HTPC V2, Home Theater PC Setup, HOWTO and Guides

kianwee
post Mar 18 2010, 08:46 AM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Mar 18 2010, 05:33 AM)
but still there's no support for HD audio bitstream.
a waste of money IMHO to buy a HDMI enable card, and still have to buy another card that supports HD audio streams in the future (when there is solutions to buy just one card)
QFT.
kianwee
post Mar 20 2010, 09:23 AM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Mar 18 2010, 05:33 PM)
no offence, but that is a failed logic.
you do know there's a graphics card that support both HDMI and HD bitstreaming. why you still wanna get something that lack one over the other?

and IMHO PQ for movie playback are not affected by which GC you have in the system. you could be running Intel GMA and still get the best PQ (if your CPU powerful enough to software decode the video)
not currently. will be buying one in the near future.
why you ask?

Added on March 18, 2010, 5:36 pm
i never used QFT before and it turns out:
if i'm spreading wrong info please correct me all knowledgeable one.
it would much appreciated if you could explain why i got a QFT from your holiness
QFT = Quoted for Truth la. doh.gif
kianwee
post Mar 30 2010, 04:44 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Mar 30 2010, 04:16 PM)
Silverstone ATX LC20B-M is overkill....

Silverstone KL01 or KL02 allows for 5 hard drive bays and is about RM400+ nia...

hot swap is elite! *thumbs up*

IMHO, KL series is tower case... I wouldn't want that for my HTPC. I will always go for the sleekness of LC series and it's in desktop form.

I'm still trying to look for this sad.gif

kianwee
post May 9 2010, 09:22 AM

Cube
6,562 posts

I'm hunting for a decent HTPC casing, was looking at Silverstone LC20 at the moment but the 80mm fan really turns me off, 120mm is a must for me to achieve higher airflow and most importantly it is not audible. There were a couple of Silverstone models which has 120mm fan but the design is not my cup of tea.

This baby cost me around RM800, which is around Silverstone LC20 price I believe, and I have to ship it from US to Malaysia, since the nearest distributor in Singapore doesn't have it. Looking forward to complete my HTPC with Core i5 & H55 chipset. Now I'm looking for a decent heatsink for my i5, I'm planning to run passive to minimise the fan sound.
kianwee
post May 9 2010, 04:20 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ May 9 2010, 02:39 PM)
LC20 and LC17 have 2X80mm fan at the back. and optional 2 at the front and 1 at the side. using LC17 at the moment, i do believe 80mm are enough. there's no audible noise from it and my case doesn't even heat up when in use. but i only turn it on to watch movies and turn it off after that.

and it has 6 HDD bay. i'm using all 6 bays with samsung 1.5TB drives. still it doesn't heat up.
2 of my recently built HTPC are also running LC17 with core i3 and H55. the pair doesn't produce much heat thanks to the 32mm die. and all 3 are running the stock heatsink and fan combo.

IMO you don't need 120mm fan, not even if you're thinking of running the HTPC 24/7. the LC17/LC20 have great internal arrangement and lots of ventilation space.
and the best thing is, it supports lots of HDD. with little mod, i could fit in 8 HDD in there. and will do so once all my 6 are full.
I need 120mm fan because I'm running on passive heatsink, thus I need maximum air flow to keep the unit cool while maintaining the silence. I'm not going to use the stock Intel heatsink. Of course 80mm can do the job too, but the CFM will never be as good as 120mm. I'm still looking for some heatsink replacement from Thermalright but finding one would be a challenge because of the casing size. I'm used to passive cooling and I'm really really sensitive to fan sound. A tiny fan sound can annoy me. rclxub.gif And I'll only be running one 2TB WD green inside the case to keep the heat down, I'll be storing my media in a Synology 4xsata bay NAS.
kianwee
post May 9 2010, 09:41 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ May 9 2010, 06:08 PM)
the 80mm fan sound in an aluminium case, a few meters from your sitting position, next to the TV and speakers won't be audible IMO. unless you put the HTPC next to you.

even then, the 80mm sound will be overwhelmed by the aircond hehe
Sound is not that bigger problem for me since I'll be blasting movie anyway, most importantly I need the airflow which the 80mm will not deliver.
kianwee
post May 9 2010, 11:00 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

Finally I found a suitable heatsink replacement for the stock intel heatsink - Thermalright AXP-140 for HTPC.

kianwee
post May 11 2010, 10:16 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(accs_centre @ May 11 2010, 02:43 PM)
My mobo in HTPC just got burnt.. Now Downgrading my spec to Core i5 + H55 Based Mobo. Sound and Graphic will be on its Intel HD Graphic and Bitstream to AVR..

Previous Spec is Xeon 3110 + Xonar HDAV 1.3 + Radeon 4650

sweat.gif
Good choice rclxms.gif

Looks like we have almost the same setup.
kianwee
post May 12 2010, 05:56 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(qwerty79 @ May 12 2010, 05:34 PM)
Nice plaques drool.gif Where you get them?

BTW, Bro. accs_centre, your sig still not change?
http://www.designbybond.se/index.php?act=viewCat&catId=30

You'll cry when you look at the price. laugh.gif
kianwee
post May 13 2010, 01:28 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(accs_centre @ May 13 2010, 01:18 PM)
It is around RM350 per piece..
I oledi graduated quite some time.. sweat.gif

Added on May 13, 2010, 1:20 pm

No sneak preview of your newly redesigned room 1st?  drool.gif

Added on May 13, 2010, 1:22 pm

No need to drool..mine is not high end system anyway..

SSD is not a must if for HTPC purchase.. But i cant stop myself after use my 1st Intel X25 SSD..hehe
Bro your plaques are not the LED one right? I saw the LED one was like USD199 per piece.
kianwee
post May 13 2010, 01:54 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(accs_centre @ May 13 2010, 01:34 PM)
Think to get LED one but once see the price..scare scare!
How's the workmanship and quality like? Top notch? I'm thinking to get a few too...
kianwee
post May 14 2010, 10:23 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ May 14 2010, 10:14 PM)
hi accs_centre, what movie software are you using? (in the screenshot) TotalTheater that comes with your soundcard? I know PowerDVD 7.3 Ultra plays both BD/HD DVD. but the info display looks different lah in your screenshot.
It's TotalMedia Theatre 3 by Arcsoft.
kianwee
post May 19 2010, 12:06 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ May 19 2010, 11:52 AM)
but doesn't do HD audio bitstreaming.
I don't think he mention he need that in the first place, especially if he is using the TV sound.
kianwee
post Jun 15 2010, 06:52 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Jun 15 2010, 06:24 PM)
new Mac Mini now with HDMI ports...!! biggrin.gif

just canceled my Dell Zino HD order...

dang Dell... my order was on the 1st June, Estimated Delivery was suppose to be 14th June... then on the 14th, they changed it to the 23rd June... taking 23 days to assemble a PC is kinda extreme, eh?

Won't see my buying a Dell from now on, that's for sure.
How muchie? I want to replace my old Mac Mini. thumbup.gif
kianwee
post Jul 9 2010, 12:07 AM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(stan001 @ Jul 9 2010, 12:02 AM)
Nice HTPC setup..

Just curious, what OS r u using ?
That's Windows 7
kianwee
post Jul 9 2010, 12:49 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(StratOS @ Jul 9 2010, 12:20 PM)
Anyone here use a Soundgraph products here? Just wanna share some experience using a iMon VFD~ easy to control my desktop using a single remote using this thing.

I have the Antec Veris Elite, looks about the same with Soundgraph. Perhaps same manufacturer? hmm.gif

kianwee
post Jul 13 2010, 09:45 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(StratOS @ Jul 10 2010, 10:31 PM)
Yea.. soundgraph claims its their product. When i got mine also under Veris but Soundgraph Box.. haha.. So its the same only outside design slightly different..

Btw, how much you bought yours?
Around RM270 after include shipping from USA.
kianwee
post Jul 14 2010, 04:45 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(temppei @ Jul 14 2010, 04:40 PM)
i'm getting two of these.
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1482489&hl=

smile.gif smile.gif

good itx mobo with all the bells and whistles for a small htpc.
No solid caps?
kianwee
post Feb 23 2011, 10:13 AM

Cube
6,562 posts

AMD Fusion perfect for HTPC. Apparently can bitstream HD audio too...

Link : http://hothardware.com/Reviews/AMD-Fusion-...e-E350s-Tested/

kianwee
post Feb 24 2011, 12:39 AM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(peter32 @ Feb 24 2011, 12:09 AM)
Just noticed today that my HTPC most likely got fried during a thunder storm !

It was a MA785 MOBO with additional Prodigy soundcard.  Seriously I don't know if its just the Mobo or PSU that was at fault.

If I were to remake another HTPC, may I ask what is the latest best budget Mobo that can at least capable of decoding True HD ?
AMD Fusion

0.0462sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:39 PM