Android Market, How are you coping without it??

TSdrgnkid
post Feb 20 2010, 01:25 AM, updated 16y ago

109 posts

Hi...newbie to Android here.

I am very excited about the newly launched HTC Desire and have been reviewing a lot of it lately.

However, I just came to know that Android Market is not available in Malaysia (or is it?) and it struck me like a lightning cos now I am thinking twice about going Android. sad.gif

So, I was hoping that I can get more information on how Android users here are coping without the Android Market. Can you guys live without it? How essential is the Android Market to the usability of the phone? Comments I read about Android phones turning from "smart"phones to "dumb"phones without Android Market is scaring me. Will I be missing out a lot?

Hope you guys can help enlighten me..... notworthy.gif
cleave
post Feb 20 2010, 02:25 AM

Custom Title goes here...
673 posts

Most of us here have Market because we root our sets. wink.gif
And yes, you'll be missing a lot if you dont have Market. tongue.gif
LEVIATHAN
post Feb 20 2010, 07:24 AM

Master Chief Carl M. Brashear
2,281 posts

Nice suggestion bro. Pirate.

As our Samy said, kalau tak ada sungai, kita bina sungai.

My set came with no Market. I flash it to another ROM and I have my Market.

I was there. There was no Market in local Hero. Read the Hero thread.

Unless our local set Desire is confirmed no Market, you have nothing to worry. For the time being just continue reading. Read those not-so-great points about Desire so you know where to set your expectation. Read the guides to understand jargons and how-to-do certain things e.g root, access paid apps, flash, adb.

You will be one of those earlier adopters. If you got time, you will help a lot of the later users down the road.

cleave
post Feb 20 2010, 10:46 AM

Custom Title goes here...
673 posts

LOL go pirate. You must understand the magnitude of the risk by doing that. Installing unsigned and tamper-prone software on a device that's likely to hold your personal stuff. Dont come crying if suddenly the 'Sim 3' you downloaded off some forum starts making unsolicited calls to random numbers in Nigeria before MMS-ing half the content of your album to some strangers while deleting your SMS inbox, changing your GMail password and buying subscription to furry porn sites through your Google Checkout.

Just sayin' though. tongue.gif
TSdrgnkid
post Feb 20 2010, 11:00 AM

109 posts

Wow..thanks for the advise guys...esp Leviathan thumbup.gif

Is rooting like jailbreaking an iphone? I have jailbreaked my ipod touch before, is it as easy?

Sorry for the questions but I'm a noob in Android..

I'm actually considering Desire or Legend. So far Desire wins over legend in my books cos of the specs but my options are still open....

This post has been edited by drgnkid: Feb 20 2010, 11:02 AM
friedbeef
post Feb 20 2010, 11:27 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(cleave @ Feb 20 2010, 10:46 AM)
LOL go pirate. You must understand the magnitude of the risk by doing that. Installing unsigned and tamper-prone software on a device that's likely to hold your personal stuff. Dont come crying if suddenly the 'Sim 3' you downloaded off some forum starts making unsolicited calls to random numbers in Nigeria before MMS-ing half the content of your album to some strangers while deleting your SMS inbox, changing your GMail password and buying subscription to furry porn sites through your Google Checkout.

...Sounds dangerous.... anyone here has successful gotten their marketplace without issues thus far? Can share your solution or where you got it pls?
xavier7
post Feb 20 2010, 07:53 PM

546 posts

maybe, you dont have to root to access paid apps.

there are other alternatives.

SlideMe and AndAppStore.

tho i havent tried buying anything from them, i only downloaded a free app. so i'm not 100% sure on the legitimacy of these sites. you can check it out if you want to.
SUSd3m0n
post Feb 20 2010, 08:35 PM

Just A Member
898 posts

QUOTE(cleave @ Feb 20 2010, 10:46 AM)

Lol, no worries mate. I'm an experience pirate master frankly speaking so not too worried bout stuff like that. And yeah, flashing the phone to a custom rom is a good way to obtain Market. Its a safe thing to do as long as you follow the procedure step-by-step.
rammsky
post Feb 20 2010, 08:36 PM

Wanna ask ah, kalau dah install custom ROM kan, but decide to install back stock ROM, where can I get the stock ROM?
friedbeef
post Feb 20 2010, 10:09 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(d3m0n @ Feb 20 2010, 08:35 PM)
Lol, no worries mate. I'm an experience pirate master frankly speaking so not too worried bout stuff like that. And yeah, flashing the phone to a custom rom is a good way to obtain Market. Its a safe thing to do as long as you follow the procedure step-by-step.
flash rom a bit hard la.. Any way I can just do this from home rather than finding a shop which would flash roms?
faridaizuddin
post Feb 21 2010, 02:27 AM

Androidian
1,017 posts

QUOTE(drgnkid @ Feb 20 2010, 01:25 AM)
Hi...newbie to Android here.

I am very excited about the newly launched HTC Desire and have been reviewing a lot of it lately.

However, I just came to know that Android Market is not available in Malaysia (or is it?) and it struck me like a lightning cos now I am thinking twice about going Android. sad.gif

So, I was hoping that I can get more information on how Android users here are coping without the Android Market. Can you guys live without it? How essential is the Android Market to the usability of the phone? Comments I read about Android phones turning from "smart"phones to "dumb"phones without Android Market is scaring me. Will I be missing out a lot?

Hope you guys can help enlighten me.....  notworthy.gif
I'm using HTC Tattoo for 2 months now.. YES!! No Android Market and the solution is...

http://slideme.org/application/slideme-marketplace

Latest SlideME Marketplace v3.4!! And antivirus also can be get from there.. Which's so far do a good job for me!! nod.gif nod.gif
A lot of free aps and games though.. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by faridaizuddin: Feb 21 2010, 02:38 AM
apika
post Feb 21 2010, 03:17 AM

203 posts

imho, the only best solution is to root.
SUSd3m0n
post Feb 21 2010, 03:36 AM

Just A Member
898 posts

QUOTE(rammsky @ Feb 20 2010, 08:36 PM)
Wanna ask ah, kalau dah install custom ROM kan, but decide to install back stock ROM, where can I get the stock ROM?
Just reset your phone to factory settings so everything will be back to normal.

QUOTE(friedbeef @ Feb 20 2010, 10:09 PM)
flash rom a bit hard la.. Any way I can just do this from home rather than finding a shop which would flash roms?
Google on how to root HTC phones according to your model.

QUOTE(apika @ Feb 21 2010, 03:17 AM)
I'll second that. But this is a hassle to some because when you want to send your phone for repair by warranty to official distributor, you need to flash your rom back to original rom or they won't accept your phone.
faridaizuddin
post Feb 21 2010, 08:43 AM

Androidian
1,017 posts

QUOTE(apika @ Feb 21 2010, 03:17 AM)
X prefer to that step 1st..
Will trouble u to claimed warranty later..
TSdrgnkid
post Feb 21 2010, 01:37 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(faridaizuddin @ Feb 21 2010, 02:27 AM)
I'm using HTC Tattoo for 2 months now.. YES!! No Android Market and the solution is...

http://slideme.org/application/slideme-marketplace

Latest SlideME Marketplace v3.4!! And antivirus also can be get from there.. Which's so far do a good job for me!!  nod.gif  nod.gif
A lot of free aps and games though..  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
So this is the alternative for Android market? I wonder why they don't allow Android market for Malaysia? Just like the N1, our neighbour got but we don't have.....sigh..
barjoyai
post Feb 24 2010, 02:53 PM

PoisonRoses
726 posts

just want to know, is there any hack/ways to install paid apps for free?
CreamMilk
post Feb 24 2010, 03:28 PM

486 posts

QUOTE(d3m0n @ Feb 21 2010, 03:36 AM)
Just reset your phone to factory settings so everything will be back to normal.
Google on how to root HTC phones according to your model.
I'll second that. But this is a hassle to some because when you want to send your phone for repair by warranty to official distributor, you need to flash your rom back to original rom or they won't accept your phone.
But currently seems no way to "re-lock" the bootloader.
When you boot your N1, there's an "unlock" symbol at the bottom of the booting screen.
Even you flash it back to stock ROM, your bootloader still remain unlock.
faridaizuddin
post Feb 25 2010, 01:12 PM

Androidian
1,017 posts

QUOTE(drgnkid @ Feb 21 2010, 01:37 PM)
So this is the alternative for Android market? I wonder why they don't allow Android market for Malaysia? Just like the N1, our neighbour got but we don't have.....sigh..
Yupp!! biggrin.gif
And App Store too!!
Which can get from Slide Me 3.4...
OMG.. I never think the existence of Android market after using both of them.. flex.gif
LEVIATHAN
post Feb 25 2010, 03:29 PM

Master Chief Carl M. Brashear
2,281 posts

You sure bro? Have you tried Android Market?

I used SlideMe several months back when Hero was super new locally, I feel like the store is terribly limited once I have the access to Android Market.

Maybe they have improved since.
xavier7
post Feb 26 2010, 12:53 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(LEVIATHAN @ Feb 20 2010, 07:24 AM)
Nice suggestion bro. Pirate.

As our Samy said, kalau tak ada sungai, kita bina sungai.

My set came with no Market. I flash it to another ROM and I have my Market.

I was there. There was no Market in local Hero. Read the Hero thread.

Unless our local set Desire is confirmed no Market, you have nothing to worry. For the time being just continue reading. Read those not-so-great points about Desire so you know where to set your expectation. Read the guides to understand jargons and how-to-do certain things e.g root, access paid apps, flash, adb.

You will be one of those earlier adopters. If you got time, you will help a lot of the later users down the road.
LEVIATHAN, is your marketplace some sort of theme or something? I've flashed mine using CM5, used Marketplace Enabler, but the interface is still the normal one.

0.0258sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:02 AM