Business ACCA V6, Global Body for Professional Accountants

semivalue
post Mar 1 2010, 11:18 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(Patricia_85 @ Mar 1 2010, 02:57 AM)
how come nobody is mentioning P6 Siva Nair??? he is the marker for P6 wor..but seems to be here nobody knows about him.. have i attended the wrong class cry.gif
If your lecturer is Richard Thornton, then different story. Unfortunately, I think he is restricted to conduct classes for P6.
semivalue
post Mar 3 2010, 01:11 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(lemongirl @ Mar 2 2010, 02:04 PM)
anybody know where is daniel ho(p4) teaching now?any other place except taylors?
FTMS Hong Kong smile.gif
semivalue
post Mar 4 2010, 01:17 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(starz92 @ Mar 3 2010, 09:06 PM)
PTPTN does not recognize professional papers such as CIMA/ACCA/CAT hence ACCA student can't apply for PTPTN.
I not sure whether there will be an exception with the TARC(heard some rumours saying that TARC ACCA can apply for PTPTN)
Tuition fees can borrow from PTPTN
But not your ACCA fees
semivalue
post Mar 4 2010, 03:00 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(RwGlmllhpSX @ Mar 4 2010, 01:56 AM)
Sure?

Why nobody tells me that?
%&^%#@!$

I now doing ACCA skill papers now, can borrow PTPTN halfway?
My reply is to the gentlemen's question regarding on obtaining PTPTN loan in TARC
If you're doing outside, whatever it is, Sunway, KSA, OIC, Taylors etc... Sorry, no. This is because TARC programme is actually the Advanced Diploma cum ACCA. Meaning to say that, the Advanced Diploma is using ACCA syllabus. So, TARC students can obtain loan for the Advanced Diploma smile.gif
semivalue
post Mar 5 2010, 01:44 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(busyman @ Mar 5 2010, 01:20 AM)
okay..

1 more thing..

i saw tarc have provide 3 month to uk.. wat is it?? wat cert can we get if we go uk?
3 months to go UK to top up your Adv Dip to degree + tour in UK.
Anywya, you've asked questions which are irrelevant to ACCA
YOu can always try to find TARC thread and ask at there
They can provide you a better answer smile.gif
semivalue
post Mar 5 2010, 06:39 PM

92 posts

Found some students who always find difficulties in P3 and failed. Good news for them. Found this on Inti's website.

ACCA P3 IPS 6 sessions (RM450)- Michael Mainwaring.

Features of Intensive Practice Session (IPS)
1. 6 sessions of discussion on areas that most students find difficulties.
2. Focus on exam key areas.
3. Practice questions and discuss on how to gain marks.
4. IPS notes.
5. BPP revision kits.
6. One test and One mock exam. All answer scripts will be marked.

Who should attend?
1. For those students who had attended exam before and failed.
2. For those students who have knowledge on the subject but do not know how to use exam technique to gain marks.
3. For those students who do not want to attend any more classes but need lecturer to show them how to avoid mistake and focus on gaining more marks.
4. For those students who currently attending classes but lack of praticising exam style questions

INTENSIVE REVISION COURSE (IRC)
ACCA P3 IPS & IRC (12 sessions in 6 days) RM800

What can I say? He is good!

Timetable: http://www.acca-success.com/images/accaessen.pdf

This post has been edited by semivalue: Mar 5 2010, 06:40 PM
semivalue
post Mar 8 2010, 05:27 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(moon yuen @ Mar 8 2010, 01:29 PM)
Wan to ask P1 question,

7. Corporate governance & corporate social responsibility

- analyse & evaluate issues of 'ownership', 'property', and the responsiblities of ownwership in the context of shareholding.

I can not find this piece of info in Foulkynch or BPP text book lo...

I don't understand what does it mean ?

Maybe u can help me ?

THanks notworthy.gif
Can't really answer the whole question for you, but would give you some guidance.

- link it to Agency theory and problems (who is the agent, and who is the principal)
- then say what is the 'property' in this context - shares
- then say who is the owner of the property - shareholders.

Anyway, such question won't appear in ACCA. It is unlikely that David Campbell will set such a question.
semivalue
post Mar 15 2010, 07:51 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(blurskyblue @ Mar 13 2010, 08:26 PM)
who can help me solve tis Q??? plzplzplz  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
the following list of balances was extracted frm the book of Chelsea as at 30 June X5

Freehold land                                  56,000,000 (dt)
Building-cost                                  524,000,000 (dt)
Accumulated depreciation 1JulyX4
-Building                                                                      11,200,000 (cr)
-Equipment                                                                  3,800,000 (cr)
Bank balance                                  16,500,000 (dt)
Inventory 30 June X5                        127,400,000 (dt)
Provision for doubtful debts 1JulyX4                              5,200,000 (cr)
Acc. receivable and payable              82,400,000(dt)                  75,140,000(cr)
Investment in Gov bond                    25,000,000(dt)
Interest received                                                          6,100,000(cr)
8% fixed term bank loan                                              120,000,000(cr)
Tax paid                                            35,000,000(dt)
Interim dividend paid-ordinary shares  17,000,000(dt)
Ordinary shares of RM1 each                                          300,000,000(cr)
Share premium                                                            50,000,000(cr)
Retained profit 30 June X5                                            330,860,000(cr)
total                                                    902,300,000 

Additional information:
i. A newly employed staff member prepared the list of balances after he had prepared the income statement for the year ended 30 June X5. The retained profit on 1July X4 was RM200,200,000.
ii.the following adjustment were not taken into consideration:
a)An insurance policy for RM5,000,000 was taken out on the building. The insurance coverage is for the period 1 JAn X5 to 31 DEc X5. the whole amount was expensed off.
b)Accrued utility bills was RM 1,800,000
c)The 8% bank loan was secured on 1Dec X4 and interest is to be paid annualy on 30 NOv .
d)Bad debts of RM120,000 were nt provided ans the provision for doubtful debts is to be 5%.
e) Depreciation charges hv nt been provided for and the company depreciates building at 2% on cost and equipment at 10% on net book value.
f) Tax expense for the year was estimated to be RM37,000,000. The amount shown in the list above is the amount paid during the year. Profit for the year calculated has not been charges with the year's tax expense.

Required:
a) Prepare a schedule to calculate the adjusted profit after tax for the year ended 30 June X5.
b) Prepare the balance sheet as at 30 June X5
1. No Do-My-Homework Threads allowed, but you may ask specific parts of your homework which you had difficulty in.
semivalue
post Mar 23 2010, 12:48 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(karhoe @ Mar 21 2010, 03:12 PM)
Nightmare I tell you  sweat.gif The current issues notes are 1/4 of the P2 notes
I think the P2 current issues are just crap.
Just simply vomit out during your exam, and you'll be lucky to get around 15 marks.
Think about audit, and do it like how you do in your F8 smile.gif

Added on March 23, 2010, 12:50 am
QUOTE(cLone1991 @ Mar 21 2010, 06:18 PM)
I am 2 months behind before completing my foundation programme, which means my highest qualification would be foundation.

In that case, i need to take Acca knowledge > Skills > Professional.

Can i know the duration for acca knowledge? how long it usually takes?

Is it possible for me to obtain loan for ACCA if i were to enrol in either orange or kasturi? besides banks loan

The colleges mentioned above only provide tuition or do they arrange all the examinations as well?

thx in advance
ACCA knowledge usually takes 2 to 4 years. F8 can stuck you quite long.

No loan, except for TARC.

Exams can be arranged by yourself, and is preferred to be arranged by yourself (choosing your exam venue, your exam paper variants...)

Added on March 23, 2010, 12:52 am
QUOTE(conniecherry @ Mar 19 2010, 09:45 AM)
hi

where can i buy kaplan textbook in Malaysia
1. From TARC if you're a student at there.
2. Free from Kasturi if you're taking their course.
3. Get yourself a passport, fly to Singapore, and buy one from Kaplan smile.gif

Added on March 23, 2010, 12:55 am
QUOTE(mouldybread @ Mar 19 2010, 09:24 AM)
hi all,

i would appreciate if some sifus can help me on this

i would like to order some books from bpp some acca books but they do not deliver to malaysia, is there any local website that does online order and delivery to east malaysia? if there are no online ordering then which bookshop is recommended for ordering?

i saw from their website here that there are 6 study materials, for self study are all 6 needed or just the study text?

i am asking for my gf that intends to take p1 and p2int this december.

last question, for bpp, kaplan books, what are the differences and which is recommended?

Both are craps. But Kaplan craps more than BPP. However, BPP is too detailed (You just need basic understanding to pass ACCA). Kaplan's example are too easy, and sometimes, illogic.

For P1, BPP will be the preference.
For P2, BPP is also recommended.

However, the best material on the market, lecturer's tuition notes (compact, yet, no crap) =)

Added on March 23, 2010, 12:57 am
QUOTE(starz92 @ Mar 21 2010, 11:18 PM)
Hi all,finally enrolled myself in CAT.One question here,if I enroll in the end of march,is it possible for me to take this coming june exam?
A little bit tough.
But no harm trying. Try first, then tell us.
It won't cause you your life.

Added on March 23, 2010, 1:01 am
QUOTE(ranox @ Mar 22 2010, 09:57 PM)
den it takes how long to complete the whole acca in tarc college which does nt involve da cat > acca ?
4 years, provided if you're smart.
For TARC, there's a course which runs parallel with ACCA, which means, you can take the final 5 papers at your final years.
But one thing, you have to bear with the lecturers.

This post has been edited by semivalue: Mar 23 2010, 01:01 AM
semivalue
post Mar 24 2010, 03:40 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(jamesme135 @ Mar 23 2010, 01:42 PM)
hi everyone...
may i know where i can get text book for P1??
Plan to self-study....
TQ
Library smile.gif
semivalue
post Mar 24 2010, 11:02 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(`twinkles @ Mar 24 2010, 12:25 PM)
I didn't know we can get Kaplan books from TARC. During my studies there, we would need to buy from the Singapore distributor. So things have changed now eh? At least the students don't have to bear expensive fees when they import the books in anymore since TARC students generally do not fall into rich category.
TARC still import Kaplan books from S'pore. It may be one of the 2 colleges (another being Kasturi) to assess with S'pore Kaplan. And students still pay for the conversion rate.
semivalue
post Apr 10 2010, 01:08 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(starz92 @ Apr 6 2010, 05:35 PM)
Is GTG textbook good for referencing?I mean is it a recommended book?
(i am in TI and T2 of CAT only)
Worst book of all. Not worth a single dime.
semivalue
post Apr 11 2010, 01:36 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(starz92 @ Apr 10 2010, 09:14 AM)
lols..wondering why my college uses that as textbook.so any good book for referencing?BPP or kaplan?
thanks in advance
Well, I would say Malaysian students have a very different perception with others. Over here, the thicker the better. But the problem is, do you have the time? Does it worth to spend so much time reading through so many pages of repetitive things rather than spending on other important things?
semivalue
post Apr 22 2010, 06:43 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(moon yuen @ Apr 20 2010, 09:11 PM)
I am not able to attend ACCA exam on this June ..... because I have to attend a Key Sem (government staff course ) ......  I do not have any proof lo....

Wonder, how can I request ACCA for delay (take exam in Dec) ?

thanks  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Take your ACCA slip, and show it to the course organizer, and back to attend the ACCA exam! You have the proof!
semivalue
post May 5 2010, 06:58 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(reynna @ May 5 2010, 05:04 PM)
how much is the cost to take full course (14 papers) of ACCA in KL?
Well, inflation rate is unpredictable smile.gif

Added on May 5, 2010, 6:59 pm
QUOTE(elviratkh @ May 4 2010, 06:36 PM)
hi guys need to pick optional paper for next sem, can anyone share with me how is P4 and P6 syllabus like? smile.gif
P4 is just about hedging, cost of capital and options. However, P4 is quite technical, sometimes confusing and hard, and if you can't see the flow, it's quite hard to imagine that P4 is that narrow smile.gif

This post has been edited by semivalue: May 5 2010, 06:59 PM
semivalue
post May 8 2010, 10:11 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(reynna @ May 8 2010, 12:53 AM)
average will be around what price?
RM25k (14 papers) for full cost or less than that?
Tuition course, around RM700 to RM1,200 per subject (depends on the stage and also the quality of the lecturer)

Examination fees, round up figures - 60 to 80 pounds (depends on the stage), and it is subject to inflation almost every sitting! Fail once, resit again.

OBU degree, optional. Market price for this cert, depends.

Taps your calculator, you got the figure.

And nope. Usually no PTPTN loan for this (Hopefully nobody will ever ask about PTPTN on ACCA tuition course again in this thread later), except for TARC full course.
semivalue
post May 11 2010, 12:49 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(YH90 @ May 10 2010, 11:28 PM)
I'm just wondering whether can we take P7 and P2 in the same sitting without finishing the essential papers first?

I'm sitting for P1 this June sitting and would like to take P2 and P7 this Dec without taking P3 first.
I don't think so.
If you, however, are so desperating in taking P7 without taking P3 so, there's still a way.
Sign up for P2, P3 and P7 exams. Then skipped P3 and attended the other 2. This means, the P3 is just a stepping stone for you to take P7. Never mind if 80 pound is worth lesser than your desire smile.gif

semivalue
post May 13 2010, 12:45 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(Patricia_85 @ May 12 2010, 09:04 PM)
I think it's better for you to check with ACCA rather than asking here..just call up ACCA and ask Clement.maybe he can give you some info..

Anyway, I am taking P2,P5 and P6 next month, that is why I say you can take P2 and P7 at the same time although you haven't fully completed P1-P3.

I have lots of friends taking the option paper while struggling with P3. I don't think that is a problem at all..
The problem is, it is not a problem to take the optional papers together with the uncompleted core papers, but it is not allowed to take optional papers without taking the uncleared core papers.
semivalue
post May 16 2010, 12:47 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(yenyen08 @ May 15 2010, 01:13 PM)
hi, i'm having a serious matter now. previously i paid by bank draft for P1 and P2, but i haven't pass my F4 and F8.
my lecturer told me, that time that acca will straight make me attempt for paper f4 and f8.. but recently i write to acca. they said that i'm not attempting any papers now because their exam entry are now close.
how? anyone can teach me what can i do now ??
I think you could only wait for the next sitting.
Did you tick the boxes on the papers that you wanted to attempt?
Seriously, I didn't know there are such lecturers who will give such advice to students.

This post has been edited by semivalue: May 16 2010, 12:47 AM
semivalue
post May 31 2010, 01:20 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(MyTeaTime @ May 30 2010, 12:58 PM)
owwh... thank you very much~~~ cuz i keep asking the ACCA officer ... they say they duno =X

Now very confusing where to study...  my parents insist me to study at 1 college (they prefer Sunway) , but not Jumping from one to another according to lecturers... but after i read so many post... i think most of U think that follow recommended lecturer better rite?

How to save cost if i wan to register here and there a??? ( as i dun really want to study at those KL college... cuz vy inconvinient for me.) Every school we registered need to pay for those Registration fees, Application Fees, Resources fees, etc... which cost quite alot... if each subject signed up from each school.

I am taking P1, P2, P3 this coming semester.
P2 Mr Haneef  or Ms Menon better?
P3 Mr Micheal teaching at? anyone know any full time course from him from which Uni?
how bout P1?

Thank you in advance from the recommendations.
registration fees/application fees/resources fees = usually around RM10 per intake in those KL colleges. I don't think it costs quite a lot
If you feel uncomfortable with those KL colleges, mayb Sunway or Taylors? Or in Singapore? Or HK? China? Or UK?
Haneef teaches in Taylors in next sitting as well.
For P1 and P3, I think Philip Woo is the lecturer.

P2, no comment. Both are good.
P3, Mr Michael is teaching full course in London College of Accountancy in UK. He oftens come to Malaysia for revision (both OIC and Inti), while also cramping the whole P3 syllabus into another 3 days (in Inti only).

Added on May 31, 2010, 1:24 am
QUOTE(justamember @ May 29 2010, 11:42 PM)
so..do you have at least 3k net salary a month? how long have you been working? do you think you secure a good pay compare with graduates with other degree?

Added on May 30, 2010, 1:19 amCan someone clear my doubt please.

1. I seen the ACCA website and they say it consisted of 3 parts, is the 3 parts made up of the total of 14 papers? So if i have a degree in accounting and finance and eligible to exemp 9 papers, does that mean that i automatically start at part 3? So, means part 1 and 2 is made up of the F papers and part 3 is made up of the P papers?

2. So, now after i passed all my exams, i do need a working experience of minimum 3 years? I wanna know that afer the 3 years of supervised training lets say by the Big4, what can i do afterthat? Resign and go else where? Continue working there and will i get a boost in salary? People often say that after 3 years of supervised working we will become an ACCA member and expect a boost in salary..how?

3. Do we need to be a member of MIA to be able to work in malaysia? just acca membership can work?
1. Yes
2. After 3 years of related-field working experience, you will be considered as a certified accountant. What can you do after that? No one can force you what you can do after that. In fact, this is a free world. You are even free to set up your own company and operates it. Boost salary? Depends on what you consider as 'boost'? RM3,000? RM5,000? And it is actually depends on the company you will be working with.
3. MIA recognises ACCA smile.gif

This post has been edited by semivalue: May 31 2010, 01:24 AM

0.0372sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:48 AM