Business ACCA V6, Global Body for Professional Accountants

semivalue
post Jun 5 2010, 01:00 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(Kel89 @ Jun 3 2010, 10:56 PM)
Hi..

Would like to ask is it possible for me to take additional ACCA classes at KASTURI or other centres while i am studying

for my Advance diploma in Financial Accounting cum ACCA (AFA year 2) in TAR College.

Would i be breaching some kind of rule or will there be any conflict of interest?
tHANKS FOR YOUR RELIES!! ^^
Many of your seniors did that, and are still doing it. And some previous prize winners, they are a product of both colleges. You pay, and you have the right to do that =)

And even some lecturers i heard, they encouraged students to go outside for tuition.

This post has been edited by semivalue: Jun 5 2010, 01:00 AM
semivalue
post Jun 16 2010, 12:35 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(jen_mei @ Jun 12 2010, 09:49 PM)
ok, i would ask, how much for the exam fees of 1 subject taking in sunway?
registration fees? can let me know roughly?

Added on June 12, 2010, 9:50 pm

so, he'll teaching in taylors from now onwards?
will he come back to kasturi?
Philip Woo is unlikely to join back Kasturi. In fact his base is more in S'pore.

Added on June 16, 2010, 12:46 am
QUOTE(kelvinbadroyal @ Jun 15 2010, 06:00 PM)
oh.. that's too bad.

Added on June 15, 2010, 6:00 pm

i believe menon delivers good job on both side.
I've asked some of my friends who attended her class. The feedback is overall good.

However, some points to be pointed out by them:
- spent too much time on the whole syllabus, especially on the current issues.
- teaching is strict, forcing students to study the whole syllabus.
As a conclusion, not quite suitable for part timers, and those who are also taking other subjects.

This post has been edited by semivalue: Jun 16 2010, 12:46 AM
semivalue
post Jun 23 2010, 07:50 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(jjluke @ Jun 21 2010, 11:53 PM)
im actually planning to take P5 in dec 2010.
suppose i tot i will be going to take in Mc Orange Mr Ian Lim since my friends went to his class last time and find that he is not bad..

But too bad that next round he is not teaching P5 and will be taken over by Mr Chan Tze Kang. any1 taught by him before??
how about Mr Andrew Pang?
Try Ms Patricia? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by semivalue: Jun 23 2010, 07:51 PM
semivalue
post Jun 24 2010, 04:34 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Jun 24 2010, 12:56 PM)
I would suggest taylor if Daniel Ho (P4) and Chow Kim Tai (P5) are still there. Both combined experience can easily exceed 50 years.
Addtion:
Daniel Ho will be also teaching in Orange this sitting. Slightly cheaper and convenient, but may not be as comfortable as Orange.

This post has been edited by semivalue: Jun 24 2010, 04:35 PM
semivalue
post Jun 28 2010, 01:08 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(Vh4ilor @ Jun 27 2010, 02:03 AM)
hey guys I could use some help here, please take a looksie at the attachment. Does this mean that I need all 3 papers for my F9 exemption or just Corporate Finance and Strategic Financial Management papers?

Thankiu for helping ><

[attachmentid=1647080]
Rule of thumb:
I supposed that you planned to have your F9 papers exempted via Advanced Diploma/Degree route.
However, you have to pass all the papers to accumulate enough credit hours to entitle your Advanced Diploma/Degree, then only claim for exemptions using the Advanced Diploma/Degree. Failing one paper (let say, Tamadun Islam), and you won't get your Degree, and thus no exemption for ACCA papers.

However based on the attachment, I think you need to complete just Corporate Finance and Strategic Financial Management papers. Do you need to take the Business Finance paper? I think the Business Finance is an old syllabus paper, which I think is for the previous batch to claim for exemption in F9.

semivalue
post Jun 29 2010, 04:09 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(crystal123 @ Jun 29 2010, 11:32 AM)
hi, guys.
Any1 know who is the lecturer of P6 in tarc. Is it ms.naga?? good or not?
asking on behalf of my friend/
I think changed lecturer already, and P6 commences in next January. Too remote (even for TARC) to know what will happen then.

Added on June 29, 2010, 4:10 pm
QUOTE(jjluke @ Jun 26 2010, 01:19 AM)
nope...it is for our advanced diploma students only..
Open for public, but seasonal + not worth donating the money.

This post has been edited by semivalue: Jun 29 2010, 04:10 PM
semivalue
post Jul 1 2010, 10:15 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(cLone1991 @ Jul 1 2010, 10:00 PM)
Just attended my first class for ACCA F1 in KSA.  smile.gif

What is SA btw?
SA is a place where you can get your tips for your future exam (and it is almost 80% accurate) smile.gif
semivalue
post Jul 9 2010, 06:38 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ Jul 8 2010, 10:02 AM)
anyone selling P3 & P5 BPP books?
I have P5, and probably P3 =)
semivalue
post Aug 3 2010, 06:42 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(starz92 @ Aug 3 2010, 04:15 PM)
Hi,need some helps and advices here.
I am supposed to take CAT-T2 CBE at the end of the month.
But then my lecturer just told me that after attended the ACCA workshop last month,she was informed that CBE are now not considered for the prize award(eg: first placing in malaysia,world etc.).If i wanted to be eligible for the award,i would need to sit for paper based exams which would be on December.My conflicts now is that if i take my exam at december(paper based) i would need to take a total of 4 paper(t2,t3,t4 and t5).I also informed that for paper based exams,there will be subjective question such as definations etc for T2 which would be much harder to score compared to CBE.So should i just take the CBE or paper based?
Any reply would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance.
Up to you
For me, there is no difference between a prize winner and a mere 50-mark passer.
Sometimes, prize winners are just lucky to have their scripts dumped into a lucky pile of lousy answers, happy mood marker, etc. I'm not impressed by their achievements. If you have the extra time, may i suggest you to go spend your time somewhere else ie. other subjects or go for a movie smile.gif

Once again, don't really aim for the award. The higher you are hoping, the higher you may fall smile.gif
semivalue
post Aug 4 2010, 07:40 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(fastreader @ Aug 4 2010, 02:07 PM)
i need some advise from all acca-ers...

this is my situation, i graduated from an uni with accounting degree entitling me to 9 papers exemption. So basically i'm only doing the remaining 5 professinal papers.

Q1: Do i needa go for tution class?..like the classes hold for acca for these remaining 5 papers?...what is ur advise?..shud i register in one?..

Q2: is it a trend for people tat take the remaining 5 professional papers to do self-study?..would it be advisable to do self-study for the remaining 5 papers?..

pls advise of the above matters. icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
Get into Big4, or the mediums, tell them to pay for you tongue.gif
semivalue
post Aug 16 2010, 01:08 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(notmycupoftea @ Aug 14 2010, 09:48 PM)
confirm Mr Daniel Lee from Orange will hold a convo for ACCA students after Hari Raya. he announced this in a class. ACCA Malaysia will be invited as a guest. anyone interested juz visit this website.

have to pay to attend la, juz dont know the price. Daniel Lee said he's still looking for a 4/5 stars hotel.  sweat.gif
ACCA Malaysia no face lah...
semivalue
post Aug 19 2010, 05:39 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(hurly @ Aug 19 2010, 03:39 PM)
Just asking to all who has passed F9. Most of the question need to be in table form. In exam, did you actually draw the table or just write where it can be readable?

Drawing the table actually takes time. I don't think I have enough time to draw the table.
Leave it to the last if you think it is time consuming smile.gif It's a common strategy in exam.
semivalue
post Aug 25 2010, 05:08 AM

92 posts

For those who think that you deserve some prizes, don't mind me splashing some cold water, you'd better continue to focus on your following exams. I've seen prize winner (brilliant student) from one sitting, and failed a subject in the following sitting.

0.4867sec    0.97    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 03:57 AM