The University of Nottingham - Malaysia Campus v3,, Best University in Malaysia so Far

CempedakCOD4
post Sep 1 2010, 05:32 PM

49 posts

Looking for house to rent near campus. Total of 5 people, maybe more. Anyone can help?

The accommodation office just told me and some friends that both on and off campus accommodation are gone. I submitted my application ages ago and only now they tell me. *headdesk**headdesk*

And my geography of the area is a bit sketchy, could someone tell me the names of the housing areas around there including proximity to campus.

MANY many thanks yeah. =)
CempedakCOD4
post Sep 1 2010, 06:11 PM

49 posts

TTS5 TTS4 TTS2. Ok got it. Any ads for places in that area?

Fully furnished. Etc etc etc. The usual.

This post has been edited by CempedakCOD4: Sep 1 2010, 06:13 PM
CempedakCOD4
post Sep 2 2010, 10:31 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Sep 1 2010, 08:13 PM)
TTS 2 is cheaper, a bit old and far.
TTS 4 is newer, and houses conditions are mostly nice but expensive.
TTS 5 is nearest, thus being the more popular options, also expensive.

If one has car and doesn't mind 10 minutes drive every day, Sunway Semenyih is a very good choice with very affordable rental and good conditions, and most importantly, better security.
Aite thanks. =) My friends and I pulled about 3 adverts off the internet already. We'll be going through those first.

If anyone notices houses for rent in the area can let me know? I'll be eternally grateful. Hee..

Edit:
Oh yes, I forgot to mention. MechEng intake September 2010 Year 1....anyone here? haha...

This post has been edited by CempedakCOD4: Sep 2 2010, 10:32 AM
CempedakCOD4
post Sep 8 2010, 06:25 PM

49 posts

Hey I was asking about the house for rent earlier, but it appears (despite them telling me that they have no more accommodation) that I have been allocated a room at Kapas or Pangkor Hall.

Anyway, just wanted to thank you guys for the pointers and info. =D

Edit:

By the way, I recall there being a ban of sorts on certain electrical appliances? What can or cannot I use at the on-campus accommodation?

This post has been edited by CempedakCOD4: Sep 8 2010, 06:30 PM
CempedakCOD4
post Sep 8 2010, 09:07 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(irisirene @ Sep 8 2010, 08:50 PM)
Most probably mini bar/mini fridge/ any kitchen appliances or electrical kettles or anything that has high voltage

I am sure you can use chargers and laptops smile.gif
How about an electric flask? I set it up with a timer so that its not on all the time while I was staying in SS15 for college.

Printer and stuff?

Sorry ya , I know its a lot of questions. I just don't want to be like the guy who got fired from his job for charging his Segway at the office. biggrin.gif
CempedakCOD4
post Sep 8 2010, 10:45 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Sep 8 2010, 09:26 PM)
That's a new stupid rule set by the management. I am sure a lot of us have no exact ideas on what can and can't be allowed. If you check one of my posts earlier you'll see what is experienced by my friend.
I see. Well, I'll give em a call tomorrow. Come on la printer also cannot meh? wtfbbq...
CempedakCOD4
post Sep 9 2010, 12:04 PM

49 posts

I just called them, like a few minutes ago.

Electrical Applicances

Allowed
1. Laptop (NOT PC)
2. Handphone charger
3. Hairdryer

Allowed With Extra Charge
1. Rice cooker
2. Refrigerator
3. Fan
4. Lamps
5. Kettle
Can't remember what else he mentioned.

NOT ALLOWED AT ALL
1. PC
2. Printer

Etc Etc Etc.

The going rates for the extra charges have not been set yet.

I don't get it. They allow refrigerators provided you pay them extra, but outright ban printers? =_= Doesn't make sense. AT ALL.

Lemme guess, do they have some sort of printing service which they want students to use?
CempedakCOD4
post Sep 9 2010, 12:09 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Sep 9 2010, 12:06 PM)
Wtf is the bolded one? Don't tell me they're forcing students to walk to computer lab and print? Nonsense.
What bolded one?

Agreed. Nonsense. This is Perintis though, not Pioneer.

Wait, isn't Kapas and Pangkor the furthest away from everything else? shocking.gif Dammit. Have to walk to print.
CempedakCOD4
post Sep 9 2010, 12:29 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Sep 9 2010, 12:12 PM)
The text I bolded in the quote la sleep.gif

Perintis. Don't know much. If Pioneer like that I think their office kena <insert here> like last time.

O/T -- Lol Prypiat from COD4 in your avatar.
There...is? blink.gif I think my eyes something wrong. I can't see the bolded text.

Kena what kena what? :kepoh:

O/T: Yeah, Capt. MacMillian is da bomb, man. notworthy.gif I choose the Ferris Wheel as my avatar cz its so evocative. Got feeling ya'know?

CempedakCOD4
post Sep 9 2010, 12:37 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Sep 9 2010, 12:30 PM)
there's no logic. Printer uses less power than a fridge. The 'waste electricity when left on' arguement will not work here. Wow PK being a pain in the 4$$ even before I start school.
Exactly. I asked the guy about it and he was all "If you don't like the terms then bring it up with the office.". Bureaucrat. Pffft.

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Sep 9 2010, 12:30 PM)
If you have no responsibilities (e.g. scholarship holder) then yeah la. dry.gif

Added on September 9, 2010, 12:31 pm
sleep.gif get your eyes checked lol

Yeah I gotta feelin' wooohooo~ That tonite's gonna be a good nite~

Bakar.
Woo. Really wtfBBQ that one. People wtf with them then go bbq them.
CempedakCOD4
post Sep 21 2010, 05:48 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(joanne_yan @ Sep 11 2010, 01:04 PM)
I called them too.But they said that printer is allowed.
These people ar. Sigh. So variable. Did you call Perintis or Pioneer?

Anyway arrived and checked in. Anyone going for the Fresher's Week? Got MOS wor...

Edit:

Ish. Is upgrading to 512 kbps worth it?

This post has been edited by CempedakCOD4: Sep 21 2010, 05:53 PM
CempedakCOD4
post Sep 22 2010, 06:24 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(joanne_yan @ Sep 22 2010, 04:44 PM)
haha..i m nt sure whether i shud attend the fresher's week anot... tongue.gif
You should. Meet new people etc etc etc. My friends pushing me to join the food competition thingy.

Speaking of which. Other than cafeteria, anyone know where got nice makan ar? The campus food is okay la, but sure sien after a while wan.

Edit: How to multiquote? I'm trying to reply to more than one person. Sorry ar I damn noob.

This post has been edited by CempedakCOD4: Sep 22 2010, 06:38 PM
CempedakCOD4
post Sep 23 2010, 07:31 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(stpmmaths @ Sep 22 2010, 09:41 PM)
Found it. TQ  rclxms.gif

Added on September 22, 2010, 9:43 pm

LOL! And the Paul the Britain's Octopus  drool.gif

Ps: It's clearly photoshop edited though xD

Added on September 22, 2010, 9:44 pm

My Civil looks quite free xD
And and and the "clock tower, lake, white buliding." Even their logo got clock tower, lake, white building.
CempedakCOD4
post Sep 24 2010, 01:33 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(yenshann @ Sep 24 2010, 01:05 AM)
just curious, how much does sns charge for the fastest internet speed for on-campus accommodation?
Fastest internet is 768kbps.

Charges:
1 month - RM58
4 months (1 semester) - RM220
8 months (1 academic year) - RM424
CempedakCOD4
post Sep 29 2010, 11:59 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Sep 28 2010, 11:00 PM)
eh lowyat ppl come meet up sometime la. Like talking to faceless ppl here only...

Lol i mentioned I did MechEng few times in the thread already... I'm the one wearing red nike 'Just do it' T shirt today, usually in class will be with an indian and 2 other chinese.

Just to prove I'm a real person, i know pool tables were resurfaced~ Not sure the balls were fresh new ones or not.
Yeap. Fresh new balls. Tested already. I saw the packaging too. It's quite nice to play now. Better faster faster go play before people spoil it within 3 months or smtg.

Edit: Shit fresh new balls sound wrong. Fresh new billiard balls.

This post has been edited by CempedakCOD4: Sep 29 2010, 12:00 PM
CempedakCOD4
post Oct 3 2010, 09:58 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Sep 30 2010, 04:38 PM)
oh. Monday DM1 class ah. Can can. When see you also dunno wat to talk about. Haha.

lol 2 days after the pool table resurfacing, one stick got split at the tip, and another stick had it's tip pulled out. So now left 2 usable sticks for 3 tables. UNMC Boleh.  doh.gif  wink.gif
Yeah, and there are now not enough balls for 3 tables. And there are 2 cue balls only. And I'm not sure, but there appears to be only 1 8ball.

Where all the balls go wei?
CempedakCOD4
post Oct 27 2010, 12:24 AM

49 posts

Hey anyone here applied for the PTPTN loan and got some email saying the application was rejected on the grounds of being over the deadline when it WASN'T over the deadline stated by the officer who gave the briefing about PTPTN shortly after registration day?
CempedakCOD4
post Nov 18 2010, 08:41 AM

49 posts

Hey, just wondering. Is it normal for us to get really really screwed up results for Uniaxial Stress and Strain?
CempedakCOD4
post Nov 19 2010, 12:32 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Nov 18 2010, 09:14 PM)
lol my energy and efficiency experiment is giving me more power output than input. The CRO memang kacau...
OMG you beat the Second Law of Thermodynamics! Must tell Dr Ng. rclxms.gif

@tanjinjack

Yeah, that one. I got more reasonable results after multiplying the DEMEC values by 1000. Still quite off though. I feel the DEMEC gauge is a tad too sensitive to handle by hand?

0.0501sec    0.99    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:30 PM