video file problem, why lag??
TSevilguy
Mar 4 2005, 05:08 PM, updated 21y ago
have tried to play a video in real media (.rm) format. when i use xine, i cannot play that file although i have install all codec needed in /usr/lib/win_32. there something like error like unable to load cook.so.6.0. then i have installed realplayer 10 for linux. then i can play the file but the picture seem to be lag. but the audio is ok. why is this happening? i can play the file in windows without any lag. the file seem to be play in 485kbps in both linux and windows.
one more thing how to play .ogm video file? mplayer seem can play the file. but i just download all the codec and install it to xine but still not working.
p/s: i'm using suse 9.1
pqNel
Mar 4 2005, 08:15 PM

evilguy. heh, I don't trust xine enough. Try using mplayer. There's two version though, 1-text version/console version, which you need to type commands in console to execute/play the file 2-skin version- using GUI as medium. Really nice. here's the link Mplayer
TSevilguy
Mar 4 2005, 11:38 PM
Thanks... but i got really confirtable using xine.  i just figure out that problem. i just installed ther full version of codec suplly at mplayer website and walah.. i can play the rm file without lag. but i still searching on how to play the .ogm file. the error massage pop up when i try to play in xine is "there is no demuxer to play the.. bla.. bla.. mean that the file is not reconize bla..bla..bla" something like that. i think it just and audio problem. am i write?
screwed
Mar 5 2005, 10:04 PM

Is there any codec for linux, coz I can't play certain videos. It has sound but no picture, vice versa.
screwed
Mar 5 2005, 10:05 PM

Nevermind already, I got it from here http://www.mplayerhq.hu/homepage/design7/dload.html thanks to google.
pqNel
Mar 6 2005, 01:20 AM

QUOTE(screwed @ Mar 5 2005, 10:05 PM) Nevermind already, I got it from here http://www.mplayerhq.hu/homepage/design7/dload.html thanks to google. you should just click the link in my previous post. Directly to the site you have just posted.
screwed
Mar 6 2005, 08:22 PM

LOL, I should have noticed it earlier, thanks  Problem solved.
TSevilguy
Mar 8 2005, 12:14 PM
 i also said that ealier about the codec in mplayer  dont notice aa  by the way how about .ogm? can or not to play the file?
screwed
Mar 8 2005, 02:49 PM