6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Travel Club LYN Japan V3, 日本へようこそ!, Here we are! Nihon Yokoso!

PsyCHZZZ
post Apr 21 2010, 05:02 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(musha @ Apr 21 2010, 04:42 PM)
ar.......... i hate working OVERTIME!!
13 hours per day... plus 3 hours go and back from house..
Wah~ they really pushing you with a lot of work lately eh?
Calm down man... take it easy. Take 20 coffee break in 1 day just to make up for the time that they make you work extra.

/Please don't quote me. tongue.gif
PsyCHZZZ
post Apr 22 2010, 02:46 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(maxxspeed @ Apr 22 2010, 12:49 AM)
Need some advise here...

plan go to Hokaido this may is it good time to go ??? thank
Early May or somewhere in the middle / end of May? Reason is because early May is basically the Golden Week holiday and it's super peak season. So, best to avoid traveling during the 1st week of May.
PsyCHZZZ
post Apr 24 2010, 02:03 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(e-jump @ Apr 24 2010, 07:58 AM)
phyzz n all, if anyone free, jom meetup somehwre in tokyo
im leaving on monday wink.gif
Gomen ne~ I'm leaving for my business trip tomorrow so today a bit busy making last minute preparations.

Added on April 24, 2010, 2:06 pm
QUOTE(ljm9981 @ Apr 24 2010, 12:41 PM)
I'll be going to Hokkaido this July with my fren. We took the 7 days package by Apple Vacation. Basicly all expenses, food and lodging has been taken care off.

i just wan to find out what souveniors to get and what's the budget like for a 7 days trip to Hokkaido. 

places we are going:

biei
tomita farm
sounkyo gorge
otoyama brewery
otaru canal
sapporo clock tower
odori park
daisetsuzan national park
takushinkan
sapporo jr station
tanukikoji and susukino
sapporo shrine

please feel free to leave a comment on what do you think of the places we are visiting. any other additioanl info is very much appreciated.

very excited! can't wait to be in hokkaido!
I think the previous "Hokkaido" thread has quite a bit of info on the famous souvenirs available in Hokkaido. Personally, I find that at the Sapporo airport (New Chitose) has a lot of shops that cater to this so it's not really necessary to buy them while you're traveling. Just go to the airport ahead of your departure time and shop at the airport itself for your souvenirs.

This post has been edited by PsyCHZZZ: Apr 24 2010, 02:06 PM
PsyCHZZZ
post May 8 2010, 11:08 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(pangping1510 @ May 7 2010, 07:23 PM)
i am student studying in sydney now. booked ticket to japan flying from australia.

i heard from a friend that i need a guarantor to apply for the visa. is it true?  hmm.gif
You'll definitely need a visa (can apply through Japan Embassy in Aus) but it's not 100% necessary to have a guarantor. You just need to prove that you have a good financial record (eg bank statements with enough funds etc...).

You can refer to the embassy's website (link in the first post) for more information and ask us if there's any specific part you're unsure of.
PsyCHZZZ
post May 10 2010, 04:01 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(jayhan @ May 10 2010, 12:28 PM)
woo, looks like there will be a new line from Narita to Tokyo area coming soon. 36 minit sampai!

http://www.new-skyliner.jp/

It's nice and all... but it cost 2,400 JPY just for a one way travel until Ueno/Nippori. That's double of what I currently have to pay for my slow-@ss ride of almost 2 hours from my place to Narita Airport. I'm looking forward to any Malaysian airlines flying direct into Haneda. Singapore Airlines will be starting their route into Haneda in Oct (link).
PsyCHZZZ
post May 10 2010, 07:25 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(xixi0708 @ May 10 2010, 07:14 PM)
huh? what steal?  sweat.gif
because if you book online yourself the air ticket and the hotel is much more expensive..
of cos my package is not 5 star hotel lar.. but still consider OK biggrin.gif
I think the expression "that's a steal" means that it's a great deal.smile.gif
Anyway, have fun in Sapporo... make sure to visit the Beer Garden for some Genghis Khan buffet and go for some crab nabe while you're there! thumbup.gif
PsyCHZZZ
post May 17 2010, 09:01 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(mastering89 @ May 16 2010, 11:30 PM)
Back from Japan 10th may, forgot to see this thread.
sharing some pics taken there. (so many pics i took near 10k, i post some only  laugh.gif )
Very meaningful 1 month trip  thumbup.gif

Glad to know you've had a great trip! thumbup.gif
I've always wanted to go to Nikko Edo Mura and see the performances there... nice! smile.gif
PsyCHZZZ
post May 19 2010, 10:02 AM

115 posts

New release from Softbank. They sure knows how to capture the otaku crowd... [link]

PsyCHZZZ
post May 26 2010, 10:02 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(xianna @ May 25 2010, 10:53 PM)
Hello guys...
i'm new in this forum.have read this thread for quite sometimes but never posted aything biggrin.gif

i'm going to japan this october and this will be my first trip to japan icon_rolleyes.gif
is it ok if i put my itinerary here for you all to comment / give suggestion since you all are expert about Japan?  biggrin.gif
No problems at all. We'll help out where we can.
I like Oct-Nov weather... one of the best months to travel around Japan with cool weather and the autumn view. smile.gif
PsyCHZZZ
post May 28 2010, 10:38 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(tatsuyachiba @ May 26 2010, 03:55 PM)
If you recall, I was looking for pay-as-you-go internet access sometime back.
While we have a place in Japan, we're only there 2-3 months out of a year

I may have found what I was looking for: b-mobile

Looks like it's 3000yen a month. Great if the techies among you could comment on this.
I've not heard of this company although it looks like they piggy-back on the docomo network.

I do have an unlocked 3G aircard that works with the Japanese frequencies.
You're right... they do piggyback onto the DoCoMo network which is great as coverage is very good but they cap the speed to 300kbps (up/down) as apposed to being able to reach more than 1Mbps on the usual 3G networks here. Nevertheless, for usual web usage on the go (web surfing, e-mails etc) I think 300kbps is decent enough and for 3000 yen unlimited usage; it's a good deal.

PsyCHZZZ
post Jun 3 2010, 08:33 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(tatsuyachiba @ Jun 2 2010, 09:11 PM)
Quick answer: None

Terminology refresh: there is a difference between a "stopover" and a "layover". A stopover is a scheduled stop at a intermediate city enroute to your destination e.g. if you are flying KUL-NRT-<stay 2 days in Tokyo>-LAX. In this case the tax (called the Passenger Service Facility Charge or PSFC in NRT) will already be inbuilt into your ticket fare.

A layover, on the other hand, is when you connect in NRT but are not staying more than 24 hours e.g. KUL-NRT-LAX with a 5 hour wait in NRT for the connecting flight to LAX. A layover is defined as any connecting segment than is < than 24 hours. No tax is collected and no tax will be collected.

Long time ago, NRT used to collect the PSFC at the airport. You had to buy a coupon at the airport at departure much like how it used to be at BKK. That went away I think in the mid-to-late 1990s.

Lots of people do what you're planning to do but you'll still need a visa or the ability to enter Japan without a visa. I've done this a couple of times to meet family/friends while in transit; I'll take the train to Narita City, have lunch (they are famous for their unagi) and then go back to the airport. Be careful though that immigration may have lines (I set aside 1 hour for this just in case). Technically though you *don't* need a visa for Japan if you are staying < 24 hours because immigration can give you something that's called a "shore pass". My dad missed a connecting flight once and the airline put him up in a hotel and he didn't need a visa. Neither do the Chinese travelers in transit from China through NRT to elsewhere who stay the night while in transit need visas. But to get this, you must have a good reason I guess. To be sure, get a visa.
Great info man... I didn't know such things existed. sweat.gif

Added on June 3, 2010, 8:35 amThe life-sized Gundam statue is back... in Shizuoka.
http://www.japantoday.com/category/nationa...oot-in-shizuoka

This time with a beam saber~~~ who wanna go visit Shizuoka when it's done?

This post has been edited by PsyCHZZZ: Jun 3 2010, 08:36 AM
PsyCHZZZ
post Jun 8 2010, 07:26 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(akira de aimbuster @ Jun 8 2010, 06:59 PM)
what happen? everyone like disappear ady... sad.gif
LOL ... still here... just busy. sweat.gif

QUOTE(shakiraa @ Jun 8 2010, 07:07 PM)
Hi all,

Can you recommend me a reasably priced hotel in Tokyo? i'm looking at around rm250 per nite. thanks!
In the first page there's some reviews by heterosapien on some nice ryokans and hotel which he tried while he was here among other links.
Also, here's some additional links that might be of interest to you... they should fit your budget.

http://www.toyoko-inn.com/eng/hotellist.html
http://www.superhotel.co.jp/en/index.html

You can also do a search on Rakuten and see if you can find any that fits your liking.
http://travel.rakuten.co.jp/en/

Hope this helps.

This post has been edited by PsyCHZZZ: Jun 8 2010, 07:35 PM
PsyCHZZZ
post Jun 9 2010, 07:35 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(shakiraa @ Jun 9 2010, 07:12 PM)
Hi bro, thanks so much! those websites are very useful. appreciate that.

Btw, i need some help here, my friend who want to join my trip has all the documents ready but she do not have any hotel booking to prove to the Embassy. this is due to she cant get the date firm up yet and also place that want to visit.

Can you guys share with me any tips that can get hotel confirmation to prove to the embassy? i know there's some hotel in other country whereby you can just reserve the room first before paying, any similar thing in Tokyo, Japan? thanks
To my knowledge, you do not need any hotel confirmation to be submitted. You just need to have an simple itinerary list for the number of days you'll be in Japan and in that itinerary; just list the name of the Hotel and contact number which you plan to stay in.
PsyCHZZZ
post Jun 10 2010, 01:06 PM

115 posts

Kawaii~ Congrats Tanoshi! ^^
PsyCHZZZ
post Jun 15 2010, 09:17 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(tanoshi @ Jun 14 2010, 08:14 PM)
Hait domo ne...
Jayhan...latest pic of her:
wub.gif
Damn chubby cheeks... so cute! biggrin.gif
PsyCHZZZ
post Jun 30 2010, 05:05 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(tatsuyachiba @ Jun 28 2010, 10:34 PM)
Just to provide an update to those interested.

Signed up online, they'll deliver SIM to your address. You specify date/time window. 2890yen for 30 days.

Speeds do seem capped as noted by PsyCHZZZ above to 300kbps but after 2 days of using it - good enough for me.

Cool~ That's great. Thanks for the update. smile.gif

QUOTE(teckhooi @ Jun 29 2010, 06:41 PM)
Hey, I Asking Opinion.

Ehmn, If I Take Hokaido Tour, And Extend Days To Japan Central.

Will It Cost A Bomb?
I guess it's better to ask the tour agency providing you with the tour package? hmm.gif
PsyCHZZZ
post Jul 1 2010, 11:50 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(teckhooi @ Jun 30 2010, 05:14 PM)
How About The Domestic Flight Charge?

Btw, They Either Provide Tour For Japan Central Or Haikado (Separately)
I see... well, domestic flights you can choose between JAL, ANA, AirDo and also Skymark. These 4 airlines fly to various parts of Japan. AirDo and Skymark is generally like AirAsia back in Malaysia so they'll be cheaper compared to JAL/ANA.

Added on July 1, 2010, 11:52 am
QUOTE(tommy_uk77 @ Jul 1 2010, 11:05 AM)
my friend got united airlines ticket from singapore direct flight to tokyo narata,price is 700 included tax,your guy think cheap or not?
RM700? One way/return tix?

This post has been edited by PsyCHZZZ: Jul 1 2010, 11:52 AM
PsyCHZZZ
post Jul 3 2010, 09:40 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(tommy_uk77 @ Jul 1 2010, 09:45 PM)
return tix , singapore 700 dollar about 1631 ringgit
I see... I used to pay around RM1700 for return tix to SG from Tokyo via ANA on their promo rate so I guess it's a good deal.

Added on July 3, 2010, 9:42 pm
QUOTE(teckhooi @ Jul 1 2010, 05:43 PM)
I am Stuck In Japanese Word.

dun know how much it cost for the domestic flight
Basically what RegentCid mentioned earlier is the normal rate for the air ticket but if you book earlier or travel during weekdays then you can get cheaper rates. So far, cheapest I've flow to Sapporo from Tokyo (Haneda) is around 13,000 JPY one way via AirDo.

This post has been edited by PsyCHZZZ: Jul 3 2010, 09:42 PM
PsyCHZZZ
post Jul 6 2010, 08:22 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(theseller @ Jul 5 2010, 11:16 PM)
Hi guys, I just applied for a tourist visa for 3 months. Would they give me multiple entries? I did not see an option to apply for a multiple entry one. Anybody did a multiple entry before?
I don't think you can get multiple re-entry on a tourist visa. In my case on a work visa, I only applied for multiple re-entry pass from the immigration dept after I have arrived here in Japan.
PsyCHZZZ
post Jul 14 2010, 10:06 PM

115 posts

More news about AirAsia flying to Haneda end of this year smile.gif
http://www.tokyohaneda.com/industry-news/a...-fly-to-haneda/

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0498sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:25 AM