THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Received from Uncle DHL this morning.

aiman04
post Mar 16 2010, 10:02 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Avatar from Region B will almost surely be locked. FOX locks 90% of their titles, and that 10% usually only on some catalog titles.

But who knows (though most unlikely), just be sure to wait for confirmation before check-out.
aiman04
post Mar 17 2010, 03:34 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

AVATAR is now available for pre-order:

http://www.amazon.com/Avatar-Blu-ray-Sam-W...68808923&sr=1-1

Also, the aspect ratio will be 1.78:1 as that was the original aspect ratio that the movie was created. The ratio you see in theaters was cropped to 2.35:1 (except IMAX screens). It'll also be one of the very few BD with THX certification. As mentioned by producer Jon Landau, they got rid of the menus, extras, trailers and studio promotions to max out the bitrate resulting in the best picture and sound possible (sounds like an excuse to have a barebone release though, curious to see how high the bitrate will be).

aiman04
post Mar 17 2010, 03:56 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(netken @ Mar 17 2010, 03:47 PM)
lord of the rings also releasing in April 6 - pre order open!

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detai...KX0DER&v=glance

shiok!
That would be the theatrical editions only. I'll probably get it to see how it looks and hear how it sounds and then sell it off. smile.gif
aiman04
post Mar 18 2010, 07:27 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Supposedly screenshot from 720p rip of the upcoming blu-ray:

aiman04
post Mar 20 2010, 04:38 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

People already start receiving LOTR TE blu-rays. First words aren't so good. Screenshots look soft, especially on Fellowship. Maybe the screenshots weren't done properly. Well, lets wait for the professional reviews.

Head to the AVS forum for the screenshots and discussions.
aiman04
post Mar 21 2010, 11:31 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(fadthil @ Mar 21 2010, 10:40 AM)
Last night, finally unwrapped & watched Resident Evil. Not a bad movie and not typical shoot-shoot-kill zombie-type movie, because there's a nice story written around it with a little substance.... PQ was fairly good too for a B-type and a 8-year old movie, while grain was at its minimal. AQ was not bad too, being aggressive here & there. Funny,
there's also a hidden Dolby Digital 5.1 audio (that you can't select from the menus) that function as default audio if your system is not compatible with Dolby True-HD... weird!

But the highlight of the movie has to be: Milla Jovovich's "PH" slip; when she was in the observation room towards the end of the movie  drool.gif  laugh.gif

Overall, a good & satisfying watch.... but not sure about getting the 2 sequels since it was not directed by Paul Anderson  hmm.gif
You should already know that. All Dolby TrueHD tracks include a Dolby Digital 640Kbps embedded, it's been this way since the codec ever used on BD. This is also the same with DTS-HD Master Audio that has a core track of DTS 1.5Mbps.
aiman04
post Mar 21 2010, 12:09 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Mar 21 2010, 11:54 AM)
Actually for Dolby TrueHD, the Dolby Digital is not embedded. It is a whole separate track. The DTS track is embedded into the DTS-HD Master Audio.
Yes, it is a separate track, I was trying to make it easier to understand. The correct word should be "attached".

The DTS track is not embedded either, it's part of the DTS-HD Master Audio track. The DTS-HD Master Audio track is designed to have the old decoder reconstruct and get the DTS core. That's why it is called "core" track.

This is from what I read 3 years ago. Correct me if I'm wrong.

Added on March 21, 2010, 12:27 pmActually it's the other way around. The DTS-HD Master Audio track was built on the DTS core track. So when a compatible DTS-HD Master Audio decoder available, it will reconstruct the data and get the full lossless track. If not, the core track will still be available to older decoders.

Sorry, confused a bit, haven't talked anything about home theaters for so long, starting to forget things. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by aiman04: Mar 21 2010, 12:27 PM
aiman04
post Mar 26 2010, 07:11 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Tested these last night. I'm so surprised with the details in the first one, never noticed the textures on the objects before, always thought they were flat and simple animation. Impressive for a 1995 production, 4.5 stars. Even the DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 ES is at least 4.5 stars, very active surrounds and the LFE will shake the room house!

Toy Story 2 just simply 5 stars for both PQ/AQ. No need to elaborate, just open up a dictionary and look for the word perfect.

Aiman was jumping on the sofa. rclxm9.gif

"To infinity.. and beyond!!!"

"That wasn't flying! That was... falling with style!!"

This post has been edited by aiman04: Mar 26 2010, 07:16 AM
aiman04
post Mar 26 2010, 02:24 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Mar 26 2010, 01:57 PM)
I am really abit confused about runtime for Toy Story 1 and @ for both US and UK versions:

Amazon US/UK info.:

www.blu-ray.com info.:

.......................................US Version........................................UK Version
1. Toy Story 1......................81 mins..........................................81 mins

2. Toy Story 2......................92 mins..........................................92 mins

bluray.highdefdigest.com info.:

I think www.blu-ray.com give the most accurate info. since there should not be any different between US and UK version except packaging since distributor for both country is Disney.

Whereas, for Amazon's info., well their always make mistake.  wink.gif

And for bluray.highdefdigest.com, I think there is typo error for Toy Story 1's runtime.
Trust Blu-ray.com, or at least other than Amazon. Amazon always copy technical details from the DVD. Remember, UK DVDs are in PAL which the faster frame rate will speed up the picture. UK DVDs will always be shorter than US, even if there are no cuts.
aiman04
post Mar 29 2010, 09:25 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

First review is up for the upcoming Minority Report. It scores 19/20 for both PQ and AQ. The screenshot looks great!

To read more, learn French quick and click here:

http://www.filmsactu.com/test-blu-ray-mino...report-9544.htm

This post has been edited by aiman04: Mar 29 2010, 09:53 PM
aiman04
post Mar 29 2010, 09:58 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Mar 29 2010, 09:52 PM)
Wow !!!!

Bro aiman04 speaks French as well.
Oui oui je sais! tongue.gif
aiman04
post Apr 1 2010, 10:09 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(fadthil @ Apr 1 2010, 09:10 PM)
ya lor, im pretty sure Paramount US wouldnt put taiwan or indonesia subtitle for their US release, dats y...
There are both Bahasa Malaysia and Indonesia subtitles on US version of Unbreakable blu-ray. The subtitles are impressively very, very good. Check it out guys. nod.gif
aiman04
post Apr 11 2010, 07:03 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Hi guys.

I've got some titles from my collection for sale. Click my sig for more info. PM or SMS me if you're interested.

aiman04
post Apr 15 2010, 07:26 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Alien Anthology officially announced. Still no release date, but expect it to be sometime near Xmas.
aiman04
post Apr 17 2010, 01:09 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Avatar UK version confirmed to be region AB.
aiman04
post Apr 18 2010, 06:19 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Star Wars Saga Blu-ray in the Works

April 17, 2010 - Today in the IGN Theater at the Chicago Comics and Entertainment Expo (C2E2), Lucasfilm Director of Fan Relations Steve Sansweet revealed anticipated information about the Star Wars films coming to Blu-ray.

"We have been at work for a couple of years working on—I won't call it the Ultimate Set because we keep finding stuff—but, a very full set of all six movies on Blu-ray with lots of extra material. We're finding all kinds of scenes from dailies that have never been seen before. Beyond all of those things that you know about… there are some real treasures."

When will the set come out? Sansweet says, "We're not ready to announce exactly when it's coming out, but it won't be in the too distant future."

http://bluray.ign.com/articles/108/1084415p1.html

aiman04
post Apr 24 2010, 07:00 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Apr 24 2010, 05:39 PM)
muahaha..me even worst..
in HK...
at least yours nearer..
dont know do what in HK now..  doh.gif
insured is good but will delay you another few days...  laugh.gif

anyway no avatar today, watch indy 4 as replacement..
the THX test sound damn good...boom boom pow...keep playing n playing it  tongue.gif
indy 4 PQ and AQ i feel so so only...AQ beside few scene good bass, the rest feel normal only..especially the gunshot and car crashing  sweat.gif
That was lossy Dolby Digital 5.1 640kbps, which was already awesome as you mentioned.

Wait until you hear that same THX trailer in DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 24-bit lossless. It will shake your b*lls. To experience this, stay until right after end credits of AVATAR on blu-ray.
aiman04
post Apr 24 2010, 10:18 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Our very own Cicakman movies will be released by Amazon.fr on June 1.

http://www.blu-ray.com/movies/Cicakman1-2-Blu-ray/11085/

Added on April 24, 2010, 10:24 pm
QUOTE(maskedchan @ Apr 24 2010, 09:36 PM)
cry.gif
now i wan my avatar asap more than ever
thanks for the info bro
No problem bro. Patience, it's a rare case where a BD is released on a Thursday, the weekend holidays will delay the delivery for another 2 days. I'm gonna watch Aliens & The Abyss (on DVD of course) tomorrow, just to warm up for the arrival of Avatar. smile.gif

This post has been edited by aiman04: Apr 24 2010, 10:26 PM
aiman04
post Apr 25 2010, 10:37 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Yes, different distributor may have different transfer and/or encoding. And some have lossless tracks some dont. Many examples, The Shawshank Redemption is one of them, US and UK edition is different. The latest is Minority Report, same transfer but different encoding, Paramount's US release takes almost the whole disc for the movie itself, hence higher bitrate and better and more obvious grain structure. Fox's EU release has lower bitrates, obviously because the special features crammed into the same disc. Not saying higher bitrate is better, but there you go, different distributor may have different transfer/encoding. One exception, the Gladiator release both Universal and Paramount used the same transfer/encoding for both their releases, so both have the same flawed PQ.

I've seen a HK release of I, Robot myself, it was BD25 even though the US release is BD50 with minimal extra features. So be careful, try to get all the info and specs first before buying a local release, maybe some are as good as US release, or you can look for import version (but more expensive though, might as well import it yourself).

0.0445sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:30 AM