NOKIA N97 V4!, Firmware V22 is available!!

christcwl9
post Aug 28 2010, 12:11 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

Hey guys , i wanna know how long u all N97 can last both on normal usage and heavy usage .. thx .. Becuz i wanna buy either N97 or N900 @@
christcwl9
post Aug 28 2010, 12:37 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

thx aspire .. i wonder how long can N900 last for an average user just like the average for N97 is 3 days .. And then is it N97 that bad ? @.@ I mean those review used to compared n97 and n900 criticise n97 badly T.T
christcwl9
post Aug 28 2010, 01:14 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(soonlee33 @ Aug 28 2010, 12:41 PM)
not reli smooth la bro...
processor tak cukup... my average usage 3 days: 50%sms, 20%call, 20%wifi, 10%gps
Buddy , wat do u mean by not really smooth ?? Means if open many apps will lag ?

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Aug 28 2010, 12:42 PM)
depends on your needs.

Browsing
N900 wins support flash its like u browsing on your computer
Flashlite support only many website cant open
Battery life
N97 wins for its 1500mah
N900 battery life average usage maybe 1 day max

Processor speed
N900 Capable to OC to 1000mhz from 600mhz
N97 434mhz unable to OC for default firmware
Community
U have two strong community for n900
LYN - http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1496843
Maemo talk - http://talk.maemo.org/

N97
Random sites
OS
N900 - capable dual boot Maemo and android
N97 only symbian
Apps
If u are more into apps/games N97 is your choice
Lack of apps/ games for N900

Responsiveness
N900 can multi task until u cant feel it lags at all
N97 Kinda lag sometimes even 1 or 2 video
Video playback
N900 can play close to any format except HD movies
N97 Limited playback option
Wa .. n900 1 day max is kinda weak leh @.@ Buddy , wat do u mean by "kinda lag sometimes even 1 or 2 video ?? @@
christcwl9
post Aug 28 2010, 02:15 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

ok thx buddy ! And can u tell me about why is it they all say N97 bad becuz it has only 50mb of C space .. Isnt it contain 32gb c space for storage of files or apps ???
christcwl9
post Aug 28 2010, 02:49 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Aug 28 2010, 02:29 PM)
ts up to now haven't added me into black user?-.-''

Added on August 28, 2010, 2:34 pm
C drive is the drive used for important files which 50 is definitely not enough...the 32gb is another drive solely for storing things unless you mod your system files...and I think buying N900 is better cause N900 better processor and got graphics chip and hell lot of RAM(Paging) biggrin.gif
Im using N82 now buddy , so n82 C drive which is 100mb is equal to the C drive of n97 which is only 50mb ?? And then Cant i just install those apps in the 32gb storage there ?? I must install it in c drive meh ??

I like N900 too , but the battery life disappoint me sad.gif
christcwl9
post Aug 28 2010, 03:18 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Aug 28 2010, 03:15 PM)
Yes...you can and should install to E drive smile.gif but it's pretty miserable for the RAM part...and the lack of graphics chip smile.gif
So buddy, it means i have plenty of space in c drive too lor if all my apps are installed in E drive (the on board 32GB) .. right?? And then, from ur experiecne , will it be very lag like n95 8gb when open too many things ? I wonder how it is when compared to n82 xD
christcwl9
post Aug 28 2010, 03:37 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

do u mean free ram buddy ? Like my N82 usually get 85mb++ after boot . smile.gif
christcwl9
post Aug 28 2010, 07:37 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Aug 28 2010, 03:58 PM)
Yeap...but N97 has only 40++after boot smile.gif because RAM management is bad for Symbian 1 smile.gif
Oic .. thx m8 ^^ So far are u satisfied with ur n97 ?

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Aug 28 2010, 04:32 PM)
all i can tell u if u tried N97 browser and N900 browser u wont ever go back to N97 web browser
Ok buddy! What im concern is just the battery life for N900 if i choose it ... And then if i choose N97, i am worried about the lack of C space and then RAM sad.gif Buddy, why cant i clear everything in the C drive and then re-install it inside E ?? And Memory card is F drive ?

QUOTE(soonlee33 @ Aug 28 2010, 06:56 PM)
it doesnt lag....just that it is slow
e.g. when u open photo gallery, it takes few sec to load the thumbnails
U mean N97 ?
christcwl9
post Aug 28 2010, 08:04 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(soonlee33 @ Aug 28 2010, 07:42 PM)
yup
lol my c drive left 14mb only
my apps and files all can be kept and installed in e drive so no need to worry bro
Ok buddy smile.gif

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Aug 28 2010, 07:52 PM)
if battery life get n97 but it will laggy
if dont want lag get n900 but battery life abit shorter.

u can read n900 thread even open 10 windows wont lag. u can oc your phone too.

dont discourage ppl to buy u tongue.gif give ppl option to choose
Ok buddy .. to be honest , i am more fancy with N97 becuz of its better look xD
Just if N97 is not that laggy , and only slow when compared to N900, i guess i can still accept about it .. But i doubt that 40mb after boot is enough for multi-tasking or not blink.gif

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Aug 28 2010, 07:55 PM)
N900 is like a comp lar biggrin.gif because of the memory paging, I think it's the king of multitasking lar biggrin.gif
Who cares about battery life? I charge my phones pretty much everyday though N97 is undeniably a little more lasting thanks to 1500mah
I heard that N97 batter can last 5 days with minimum usage and then 3 days for average usage ! It's kinda impressive ..
On the other hand , i heard that N900 can only last 6 hours on heavy usage with moderate usage to 12 hours + only sad.gif
christcwl9
post Aug 28 2010, 08:54 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Aug 28 2010, 08:13 PM)
i'm telling you as a N97 owner...I think N900 will do a better job biggrin.gif
And 40mb is really very tough to multitask sad.gif
Buddy, i don think i will open so many things at once ... the most i guess will be open a web browser + listening to music or Sms + listening to music ... Do u think N97 is capable of doing that without lag ?

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Aug 28 2010, 08:15 PM)
its true... i also prefer battery life but nothing is perfect must choose one
Yea .. So more to N97 unless N900 can last 2 days at least with moderate use @@
christcwl9
post Aug 28 2010, 09:27 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Aug 28 2010, 09:20 PM)
like tat already lagging. later i go home demo for u to see.
Ok buddy ! Thx 1st ! BTW, i just heard that N900 can make it through almost 2 days with moderate usage ! Is it ?? Can it hit 3 days + with least usage ??
christcwl9
post Aug 29 2010, 12:03 AM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

N97 will lag when sms + music ? Means slow loading of website or other meaning ?
christcwl9
post Aug 29 2010, 02:20 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Aug 29 2010, 12:19 AM)
yea something like that. On nokia n900 u wont experience such thing. u open 3 windows or more a click will load the apps immediate due to its 768mb virtual ram for apps + Processing speed and 3D hardware
Buddy, it means like delay ?? Delay long mar ? Just asked shop around my area .. none of them sell N900 sad.gif Perhaps i should consider N97 if the prob not that big ? blink.gif Like just open web browser to fb or go other net will lag ??
christcwl9
post Aug 29 2010, 02:39 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Aug 29 2010, 02:31 PM)
umm...lagging is actually quite a big issue for me cause sometimes it just stuck there on the webpage and can't scroll at all and the biggest problem is 1 app will kill the other to gain more RAM for its usage...all of there problems are mainly caused by the lack of RAM...you can try searching in Lyn to buy N900 and I think Clareen is selling N900 biggrin.gif
En, i hate lag phone too ... If i buy here , the only way is through postage .. im not very convince with this type of purchase @@
christcwl9
post Aug 29 2010, 04:28 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Aug 29 2010, 03:44 PM)
I agree with you. Is best u get N97. After u experience it and consider to change its too late hehe.
I like N97 the screen can slide up.
LOL! Im more towards N900 now but its hard to get in local market ? I mean plcs beyond KL

0.0412sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:15 AM