Asus G73JH Discussion Thread.

Kaizoku
post Jun 8 2010, 03:30 AM

33 posts

Hi guys...I am thinking of buying the ASUS G73JH-A1 laptop, in this forum i saw that u can buy online from Xoticpc, provantage n Mucro....so, what is the availability of this model on that website? in Mucro they are saying that "end-May" I've emailed them asking the availability of the model, but have yet to receive an answer...huhuhu...one more thing... as far as I know, buying/importing laptop is tax free.....but now i'm reading here that some forumers had a very very BAD experienced with our customs..huhuhu.....I am now in doubt...should i buy, or shouldn't buy online.....huhuhuhhu....pls advice...
Kaizoku
post Jun 8 2010, 06:25 PM

33 posts

[/QUOTE]Anyway I would recommend getting from Gentech, if u dun dare I can help u to arrange it, but must pay deposit or sumthing 1st else kinda risky unless u dun mind waiting, coz I usually order the A2 spec instead of A1 coz bluray is useless for me.[QUOTE]

thanx bro....i've already check the site...might be buying from there..we'll see... anyways, one of my fren said, that the LAPTOP is tax free...BUT the WiFi that comes with the laptop MUST have AP.....I dunno how true is this.. I've ask my fren to give details...he'll revert back to me on that...

This post has been edited by Kaizoku: Jun 8 2010, 11:10 PM
Kaizoku
post Jun 8 2010, 11:19 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(Jeffrey1987 @ Jun 8 2010, 08:49 PM)
For the time being, Asus G73Jh is not available at Malaysia. Thus, you can only order it via online. There are quite a number of reliable e-sellers out there. For instance, GenTechPC, XoticPC and etc. Nevertheless, I recommend you to buy it via GenTechPC. Ken Lee from GenTechPC offers great customer service to me last time. Thumbs up from me!  thumbup.gif

I can help you to inform Ken Lee if you are really want to buy it. Hence, he will take extra care for your orderbiggrin.gif

Added on June 8, 2010, 8:50 pm

All the best!  thumbup.gif
thanx man....I'll take up your offer on that...next month I'll be buying it for sure....now I'm still not back in Malaysia...huhuhuhuhu...

Added on June 8, 2010, 11:32 pmbut Jeffry1987, does GentechPc has ready stock available? so far Xotic back order have to wait for 6to8 weeks or more (not including shipping time), same as Provantage, Mucro no reply(huhuhuuhu)..Amazon has ready stock, but price is higher than fore mentioned e-sellers...so the best choice here IS GenTechPC, provided they can surely deliver in a few weeks times....( I dun have the patience to wait) huhuhuhuhuhuhu...After careful considerations (and alot of "racun"..biggrin.gif) I will by this model next month....thats why I'm researching now for the best priced, reliable seller, etc.... hehehe... btw this IS the first time I'll be buying anything from the net......huhuhu

This post has been edited by Kaizoku: Jun 8 2010, 11:32 PM
Kaizoku
post Jun 9 2010, 12:40 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(EvilDevil118 @ Jun 8 2010, 11:43 PM)
I got my G73JH-A2 from gentech in less than 6 days. I order on Friday, got it on Thursday. The laptop arrive at Sepang on wednesday night, I can track the whole progress at USPS website. On thursday morning I got a call from pos malaysia saying my laptop is held at customs they ask if I wanna appoint them as my agent to collect or I self collect of course I opt to collect myself so around 1pm I reach sepang at about 1pm+ I edi got the lappy but took around 1 hour + to settle the whole ordeal in fact when I got the release letter only the assistant director of customs told me I don't need to get the release letter as it's a laptop.  rclxub.gif Mebe he hint sumthing else I really dunno but had to pay RM 18 to get the release form. Anyway the whole ordeal is a very good experience so next time if I order again I won't have probs.  thumbup.gif
Btw I also would recommend Gentech PC and to get assistance from Ken Lee he is a great guy even reply pm and emails after working hours. As for the G73JH stocks he assure me he would be getting new stocks soon I guess it's around mid of this month or so and must order fast.  icon_idea.gif
ok..roger that......care to share ur experience? becoz last time i went to the Sepang Customs to take some documents (in which i dunno why my company didn't sent thro' DHL, UPS, etc) i got some bad experience...1st, i had to take a pass at one of the guard office...when reaching there, i was denied acces just becoz i am not wearing a collared shirt (wtf! how should i know the dress code or wuteva...) but after some explaining and a little bit of begging...ok..i can take my pass...but then i need some kind of letter from company, saying that THE PACKAGE is for me....ok after a few calls company fax the letter direct to the office..then i have to pay rm5 for the pass....huhuhu then got the pass...got thro the gate...got lost inside...huhuhhuhu....then reached the counter for retrieving my documents, got to pay rm30 for processing.....huhuhuhu.......btw this customs place that i mentioned is the one near LCCT terminal...izzit THAT same place where you collect your laptop??

Added on June 9, 2010, 2:29 amand....btw... when u ordered from GentechPc, how much was the shipping charges?

This post has been edited by Kaizoku: Jun 9 2010, 02:29 AM
Kaizoku
post Jun 9 2010, 04:14 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(tek @ Jun 9 2010, 09:56 AM)
(but I don't think you need to pay RM5 for the pass at the guardpost. I only needed to hand over a photo identification)
bad experience for me becoz all of the customs officers that i dealt with that time was rude and unhelpful...huhuhu
Kaizoku
post Jun 10 2010, 06:59 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(Jeffrey1987 @ Jun 10 2010, 06:54 PM)
Hello guys, eventually I have successfully claimed/ cleared my Asus G73Jh-A2 from the Germany local customs.  rclxm9.gif Super excited now!

First and foremost, I did an unboxing video for my notebook and I will try my best to upload it to YouTube in these 2 days as there are many assignments are waiting for me at the study table now.  biggrin.gif 

First impression of this notebook? Ultimate content for its physical looks especially the rubberized and matte black finish of this notebook. It was extremely gorgeous no matter from outside or inside of this "beast". The only "little let down" is the size which is a little big for me but it is still fine enough for me.  laugh.gif

First step after booting up the Windows is creating the recovery disc via "Ai Recovery Burner". It required 6 blank DVD+/-R disc. It took me some time for creating these recovery disc.  sweat.gif

That's all for the time being. I will update you guys with more "steps" to go. Asus Go, Jeffrey Go . . .  thumbup.gif
Nice!! thumbup.gif rclxms.gif
Kaizoku
post Jun 27 2010, 12:06 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(devkamal @ Jun 26 2010, 11:53 PM)
yea.. read that.. xoticpc giving 50 dollars discount, but i dont paying extra coz i heard he is reliable, by far fastest delivery time..

so i quote ur name as just jeffrey or together with 1987??

i wont contact mr ken until monday though, i have 4000 in my hand waiting for my uncle to bank in the rest this monday...
actually i was supposed to get it on march, but my uncle just came back from sailing, hence the LOONNGG WAIT..
correct me if i'm wrong, but GentechPc is giving a 3% discount whenever u pay by cash/paypal/cheque/bank TT....so in other words, (if you are paying via Bank TT) Gentech is also giving about usd50 discount... biggrin.gif

By the way, you said ur uncle JUST came back from sailing?? Merchant ship?? can i ask which company?
Kaizoku
post Jul 11 2010, 10:36 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(devkamal @ Jun 27 2010, 12:09 AM)
nice to hear..

MISC, long story why he came back late.. misc launched new ship this year, bunga allium, they said no replacement so he had to sail for another 4 months..

so im guessing ur somewhat related to shipping bussiness also?

Added on June 27, 2010, 12:12 am

Thanks for the info man.. ur helpful too.. if thats the case i will email him tommorow,.
sorry took so long to reply.....

MISC yea...Bunga Allium.hmmm Chemical Tanker.. and yess related...I was formerly an employee of MISC..LNG fleet.. but now with Maersk.. and "No replacement" excuse IS NORMAL...ALWAYS..ALWAYS no replacements....(even though i have frens who can relieve me on short notice)...that's one of the reasons i resign from the company....

anyways...good luck with ur purchase.....
Me??? I'll be making my purchase(Also via GentechPc) by end of this month....when i'm back in M'sia...huhuhuhuhu I'm very..very..very envious to those who already received their G73JH..huhuhuhuhu
Kaizoku
post Jul 12 2010, 01:09 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(Jeffrey1987 @ Jul 11 2010, 10:41 PM)
We are always waiting for the new members to join us here.  laugh.gif You are the ONE! Remember to update with us too.  thumbup.gif
hehehe...just another couple of weeks (I'm going home..yeaah....)..hehehe...that's a promise...
It'll be better if this model is also selling at the airport terminal i'm transiting....then no need for me to buy online...huhuhuuhu
Kaizoku
post Jul 12 2010, 01:35 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(Jeffrey1987 @ Jul 12 2010, 01:20 AM)
If I'm in your position, I will do that too.  brows.gif
yups..i'm really..really hoping, there'll be selling this model at the airport...DEFINITELY i'll buy it there...no need waiting for weeks..hehehe..

Added on July 12, 2010, 1:36 am
QUOTE(Jeffrey1987 @ Jul 12 2010, 01:20 AM)

If I'm in your position, I will do that too.  brows.gif
yups..i'm really..really hoping, there'll be selling this model at the airport...DEFINITELY i'll buy it there...no need waiting for weeks..hehehe..
But i really doubt it will....i mean..usually all i see is Sony Viao or Apple Mac sometimes Compaq...so far i dun see any Asus...hmmmm..

This post has been edited by Kaizoku: Jul 12 2010, 01:36 AM
Kaizoku
post Jul 12 2010, 07:01 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(Viperion @ Jul 12 2010, 05:15 AM)
True, it will be a thrill if you could procure it at the airport due to instant gratification but here are some things to consider:

1.) The box is huge & heavy. It's no cakewalk to carry around, trust me. You will have to unpack it at the shop and immediately use your new ROG backpack to store the unit to make it easier for yourself to transport it, no fun if you have a lot of other luggage.

2.) Not sure which airport you will be at but aren't airports retail shops one of the most expensive places to shop. The rental alone for a retail outlet is a killer and the cost is passed down to the customers. Feel like bearing your throat to be garroted?  tongue.gif 

I've been an online shopper for many years and although I get extremely anxious and wary of the problems you will face, this experience so far is the best I've had. The wait time was not excruciating, it was easy to purchase and make payments and the service was impeccable  biggrin.gif
1) I always travel light..so no problem there...

2) I have to agree on the rental cost....but from my experience, buying electronics from the airport is slightly if not cheaper than buying elsewhere...but maybe that is because it's tax free...hmmmmmm

3) yups..the wait, makes it MORE interesting...BUT if there is an alternative which doesn't involve waiting...I'll definitely take it..hehehehe
Kaizoku
post Jul 12 2010, 11:15 PM

33 posts

If i'm not mistaken.. ALL TT require Swift Code, otherwise no transactions can be made..

Added on July 12, 2010, 11:17 pm
QUOTE(devkamal @ Jul 12 2010, 08:36 PM)
sighhhh... i knew i should have asked him...

Added on July 12, 2010, 8:58 pmim getting really worried now, i asked my friend, he said even he did give them the swift code, how come the teller didnt know... haiz..
If i'm not mistaken, ALL TT require Swift Code...otherwise, no transaction can be made..

I suggest u call up the bank instead of waiting for the bank to call u...

Added on July 12, 2010, 11:20 pmBy the way, we can just do it online actually via MBB2U...no need to go to bank..

This post has been edited by Kaizoku: Jul 12 2010, 11:20 PM
Kaizoku
post Jul 13 2010, 10:07 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(Viperion @ Jul 13 2010, 09:15 AM)
shocking.gif shocking.gif WTFish.... and they say.."Best Price and Cheapest Asus G73JH-TZ160Z - EC in Malaysia!"

damn....
Kaizoku
post Jul 30 2010, 09:46 PM

33 posts

yeah...just ordered my G73JH-A1 yesterday, and TT today.. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif ...so by next week my Stealth Fighter will be deployed...hehehehehe
Kaizoku
post Jul 31 2010, 09:30 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(Viperion @ Jul 31 2010, 03:57 AM)
Congratulations and welcome to the club  thumbup.gif
QUOTE(Jeffrey1987 @ Jul 31 2010, 04:14 AM)
Welcome to join us . . . I'm really excited that Asus G73Jh's members are getting higher and higher . . . thumbup.gif
thanks guys.. really excited..hehehe..can't wait for stealth fighter to arrive.....hehehe
Kaizoku
post Aug 3 2010, 07:21 PM

33 posts

The status of your order #1234567 has changed to Shipped!. Yeah!! thumbup.gif My Stealth Fighter has been deployed...
Kaizoku
post Aug 3 2010, 08:49 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(viruz019 @ Aug 3 2010, 08:46 PM)
guys..any1 posted some picture of their g73? tongue.gif..wanna take a look...and any g73 users can post some comparison pictures? T_T
i think there's some in this thread.....just have to browse thro'..hehehe

Added on August 3, 2010, 8:51 pm
QUOTE(Jeffrey1987 @ Aug 3 2010, 08:40 PM)
Another new member is joining . .  . rclxm9.gif
yeaaah...another week or two..

This post has been edited by Kaizoku: Aug 3 2010, 08:51 PM
Kaizoku
post Aug 7 2010, 09:46 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(Dimiberbs @ Aug 7 2010, 07:33 PM)
Hi guys, a quick question, why aren't you guys getting it from Mucro Asia ? it's only 5.6 k + for g73jh A1 including shipping ? Or am I missing something here? I even saw a guy selling for RM 6800 in another thread for the A2 model !?
My last correspondence with Mucro Asia, they said they don't have ready stock for this unit (I wanted G73JH-A1) I have to wait for sometime (maybe a week or more), but Gentech PC had this unit in stock and ready to be shipped(once payments are confirmed). Besides, with Gentech Pc, i spent total RM5583.60 (Unit cost plus Shipping and all..) so for me it's about the same. The diffrence is Mucro Asia don't have ready stock available.
Kaizoku
post Aug 7 2010, 09:56 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(Jeffrey1987 @ Aug 7 2010, 09:49 PM)
I personally believe that MucroAsia offers a BAD customer service which I have experienced it last time . . .  sweat.gif Ken Lee from GenTechPC is a totally different story . . .  notworthy.gif
yups..i can vouch for that...it took them (Mucro Asia) a few days sometime a week, to respond to my emails.. unlike Mr Ken from Gentech Pc, he responded to my emails a.s.a.p...

Kaizoku
post Aug 7 2010, 10:01 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(Jeffrey1987 @ Aug 7 2010, 09:58 PM)
In my case, it was even worst! NEVER replied my e-mails . .  . vmad.gif
well, i can just say, too bad for them...lost several customers already....heehehehe...all goes to Gentech Pc I think...kekekekeke..I did...kekekeke tongue.gif tongue.gif

0.0290sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 12:57 PM