Vagina Infection?, Simptoms & Treatment

TSNaiveLady
post Feb 26 2010, 04:44 PM, updated 16y ago

80 posts

If vagina discharge is yellowish/greenish, sometimes white color & sticky, itching & smelly,

1) It's called vagina infection, isn't it?
2) Is it true that if left untreated for few months/year, will it affect your fertility?
3) What are the reasons for it? frequently wear pantyliners, tight pants, or unhygine toilet etiquettes?
4) What are the over the counter medicine recommended?

This post has been edited by NaiveLady: Feb 26 2010, 04:50 PM
~minchinini~
post Feb 26 2010, 06:53 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(NaiveLady @ Feb 26 2010, 04:44 PM)
If vagina discharge is yellowish/greenish, sometimes white color & sticky, itching & smelly,

2) Is it true that if left untreated for few months/year, will it affect your fertility?
3) What are the reasons for it? frequently wear pantyliners, tight pants, or unhygine toilet etiquettes?
I actually had this problems.. Mine is in greenish.. blush.gif
I went to pharmacy to get a medicine name "canesten" it really works..

Not expensive tho.. =)

leongal
post Feb 26 2010, 09:55 PM

~I have a new mission in life~
3,188 posts

better do paps smear test to see if it is a vaginal infection....if it is, the dr will give some antibiotics

there are many reasons to vaginal infection.....which is due to bad bacterias
jiaxun
post Feb 26 2010, 09:58 PM

- Wh@†Eve® - ™
1,352 posts

QUOTE(leongal @ Feb 26 2010, 09:55 PM)
better do paps smear test to see if it is a vaginal infection....if it is, the dr will give some antibiotics

there are many reasons to vaginal infection.....which is due to bad bacterias
no, main cause of vaginal infection is fungus, not bacteria.
vivienne85
post Feb 26 2010, 11:26 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(~minchinini~ @ Feb 26 2010, 06:53 PM)
I actually had this problems.. Mine is in greenish..  blush.gif
I went to pharmacy to get a medicine name "canesten" it really works..

Not expensive tho.. =)
pill or cream form?
cutejams2004
post Feb 27 2010, 11:46 AM

~Not Who U Think I Am~
941 posts

vaginal infection can arise due to so many factors. Over washing ur vaginal area with soap/body wash can be the main culprit. It changes the pH level of the delicate area and kills the bacillus microbes. Those are the good microbes tht protects u from the bad ones such as candida al....

When the good bacterias dies, the bad ones (which are silently waiting-opportunists) attacks and u get vaginal infection.

U can check with the doctor to see what type of infection it is. There are probiotics that are extremely useful in warding off the bad microbes. U can even purchase the good bacterias (in capsules) from the pharmacists and consume them. It usually works overnight.

Added on February 27, 2010, 11:55 amBtw, i was doing a project on manjakani (oak galls) and i found it to be extremely good in killing bacteria is good to be used as a hygiene wash. But u can only find it in herbs shops or grocery stores.

This post has been edited by cutejams2004: Feb 27 2010, 11:55 AM
love-angel
post Feb 27 2010, 12:38 PM

ANGELS
778 posts

To answer T/S questions:

1) If discharge is greenish = bacterial vaginitis (caused by bacteria Trichomonas)
If discharge is whitish = candidiasis (caused by fungus Candida spp.)
If discharge is yellowish = could be both bacterial and fungal infection.

2) There is no 100% cure for vaginal infections. Pay initial visits to normal doctors. Some will request u to do pap smear so that they can send the samples to the lab to be tested if u have bacterial infection or candidiasis.

Meanwhile, while waiting for the lab report to be out (usually 2-3 days), doctors will prescribe antifungus/antibacterial/local antibiotic depending on your description of the disease (colour of discharge).

Once lab report is out, experienced doctors will put u on 1 week medication and give u necessary advice on your dietary intake and hygiene issues.

Very often, vaginal infections are recurrent, meaning they can come back, as frequent as every month. If recurrence occurs, my advice is to go to women's specialists or O&G specialists.

3. The causes of vaginal infections are not specific. It could be because of your sexual habits (high chance), your diet, and hygiene problems. Talk to your doctor, be honest, and he should be able to point out what is the cause of your infection.

Vaginal infections do not affect fertility. But doctors will advice u to make sure that the infection has stopped before trying to get pregnant. This is because, antifungal or antibacterial drugs for vaginal infection have bad effect on development of babies in womb.

4. DO NOT buy medicines over the counter unless you know exactly what medicine suits your medical condition. Medicines are drugs. Drugs have various interactions to your biological systems.

My advice: If your problem is persistent, please, do not be shy to consult professional advice. Be honest to your doctor. Take extra good care of your hygiene and diet especially during your fertile period and towards the next menses. Some says 'bak fong yuen' helps to control vaginal infections. Avoid sweet food or food rich in carbohydrates because microorganisms thrive on sugars. Yoghurt might help to some extend because it contains live culture to balance microb population in vagina. However, I feel that yoghurts that are sold in supermarkets may not be so helpful due to the temperature fluctuation during the transportation of yoghurts. Probiotics also contain live cultures and they can be bought from pharmacies. But bear in mind that these steps only help to PREVENT, not treat. If u are having infection, you have to take medication.

Oh btw, if your doctor doesn't feel comfortable discussing about your medical situation, change your doctor! I know of some doctors who don't look at patients in the eye when explaining about the problem. Good doctors will not let u feel shy when dealing with your infections.

This post has been edited by love-angel: Feb 27 2010, 06:46 PM
~minchinini~
post Feb 28 2010, 01:54 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(vivienne85 @ Feb 26 2010, 11:26 PM)
pill or cream form?
Hi darl.. Its a tablets to insert to ur vagina smile.gif
TSNaiveLady
post Mar 1 2010, 06:53 PM

80 posts

Hm.....I got another question.
If left untreated, will vagina infection
1) Affects fertility/ pregnancy problem when I get married in the future?
2) Cause cancer in the future?

This post has been edited by NaiveLady: Mar 1 2010, 06:57 PM
Scissorshand
post Mar 1 2010, 07:13 PM

1,691 posts

Does is stink?
leongal
post Mar 1 2010, 07:42 PM

~I have a new mission in life~
3,188 posts

QUOTE(NaiveLady @ Mar 1 2010, 06:53 PM)
Hm.....I got another question.
If left untreated, will vagina infection
1) Affects fertility/ pregnancy problem when I get married in the future?
2) Cause cancer in the future?
the chance is higher that (1) and (2) will happen - my gynae told me
conny
post Mar 7 2010, 02:55 PM

get a gynae doctor and doctor will give u a cream to apply outer vagina and a tablet to insert into vagina. Wear cotton panties and panty liner , and avoid wearing panties at night time to have better air flow coz vagina need to 'breath' as well.

Eveadam
post Mar 12 2010, 02:21 PM

QUOTE(NaiveLady @ Feb 26 2010, 04:44 PM)

There are several medical conditions that are possible when it comes these symtoms. Its best you have a trusted gynae to attend to your conditions.. well if u r in doubt or wish to learn more about this yourself you can read on it on http://www.medicinenet.com/vaginal_odor/symptoms.htm. I have seen many sharings from the peers here in this thread... and many truths has been uncovered, however, much more details and specifics has to be ascertained by yourself.

A friend of mine had this BV, with an abnormal thinny greyish dischard.. and of course fishy odor.. These started when she starts using a hygiene cleanser.Srprisingly, as what been determined by worldwide medical profesionals, hygiene cleanser can cause changes in the PH level (a critical conditions that hinders the growth or imbalances of baterial development). She read through a home remedy to treat this BV, which is to insert a tampon dipped with "sugarless" yogurt into the vagina. She tried this remedy for a week.. and amazingly... no more abnormal discharge and smelly odor... The conditions did not return after that... (Caution: Do not use antibiotic medicine to treat this.. as it will temporarily paralyse the bacteria develepment, and will return with more abnormal disharge and smellier odor... as antibiotics kills ALL good bactria and bad bacteria at one go.. leaving your vagina exposed with greater risk of other infections.)

Hope these information helps...

tech3910
post Mar 12 2010, 03:30 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

infection is due to bacteria.

many girl dunno....actually after no. 1, wipe from front to bck is much more hygiene.
XukiBabyy
post Sep 22 2012, 07:52 PM

50 posts

Do pap smear every 8months , i have sort of this problem too. Doctor advise me if anyone have this kinda discharge should check every 7-8month. Normal people do it like 1year once. Doctor will be given you one type of antibiotic for one week. Afterall, everything should me ok. Control your sex life habit. Stay to one partner (of course) Avoid wearing t-back, cotton underwear is ur best ans. DO NOT SIMPLY require a medicine in pharmacy. BEST ANS visit doctor. Don't be shy, be honest. Good luck girl!
h3ll0
post Sep 27 2012, 09:11 PM

29 posts

how to know if that is normal vaginal discharge or vaginal infection? coz female should be having vaginal discharge right? or no?
spunkberry
post Sep 28 2012, 08:49 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

it may be a yeast infection. See your gyno.
munkeyflo
post Sep 28 2012, 10:07 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(h3ll0 @ Sep 27 2012, 09:11 PM)
how to know if that is normal vaginal discharge or vaginal infection? coz female should be having vaginal discharge right? or no?
If you're feeling itchy and it smells and have a weird color. First post already mention ma..
h3ll0
post Sep 28 2012, 10:29 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Sep 28 2012, 10:07 AM)
If you're feeling itchy and it smells and have a weird color. First post already mention ma..
just asking.. coz she mentioned vagina discharge is yellowish/greenish, sometimes white color & sticky, itchy & smelly. Leave out the itchy & smelly part, vaginal discharge is sometimes yellowish/greenish, sometimes white color oso tongue.gif
spunkberry
post Sep 28 2012, 10:49 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

when vaginal discharge changes color from the norm and emits a pungent odor, that is usually a symptom.

0.0250sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:46 AM