Business ACCA V6, Global Body for Professional Accountants
Feb 28 2010, 04:58 PM
2,787 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
ACCA, now with V6 engine
Mar 1 2010, 12:37 PM
QUOTE(babygirl55 @ Mar 1 2010, 11:20 AM) hi I'm not sure whether I should laugh or cry at this. Anyone who took P2 Int or MYS exam b4? Which one paper is easy answer? Of course i think all Malaysian take P2 MYS exam, rite? TQ Most M'sians I know take INT papers. Very few take MYS variants, and differences are minimal to say the least. Easy papers? Seriously? You came to the wrong qualification lol. |
Mar 18 2010, 03:48 PM
QUOTE(larrytty @ Mar 17 2010, 05:27 PM) it is very hard to get! but then... some people do get it every semester:P Have you started working, particularly in Big 4, btw?Added on March 17, 2010, 9:43 pm of course it will be better... everything starts off bad and it gets a lil better.... as time passes... eventhou the working style and load is still the same... u might already got used to it till u feel that your working life is slightly better hahaha once u fulfill your ACCA working requirement of 3years... life is supposingly better! salary higher... not better meH? |
Mar 18 2010, 04:24 PM
QUOTE(larrytty @ Mar 17 2010, 03:13 PM) exemption letter no need to worry... u can always ask your tuition provider to print or do another letter if im not wrong. Let me correct you on that.owh as for malaysia prize holders... are got special achievements eg people getting 99% in exams are usually malaysian prize holders and would have their tuition fees boared and exam frees waived by ACCA themselves. which means free for u. if u do get 100% for international papers you'll get 100% free if im not wrong. u can always read more about it in the main website. accaglobalaccaglobal.com Waivers of tuition fees and exam fees are given by the college, as they can use you for their marketing. The most you will get from ACCA is a prize money somewhere between 50-100 pounds, and it's only given for world prizewinners. For Malaysian prizewinners, sadly you don't get prizemoney from ACCA (not sure about the bronze/silver/gold medallists though). However, most colleges I know will award you some form of waiver/scholarship/rebate. Sunway for instance gives a 50% waiver of tuition fes and exam fees for Malaysian prize. - In order to be a world / malaysian prize, you need to score highest in the world for world prize, highest in malaysia for malaysian prize. Not necessarily a score of 100, since some papers only need about 85 to get highest in the world (which shud give u a good idea how hard the paper is Even then, F lvl papers still generally hover between 90-99 marks for world prize P level tends to be in the areas of 85-99 (with some anomaly such as AFM where prizewinners are in 80s) Good luck aspiring to be a prizewinner |
Mar 18 2010, 05:44 PM
QUOTE(larrytty @ Mar 18 2010, 05:25 PM) bronze silver and gold medallist im sure got full waiver. It's okay my fren got silver she is waived from everything and refunded her money if im not mistaken. will confirm about the refunds. owh! sorry i've gotten the fact a lil wrong. hahah but the infos are completely true for Sunway thou:P bare in mind Sunway is one of the most expensive provider too But since it's an education forum we should try to ensure the quality of our information |
Mar 21 2010, 01:31 PM
Dang, menon started using MPH instead already? WTH man.. hahahaha.. My time she was sitll using LT8 or Audi 7 only XD
Bloody sunway. |
Mar 21 2010, 02:20 PM
15 current issues lol! that's good!!!! hahahaha. P2 is so interesting lol
Mar 26 2010, 12:02 PM
QUOTE(moon yuen @ Mar 26 2010, 11:54 AM) This is from the examiner P1 syllabus ! But, I can't find any info in BPP or Kaplan text book ! Internet, is your friend.i) explain, and assess the nature and sources of risks to, auditor independence. Asess the hazard of auditor capture . ii) explain and evaluate the importance of compliance and role of the internal audit function in internal control. iii) Describe the content of a report on Internal control and audit iv) Explain and assess how internal controls underpin and provide information for accurate financial reporting I am have the olf P1 book, (Dec'07 to June'08), any problem with that ? Thanks |
Apr 26 2010, 11:42 AM
Why not? U need to look at the nature of their service. What they are advertising is the advertisement of company incorporation and selling of shelf cos. What's wrong with that -__-
It's not professional advice per se. |
May 6 2010, 10:30 AM
P4 is the most entertaining paper I've been through in ACCA. Actually needs me to think, compared to the other papers which seemed more of regurgitation. -___-
I like P4, and I identify myself with anyone who likes P4 and is able to amaze me with their understanding of the numbers and their different thought processes. |
May 6 2010, 09:39 PM
QUOTE(ck23 @ May 6 2010, 08:07 PM) im thinking to take P4 P6 in Dec 2010, is Sunway lecturer good? (cuz im sunway student) Tough if u don't know what you're doing =DAs I can see in the first page, there is no recommended lecturer from Sunway. And.... is P4 really tough? Fun if u do! QUOTE(yingying_89 @ May 6 2010, 09:08 PM) Tax, duh. In any accountancy course the most practical subject is always tax. |
Jul 23 2010, 05:20 PM
QUOTE(Patricia_85 @ Jul 21 2010, 11:25 PM) If the forex reserves exists during the pre-acquistion then have to include.any reserves which exist and the fair value can be identified during the pre-acquisition then include. Technically speaking, any forex effects would have factored in at the point of acquistion in your fair value. So, I think even though if ur 'target' has forex reserves at the date when you acquire, your fair value assessment at the point in time is inclusive of everything, therefore subsequent to that, for your group consolidation purposes, there is no forex reserve at the date of acquisition. So, I think you can ignore your target's forex reserves.correct me if i'm wrong but i'm pretty sure with my answers. What I mean, is the fair value adjustment at the point of acquistion would have reflected all the fair value adjustments (either arising from forex or other items) What I would personally do, is just reassess all assets and liabilities, and fair value & translate them at the date of acquisition, then from there just compare wif your COI la, and for your own group's purposes, any forex reserve would start from that day onwards. This post has been edited by ThanatosSwiftfire: Jul 23 2010, 05:21 PM |
Jul 31 2010, 11:08 AM
QUOTE(yokitoki @ Jul 30 2010, 10:29 PM) F7, In IAS 16,Property,Plant and Equipment, in the Revaluation Model part,they stated that 'When a revalued asset is disposed of, any revaluation surplus may be transferred directly to retained earnings, or it may be left in equity under the heading revaluation surplus. The transfer to retained earnings should not be made through the income statement (that is, no "recycling" through profit or loss).' what do they mean by 'recycling profit/loss' and how will it occur if recognize revaluation surplus in income statement? QUOTE(`twinkles @ Jul 31 2010, 10:03 AM) Means you could not take the revaluation surplus and put it in income statement to increase your profits for the year. You can only transfer the surplus from one reserve to another without affecting your current profit. Something like that if I do not make a mistake, my F7 was a long time history XD Twinkles is correct. (under the old format)However, under the new SOCI format, the transfer from revaluation reserve to will in fact be disclosed in the income statement as an "OCI" movement/income. |
Aug 11 2010, 11:19 PM
QUOTE(bestyinn @ Aug 11 2010, 09:51 PM) dear all seniors,i hav one query to ask is that among professional paper which is the most difficult one?heard the people said p4 is the harder but others would said p6(advanced taxation) and i was interest on taxation since people said like tat now i m shilly-shally.sigh.... P4 is not hard. I scored highest for that paper out of all the professional papers i took. |
Aug 13 2010, 08:11 PM
Aug 23 2010, 03:12 PM
activity in this subforum spikes during acca reuslts day +D
Aug 25 2010, 12:01 PM
Hahahaha, F4-F8, world prize is at 95 range la... =P
Aug 25 2010, 04:18 PM
QUOTE(semivalue @ Aug 25 2010, 05:08 AM) For those who think that you deserve some prizes, don't mind me splashing some cold water, you'd better continue to focus on your following exams. I've seen prize winner (brilliant student) from one sitting, and failed a subject in the following sitting. Certainly depends on the kind of student you are |
Aug 26 2010, 11:00 PM
QUOTE(Canopies @ Aug 26 2010, 10:18 PM) Just wondering why everybody aiming for Big 4 instead partnering/setting up your own accounting firm. I still believe there's huge potential in SME market. Below the big 4, there's the medium sized firms.I don't think these small factories are appointing Big 4 to be their auditor? Perhaps? Hehehe..you know the drill ~ Below the medium sized firms, there's the small firms. A newly set up accounting firm, where does it come in the picture? At the bottom of the pile, of course. |
Aug 27 2010, 07:41 AM
But he should try it out nontheless. Nothing like making it on your own (seriously!). Do the things many of us dare not do! =D
| Change to: | 0.1701sec
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 12:41 AM |