itx board with 4 sata port and a 2 port sata pci card.

now in the process of upgrading the mainboard to another model with 10 sata port for a cost of RM250.
2 port pci sata card is only RM25.
4 port pci sata card is only RM85.

whereas a 4 hdd external case is RM355.
4 port NAS i think is close to RM1k more than RM500
2 HDD could only fit in about 150 1080p movies. not enough for someone with a large collection  biggrin.gif
I was also contemplating this option like you. But one thing we should consider is the heat generated when you turn on the computer. I did not know how hot it was until one day I hold the active hardisk in my hand after just a half an hour job, it was HOT.

As you can imagine, if you put 4-6 hardisk drives together actively, it will easily push the temperature limit of the full HTPC. That will translate into cooling problem if you leave the unit on for a long time, PLUS doing all the necessary processing at the same time.

If you install too many fan, it will be very noisy too.

Thats the problem.
peter32
post Jun 30 2010, 04:59 PM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

Azxel, I am surprise that your htpc consumes lots of electricity ! Are you sure its entirely due to the pc itself ?

Paskal, thanks for sharing. I did not know that Win 7 can turn off any unused hardisk. I do know that some NAS does have the feature to save power cost and to cool it down.
peter32
post Jun 30 2010, 07:22 PM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

No joke. I didn't realise the pc can be that consumptive.
Anyway, that may prompt me to pursue more on NAS with atom chipset with another PC that can do occasional processing.

Ps: my office has 2 pc on from 8am to 9.30pm, along with 2 aircon, one 1hp & 1.5hp, set at around 20-22 degree, my bill comes to about RM300+ a month only. Not the mention about 34 fluorescent lights on in the evening !!

This post has been edited by peter32: Jun 30 2010, 07:22 PM
peter32
post Jul 1 2010, 11:30 AM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Jul 1 2010, 09:53 AM)
waaa.. something not right.. your meter.. erm.. *Ahem* isit? brows.gif
but it was already spiking to RM100 even before the aircon was installed sad.gif

making it a habit from now to turn off every unused plug...
Hehehe... no, not yet *ahem*ed. Its a real world rate under business category somemore.
peter32
post Jul 14 2010, 09:08 AM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

QUOTE(StratOS @ Jul 14 2010, 02:22 AM)
Yea.. another model audio card is the Onkyo SE-200PCI.. can support 5.1 and got digital in and out + RCA summore..
One of the forumer sells this item from the east malaysia actually.

SE200 PCI actually do not have 5.1 analogue output, which I thought it has. The cable that comes with it offer 5.1 output only to onkyo specified computer speakers only. Not to the audio hifi power amp. I almost got the unit until I found this out after that forumer tested the unit himself and confirmed the finding.
peter32
post Aug 5 2010, 12:21 PM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

QUOTE(twtang @ Aug 5 2010, 09:17 AM)

This is very good feedback, but there is a question always being asked by people:

Why do I need a HTPC if I can opt for media player, like WD media player etc which can also deliver the same purpose?
I was thinking along this line earlier as well. Here's what I think..

1. If you are one of those that prefer a full set Midi system that does everything out of the box... then media player is for you. No tweaking required, just occasional firmware update ....

2. If you are one of those that like to buy hi fi separates, with cable buying separately, potential for component upgrades in the future (eg. change the basic CD player to something that cost RM50K blink.gif ) Tweaking the Clock, change cable... etc.. Then HTPC is for you. The advantage is HTPC is to be able to update software and play any types of files you can imagined. Furthermore, if 3D and HDMI 1.4 become standard, the most you need to change is the graphic card.. If you got the money, you can also upgrade from motherboard sound chip to audiophile grade soundcard too.. the sky's the limit !

But if you share your TV with your grandparents, perhaps a media player is more userfriendly. So it really depends on your usage at home.
peter32
post Aug 16 2010, 04:54 PM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

As far as I know, both XBMC and MC7 has its strength and weaknesses.

From my experience, I have tried both, but in both account I haven't tried scraping for movie info etc as yet. There are lots of online info about how it can be done for both software, so I won't go into it.

For me, I eventually go back to MC7 (Tried MC7 initially, then XBMC, now switched back to MC7 again) for the following reasons:

1. Its easier to set up, esp those non-geek like me.
2. While playing musics, it can configure to play photo show as the music background. This is done by default. I have lots of family photos & it works very well. My daughter actually loves it.
3. It can be equally flexible. For eg, I have configure it to deploy MPC-HT whenever we click on MKV file. So I kind of getting the best of both world.
4. MC7 can fully utilise the generic remote controller meant for HTPC. I got one of this. And by default I can control most of the MC7 by remote without further tinkling with the remote controller. By pressing the <home> button on the remote, I can deploy MC7 straight away.

What I would do now is to try to get more online support to make the MC7 better. Eg.. getting it to play Flac, Ape file etc.. (with addins), theme changes... and already it can easily recognise a home server that runs Window HOme Server by clicking of a button.

For those who has the capacity and knowledge to tweek a software, perhaps XBMC is a better bet.

Another advantage which may not be apparent in this part of the world, MC7 can be configured to play, record and manage TV programmes, of course we will need a TV tuner in our PC to do so. XBMC lacks that feature it seems.

This post has been edited by peter32: Aug 16 2010, 04:56 PM
peter32
post Aug 17 2010, 09:50 AM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

Minimise, during my present time to figure out how to use MC7, I found this fabulous website for the MC7, just to share
Click Here

I installed Media Center Master a few days back, but tried to use my iphone tethering for online access and for the first time it tried to scrap for movie info. it works well really. Just select the movie folder and up it goes on its own.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0389sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:31 PM