4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

[WTA] 1080p movies with Dolby,...etc, Need to know more...

TSRayKazansky
post Mar 16 2010, 11:48 PM

Jell'o Legs
1,081 posts

Oh my,... i sense more components being taken into account. Btw, what is AVR?
Ngto
post Mar 16 2010, 11:52 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(RayKazansky @ Mar 16 2010, 11:48 PM)
Oh my,... i sense more components being taken into account. Btw, what is AVR?
AVR is your Audio Video Receiver as in Pioneer, Onkyo, Denon, Yamaha.... (some may know them as Amplifiers)
robinlim
post Mar 16 2010, 11:56 PM

vui vẻ và điên
974 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Mar 16 2010, 11:33 PM)
If you want media player that plays HD audio, currently only the higher priced ones can do that, e.g the Dvico 6500A, HDX BD1, HDMAX-BD-200C (all above RM1K). You will also need an AVR with HDMI input which also supports HD audio. (Note * Just having HDMI is not enough, it must also SUPPORT HD Audio, whether Bitstream or LPCM).

Those movie files with HD Audio (TrueHD ot DTS-MA)  are normally files with  .M2TS extension.

Those with .MKV extension normally only contain downconverted Regular Dolby/DTS 5.1.

(Note:- Although the cheaper Media players can play .m2ts files, the audio will not be real HD Audio, only downgraded 5.1 sound or sometimes even no sound)
movie files with mkv extension nowadays can contain HD audios already
but none of the media players in the market can properly bitstream HD audios from mkv files
not even those high price media players if I'm not mistaken

Among cheaper media players so far only WDTV Live can play m2ts files with proper bitstreaming of TrueHD
Ngto
post Mar 17 2010, 12:00 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(robinlim @ Mar 16 2010, 11:56 PM)
movie files with mkv extension nowadays can contain HD audios already
but none of the media players in the market can properly bitstream HD audios from mkv files
not even those high price media players if I'm not mistaken

Among cheaper media players so far only WDTV Live can play m2ts files with proper bitstreaming of TrueHD
They Can contain but they are not the norm yet, that's why I use the word "Normally".

WDTV Live may play TrueHD but what about DTS-MA. Partial function don't count as the real thing because lots of m2ts are using DTS-MA nowadays biggrin.gif.

Anyway let's not bring topic of MKV that contain HD Audio into the picture since no media players in market can properly bitstream them currently , it will only confuse the TS smile.gif

This post has been edited by Ngto: Mar 17 2010, 12:09 AM
ah_chak
post Mar 17 2010, 12:09 AM

Vroom..
2,341 posts

Do a search on DTSHD here you'll be amazed..
robinlim
post Mar 17 2010, 12:11 AM

vui vẻ và điên
974 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Mar 17 2010, 12:00 AM)
They Can contain but they are not the norm yet, that's why I use the word "Normally".

WDTV Live may play TrueHD but what about DTS-MA. Partial function don't count as the real thing  because lots of m2ts are using DTS-MA nowadays  biggrin.gif
At least there's a cheap media player that can play TrueHD rather than none, right?
Still can play some older m2ts titles with TrueHD biggrin.gif
Better than those who promised initially that it can play HD audios then later claimed that got licensing issue lar, chipset limitation lar, SDK restriction lar, blah blah blah

Since mkv can contain HD audios already
it's just a matter of time it becomes a norm cool.gif

Ngto
post Mar 17 2010, 12:13 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(ah_chak @ Mar 17 2010, 12:09 AM)
Do a search on DTSHD here you'll be amazed..
All I see are files with just regular AC3 and DTS biggrin.gif

Added on March 17, 2010, 12:15 am
QUOTE(robinlim @ Mar 17 2010, 12:11 AM)
At least there's a cheap media player that can play TrueHD rather than none, right?
Still can play some older m2ts titles with TrueHD biggrin.gif
Better than those who promised initially that it can play HD audios then later claimed that got licensing issue lar, chipset limitation lar, SDK restriction lar, blah blah blah

Since mkv can contain HD audios already
it's just a matter of time it becomes a norm cool.gif
Like I said TS looking for info on Current Media players in market, not something that relates to future doh.gif. If he buys the Asus O!Play thinking it can play MKVs with HD Audio in future then you better answer to him in future biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Ngto: Mar 17 2010, 12:22 AM
ah_chak
post Mar 17 2010, 12:17 AM

Vroom..
2,341 posts

well.. i have to admit that.. but most 1080p are ripped with DTSHDMA core..
paskal
post Mar 17 2010, 12:22 AM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(ah_chak @ Mar 17 2010, 12:17 AM)
well.. i have to admit that.. but most 1080p are ripped with DTSHDMA core..
the source are dts-hdma, but the hdma part are left out leaving only the dts core in the mkv.
it's quite rare to find mkv that has dtshdma/truehd in it.
gilbertlhl
post Mar 17 2010, 09:07 AM

386 posts

I think is better u get a AVR.

AS nowaday Notebook can play any file if got d codec.. tongue.gif
TSRayKazansky
post Mar 17 2010, 09:45 AM

Jell'o Legs
1,081 posts

Can also... so i get:
- An Asus notebook with 1GB dedicated GPU & HDMI port
- Creative X-Fi Surround 5.1 (with TOSLINK)
- Good 5.1 Surround Speakers with TOSLINK? (not those expensive ones)

Dear sifus, this config is okay?
Ngto
post Mar 17 2010, 10:30 AM

4,350 posts

Since you have decided not to have HD Audio , why not just stick to a cheap media player. You can also get hold of a cheap AVR that does regular 5.1 sound.
TSRayKazansky
post Mar 17 2010, 11:15 AM

Jell'o Legs
1,081 posts

Makes sense also as I only wanna make sure that the sound that comes out is really Dolby Digital AC3,Dolby Digital Plus & DTS Digital Surround.

That's all my requirement. Maybe my ears also cannot differentiate the HD audio hmm.gif hmm.gif

You guys (all the sifus that replied) really shared good info and it is very useful. Thanks, yo!

This post has been edited by RayKazansky: Mar 17 2010, 11:16 AM
Ngto
post Mar 17 2010, 11:44 AM

4,350 posts

Actually diff between HD Audio and regular 5.1 not really night and day difference especially with budget setups. So just forget HD Audio and play regular MKV with your media player. MKVs quality are actually quite good and the size can be about 4-5 times smaller than the full uncompressed BD copy. (Occasionally you can also try some m2ts if you know where to get them, but your setup can only hear regular 5.1 of course smile.gif )

This post has been edited by Ngto: Mar 17 2010, 11:48 AM
robinlim
post Mar 17 2010, 11:44 AM

vui vẻ và điên
974 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Mar 17 2010, 12:13 AM)
All I see are files with just regular AC3 and DTS  biggrin.gif

Added on March 17, 2010, 12:15 am
Like I said TS looking for info on Current Media players in market, not something that relates to future  doh.gif. If he buys the Asus O!Play thinking it can play MKVs with HD Audio in future then you better answer to him in future biggrin.gif
That's just a branch out lar, bro
merely a discussion on what mkv can contain
I'm not a fortune teller to tell him what player can play mkv files with HD audios in future biggrin.gif

Like I said, none of the players in the market can play mkv files with HD audios currently
and there is a cheap media player that can at least play m2ts files with TrueHD
that might be an option for TS biggrin.gif
Ngto
post Mar 17 2010, 11:58 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(robinlim @ Mar 17 2010, 11:44 AM)
That's just a branch out lar, bro
merely a discussion on what mkv can contain
I'm not a fortune teller to tell him what player can play mkv files with HD audios in future biggrin.gif

Like I said, none of the players in the market can play mkv files with HD audios currently
and there is a cheap media player that can at least play m2ts files with TrueHD
that might be an option for TS biggrin.gif
I purposely used the sentence MKV 'normally' don't have HD Audio , just to avoid people sidetracking into something that confuse the TS but still you couldn't resist smile.gif

gilbertlhl
post Mar 17 2010, 12:55 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Mar 17 2010, 11:44 AM)
Actually diff between HD Audio and regular 5.1 not really night and day difference especially with budget setups. So just forget HD Audio and play regular MKV with your media player. MKVs quality are actually quite good and the size can be about 4-5 times smaller than the full uncompressed BD copy. (Occasionally you can also try some m2ts if you know where to get them, but your setup can only hear regular 5.1 of course smile.gif )
agree with u, not much different... tongue.gif
minimize
post Mar 17 2010, 05:10 PM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(honamd77 @ Mar 5 2010, 06:00 PM)
how about bd player is ps3.got option for audio.
PCM @ Linear.default is PCM.i heard if change to Linear,
audio come better.but,if i change to Linear,appear message.
" Some part of audio be unless " ( i forgot exactly the message )

currently,i use ht for audio with optical cable.
I thinks linear mean ur PS3 will pass through audio to your HT. Maybe ur HT cannot decode that audio.
PCM means PS3 will decode that audio and send to HT.
htkaki
post Mar 17 2010, 05:33 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Mar 17 2010, 11:44 AM)
Yes, the difference will be rather minimal or to some untrained ears, none at all, which was being debated some time ago.

I had Dvico 6500 and HDX BD1. In a way, both have their pros and cons in terms of HD playback (m2ts and bd iso). I guess there isn't a perfect media player that does all flawlessly in the market now.

TrynRex
post Mar 18 2010, 08:42 AM

73 posts

Hi guys,

I don't know y u guys says Notebook HDMI cannot give audio output. My notebook can output 5.1 and even 7.1 to my AVR. I not sure this is call decode or pass thru but it does audio output.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0209sec    0.80    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:13 AM