-+♦+- LYN OFFICIAL PROTON PERSONA THREAD V7 -+♦+-, Our Pride N' Joy

rckh
post Feb 23 2010, 10:42 PM

QUOTE(JonSpark @ Feb 23 2010, 04:36 PM)
LYN Official Proton Persona V7

A new year, a new beginning, a new facelift!

Previous threads:

◙The New PROTON PERSONA◙ V1
◙The New PROTON PERSONA◙ V2
◙The New PROTON PERSONA◙ V3
◙The New PROTON PERSONA◙ V4
◙The New PROTON PERSONA◙ V5
◙The New PROTON PERSONA◙ V6

Proud Owners of Persona

and still growing rapidly......  flex.gif

For those who already took the car, please PM ME to update you name into the list.

Just wondering if there are any moles planted here by Proton competitors to discredit the Persona. I have been using mine almost 6 months touching 7K Km & SFSG. Boys & Girls, don't forget to lubricate the door glasses that slides up & down the window weatherseals. Can be quite tight when car is new causing strain on Door window regulator mechanisms & motor. Quite obvious for two things always rubbing against each other if you get what I mean. Applies to us all as well.
rckh
post Feb 24 2010, 10:45 PM

QUOTE(chteh0721 @ Feb 24 2010, 10:29 AM)
my front window started to have this kind of symptom.can recommend which lubricant to use?
Have been lubricating the door window glasses of my car regularly (say twice a month for the last 6 mths.) since I bought it. Do it right after you have cleaned the car. If you are too busy to clean your car thoroughly, at least try to wipe clean the door windows (inside & outside) thoroughly or else it will scratch when wound up & down. Believe me, you will feel good driving with a car with clean clear windows. The front & rear windscreens are not so critical. Leave it to nature if you are too busy.
By the way, I use the WAXCO AUTO SILICON SPRAY (WX300AS) 300ml. which can be found in most hypermarkets. There is a 500ml size also. Got mine at Carrefour. Price is reasonably cheap. Check the link below :-

http://www.waxco.net/pro_car_exterior.html
rckh
post Mar 1 2010, 04:52 PM

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Feb 28 2010, 07:02 PM)
so 2006 come wif IAFM anot...?
d oldest batch dat comes wif IAFM is wat year...?
In d year 2006, Persona did not exist. Proton launched Persona in August 2007. It was a rush job. Simply used common engine & gear box parts from 1.6 Waja/Gen-2 on to new Persona body. Current IAFM models come with polymer/plastic like Intake manifold which is significantly lighter than the Non-IAFM models which is fitted with cast iron Intake Manifold. Air filter is also totally different. Just look out for these differences. Non-IAFM models can be fitted with the IAFM & Air Filter assembly but what is the point. Might as well buy the latest model.
rckh
post Mar 5 2010, 09:59 PM

The part on Oils explained and Oil grades should make interesting reading -

http://www.driverstechnology.co.uk/
rckh
post Mar 5 2010, 10:37 PM

QUOTE(jasondotcom @ Mar 5 2010, 02:56 PM)
dude.... 4L is overfilled. it does no good to your engine other than damaging it in the long term. Its really bad for the rubber oil seals, bad FC and bad for the general internal engine components.

Persona's engine need ONLY 3.7 litres of engine oil (anyone can correct me if im wrong on the exact amount of litres required).
ur rite. 4L is even good enough for a 2.0L car. Remember my wife's Camry using all of one pack of 4L.

I have already done 2 oil changes, one at Proton Edar Jln 223 & another at dealer off Jln. Kepong using my own oil. I poured out about 300ml of my own oil into another container before going to SC. I think the 4L pack actually contains more than 4L.

Some interesting reading about over-filling of engine oil -

http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qi...03013243AAmeQ6v

The SC's I went to had no qualms about me using my own semi 10W 40. Explained to them that the oil I am using is also a Proton vendor, Delphi.
rckh
post Mar 12 2010, 05:06 PM

QUOTE(chteh0721 @ Mar 12 2010, 02:36 PM)
anyone use locktact pedal lock before ?
how's the quality compare to locktech ?
Lock "tact" is the el cheapo or copycat version of the Lock "tech" which originates from Thailand. "Tact" version looks crude & material quality looks suspicious. Remember, the quality of the spring mechanism & the cut-off switch has to be of top quality. If not, you will not be able to start your own car. I am using the "Tech" version & SFSG. Wife has been using this version on previous Camry which was stolen when she forgot to lock her car. She is currently using Locktech on her Myvi & SFSG.
rckh
post Mar 12 2010, 10:02 PM

QUOTE(chteh0721 @ Mar 12 2010, 05:23 PM)
really so big different ah ?

justnow when i go to accessories shop, the owner open up two different brand and the only differences i can c is the weight. locktech is more heavy compare to locktact.

the price is rm390 for locktech while locktact is 280. 390 is it expensive ? what's the market price for locktech?
The main importer/distributor of Locktech is Shamsulauto(sounds Malayish but I suspect it's a chinese co.) I call them last Sept., when I got my car- thinking that I can get cheaper direct & they quoted me RM380. In fact, an accessory shop next to CIMB/Proton where I bought my car off Jln Kepong main road charged me RM320 including installation. This accessory shop does not carry stocks. The boss had to drive to Taman Perindustrian Ehsan Jaya, Kepong which is about 20mins. from his shop to get the stock. By the way, Locktech for Persona & Gen-2 are the same. I do not know where you are from but if you can get it at my price, it is value for your money. FYI, the set I bought from this accessory shop is the 3rd set purchased from them.

Just do a bit of price surveying. I am telling u the price can go as low as RM320nett. Just check the link below :-

http://www.shamsulauto.com/new/locktech_1_data.htm
rckh
post Mar 13 2010, 01:39 AM

QUOTE(chteh0721 @ Mar 12 2010, 11:33 PM)
ya i did contact this shamsulauto before and they quote me rm380 as well. can i get the contact no or the address of the shop that selling you rm320 ? i'm from cheras
It is :- KS Auto Accessories Co
3 Jalan 3/34A Kepong Enterpreneus Park, Kuala Lumpur 52000, Wilayah Persekutuan

Tel: 603-6253 1430

The shop is on the same row as Carrefour & a food-court facing Jln Kepong main road.
rckh
post Mar 13 2010, 12:18 PM

QUOTE(shacxz @ Mar 13 2010, 06:59 AM)
my SE is my first car.. even though some minor problem here n there but i still love it.. the space of the boot, the speed (i can reach sungai petani from sunway in 3 hour and 45 minute) and a lot more..for me its a good bargain rather then buying myvi see (which i was planning to do so earlier) tongue.gif i think it is worth the money that im paying..if u want a so called better one.. then buy toyota or honda..pay interest for all those "comfort" that you can find in a persona biggrin.gif
Totally agree with you. But one has to be street-smart to use a Proton. For the price you are paying, it basically takes u from point A to B. Don't use it to reach your final destination. Even safety conscious TOYOTA has its problems. Drive safe!
rckh
post Mar 13 2010, 05:10 PM

QUOTE(chteh0721 @ Mar 13 2010, 03:26 PM)
hi bro, i already call the shop, initially they said rm380, but later on they ask me is it ken's friend, if yes then only can get rm320 rclxms.gif

u're ken?
I think that could be a trick question. Anyway, if u want to get at RM320 tell the lady boss your "friend" Jennifer who just bought a white Mazda3 recommended u. I think you should go there in person & not enquire thru the phone.
rckh
post Mar 17 2010, 12:09 AM

QUOTE(Xquisite @ Mar 16 2010, 01:29 PM)
im interested but too far to go to kepong juz to install it cry.gif . after you installed,can share pictures of it?  brows.gif
btw,anyone can recommend shop to install locktech in kuantan?
Call Shamsul Auto Supply in KL (Tel:603-6277 9082/6277 6002) to find out their dealers in Kuantan i.e. if they have any there. Actually, there is nothing much you can see besides the Pull/Release handle & the Push/Release Switch button - once it is installed. The bulk of the mechanism is mounted on the steering column & very much hidden. Remember, the real thing is the one with the LOCKTECH logo underlined & conspicuously made in Thailand. Just google for the image. Even the fakes are shown - With out underlined logo.

This is the original Thai Locktech site : http://www.moderntechniclock.com/locktech-toyota.html
rckh
post Mar 17 2010, 04:46 PM

QUOTE(hongzheng @ Mar 17 2010, 11:48 AM)
mine already 45,000 km (2008 Oct), fuel consumption around 1L = 14 ~ 15km, or, RM 1 = 7.8km ~ 8.5km

*** The meter always show 5.4L = 100km, which i think is out by 20%. The car itself is same like the Proton company, always main tipu-tipu punya...

============================================================================
my rear light plastic cover pecah already, i wonder is it possible to replace the cover alone..

the whole rear light set (right side) cost RM 187.62, aduh  sad.gif

really strange, no scratch on chassis but somehow the lampu pecah....
You can buy the lamp without the bulbs & bulb holders. Cost less - RM 152.44. Persona Enhancement cost RM540.26 for each complete unit. Will cost more than 1k for complete rear make over. Not worth it.
rckh
post Mar 18 2010, 01:01 PM

QUOTE(dARKaNGEl @ Mar 18 2010, 11:42 AM)
where did you check for the new rear lamp price? at SC?
i think out of SC can get cheaper. but need to wait till the spare parts shop has stock. my SA said the lights are manufactured by LA (Lighting Automotive).

so let's just wait a few more months and see if spare parts shop has it.
I need not check prices from Proton. I am fed latest prices from them automatically regularly. I cannot reveal my idendity or my source as prices are highly sensitive matters. All I can share is that base on the info. I received, there are two versions of the Rear Lamp for the Persona Enhancement. LED & Bulb versions. The price I mentioned earlier is for the bulb versions. LED versions cost even more @ RM 709.56 each.

Personally, I find the LED versions very expensive as the LED module itself cost RM248.81. If I opt to change mine, I may just change to the bulb versions (minus the bulb holders) because the lamp without the bulb holder is cheaper - RM388.91 each. So far, still no price for the Door mirrors.
rckh
post Mar 18 2010, 04:18 PM

QUOTE(NSX_MY @ Mar 18 2010, 01:42 PM)
sweet, we got lubang to check prices for the persona parts  laugh.gif do update us when u got the price for the door mirror and also help me to check the prices for the new bootlid and skirting please? thanks mate. rclxms.gif
Bootlid is same as old but bootlid spoiler changed (RM 444.86)

Front Bumper Skirt - RM 619.82
Rear Bumper Skirt - RM 665.74
Side Skirt - RM 651.14 per side
rckh
post Mar 18 2010, 05:09 PM

QUOTE(heavencloud @ Mar 18 2010, 04:12 PM)
haha... stayed up late doing work
radio price please  unsure.gif
hmm... so the picture posted earlier about the grill color was the light reflection only  laugh.gif

Arghh... must get the radio, must get the radio... the usb......  wacko.gif
Head Unit price - RM 1145.45
rckh
post Mar 18 2010, 05:17 PM

QUOTE(NSX_MY @ Mar 18 2010, 04:50 PM)
Wow, thanks man, how about the price for meter instrumental panel for SE and the Elegance? gosh, those skirts are really expensive @_@  hmm.gif

some add on, hope you dun mind  tongue.gif  rear garnish furnishing, door handle furnishing and lastly the luggage tray  smile.gif
the elegance version looks like provided the tray now, darn...
You guys seems to be very free.

Meters for AT - RM 572.95
MT - RM 563.64

Meters for ABS & Non-ABS version are different but the prices are the same.
rckh
post Mar 18 2010, 06:06 PM

QUOTE(NSX_MY @ Mar 18 2010, 05:27 PM)
ooo thanks, how about the rear garnish furnishing, door handle furnishing and the luggage tray? since u were talking about the HU, how about just the housing for the player? the price that u gave is including with the housing?
To me the bootlid garnish seems the same but somehow Proton has a different Part no. for Persona Elegance & the price is RM 146.41. The centre panel comes separate from the HU & cost RM85.02. Other prices NA yet
rckh
post Mar 30 2010, 11:23 AM

Sad to say that Proton Edar service centre at Sect 51A Jan 227 P.J. is closing. Did 1st service there before going to work in USJ in the morning. Pretty good service. Too bad
rckh
post Apr 4 2010, 12:45 PM

QUOTE(muslayer @ Apr 4 2010, 12:11 AM)
hahahaha. Lesson learned within 3days of usage..lucky nothing happen (only burned some tyre)  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif . Totally different from my 130Y handling. WILL be extra careful now when driving this heavy machine. hmm.gif
rclxub.gif  whistling.gif  thumbup.gif
I thought the biggest problem for you would be the signal lights. Nissan Sunny & most cars are on the RH side of steering wheel but Proton is on LH side. I still find it difficult to adjust.
rckh
post Apr 4 2010, 12:47 PM

QUOTE(muslayer @ Apr 4 2010, 09:58 AM)
Here is the picture of my front Disc pad (3days old).

Hmmm go to SC check the braking issue when 1k service.
Were u pressing on the accelerator & brake pedal at d same time?

0.0514sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:52 AM