The University of Nottingham - Malaysia Campus v3,, Best University in Malaysia so Far

Fantasia
post Aug 19 2010, 12:55 AM

5,479 posts

hey, any1 going to nottingham this friday??
Fantasia
post Aug 19 2010, 01:35 AM

5,479 posts

open day for pharmacy iirc...
Fantasia
post Aug 19 2010, 02:42 AM

5,479 posts

nope... i going there to apply for pharmacy course+interview
Fantasia
post Aug 19 2010, 12:25 PM

5,479 posts

QUOTE(rxy @ Aug 19 2010, 09:34 AM)
ok..wish u gud luck then..the interview is not too hard..
haha, i also have the same thought. however, the personal statement really crack my head... i havent finish yet
QUOTE(loveless90 @ Aug 19 2010, 11:47 AM)
A lil piece of advice here. Try to remember what the dean says during his presentation, some lecturer might ask during the interview. That's what happened to me.  smile.gif
got presentation somemore ar?? i thought hand in application form then interview only? so any1 going tmr??
Fantasia
post Aug 19 2010, 02:29 PM

5,479 posts

QUOTE(loveless90 @ Aug 19 2010, 01:52 PM)
And campus tour too. That's what open day is all about, isnt it?
can i just hand in my form then interview?? i'm going there alone so i want to get it done as soon as possible
Fantasia
post Aug 19 2010, 05:45 PM

5,479 posts

QUOTE(ahrie @ Aug 19 2010, 05:43 PM)
for my case,I hand in the form and interview on the same day.
but do make sure you bring everything needed for the application.smile.gif
only the form and all the certificates right?? i'm going to bring all my original copy of certs, less hassle
Fantasia
post Aug 19 2010, 06:16 PM

5,479 posts

QUOTE(loveless90 @ Aug 19 2010, 05:46 PM)
I'm afraid you cant. You are asked to hand in the form when you arrive there in the school of pharmacy.

After that, you'll be asked to enter a room where the dean will do his presentation on the course. I dont know if you can opt not to attend the talk, but the interview is going to start only after the talk and the campus tour. It'd look weird if you wait outside alone for the talk to end, no? Just go with the flow will make everything right.

And if you really dont want to attend the talk/campus tour, i think you can just mail them your application form and wait for them to call you for interview.

BTW, many went there alone too. I was one of these loners...before i met someone i know there coincidentally as she's one of the applicants too.  lol smile.gif
i already signed up for the interview so i dont think can change anymore. i guess i just follow the flow XD
QUOTE(ahrie @ Aug 19 2010, 06:00 PM)
@Fantasia: remember to bring along the reference letter as well.
yup yup, i already put it inside a file together with my certs. thx for ur reminder notworthy.gif
Fantasia
post Aug 20 2010, 10:34 PM

5,479 posts

QUOTE(rxy @ Aug 20 2010, 04:08 AM)
@Fantasia:Is that hard to write a personal statement?
You sure have your strengths what.
Just say what you will do with your course that you'll be studying.
Of course,that's when you don't really know the course..
After you know it,you actually know you can do much more than that.
To me, it's hard when you don't know the aim of studying the course. I already applied biotech in UCSI. nod.gif
Fantasia
post Aug 20 2010, 10:37 PM

5,479 posts

Erm... I don't understand XD Mind to explain in simpler sentence??
Fantasia
post Aug 20 2010, 10:42 PM

5,479 posts

I don't know whether Nottingham accept me or not cause I didn't go for the interview.
Fantasia
post Aug 20 2010, 10:46 PM

5,479 posts

I just realised I prefer Biotech than Pharmacy
Fantasia
post Aug 21 2010, 04:30 PM

5,479 posts

Compared to UCSI's Biotech, I find that UCSI is better.
Fantasia
post Aug 21 2010, 08:04 PM

5,479 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Aug 21 2010, 04:44 PM)
What makes you think so?
I like to keep my option open. I mean in UCSI, I can choose to study locally or oversea.
QUOTE(zstan @ Aug 21 2010, 05:26 PM)
UCSI sure accept u one la. dun worry.
I won't worry about it cause I already enrolled.
Fantasia
post Aug 21 2010, 09:26 PM

5,479 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Aug 21 2010, 08:54 PM)
lol. i tot u can opt to choose to go to uk or not if u study at notts?

no doubt ucsi more choices.
Nottingham's biotech study 3 years locally only. Monash's biotech allow you to do internship to Australia campus if your result is good
Fantasia
post Aug 22 2010, 01:55 AM

5,479 posts

QUOTE(entryman @ Aug 21 2010, 11:58 PM)
Define better. In terms of what?
See below reply to zstan.

By the way, "in case" you choose to study overseas, which partner university would it be? And what are the requirements and cost?
I believe there're two opportunities:
1) Student Exchange for 1 semester (half academic year) / 2 semester (1 academic year). : Same Malaysian fees
2) Transfer to UK campus. : UK fees

What you're entitled to will depend on the programme and also your results. For more details, have to check with the respective school (some programmes don't currently accommodate student exchange, but as far as I know, Plant Biotech does)

Personally, I'm taking the 1 academic year exchange programme to Nottingham's China campus (biz school).
If your results are good, you have the opportunity to do the student exchange/transfer as what I've mentioned above.

But aren't you comparing UCSI to Notts? Why suddenly bring in Monash?

I believe you have not checked with Notts regarding the transfer and exchange programme.
If available, it would be the exact same thing! And you still complete your degree in 3 years!

I think you should really do your in depth research first before jumping to conclusions.
If u had seen the syllabus for biotech in nottingham and ucsi, u will know y i choose ucsi. if i go oversea, i'm aiming for university of queensland. u may say then y not study in taylor's since they r doing twinning with that uni too. but what if i suddenly change my mind and decide to do it locally? beside, ucsi allow me to do credit transfer/twinning not just australia uni, they also offer some uni from uk, canada and nz.
QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Aug 22 2010, 12:34 AM)
Now, the 'if your result is good' is very misleading. Internship opportunity does not lie whether your result is good or not. It's whether the company wants to take you or not. You can even secure an internship opportunity in the States, Japan, Tanzania, Faroe Island, Madagascar or whereever as long as the company takes you. Indeed, better result opens up more opportunities, but that doesn't mean you will be allowed to do internship in the Australia. Unless, they have assigned certain quota for the top scorers to do that - and if that is the case, it is your judgment whether to tackle the top places for that or not - or you want a quality UK education.
i think i use the wrong phrase. i mean something like student exchange programme. it's not about company
QUOTE(entryman @ Aug 22 2010, 01:07 AM)
For the 1st part, why?

For the 2nd part, Notts Biosciences department has 3 programmes: Nutrition, Plant Biotech, and Biotech.

For the 3rd part, why?
i know nottingham offer both general biotech and plant's biotech. but i already compared both syllabus from ucsi's biotech and nottingham's general biotech. i prefer ucsi 1.y?? u can look at nottingham's general biotech syllabus and compare with ucsi 1
QUOTE(rxy @ Aug 22 2010, 01:10 AM)
@entryman:Those other biotech branches appear lately.
Before this,only Plant Biotech.

@Fantasia:Anyway,enjoy your life there.
No comment on your choice and ur words about studying locally or not.
i will ^^ feel a bit sad coz i really like nottingham's environment.

This post has been edited by Fantasia: Aug 22 2010, 02:06 AM
Fantasia
post Aug 22 2010, 02:09 AM

5,479 posts

sry, typo XD. *edited.
nottingham's general biotech still new. i think they still need to arrange their syllabus. i still find it not much different from plant's biotech. my house to semenyih very far -.-" i live near sunway pyramid
Fantasia
post Aug 22 2010, 02:35 AM

5,479 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Aug 22 2010, 02:18 AM)
Compared and I like Notts.

http://www.nottingham.edu.my/Faculties/Sci...technology.aspx

http://www.ucsi.edu.my/programmes/BScBiotechnology.asp

Come on. UCSI is like so dead, no electives until third year, and what, so few only...
Not an expert in Biotech, but it seems Nottingham covers whatever UCSI covers as well, with more breath in the courses. Why would you say UCSI's better?

Added on August 22, 2010, 2:23 amIf you are interested in what Nottingham is really teaching, go to:
http://modulecatalogue.nottingham.ac.uk/no...main_search.asp
and type in the course name. You get a brief for what the module is going to deliver to you.
This is what Malaysia education is not doing. Their module structures usually do not get published and you won't know if your Chemistry I (for example) covers how much chemistry compare to others' Chemistry I. Skeptical I would say.

Added on August 22, 2010, 2:23 amFeel that I am like a salesman, bashing others. LOL!
Actually UCSI is very elective. You get to choose which subjects in the beginning of each semester. You are compulsory to take certain subjects in year 3. If u study the syllabus carefully, you will notice UCSI is more on general while Nottingham is more specifically on plants. For the link you provided, mind to teach me how to use??

Added on August 22, 2010, 2:36 amOh nevermind, I got it...

This post has been edited by Fantasia: Aug 22 2010, 02:36 AM
Fantasia
post Aug 23 2010, 12:17 AM

5,479 posts

QUOTE(entryman @ Aug 22 2010, 04:22 AM)
If you look again at Notts' module outline.
http://www.nottingham.edu.my/Faculties/Sci...technology.aspx

Your core modules will be in Year 1 and Year 2. And also you have a choice of a number of electives.

And for Year 3, it's ALL electives. And I would say the electives that you will be choosing in Year 3 will be either a continuation, or a supplementation of the electives you chose in Year 1 and 2, i.e. your areas of interest.

Within the first week of classes you're still allowed to change your electives if you feel that it's not suitable. [correct me if I'm wrong guys].

It's not specifically on plants. I tried to place myself in the shoes of a scientist, and I saw that I could focus on food science+nutrition, while still having some electives on plants.

And this would be my choice:

YEAR 1
Semester 1:
Introductory Biochemistry
Genetics and Cell Biology
Whole Organism Biology
+ 30 credits Optional Modules from:
Techniques in Plant Biotechnology
Applications of Biology
Plant Science
Introduction to Nutrition

Semester 2:
Introductory Biochemistry
Genetics with Specialist Options
Data Transfer Analysis and Presentation
+ 30 credits Optional Modules from:
Microbial Physiology
Plant and Cell Physiology: Growth and Differentiation
Applied Entomology
Introduction to Nutrition
Food Hygiene

YEAR 2
Semester 1:
Molecular Pharming
Mammalian Biochemistry 1 – Development
+ 40 credits Optional Modules from:
Introductory Plant Pathology
Plant and Cell Physiology: Energy, Water and Nutrients
Community and Whole Plant Physiology
Soil Science
World Agroecosystems
Nutrition, Metabolism & Disease
Principles of Immunology
Endocrinology & Metabolism

Semester 2:
Research Project in Biotechnology 1
+ 50 credits Optional Modules from:
The Dynamic Cell
Plant Developmental Genetics
Practical Methods in Experimental Biology
Plant Responses to Abiotic Stress
Computing Techniques
Nutrition, Metabolism & Disease
Principles of Human Nutrition
Mammalian Biochemistry 2 – Techniques & Functional Regulation
Communicating Biosciences
Molecular Biology of the Cell

YEAR 3
Semester 1:
40 credits Optional Modules from:
Fundamental & Applied Aspects of Plant
Genetic Manipulation
Plant Microbe Interactions
Molecular Plant Pathology
Plant Cell Signalling
The Microflora of Foods
Applied Bioethics 1: Animals, Biotechnology & Society
Science, Technology & Business

Semester 2:
40 credits Optional Modules from:
Current Issues in Biotechnology
Genomics
Downstream Processing of Biotechnology Products
Pharmaceuticals & Nutraceuticals from Plants
The Microflora of Foods
Applied Bioethics 2: Sustainable Food Production, Biotechnology & the Environment
Environmental Microbiology

But of course, my selections above are flawed. Flawed in the sense that some of the electives could be a repetition or overlap some other things you may have learnt in previous semesters, and also might require you to have taken some previous electives in previous semesters. For such details, you'll have to look into the module catalogue tanjinjack provided.

But the important thing here is, I don't see how your
Nottingham is more specifically on plants comes into effect.

Added on August 22, 2010, 4:48 am

The determinant of you entering the above are based on results, correct?
And I also notice some of the unis if you transfer will take more than 3 years to complete. [mind to explain?]

I will actually say, Nottingham offers the same thing, i.e. exchange/twinning. [but of course also dependent on your results]

And if you haven't heard, degrees awarded by all 3 campuses will be identical [meaning no difference. same paper, same wordings]. I'm not sure what accreditations the science faculty has, but the business faculty certainly has got international accreditation bodies to verify the quality standard. But then again some forumers will say employers' aren't so stupid as to NOT distinguish you [I would say to be biased] a Malaysian grad from the UK grad. But in terms of this, you've still got a better chance than the UCSI grad, who is completely Malaysian grad. Better chance because of what I've pointed out: those who are in the know that Nottingham Malaysia's degree awarded is identical to the UK.This is not by merit of anything else, just pure human psychology. And to boost your marketability, you can go for the exchange/transfer to UK if you qualify, as what you would also do if you're in UCSI.
You cross out a lot of subjects related to plants. Btw, if you are interested in food science and nutrition, Nottingham and UCSI have offered the exact course , you don't need to take biotech. I did ask about twinning/student exchange but he said I only can do locally. I know the certs from all Nottingham campus is identical. For the marketability of cert, I have nothing to say.
QUOTE(zstan @ Aug 22 2010, 12:57 PM)
what is food science n nutrition doing in a biotechnology course?

this means that notts can't find enough biotech subjects to fill up the slots.
Actually biotech is a very wide field. Food science and nutrition can be inside biotech. However, if you are interested on it, I don't find a reason why to study biotech when you can study the course that specifically for it.
QUOTE(entryman @ Aug 22 2010, 02:07 PM)
oh really?

let tanjinjack explain and see. i know nuts about science programmes.

okay put food science aside, what about the other concentrations? you're gonna give the same statement?

and hey the food science is just an OPTION to cater for students' interest. The core modules are already present and compulsory, something Fantasia would call "genera".
Once you take out the subjects related to plants, you basically got very limited choice. Somehow I feel UCSI cover more "general" topic. 1 thing I don't like about UCSI is they don't have any subjects related to plants.
QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Aug 22 2010, 03:14 PM)
Shit, that's my line. I know about Engineering only. LOL!
I believe the breath of the course is good. You get to study what you like. You are not forced to study what you don't like. And electives this kind of thing, in term of a growing school, will increase in numbers as time passes by. My Mechanical department, despite being established since 2005 (or 2006?), is still adding new modules for electives.

Biotechnology - this term is too wide to define correctly. Is food science and nutrition not a topic under the big umbrella of biotechnology? It depends on your definition of biotechnology. Nottingham has their understandings on it and design a course within their capability while delivering the best to the students.
Any technological application that uses biological systems, living organisms, or derivatives thereof, to make or modify products or processes for specific use.

Wikipedia
I believe food science and nutrition sometime can be related to biotech too.

Added on August 23, 2010, 12:22 amI think we should stop here

This post has been edited by Fantasia: Aug 23 2010, 12:22 AM
Fantasia
post Sep 13 2010, 10:09 PM

5,479 posts

hey, i got my offer letter from the uni just now(yes, i dump ucsi). however, i got a problem to solve now, accomodation. in-campus very expensive man and some more the room so small -.-" i also saw some room just now. now i got 1 room in my mind which located in TTS3/7 however it's not very convenient, i need to walk very very far to take the free shuttle sad.gif any good room to recommend?? i got 1 female friend looking for room as well. it will be best if we r able to stay inside a same house. i would prefer single room but my friend doesnt mind to share room
Fantasia
post Sep 16 2010, 01:14 AM

5,479 posts

QUOTE(Xenith193 @ Sep 15 2010, 08:26 PM)
Hey all, I was looking for a house before this but much more recently, that plan fell through... So now I gotta ask, does anyone know where I can rent a room in TTS? Fully or at least partially furnished and within easy walking distance to the uni or the free shuttle bus service? Kinda short notice I know, but the accommodation office is still leaving me on a waiting list right now...
I'm going to rent a room in TTS3/7. Actually I'm finding roomate to share a master bedroom with me. The room is fully furnished but still need to get a bed if u r willing to share the room with me. I will pay half for the bed. RM500 per room so u only need to pay RM250 per month and electricity is not included. regarding the distance to free shuttle i would say quite far though...

Added on September 16, 2010, 1:15 am
QUOTE(chelsh @ Sep 15 2010, 08:04 PM)
hello!

sep intake and jan intake for mechanical engineering, got difference or not?

for the RM625 single room, is the condition of the room good?
the room quite small i would say. u can get bigger room outside and cheaper too.

This post has been edited by Fantasia: Sep 16 2010, 01:17 AM

0.0537sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:16 PM