Acturial Science VS Accounting, deciding the right choice

TSNeonlight
post Mar 2 2010, 07:50 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(BlueSpark @ Mar 1 2010, 11:25 PM)
TS, I'm from science stream taking ICAEW (something like ACCA) without any accounting knowledge in SPM. I'm doing quite well =)
rclxms.gif . any difficulties at first when you enter accounts?
fastreader
post Mar 2 2010, 08:54 AM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(supernick @ Mar 1 2010, 11:19 PM)

Added on March 1, 2010, 11:24 pm

where were u study?graduate already?finished ACCA ?
studying accounting can do jobs related business admin right?
Yes...studying accounting can get u into any industry...business admin job oso can.. smile.gif
BlueSpark
post Mar 2 2010, 07:33 PM

430 posts

QUOTE(Neonlight @ Mar 2 2010, 07:50 AM)
rclxms.gif . any difficulties at first when you enter accounts?
I'm a 1st year student biggrin.gif its, manageable thumbup.gif
supernick
post Mar 2 2010, 07:45 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(fastreader @ Mar 2 2010, 08:54 AM)
Yes...studying accounting can get u into any industry...business admin job oso can.. smile.gif
u do interest in accounting before entering this course?
i scare i will regret choosing either accounting or business admin
got to memorize a lot bla bla bla law?
o0July0o
post Mar 3 2010, 11:39 AM

Hi all ....
I was almost in the same situation with Neonlight
No basic on accounting at all..
Just wondering whether there is a need to have a very good command of english to enter this course?
How if my english standard is only so-so?
Will this really need an extremely hard work to catch up with others?
YH90
post Mar 3 2010, 11:49 AM

606 posts

QUOTE(o0July0o @ Mar 3 2010, 11:39 AM)
Hi all ....
I was almost in the same situation with Neonlight
No basic on accounting at all..
Just wondering whether there is a need to have a very good command of english to enter this course?
How if my english standard is only so-so?
Will this really need an extremely hard work to catch up with others?
The things you learn during Form 4 & 5 is only about debit, credit and balancing the financial statements, which are only the surfaces of accounting.
As long as you master the initial concept of double entry (debit and credit) during your first year, you're good to go!

A good command of English is recommended as the questions might twist and turn, confusing you, especially in the final stages of accounting (e.g. the Professional papers of ACCA).

It won't be hard catching up once you understand the basics. I have tons of friends who have no basics in accounting achieving better marks then those with basics.
o0July0o
post Mar 3 2010, 12:14 PM

QUOTE(YH90 @ Mar 3 2010, 11:49 AM)
The things you learn during Form 4 & 5 is only about debit, credit and balancing the financial statements, which are only the surfaces of accounting.
As long as you master the initial concept of double entry (debit and credit) during your first year, you're good to go!

A good command of English is recommended as the questions might twist and turn, confusing you, especially in the final stages of accounting (e.g. the Professional papers of ACCA).

It won't be hard catching up once you understand the basics. I have tons of friends who have no basics in accounting achieving better marks then those with basics.
Then i really have to work even more hard on my English language 1st before i taking up this course..
Anyway..really thx for your reply =)
TSNeonlight
post Mar 4 2010, 11:11 PM

83 posts

my MUET rank is band 5 , is it enough to fully understand everything in the degree of accounting or will i still encounter some very difficult and confusing words?

sorry for this question but every time i see some documents about degree posted in the internet, it tends to be very confusing. very different from back in schools day

This post has been edited by Neonlight: Mar 4 2010, 11:12 PM
Hikari0307
post Mar 4 2010, 11:19 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(Neonlight @ Mar 4 2010, 11:11 PM)
my MUET rank is band 5 , is it enough to fully understand everything in the degree of accounting or will i still encounter some very difficult and confusing words?

sorry for this question but every time i see some documents about degree posted in the internet, it tends to be very confusing. very different from back in schools day
Even with a band 6 the stuff will be quite confusing ^^ but with a band 5 your all set to start ^^ with enough practice you will feel it becoming less confusing with time ^^
TSNeonlight
post Mar 5 2010, 08:59 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(Hikari0307 @ Mar 4 2010, 11:19 PM)
Even with a band 6 the stuff will be quite confusing ^^ but with a band 5 your all set to start ^^ with enough practice you will feel it becoming less confusing with time ^^
thumbup.gif thanks for the motivation. I always wonder why colleges use so difficult words. Can`t they use plain simple words like in text books lol
cheecken0
post Mar 5 2010, 09:17 PM

423 posts

They use complex words because they have a strict definition, not being too loose.

Like, say... The panel 'illuminates' compared to 'lights up'.

Although both are somewhat similiar, 'illuminate' brings in light without actually heating up the 'lighted' object, but 'lights up' could mean both (heated or not)

my RM0.02

Back to topic: Any actuaries here? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by cheecken0: Mar 5 2010, 09:18 PM
TSNeonlight
post Mar 6 2010, 11:01 PM

83 posts

don`t think so. But you can use the search function . search for keyword acturial science, there`s a 16 page topic there.

0.0165sec    0.34    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 12:53 AM