Astro byond software update v1.1, 4:3 channels on 16:9 screens

SUSgogo2
post Mar 14 2010, 09:12 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

I still don't understand what is the problem with B.Yond. There should be a stretch mode because SD will look weird. SD is not meant to be watched in stretched mode. I think you all complain wrongly. Astro is showing you guys how to watch SD in correct way. Hope you all understand.
SUSgogo2
post Mar 14 2010, 09:47 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Mar 14 2010, 09:35 PM)
and do you think that the zoom mode is perfectly OK?
not zoom mode. We should watch in pillar box mode.

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Mar 14 2010, 09:38 PM)
Looks weird? not to me. The further you watch Astro SD from the TV, the more clearer it gets, Just now I went at some restaurant, they have a Panasonic 40" displaying normal Astro, I thought it was in HD, then I sit nearer to the TV, it gets blurry. Same goes with Stretch mode
weird la. You're watching it not the way it is meant to be watched...

QUOTE(maxpudding @ Mar 14 2010, 09:40 PM)
Showing or shoving down their throats? These astro subscribers are paying astro good money, if they are not satisfied, they can rant and get angry as much as they can
No la. Really one. Movie/show should be watched the way it meant to be watched.
SUSgogo2
post Mar 14 2010, 10:41 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(maxpudding @ Mar 14 2010, 09:53 PM)
Well for some, their own TV upscaling mode is better than the others whereby they can watch stretched mode without getting "fat people" version. But it's all a matter of preferences tbh.
How can a stretching mode happened without getting fat people? you don't know what you're talking about bro. stretch = fat = stretch.

QUOTE(SiriuslyCold @ Mar 14 2010, 09:56 PM)
while I agree that the purist way of watching 4:3 programmes is in pillar-box mode, I reserve the right to watch it the way I want to.

As well there are purists in audio who think that they should not listen in multichannel because they only have two ears, yet I like running my 2-channel audio through Dolby Prologic II or DTS:Neo.

Should AVR manufacturers remove the DPLII and DTS:Neo option because these are not the "correct" way of listening to stereo material?

I don't see how Astro, having cut the original 16:9 video to transmit in 4:3 have any right to tell us how to watch it. Why don't they transmit SD in 16:9 anyways? if you have a 4:3 screen you'll be letterboxed, and that would be ok because everyone is used to letterboxing.
Sound transmitted if it sounded the same, then its the same. Unless you make it change speed, then its wrong.
Watching in wrong aspect ratio is same as listen to music at wrong speed.

QUOTE(minimize @ Mar 14 2010, 10:23 PM)
Yeah maybe ur right. But u should know not all people are same. Each one of us has own perspective. Some like black and some like white.
Same here as paying astro subcriber, i think we have right to choose our convience way to watch as long as we happy with that.

So I think look weird it not a issue to here. Like me, sometime I switch to pillar box when I not happy with the picture and mostly I convience watch in stretch mode.

If astro want us strictly to watch the correct way I think they should remove zoom option at the first place. No more option to select aspect ratio right?  whistling.gif
I'm not sure how convenience is convenience. Watching astro is like praying to me. It's very sacred things. Everything must be done
rite. That is, the aspect ratio must be correct and the sound must be correct. I don't mind setup before watching.
SUSgogo2
post Mar 14 2010, 11:39 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

I'm not sure why you guys want to fill up the screen just for the sake of fill up the screen. Just because you bought 42" LCD but due to SD 4:3 only fill 80% of your screen, you feel bad and want to stretch until the people also look fat. That's not the way to enjoy LCD. It's blasphemous.
SUSgogo2
post Mar 14 2010, 11:49 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(spikey2506 @ Mar 14 2010, 11:46 PM)
OK then. Since it's the weekend, and the managers are on leave, we should expect some news from Assterung tomorrow right? I recall somebody here said that there will be a meeting tomorrow about this.
this is for what ler? asking them to give you back option to stretch screen? tongue.gif
SUSgogo2
post Mar 15 2010, 12:04 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(spikey2506 @ Mar 14 2010, 11:51 PM)
Frankly, I don't really bother to read what other people are saying. Coz each of us pays good money to Assterung. So we are entitled to our own preference as to how we wanna watch our TV. What I know now is that I want the stretch function back, added to the present zoom and pillarbox. So the purists can smile, and we can be happy watching fat Rooney trash Milan and Fulham. You guys can argue till the pigs fly, but at the end of the day, we are all paying Assterung, and they should cater to ALL of us.
BUT BUT... why u wanna watch fat Rooney? lolz.... the reason we're discussing here is that we don't need to disturb those manager because the current problem is not a problem. You still able to watch real ROoney
SUSgogo2
post Mar 15 2010, 12:07 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(SiriuslyCold @ Mar 15 2010, 12:05 AM)
... who is already fat.  laugh.gif
lolz... u got me there....

I beg u all dun kacau Astro liao... they are doing good job already... icon_question.gif
SUSgogo2
post Mar 15 2010, 12:28 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(spikey2506 @ Mar 15 2010, 12:07 AM)
It's my money. That's why I argue. And watching real Rooney will hurt your Plasma in the long run.
current crop of Plasma have anti-burn in...

QUOTE(neb @ Mar 15 2010, 12:12 AM)
you are already good to go watching in pillar box, so lets others to have their chance to get back their stretch LOL
lolz
SUSgogo2
post Mar 15 2010, 12:54 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(spikey2506 @ Mar 15 2010, 12:34 AM)
Not an issue bro. Can reverse. Furthermore, watching in real 4:3 is worth more than an LCD tv bro smile.gif
SUSgogo2
post Mar 15 2010, 09:46 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(sapkl @ Mar 15 2010, 07:37 AM)
I think we go protest in front of Astro with banner should help if they have no response before April. What do you think?
I think you're very weird. I mean, protest over what? Because you don't want to stretch the picture manually? lolz.. what
have humanity comes into?
SUSgogo2
post Mar 15 2010, 10:19 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(honamd77 @ Mar 15 2010, 05:25 PM)
i got reply email from CS

my question : What the he** happen ?.Suddenly my 40'' become small screen.
And where option for STRETCH MODE ?.happen after firmware update.
It is really2 annoying..

CS answer :

dun be ridiculous. 40" is big screen.

with stretched mode, your Rooney height is 6'.
with pillar box mode, it's still 6'.

I think you guys got perceptive problem..lolz...
SUSgogo2
post Mar 15 2010, 10:26 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Mar 15 2010, 10:23 PM)
Oh my.... you still not "insaf" what??
If u like pillarbox, then, just keep quiet..
you seems like to provoke here...
you want make people here to to get follow with your "mind".., isn't it??
No bro. The problem is, pillar box is supposed to be the real way to watch SD.

Astro must be feeling terrible because a lot misguided people subscribe to B.yond...
Astro already said want us to watch in real aspect 16:9.... not other weird aspect..
can't we respect their decision? They are actually educating Malaysia regarding
aspect ratio of 16:9 and we should not watch in other aspect ratio than 16:9.

Added on March 15, 2010, 10:31 pmand 4:3 source must be watched in 4:3 aspect ratio....

This post has been edited by gogo2: Mar 15 2010, 10:31 PM
SUSgogo2
post Mar 15 2010, 10:37 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Mar 15 2010, 10:35 PM)
some SD channels program such as HistorySD actually broadcast in 16:9, but it was then converted by astro to be in 4:3, so you will have top/bottom/left/right black bar, this sort of convoluted channel is most suited to use stretch mode, did anyone notice that? you will get a nice HD-like 16:9 full screen output with proper height and width display on screen when stretched out.
yes, I think this is probably the best way. But unfortunately, when you stretched it, the picture become blur. Because they are send 4:3 of info.
But you stretch it to display in 16:9 info. Anyway, this one is better than stretched the other type of SD.
SUSgogo2
post Mar 15 2010, 10:44 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Mar 15 2010, 10:40 PM)
sorry don't understand what you are trying get across doh.gif
lol...

4:3 program resolution is 640x480.

you stretch it to display in 1920x1080 or 1280x720.

you're putting 640x480 info on 1920x1080 display which will make it blur. Have you ever stretch a photo before?

That's why I'm saying Astro is doing this pillar box to educate customer because they know a lot of customer
watch SD in 4:3 and they feel terrible.
SUSgogo2
post Mar 15 2010, 10:51 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Mar 15 2010, 10:46 PM)
SD channel can actually be braodcasted in 16:9 ratio, one example is german's free sat channel DW-TV, this channel is in 16:9 + SD, so astro should get proper 16:9 + SD feed from History channel network
But Astro is transmitting in 4:3 resolution only bro sweat.gif
SUSgogo2
post Mar 15 2010, 11:12 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(zwanvedder @ Mar 15 2010, 11:11 PM)
Are u beyond user?
I can't say anything now because I got gag order frm spikey brader...

0.0557sec    0.72    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:12 PM