CLOSED

sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Apr 10 2010, 10:32 AM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(fadthil @ Apr 10 2010, 10:26 AM)
Agreed. UK's BDs overall are still darn cheap compared to US; provided it's region-free of course (I dont have RF player). I bought Cars from Amazon UK last year thru BOGO... but after a while, when I look at the package overall, still felt something wrong with it eventhough there's nothing wrong with it! haha.....

And ended up buying the US version during BF and leave the UK's one still unwrapped!  tongue.gif
Is that right? Based on your recent posts, I thought you must've been one of the fastest newbie BD collector in recent memory (hehe...) where most of your collection are Bollywood flicks. You must start collecting now bro.... it's an infection  laugh.gif
Nope, i dont collect them, you might have known..

I have all the 10 tamil language titles [personal collection].

Bollywood is for the market.

This post has been edited by sKyWiR3pT3lTd: Apr 10 2010, 10:42 AM
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Apr 10 2010, 10:42 AM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Apr 10 2010, 10:30 AM)
Haha..

Bro S is bollywood specialist/dealer mah.. anyway if not mistaken.. n I m quotin him.. got like 20 odd ttls out in hd only n if u consider wat cums out frm India's film industry..
The indian market is quite bad as you'll never imagine, especially having been infected by piracy virus throughout the country, i doubt Indian citizens will opt for blu-ray discs.
The vast growth were noticed in Europe & Asia. Especially Asia country like Singapore & Malaysia.

This is why the Blu-ray author houses takes up the project and release some well known titles and new titles in the market,especially for Europe market & SE Asia market. You will not be able to find blu-ray for sale in India cos its under a strict rule to be sold over there. No doubt the suppliers are finding for distributor in SE Asia.

There are hundreds of titles in the market and the titles are growing day by day. You may or may not be aware that, India produces more than 1.6k films per year according to statistics.

Not many makes it for blu-ray.Only few are made this year and coming year 2011.

Bro D is right, only if you can see 20 titles come out in a year or so, that's a vast growth if it does.

This post has been edited by sKyWiR3pT3lTd: Apr 10 2010, 10:43 AM
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Apr 10 2010, 11:42 AM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Apr 10 2010, 11:17 AM)
Watched Monsoon Wedding (Criterion) a couple of days ago. Captures the elements of marriage chaos to the parents and all around.

Very interesting watch. Mira Nair is pretty good at weaving a tale. Yes there is the songs, but in all Indian weddings there are actual singing and dancing (North India). She works the characters pretty well, and brings the tale of a traditional India moving into Modern India. Not sure if non Indians will actually see what's being potrayed, but still there is a lot of stuff to take out of it. Those of us who are parents have girls to give away as a bride one day can reflect upon the dads feelings. She tackles a lot of issues, that are new to India (in 2001) like, love before marriage, how the society deals with the western influence, parents choices for their kids and childrens loyalty.

PQ - This is interesting. Criterion did a fabulous job in this restoration as this was initially captured in 16mm and then blown up to 35mm. Grain haters beware....Stay away, but this is how it was shot, also to give the gritty feel of India and its streets.

AQ - Very good 3 channel, the surrounds are sparsely used, but subtle when needed.

I would give it a 2 thumbs up. However, I dare not recommend this to all those who have wrote to hate Bollywood song and dance. Although, in this case it is not a normal Bollywood, there are song and dance but it is at a wedding and it is a real reflection of actual weddings.
I'm taking a wild guess that spoken language in the film probably English? Hindi here and there i pressume?. Monsoon Wedding has also :-

Won

* British Independent Film Award for Best Foreign Language Film
* Canberra International Film Festival - Audience Award (Mira Nair)
* Independent Spirit Awards - Producers Award (Caroline Baron)
* Venice Film Festival - Golden Lion (Mira Nair)
* Venice Film Festival - Laterna Magica Prize (Mira Nair)

Nominated

* BAFTA Award for Best Foreign Language Film (Caroline Baron, Mira Nair)
* Broadcast Film Critics Association Award for Best Foreign Language Film
* Chlotrudis Award for Best Cast
* Chlotrudis Award for Best Director (Mira Nair)
* European Film Award for Best Non-European Film (Mira Nair)
* Golden Globe Award for Best Foreign Language Film
* Online Film Critics Society Award for Best Foreign Language Film
* Satellite Award for Best Foreign Language Film

sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Apr 10 2010, 03:53 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Apr 10 2010, 02:44 PM)
IIANM One of them was region locked....
Blu-ray.com stated [Region Free].

This post has been edited by sKyWiR3pT3lTd: Apr 10 2010, 03:53 PM
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Apr 10 2010, 04:39 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Apr 10 2010, 04:24 PM)
Ah, something changed then. Predator standalone is region locked, they must have re-released like X-Men.
I'm new to Amazon. If you know how do i acctually read the region info in Amazon?. I hardly see it stated for some blu-ray titles.
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Apr 10 2010, 05:00 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

AMZ's discs info is really bad.. totally unreliable.. I guess its cut n paste frm SD info.. they stil use AC3 in odo in sum cases..

Better to rely on independent rvwrs..
Agree, in some cases i use Blu-ray.com and other independent reviewers site. Amazon is total unreliable on disc information. But some i have seen with correct region codes. [old titles]

Thanks for the response.
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Apr 10 2010, 11:42 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Apr 10 2010, 11:36 PM)
sweat.gif
there is 3 book of lotr..how can only 3 episode?
i think episode 2 is the best among all..
1st is the most boring one...  laugh.gif
The 1st one i heard the PQ is very bad. Is that true ? hmm.gif

Closing deal

Going to close the Special offer on Bollywood blu-ray. Last 10 mins.!

This post has been edited by sKyWiR3pT3lTd: Apr 10 2010, 11:48 PM
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Apr 11 2010, 06:24 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Apr 11 2010, 06:23 PM)
Tomorrow 9am (Malaysia time),
on lightning deal at Amazon US.

Could it be Yanni Live: The Concert Event [Blu-ray] (2005) ?

-deleted-

Now the price is $24.98
I thought Blu-ray Concerts posted here : http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1305874

Sini pun boleh ka?
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Apr 11 2010, 07:10 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Apr 11 2010, 06:31 PM)
This is for inform everyone only.  tongue.gif
Sorry, i forgot.. rclxub.gif i oso want to inform something...

The Mark Knopfler official website informs that the legendary live concert Alchemy: Dire Straits Live will be released on Blu-Ray on May 10. The picture has been restored by restoration specialist and live concert director d*** Carruthers. The audio (in PCM stereo and DTS-MA 5.1) was mixed by Chuck Ainlay, winner of the 2006 Grammy Award for Best Surround Sound Album (Brothers in Arms - 20th Anniversary edition).

Alchemy : Dire Straits Live Blu-ray

This post has been edited by sKyWiR3pT3lTd: Apr 12 2010, 12:41 AM
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Apr 12 2010, 12:42 AM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

Just completed watching a movie which is 2hrs 50mins long, "New York [Hindi]" (obviously)

I read some reviews out there in the web , before buying...that has really impressed me to watch this film. All i can say is , its up to America's Hollywood standards. A great film to watch..

Coming to the main focus , Video Quality. Out of 5 i would really want to rate them 5 but this is one the Yash Raj Films blu-ray that has not disappointed me much. Movie is pretty much digitalize , the grain is far less than seen..just absolute crystal clear PQ. Subtitles are massive, Arabic, Tamil, English, few more cant recall..

Next , Audio Quality. Not mastered in DTS-HD MA though, but decent DTS lossless track , a good 5.1 audio transfer. The dialogues are heavy and noisy.

If you like to watch the making of the films and other extra goodies here what you have stored in blu-ray disc.

Making of the film "New York"
Music Videos
Making of Music Videos
TV Interview
Theatrical trailer

A must buy title if you wanna perform a demo on your Plasma and customized HT. Since i dont have one, i can only review the PQ & AQ , not the actual heat of HT sound.

P/S : Katrina Kaif stunning !

This post has been edited by sKyWiR3pT3lTd: Apr 12 2010, 06:40 AM
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Apr 12 2010, 06:40 AM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

Guys,

Good morning, i have a quick question to ask. My orders from Amazon has been shipped today [US 11th April]. Stated that estimated arrival 18th May.
Anyone could tell me, if the item will arrive after 18th May or by / before?

Im sure all experienced buyer from Amazon knows the answer to this question. Please advise.

Cheers
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Apr 12 2010, 08:14 AM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(fadthil @ Apr 12 2010, 08:11 AM)
Based on your estimated delivery date, your standard shipping parcel will arrive no more than 2 weeks.... if there's no hiccups at Customs, Pos etc. of course...  nod.gif
Oh , great stuff..thanks for the hint.. thumbup.gif
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Apr 12 2010, 11:09 AM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(Exarkun @ Apr 12 2010, 10:47 AM)
Dang...I just got mine and it's without slipcovers. They ommitted the slipcovers from the later batch. sad.gif
I had a friend who ordered from a forumer here, said there's slip cover.

Sure some complaints on this tho.. hmm.gif
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Apr 12 2010, 06:29 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Apr 12 2010, 06:07 PM)
many nipple version of Pixar BD are region locked...beware.
Takpe la bro, locked one can be unlocked using PowerDVD [if watch in PC lor]
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Apr 12 2010, 10:46 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Apr 12 2010, 10:09 PM)
Anyone plan to order Showgirls 15th Anniversary Blu-ray on June 15, 2010. Another NC-17 film on it way to BD.  brows.gif
I used to have the Superbit DVD10 version of this film. But someone stole it. Maybe should get a BD now drool.gif
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Apr 13 2010, 02:14 AM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

Bollywood titles update:

Pre-Order open now for 3 Idiots, My Name Is Khan, Karthik Calling Karthik, Dil Bole Hadipa, Don, Dil Chahta Hai, Lagaan, Wake Up Sid & Kabhie Kushi Kabhia Gham.

All the titles expected to be released in the month of May - Aug 2010

sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Apr 13 2010, 10:27 AM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

Berita Hangat !

Avatar  director James Cameron, actress Sigourney Weaver, actor Joel David Moore and producer Jon Landau travelled to São Paulo, Brazil this weekend to plant the first of the million trees in the initiative supported by 20th Century Fox coinciding with the Blu-ray release of the film on Earth Day. The press event included a sneak peek of the Avatar  Blu-ray and some discussion of the upcoming releases.

The showcase played back five scenes from the Blu-ray on an array of Panasonic displays, including a mammoth 103-inch plasma. The result was allegedly "impeccable." James Cameron said that they took the time to guarantee that the audio and video quality matched perfectly what we saw in theatres.

Regarding the Special Edition, expected for November, Weta Digital is working on the new sequences. Also included will be extensive making-of documentaries and a record of Cameron's latest visit to the Brazilian rainforest.

Jon Landau hinted at a 3D version by saying, "Probably by the end of the year we'll have an estimated release date."

So, at last there is Special Edition. So better wait till December rather than buying now?
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Apr 13 2010, 11:11 AM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Apr 13 2010, 10:27 AM)
Yup..

Mine oso no slip cvrs..recd on  7th april..
Why is that some does have slip covers and some dont, i mean the slip covers are not important perhaps, but its completes the package init.

I do understand that Toy Story 1 & 2 blu-ray has 2 types of packaging. One is BD case and one is DVD packaging but are they BD or similar to BD packaging [ 3 disc edition]

Curious blush.gif
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Apr 13 2010, 11:25 AM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Apr 13 2010, 11:19 AM)
Prbbly its not amz fault as de supplier ships it to them like tat..

As a pckg.. yes de slipcvrs does make a difference but bottom line is u buy a video disc to watch a video n wat counts is wat is inside de pckg, de rest is nit pickin..

But of cos, many wil disagree..
D
What's the point of displaying the item package on store with slipcover when the blame goes to the suppliers? Why do u think Amazon not bothered about the issue?

You're right, some will disagree, perhaps most..but IMO with the slip cover obviously its looks great while on shelves..
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Apr 13 2010, 12:00 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Apr 13 2010, 11:41 AM)
buy now upgrade later when necessary  tongue.gif
I completely disagree with that bro.

I rather wait for all sort of "CUT" finalized instead of getting it now and spending once again for the similar movie.
Make no sense at all if we buy similar movie twice.

Im sure you agree with the opinion. icon_rolleyes.gif

25 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0520sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 02:46 AM