I travel to Japan pretty frequently, and lived there for a few years
Travel Club LYN Japan V3, 日本へようこそ!, Here we are! Nihon Yokoso!
Sep 24 2010, 07:26 AM
1,890 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
I didn't know we had a thread like this. Hi everybody!
I travel to Japan pretty frequently, and lived there for a few years |
Sep 24 2010, 08:46 PM
QUOTE(akira de aimbuster @ Sep 24 2010, 12:21 AM) no I didn't work there. I finished high school there.Added on September 24, 2010, 8:47 pm QUOTE(moniqee @ Sep 23 2010, 11:25 PM) PS : Is it worth booking the 7 day JR Rail Pass? the only reason why I have the Suica pass is because I lived there for some years. No it's not worth paying for - 2000yen = 1500yen for the card, 500yen credit on the card. This post has been edited by spunkberry: Sep 24 2010, 08:48 PM |
Sep 24 2010, 09:35 PM
QUOTE(akira de aimbuster @ Sep 24 2010, 08:59 AM) yeah I have ... but to very few countries. I hope to conquer Europe at some point QUOTE(kamkamparadise @ Sep 24 2010, 09:08 AM) u study there in high school? for how long already? care to share with us ur experience studying in japanese high school? I have no SPM certification. I graduated high school in 2007. It was an international school, so it's not exactly a Japanese high school ... though I have friends who attended Japanese schools and they tell me that the politics in a Japanese school is very bad. I have friends who live and work in Japan by teaching, and even they come under harassment. |
Sep 24 2010, 11:57 PM
suica only makes it easier to travel. you pay the same price for the tickets. if you're not gonna be there for a heck of a long time like I was, don't bother with suica
Sep 25 2010, 10:27 PM
QUOTE(kamkamparadise @ Sep 25 2010, 09:12 AM) owh. ok. politics in school eh? among teachers or students? even teacher also kena harass? u mean like bully? teachers get bullied yes.QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 25 2010, 09:13 AM) JR Pass almost can say whole Japan. In Japan Suica & JR Pass both also important...cannot survice without this 2 again, you don't NEED it unless you are in Japan for a long enough time with a lot of travelling. I was there for two weeks this summer, with my boyfriend and two guy friends. We traveled every day, but they didn't buy the card because it wasn't worth it for them. I agreed. 20 bucks for a card they're only gonna use for two weeks. |
Sep 25 2010, 11:12 PM
QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 25 2010, 11:10 AM) Come on girls....Suica not just for Traveling...it used for 7-11 , Yodobashi megastore & BIC Camera Megastore , Taxi and alot store. WHo want bring so much of Yen into wallet? all just store into 1 card izzit that easy? I go Yodobashi everytime i sure sepnt more than 50-100k Yen ...WHo so idoit want bring so much cash to shopping? i can pay in 1 card like touch & go pay bill no even used me 10 sec. Japan 99% Vending machine all got Suica ability. lol I use my credit card. Yes I know they have a Suica capability... but how often are you gonna be using that? Up to you people, really. I can't give you travel advice because I have one because I lived there, not because I was there for however long you people go.This post has been edited by spunkberry: Sep 25 2010, 11:12 PM |
Sep 26 2010, 01:41 AM
100000yen? lol and you guys call me a rich b****. I don't carry that kind of money around!
Sep 26 2010, 11:39 AM
QUOTE(tatsuyachiba @ Sep 25 2010, 09:01 PM) There exist many criticisms of the Japanese educational system but above is pure generalization. There are good schools and bad schools everywhere. My kids' school is fine. My nephews'/nieces' schools are OK. All public schools. nowhere did I say that people shouldn't attend Japanese schools. someone asked me about it, and I spoke of what I heard from my friends who attended.Suica is very convenient, esp. for the reasons that matt85 states - you bypass lines at the machines. You won't save money but you won't lose money either with Suica - you can get a refund when you no longer need the card. JR charges a 210yen fee if there is balance and the 500yen deposit is fully refundable. If you deplete the card to a zero balance before refunding, there is no 210yen fee i.e. you lose exactly zero. Plus, you'll probably burn through the 1500yen Suica card easily over several days of travel. Also, it is secure, you can register the card so if you lose it, you can get its value back. What's not to like? |
Sep 26 2010, 01:32 PM
I wasn't being defensive. I merely stated. defensive would be me attacking and whatnot - which btw, I tend to be good at. Efficient, maybe not, but good.
This post has been edited by spunkberry: Sep 26 2010, 01:33 PM |
Sep 26 2010, 10:59 PM
QUOTE(keii-kun @ Sep 26 2010, 07:56 AM) can't agree more on bypassing lines. another thing is, it is helpful if you are lost or salah turun station. no need to re-adjust fare ticket. lol the Metro accepts Suica now but for me, all my previous travelling, i did not bother using suica because i did not use JR as frequent as Metro. usually took metro 1 day pass if i have a lot of travelling in a day. then of course, went back to hotel with swollen feet 111, shops are open. no problem for shopping. hunt for fukubukuro deals! QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Sep 26 2010, 10:52 AM) guys, the trains are a heck of a lot cheaper and they run everywhere so you don't even need a car really.I read that car rental in japan is about 6000 yen per day .. is it a good move to rent a car for 4-5 days instead of using public transport? Added on September 26, 2010, 11:00 pm QUOTE(matt85 @ Sep 26 2010, 01:51 AM) I've never traveled with him. he came to visit me. that was about three years ago. hi flying spaghetti monster personThis post has been edited by spunkberry: Sep 26 2010, 11:00 PM |
Sep 27 2010, 12:10 AM
get the rail pass
Sep 27 2010, 12:23 AM
Japan is a big place. where exactly are you going?
Sep 27 2010, 01:14 AM
well when I was there this summer, I stayed in Shinjuku
Sep 27 2010, 01:41 AM
try looking at Shinjuku Washington or Shinjuku New City Hotel
Sep 27 2010, 02:18 AM
I thought Shinjuku New City was cheap. *shrug* Try google.
Sep 27 2010, 03:20 AM
Shinjuku New City Hotel has a free bus to and from the station
Sep 27 2010, 12:31 PM
the city areas are too hot for snow to settle and collect on the ground. It will snow, but very briefly, very little and no snow stays. You want snow, go to Hokkaido
Sep 27 2010, 07:49 PM
Ginza.
Asakusa. Odaiba. |
Sep 27 2010, 08:26 PM
the lowest it can go in Tokyo is about 0 deg C, so yeah, bring some heavier jackets
This post has been edited by spunkberry: Sep 27 2010, 08:26 PM |
Sep 27 2010, 08:27 PM
even if it goes under, it's only about -2 max. it gets colder than that only up on Mt Fuji lol
| Change to: | 0.0476sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:19 PM |