iPhone Club v11 - iPhone related news & Questions, Super-N00b FAQ/Q&A Thread

finch!
post Apr 15 2010, 03:49 PM

268 posts

I just got a 3G second handed from a guy. He said it's officially unlocked. and I cross checked the part number of my phone and yes, its from hongkong and it should not be locked to any carrier.

The thing is last nite i reflash the 3.1.2 firmware after that, the phone ask to connect to iTunes to activate. I tried (using my celcom sim) and it said activation unsuccessful. So I directly apply the blackra!n. Basically the phone is jailbroken and hacktivated.

The question is, even it's officially unlock, I need to hacktivate it? blink.gif

Another thing, after hactivated and all, I see that the phone cannot get signal from Celcom. I kind played around and tried install blacksn0w and unlock it. So, why do I need to unlock it using blacksn0w before my phone can get signal from celcom, even though it is officially unlocked phone?

Did I do something wrong?

Thanks alot I hope sifus here can shed some really bright light on me. Left the iphone scene for too long now confused edi. sad.gif

0.0420sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:10 PM