TStoda6866
post Feb 24 2010, 11:50 AM, updated 16y ago

303 posts

I'm considering these 2:

1)LG 42LF20R - 42" full HD
2)Samsung LA40B530 - 40" full HD

owners or experienced sifu pls honestly share your impressions with them, (no flaming pls!)
price/spec of both quite similiar (LG is slightly more expensive but 2" bigger), now comparison of performance and reliability issues

I browse online n found some bad comments from samsung owners, pls see here and here so I got worried on buying samsung then I got equally worried about LG when i cant find anything about it.... is it better or worse?

after i get the LCD, using it 70% for gaming (Full HD), 30% for watching movies/dramas

rclxub.gif pls help

This post has been edited by toda6866: Feb 24 2010, 11:55 AM
DeZeque
post Feb 24 2010, 12:09 PM

218 posts

got the 40B530 for my parents like 6 months ago... so far no problem (touch wood!)... since they're retired... quite a number of hours used everyday... (as if retired ppl hv nothing to do but to watch tv.. ahahah)...
performance wise... watching astro sd at about 8 - 10 ft is reasonable to me knowing it's SD... so.. as entry level LCD.. i think u get what u paid for...
weeluvmal
post Feb 24 2010, 12:54 PM

316 posts

does having a glossy / matted surface matters to you?
as i think LG would be of the glossy type..
TStoda6866
post Feb 24 2010, 01:25 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(DeZeque @ Feb 24 2010, 12:09 PM)
got the 40B530 for my parents like 6 months ago... so far no problem (touch wood!)... since they're retired... quite a number of hours used everyday... (as if retired ppl hv nothing to do but to watch tv.. ahahah)...
performance wise... watching astro sd at about 8 - 10 ft is reasonable to me knowing it's SD... so.. as entry level LCD.. i think u get what u paid for...
icic...thks for ur reply

QUOTE(weeluvmal @ Feb 24 2010, 12:54 PM)
does having a glossy / matted surface matters to you?
as i think LG would be of the glossy type..
erm, does not matter....i think
htkaki
post Feb 24 2010, 10:54 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

40B530 is quite considering its price. RM2.5k for a 40" FHD LCD TV. I even use it for my HT demo in the shop.
rolandhoo
post Mar 17 2010, 03:40 PM

224 posts

htkaki, so how's the performance of samsung 40B530? worth the price? i am interested in this model so if you could share more about your experience with it, would be appreciated. thanks.
iphoneguy08
post Mar 18 2010, 03:30 AM

191 posts

Samsung is the best... Go for it...
tracktion3
post Mar 18 2010, 08:07 AM

532 posts

The B series is going to face out soon and will be replace by C series. I'm using 2 B series, a 32B460 and a 40B530. They are both great.

So the price is a low as 2499 now. Go grab it before no more....
apexg2
post Mar 18 2010, 08:12 AM

Lotus F1 Fans..haha
1,241 posts

go for sammy...and if u noticed....i think 4 series la.....now they have "series 4 +"....got extra feature la i think...go to showroom...i saw at harvey norman, the curve..
viruscai
post Mar 29 2010, 10:52 AM

86 posts

hi,

i know the samsung LED 7 series (SAMSUNG-UA-40B7000) got usb & can play mkv file...
may i know the SAMSUNG-LA-40C530 also got usb, but can it play mkv file also ???

the usb slot can read ITB ntfs formatted ext HDD or not ???

can somebody help me on this ?

many thanks.
freedom2912
post Mar 29 2010, 02:21 PM

Cool Like Fire
802 posts

i think u shud get the Samsung 40"
price around 2.5k only..i dunno how much is the LG model
now i'm using 32B450..planning to upgrade to 5-series oso

0.0152sec    0.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled