NOKIA N97 V4!, Firmware V22 is available!!

zero_kbom
post Mar 14 2010, 06:54 PM

~I'll make you Miku Miku~
965 posts

Ehhh everyone already added their name..plz add me in the black team lolol laugh.gif
BTW hve anyone here encounter this prob, suddenly the LED near the USB port light up and the batt sign shows that it is charging even the charger is not inserted in my phone...
Encounter this prob yesterday and decided to reboot my phone oni to be greeted wif the dreaded WSOD doh.gif ...Bring headache as I'm on the bus to ipoh at the moment and to reset is not really an option...besides I haven't back up it yet sweat.gif
Lucky I hve my backup Nokia X6 wif me at the moment thumbup.gif

And i dun think fw v3.0 will bring Symbian^3 to our N97...Our phone is too underpowered for it LOOL sweat.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by zero_kbom: Mar 14 2010, 06:56 PM
zero_kbom
post Mar 15 2010, 09:26 AM

965 posts

QUOTE(brucesss @ Mar 15 2010, 08:28 AM)
wad is symbian^3 o???
Let's just say that it is the next iteration of Symbian OS...Symbian^3 will replace the current Symbian^1 (S60v5) and Symbian^2 (Some of the components already used in N97 such as kinetic scrolling and widgets)....
It sports enhancements to the UI as well as performance enhancement such as faster kinetic scrolling, multi touch (pinch zooming and all those eye candy lool), multiple home screen and lots more...See for urself

Symbian^3 UI

Symbian^3 demo

Hope this helps icon_rolleyes.gif
zero_kbom
post Mar 16 2010, 08:51 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(brucesss @ Mar 15 2010, 10:50 PM)
will n97 at least get symbian^2???
Although Nokia already announced that they will SKIP symbian^2 in favor of symbian^3, bits of symbian^2 code was already ported to N97, such as the kinetic scrolling throughout the phone and homescreen +widgets

In other words, our N97 already running on some symbian^2 codes... nod.gif

@tplus1 OLOL...yeah the price of Nokia phones surely just keep decreasing and decreasing... I still remember the RRP for N96 was around RM3099 sweat.gif

Want to upgrade to N900, sadly still not hve enuff money, poor student iz poor lool laugh.gif
zero_kbom
post Apr 22 2010, 09:53 PM

965 posts

@PyOsE

Can u tell me what CFW are u using rite now...wanting to hack my phone but didn't know what CFW should be choosen icon_rolleyes.gif
zero_kbom
post Apr 22 2010, 10:33 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(PyOsE @ Apr 22 2010, 10:00 PM)
i thot u bought N900 already?

currently using CFW by SVYAT
LOL...want to buy but dun have enuff money....I'm a poor student n hving just rm100 monthly allowance quite sucks laugh.gif

this cfw looks quite promising...will try it this weekends
zero_kbom
post Apr 27 2010, 07:24 PM

965 posts

Holy shie*..Nokia officially announced Nokia N8, the 2010 Nokia's Symbian Flagship
More info GSM Arena

Wicked spec (Multitouch enabled capacitive screen, 12mpx cam with HD recording, Wifi b/g and freaking N!!)

And better, wicked price, 500 USD rclxm9.gif

LOL, I can't stop shivering thumbup.gif rclxm9.gif

zero_kbom
post Apr 27 2010, 07:31 PM

965 posts

LOL..yea...just realized, I is slowpoke laugh.gif

But seriously, at that price point, I'd have to say that N8 maybe the best....in terms of bang for buck laugh.gif
The OS? Lets see how it turns out...Personally ,I really did not want another N97 launch disaster again sweat.gif
zero_kbom
post May 18 2010, 04:42 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(limj881128 @ May 18 2010, 03:39 PM)
anyone know how to free more ram?im using ramblow,but i need to know is there other way to free more ram so i can run garmin more smoother!!!

my current ram roughly 54-56 max
Well, for N97, its already considered a lot sweat.gif

If u're brave enuff, maybe u can try using custom firmware, which some of them have quite a lot free ram..
Dunno much bout cfw though, maybe u should try asking PyOsE...more knowledgeable in this cfw matter nod.gif
zero_kbom
post May 28 2010, 12:33 AM

965 posts

QUOTE(MT-MT @ May 27 2010, 01:31 PM)
any third party software for ebook? thanks for help
Ebook? I'm currently using ZXreader... icon_rolleyes.gif
zero_kbom
post Jun 9 2010, 08:11 PM

965 posts

AFAIK there is an RMVB player app for N97, I found it on some chinese forum, cant remember where I put the installer though lol.
Much better performance than using the default realplayer, too bad that the app was quite unfinished. (No fast forward etc).
Try googling around for RMVB player for N97. icon_rolleyes.gif

Anyway guys, as my N97 was quite in dire shape, I've decided that well, I need to do something. Hence, I've started by reformat BOTH the internal and external memory, leaving my N97 in mint condition. Then, I installed Pimp Juice Plus for N97, an app that supposedly optimize the N97 by moving the browser cache to E, better kinetic scrolling, etc (Found at dailymobile.se forum...google it urself lol laugh.gif ).
And guess what? I've fallen in love with N97 again thumbup.gif
The browser feels much smoother and better. For example, b4 this, it crashes everytime I try to open engadget.com, now no prob at all. The kinetic scrolling feels also much snappier. (The only caveat was dat as u scroll, it will continue moving till the end of the list, even if the flick is very slow). Anyway a better experience for me overall.

Too bad my X6 performed better as a phone (more stable, less bug etc) or else I might swap my sim back to N97. icon_idea.gif
Really recommended for those who re using ori fw and wants the advantages cfw brings. But you need to sign the app first.

At least I've something to keep me happy....until my money already enuff for me to upgrade to N900 whistling.gif

p/s: Posted from my N97 default browser nod.gif

This post has been edited by zero_kbom: Jun 9 2010, 08:12 PM
zero_kbom
post Jun 15 2010, 01:38 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(nevenchailj @ Jun 15 2010, 12:56 PM)
Anyone can tell me how to free up some of my N97 phone memory? I just left about 5MB of storage in my phone memory. My messages uses my Mass Memory. Thanks. By the way, can add me to the group? I'm using a white N97.
Hmm...for starter try clearing ur web browser cache...And install any app dat can be installed on the mass memory in it.
zero_kbom
post Jun 15 2010, 10:07 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(MT-MT @ Jun 15 2010, 09:42 PM)
how to clear cache ?
where is it locate leh tongue.gif
Web-> Option-> Clear Privacy data -> Cache

Added on June 15, 2010, 10:10 pm
QUOTE(nevenchailj @ Jun 15 2010, 01:45 PM)
I'm using Opera as my browser and I have cleared my cache and it's still all the same. And the other thing, I always install my stuffs into my mass memory. Thanks for your help. Anymore suggestions? rclxms.gif

Added on June 15, 2010, 3:00 pmWho is gonna reply me at this moment now? cool2.gif
Hmm. Have u installed stuff from OVI store?. Because if u do, and u did not change the default setting, the apps u've downloaded will be installed in the internal mem. Like PyOsE said, try to check via your app manager icon_rolleyes.gif

5mb is too low hmm hmm.gif

This post has been edited by zero_kbom: Jun 15 2010, 10:10 PM
zero_kbom
post Jul 3 2010, 01:51 AM

965 posts

Hmm...already updated. But no noticeable effect.
Oh well, rite now just using it lightly so no problem there icon_rolleyes.gif
zero_kbom
post Jul 3 2010, 11:10 AM

965 posts

Wow...me fakap.
My N97 screen just cracked haih.
Now anyone knows how much will be 4 the repair? Ncc preferably
And how much dat shop will take 4 trade in?
Wanna change to n900
Help plz n tia notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by zero_kbom: Jul 3 2010, 11:11 AM
zero_kbom
post Jul 19 2010, 01:00 AM

965 posts

^
Cant blame u for feeling like dat. In fact most of the N97 users already felt burnt due to this fiasco. But anyway, try to optimize ur phone a lil bit.
TBH, I'm thinking of moving back to my N97 as my primary phone from X6 after some optimization I've done (Installing PJP, maintain large free space on C, update to FW v22) but as my screen juz cracked, I felt dat its time to let go of it and move to something else..(N900!! lulz)

0.0422sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:51 AM