music degree in public uni

cassiemissy
post Mar 13 2010, 08:58 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ Mar 13 2010, 09:59 AM)
there're 2 types of approach:

1. you know you want italian food, specifically speghetti bolognese, so you find the best italian restaurant and will try to find the one that offer the best speghetti bolognese.

2. you know you want italian food. you have no idea what you'll end up with, so you can't decide which restaurant to go. so you seek for reviews and choose according to which reviewer/blogger/food photos/menu appeal you the most.

which one are you? wink.gif
laugh.gif laugh.gif

easy example.. i guess i am in the 2 category.. doh.gif
slayer9165
post Mar 13 2010, 09:01 PM

75 posts

cassiemissy stpm leaver also???
cassiemissy
post Mar 13 2010, 10:11 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(slayer9165 @ Mar 13 2010, 09:01 PM)
cassiemissy stpm leaver also???
nope.. i wish i am though... laugh.gif i've graduated in another degree already.. and currently thought of persuing another in my other interest.. tongue.gif:

any good advises?

u r an stpm leaver?
slayer9165
post Mar 13 2010, 11:46 PM

75 posts

lolz, whats ur interest? music? haha!
little ice
post Mar 14 2010, 01:37 AM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(christellia @ Mar 13 2010, 04:14 PM)
This is an example of pro and experienced musician smile.gif Know how to use the example in our life to explain. Salute notworthy.gif
eh, i know how to talk only leh... blush.gif

QUOTE(BelowAverage @ Mar 13 2010, 07:08 PM)
go PIzzahut! rclxms.gif
me domino's kaki laugh.gif
ashportal
post Mar 14 2010, 01:13 PM

750 posts

QUOTE(cassiemissy @ Mar 12 2010, 11:38 PM)
hi.. since u r an UM graduate.. mind sharing ur experince in UM?  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

Sure, but i lazy to type, better if you ask me what you want to know, I will answer accordingly laugh.gif

kiplunkz
post Mar 14 2010, 09:05 PM

29 posts

I'm from stpm. Now studying music at UPSI. You have 2 options here :

1) Music in perfomance.
2) Music in education.

I go for education to be a bit secure in terms of job.
CitizenJo
post Mar 15 2010, 12:55 AM

Whether UPM or UPSI, I don't think it's quite a big deal.

Justin Lim who lectures at UPSI has a Bachelor's in Music from UPM. He's a keyboard, guitarist and usually you can catch him playing at local jazz clubs. Ken Hor, a music producer, composer (he wrote the very successful Mamak performance a year ago - he's also earned some accolades overseas) also graduated from UPM.

The thing with UPSI is that it's expensive compared to UPM. Apart from that, I do not see any noticeable difference in the quality of the graduates. Basically I think it boils down to the individual.

(Of course lah, UPSI seems to have more professional folks you can see in the jazz clubs / festivals. James Boyle Jr. who has played at local jazz festivals - Penang Island Jazz fest and Jarasum Jazz in Korea also lectures at UPSI....)

Cheers!

CJ

This post has been edited by CitizenJo: Mar 15 2010, 04:58 AM
cassiemissy
post Mar 15 2010, 09:14 AM

211 posts

QUOTE(slayer9165 @ Mar 13 2010, 11:46 PM)
lolz, whats ur interest? music? haha!
yup.. music.. laugh.gif

QUOTE(ashportal @ Mar 14 2010, 01:13 PM)
Sure, but i lazy to type, better if you ask me what you want to know, I will answer accordingly  laugh.gif
well.. i always wonder wat it is like studying music in U.. does it involve many practice session or paper work more? will they like have many performance chances? tongue.gif tongue.gif
ashportal
post Mar 15 2010, 11:50 AM

750 posts

QUOTE(cassiemissy @ Mar 15 2010, 09:14 AM)
well.. i always wonder wat it is like studying music in U.. does it involve many practice session or paper work more? will they like have many performance chances?  tongue.gif  tongue.gif

Just to let u know, i graduate there but not in Music Degree hehe, but i do hang out there a lot at Culture Centre UM, reason is because lack of guitar player there, most of the students take keyboards/piano and violin, few percussions, but as i recall during my time there nobody take guitar, so what reason i do there? Many times the Culture Centre band (consist of music instructor) got shows to perform (RTM, Opening for orchestra, and lots more), they ask me to play with them, just to fill in the slot for 2nd guitarist, sure i go plus i got paid rclxms.gif , futhermore they all pro one, i can curi skill.

What I can say is, i see music student practices alot in studio, alone, and many times i see practice piano/violin, reading notes i believe, they have like an orchestra performance for lecturer to evaluate. The facility is quite decent.

I have no idea about paper work and writing examinations though hehe tongue.gif

TSnoodleq
post Mar 16 2010, 02:39 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(ashportal @ Mar 15 2010, 11:50 AM)
Just to let u know, i graduate there but not in Music Degree hehe, but i do hang out there a lot at Culture Centre UM, reason is because lack of guitar player there, most of the students take keyboards/piano and violin, few percussions, but as i recall during my time there nobody take guitar, so what reason i do there? Many times the Culture Centre band (consist of music instructor) got shows to perform (RTM, Opening for orchestra, and lots more), they ask me to play with them, just to fill in the slot for 2nd guitarist, sure i go plus i got paid  rclxms.gif , futhermore they all pro one, i can curi skill.

What I can say is, i see music student practices alot in studio, alone, and many times i see practice piano/violin, reading notes i believe, they have like an orchestra performance for lecturer to evaluate. The facility is quite decent.

I have no idea about paper work and writing examinations though  hehe tongue.gif

sounds fascinating.
but i do wonder how the auditions will be like
when i say auditions, i mean the interview before entering.
as far as i know, i think a student is required to prepare 2 pieces.
students are also required to be prepared for the aural test and sight reading.
is there anyone who can explain more what will be tested during the aural test?
and what are the advise that should be taken regarding the 2 pieces.
crazychris
post Mar 17 2010, 12:13 AM

Bass!!!
1,399 posts

noodleq comin to UM culture fac?

are u goin for classical or modern music?
ashportal
post Mar 17 2010, 01:09 AM

750 posts

QUOTE(noodleq @ Mar 16 2010, 02:39 PM)
sounds fascinating.
but i do wonder how the auditions will be like
when i say auditions, i mean the interview before entering.
as far as i know, i think a student is required to prepare 2 pieces.
students are also required to be prepared for the aural test and sight reading.
is there anyone who can explain more what will be tested during the aural test?
and what are the advise that should be taken regarding the 2 pieces.

Im sorry, i have no idea how the auditions will be sweat.gif , y not call them up hmm.gif

TSnoodleq
post Mar 17 2010, 10:35 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(crazychris @ Mar 17 2010, 12:13 AM)
noodleq comin to UM culture fac?

are u goin for classical or modern music?
i guess it should be classical music.
i'm not aware that there's a separate classical and modern music course at UM.

i'm applying to USM, UM and UPM.
of course, the USM will be considered first since it's an apex uni.
so i'm hoping to find out what to expect from the auditions/interviews.
hope to get some pointers here
ashportal
post Mar 17 2010, 11:20 AM

750 posts

QUOTE(noodleq @ Mar 17 2010, 10:35 AM)
i guess it should be classical music.
i'm not aware that there's a separate classical and modern music course at UM.

i'm applying to USM, UM and UPM. 
of course, the USM will be considered first since it's an apex uni.
so i'm hoping to find out what to expect from the auditions/interviews.
hope to get some pointers here

USM apex not bcoz of music la, they do alot of science research hehe tongue.gif

TSnoodleq
post Mar 17 2010, 12:26 PM

49 posts

what i mean is during uni app... my app for USM will be priority lar, even though UPU is also applied at the same time... in the event, my app at USM is rejected or I decline the offer, then only the UPU app will be considered....

P.S. my no.1 choice at USM is the music degree

i hope that clarifies my confusing statement before.
LemonCandydrop
post Apr 26 2015, 12:45 PM

QUOTE(noodleq @ Mar 17 2010, 12:26 PM)
what i mean is during uni app... my app for USM will be priority lar, even though UPU is also applied at the same time... in the event, my app at USM is rejected or I decline the offer, then only the UPU app will be considered....

P.S. my no.1 choice at USM is the music degree

i hope that clarifies my confusing statement before.
Hi, I've apply music in USM. I want to know whether they're going to call you for your audition or they sent letter to inform you? And is the audition really difficult to get through? I'm a STPM leaver but my CGPA is below 2 and I'm already finish my grade 8 last year. Please help and thank you.

0.0182sec    1.44    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 04:05 AM