Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V37!, The Orange Legion

freddy manson
post Feb 15 2010, 08:48 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(lugiamcg @ Feb 15 2010, 07:44 PM)
alrighto...problem noted =D

btw, for some reason, the AF doesn't focus on the place i wanted it to. I tried focus lock but the only thing it does is focus on one spot only. So, it's pretty hard for me to focus on the entire subject sometimes. Do, u have any solutions on that? =D

PS: my aperture is already at it's widest point  cry.gif
what ieR means is pumpin the f number.. so if u're on 3.5 u can try pumping to f4 or f4.5 to make the pitcher whole 'body' in focus..
trial and error..

about the AF... i can teach u one method.. this is quite easy when u get the hang of it..
first u point the focus point (the lines in ur OVF) to the edge/lines of the plant.. doesnt matter for ur compo..
press the shutter halfway (called S1) to lock the focus point and hold it..
then recompose the pic.. but slowly making sure that the subject is still in focus (hold the S1)
then when u're satisfy with the framing then just press the shutter all the way (calles S2)

kindda hard to understand, kecuali face 2 face ajar he he he..
this is my S1-S2 method..

i.e taking portrait:
use AF-S (autofocus single, not AF-A or AF-C <-- wont work on AF-C)
i set the focus point to the center.. i lock the focus while focusing on the model's eye.. by pressing the shutter release button halfway (s1) until u hear the lock confirmation (BEEP sound and the red line on ur OVF)
hold the shutter and i compose the pic slowly by moving my camera to view his/her whole face (or any area i want) and keeping the eye still sharp looking in the OVF..
then when i confirm terus tekan the shutter lagi (this is the S2) and i can make sure the eyes is in focus even when i frame the pic when the model's face is in the bottom right or bottom left or any corner of the whole pic..

rclxub.gif faham ka? he he he
freddy manson
post Feb 15 2010, 11:03 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(hazril @ Feb 15 2010, 10:32 PM)
so the short form is AF>recompose>snap

QUOTE(ieR @ Feb 15 2010, 10:45 PM)
hahahahaha,,... when i was reading his long explanation,... i got even more confuse... ur explanation... rox! lol...
the crop, the 9 point, the 4 corner at top left right, bottom left right (imagine handphone keypad, 1 3 7 and 9.) the point are there for a reason, they are actually the intersection of the rule of third lines. they actually helps a lot when doing composition...

lugiamcg: if ur camera cant find a focus lock, if u have a portable torch, light up the area, it will help assisting the focus lock.
i myself get confused LOL
yah that's right but i think lugiamcg need more explaination so i write in advance lol
freddy manson
post Feb 15 2010, 11:24 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(lugiamcg @ Feb 15 2010, 11:15 PM)
Mikeshashimi - I'm not good on MF lol. Everytime i tried MF, i got OOF alot more  cry.gif

freddy manson - i understand what u mean. I tried that b4. But the prob i'm having is...err, i think i'll give a a situation.
                                   Like this, u imaging that there's a Range Rover climbing up a steep hill. Also, u picture urself standing about 10m beside it n u
                                   want to take a shot of it stalling at the hill. U powered up ur cam n start focusing on the rover and ur cam actually did. Just
                                   that it only focuses(green box on LV) on the front of the car and that means the back is blurred. U dislike that focus, so u
                                   did it again. This time, the camera focuses on the car's back! U will then be so frustrated n re-focus over n over again, but it
                                   just won't focus on the front n back at the same time ie: u won't get the most detail out of that rover. So, at the ended, u tried a
                                   new way, focuses juz right at the center. U captured it but then u realize that u get a blurred head n tail. My point here is, my
                                   cam juz won't focus on what i want(angled sub) perfectly n causing my 'pitcherplant' to have a blurred back(right side).  cry.gif

PS: assume that the rover look just like how my pitcher is and there's no MF on ur cam and it's afternoon =D
                                   Now, even myself got a lil' blurred of wad i wrote
                                   Long story short, I want it to focus on 1 n 9 juz like ieR's keypad method =D

ieR - good point. Ur 1,3,7 n 9 make things clear. I want it to focus on something like 1 n 9. Is it possible by juz using AF?
                  I'll try ur torch method soon =D

PS: do enjoy my rover story =D
maybe u can try..
QUOTE(freddy manson @ Feb 15 2010, 08:48 PM)
what ieR means is pumpin the f number.. so if u're on 3.5 u can try pumping to f4 or f4.5 to make the pitcher whole 'body' in focus..
trial and error..
when the DOF is too shallow (f3.5) u'll get that effect... then pump it a stop.. and shot and pump again and shot.. look at which one that can fill ur need..

This post has been edited by freddy manson: Feb 15 2010, 11:28 PM
freddy manson
post Feb 17 2010, 11:11 AM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(signither @ Feb 17 2010, 10:14 AM)
got some dust in my 18250.. not sure if it's really dust or fungus.. warranty already over.. where can send for cleaning ya?? how much will sony service centre charge??
share the pics lor..
if send then depends on what ur problem.. may cost u RM1xx brows.gif
freddy manson
post Feb 17 2010, 12:01 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(eddybeh @ Feb 17 2010, 12:26 AM)

C&C welcomed.... really need u all to comment to improve... thx ya.....
UFO? wow..
he he
freddy manson
post Feb 17 2010, 02:22 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(luzias @ Feb 17 2010, 02:19 PM)
thanks kul | moO....

looks like better fund some money buy new lens...huhu so sad
i think ur 28-80 can replace ur 1870 for a while until u can figure out what lens u really need

brows.gif selling my sigma 18-125
freddy manson
post Feb 17 2010, 04:13 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(alex_cyw1985 @ Feb 17 2010, 04:09 PM)

i like numbah three! nicely done!
freddy manson
post Feb 17 2010, 08:59 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(d4rkholeang3l @ Feb 17 2010, 07:54 PM)

Camera Model - Sony A230
Lens - SAL 75-300
Aperture - f/5.6
Shutter Speed - 1/250 s
Focal Length: 55 mm
ISO - 200

Trying out my new lens, SAL75300
He is a veteran guitarist on top of St Paul's Hill in Melaka...
Please give some C & C for me to improve my shots..
Last but not least, please visit my blog. Thanks
how to get focal length 55mm with ur 75-300? is it a mistake.. or? EXIF taken from what software?
freddy manson
post Feb 17 2010, 09:31 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

alphanatix down again... flex.gif haiz
freddy manson
post Feb 17 2010, 11:07 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(blur @ Feb 17 2010, 10:40 PM)
Hi...
Been a while. And as usual, I am back with more nooby questions. tongue.gif

I was wondering if anyone can tell me if a Sony's 50f18 can fit a full frame? am eyeing the a850 actually. tongue.gif

I've been googling around. Some reviews mentioned it was designed specifically for APS-C, while some said it was used on a full frame, and some mentioned something about cropped mode. So I thought I'd be better off if I get to talk to someone directly here instead of making my own assumptions...

Thanks in advance. Happy CNY... smile.gif
Minolta 50mm F1.7 is fullframe lens but 50mm f1.8 isnt..
u can use any FF lens in APS-C body but u wont get the 'fullframe' icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(destfull @ Feb 17 2010, 10:46 PM)
haiyah.. u just started and u're doing fine..
freddy manson
post Feb 18 2010, 07:42 AM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

adoyai.. more fisheyes..
poisoned now!
freddy manson
post Feb 18 2010, 03:05 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

anyone knows any fisheye converter for 67mm?

(poisoned already but still wanting to try out before buying tokina 10-24)
freddy manson
post Feb 18 2010, 03:24 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ Feb 18 2010, 03:12 PM)
freddy manson : Fisheye converter useless wan la. And where got such thing as Tokina 10-24? Either Tamron 10-24 or Tokina 12-24 only la. (:
QUOTE(MechaHerc @ Feb 18 2010, 03:14 PM)
its tokina 11-16 or tamron 10-24 bro.. but why wasting money to the converter which might degrade IQ?
ya ya ya dizzy from the fisheye pictures already..
now looking on the tokina.. ot should i get the samyang 8mm instead?
CJLai? can get discount kah ha ha ha
freddy manson
post Feb 18 2010, 03:34 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Feb 18 2010, 03:27 PM)
If you are referring to the Tokky fisheye, it's Tokina 10-17mm f3.5-4.5 AT-X 107. smile.gif

Added on February 18, 2010, 3:28 pm

Forget about getting the cheapo Samyang. Save up a little more and straight for Tokky. You'll never regret.
still trying to figure out..
how big is the difference..
if getting the 8mm samyang and/or tokina 10-17 and/or tamron 10-24?
freddy manson
post Feb 19 2010, 02:26 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Feb 19 2010, 01:21 PM)
I thought sony DSLR don't have mirror lockup? (at least on my a550)  hmm.gif
got.. i tried on a700..

QUOTE(MechaHerc @ Feb 19 2010, 02:23 PM)
mirror lockup function is something like to reduced vibration caused by shutter flip to record the image.. for better understanding can read at wiki. it can be accessed only in A700 brows.gif, A850 n A900  biggrin.gif
yup.. it'll add more shutter time.. my D90 have this but not my a350 and the result is 'a bit' more sharper icon_rolleyes.gif
freddy manson
post Feb 19 2010, 04:49 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Feb 19 2010, 03:15 PM)
guys,

do we have any other option for fish eye lens other than sony and samyang?
tokina not available for sony yet..
tamron 10-24 can consider fisheye?

huh waiting for my samyang to arrive tomorrow thumbup.gif
freddy manson
post Feb 20 2010, 08:25 AM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(ForlornBrat @ Feb 19 2010, 09:08 PM)

he he ur picture is just picture.. technically says that it follows all the 'geeky' way of taking pivtures..
but htere's no meaning. but i think the 2nd 1 okay loh.. beter if u can get background yang ada org sket..
to show the 'people' side of the picture rclxm9.gif nice compo!
freddy manson
post Feb 20 2010, 05:01 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ Feb 20 2010, 02:44 PM)
Ooo nice nice. (: But now I still have the Nikon lust la. Sigh. Hope a7xx will be damn good wei. If not I think.......
QUOTE(signither @ Feb 20 2010, 02:46 PM)
D300s ka moo? brows.gif
QUOTE(signither @ Feb 20 2010, 02:55 PM)
either that or 7D whistling.gif
ha ha ha just got my samyang 8mm..
but for my nikon..
well using the fisheye on my sony will be a huge different!!
but well, i havent got much lens for my nikon so now adding few more to the naikon system to be fair..
freddy manson
post Feb 20 2010, 07:45 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(khairi83 @ Feb 20 2010, 07:02 PM)
me also already booking a700 this morning with dy dinum at digital mall.
already deposit rm300 to them...
huhuhu..tak sabar punye pasal.
ha ha ha me just go buy d90 2 weeks past coz cant wait d.. for the a7x0
haiz...
but now wnjoying the new fisheye..
nah ambik ni racun2 mata-ikan..

This post has been edited by freddy manson: Feb 20 2010, 07:54 PM
freddy manson
post Feb 20 2010, 10:16 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Feb 20 2010, 09:45 PM)
freddy manson: I can't make out your shot - use flash bounced behind, for fisheye?
no flash.. just use the fisheye and play with the WB biggrin.gif

0.0425sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:44 AM