4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Alienware Mothership v3, the official alien armies thread

putochip123
post Mar 25 2010, 04:03 PM

1,496 posts

tonight gonna try d... see how it looks....

im also wondering M15x with GTX280M
putochip123
post Mar 25 2010, 04:08 PM

1,496 posts

hahaha, go find victim brows.gif brows.gif
Tonight wanna operate my M15x and M17x to insert GTX280M inside m15x, wondering the heat sink fit or not
putochip123
post Mar 25 2010, 09:14 PM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(ff8ong @ Mar 25 2010, 08:47 PM)
Photoshop i been using for around 2 week, don't feel any different compare to non ULV notebook processor like macbook.
u r wrong bro, with Core i7 big big different, or any core 2 duo with higher frequency
putochip123
post Mar 26 2010, 04:42 AM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Mar 25 2010, 04:10 PM)
i guess you mission to put GTX280M in M15x will not be possible.

but try to prove me wrong. smile.gif
Just finish operation, Everything is fit into m15x even the heat sink, is totally same, i opened GPUz its only shows VGA adaptor, i try my different method, but still cannot be use. Vry dissapointed

QUOTE(Azurika @ Mar 25 2010, 11:02 PM)
lolx , y cant R2 read GTX 280 ? they same socket wert @@ unless is marketing strategy by dell saying you cant change i dunno la ...

hmm , if i not wrong , NotebookReview got people m15x put in gtx280 d @@
Your Are wrong, i tried to put in GTX280M, but the mobo dont wan let me to install the driver....
Heatsink and Socket everything is fit into M15x

Added on March 26, 2010, 4:45 am
QUOTE(kazasho @ Mar 26 2010, 03:14 AM)
I see. coz Im thinking of upgrade my laptop. I dont want a downgrade performance.

currently mb or m11x
Honestly if performance M11x is not ur choice, is just for portable only... Gaming? NO!!!
M11x is made by plastic doesnt same as M15x(Magnesium), M17x(Aluminium).
M11x is just a marketing power, it is an 'ALIENWARE" which every one is afford to buy. Dell is just trying to gain more money......

This post has been edited by putochip123: Mar 26 2010, 04:45 AM
putochip123
post Mar 26 2010, 06:10 PM

1,496 posts

[quote=GreatOni,Mar 26 2010, 05:30 PM]
[quote=putochip123,Mar 26 2010, 04:42 AM]
Just finish operation, Everything is fit into m15x even the heat sink, is totally same, i opened GPUz its only shows VGA adaptor, i try my different method, but still cannot be use. Vry dissapointed
Your Are wrong, i tried to put in GTX280M, but the mobo dont wan let me to install the driver....
Heatsink and Socket everything is fit into M15x

maybe u can to try ati 5870 rclxms.gif

[/quote]
5870 tried, heat sink didnt even fit it.

Added on March 26, 2010, 6:11 pm[quote=kazasho,Mar 26 2010, 12:39 PM]
XPS m1330
c2d 2.0ghz t5550 (merom)
Nvidia 8400 GS
well said.
might as well take mb
m15x a bit expensive, unless my bro can topup me a lot thumbup.gif

[/quote]
I think you should go for Asus N82JV, better than M11x a lot a lot a lot alot...... Price same.
dont because of Alienware then u bought M11x, u will regret 1
By the way, if u interested to M11x, u can let me know, currently instock, (Cheap Cheap price for u)

This post has been edited by putochip123: Mar 26 2010, 06:13 PM
putochip123
post Mar 26 2010, 10:03 PM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Mar 26 2010, 09:12 PM)
lolz.. 90 celcius.. with that temperature, how was the gaming experience? got any lag experience with ur game?
for a normal laptop GC can stand up to 105'C, so it wont goes lagg....
90 celcius is vry normal d, last time my G51 hit 103'C gaming performance still vry vry good
putochip123
post Mar 29 2010, 10:44 PM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(taufiqtahir @ Mar 29 2010, 06:19 PM)
thanks alot nitevision92..
that really helps..
well,one fact is,i am concentrating on the fact that the m17x has the sli..
thats why i am so concerned..
i also do gaming and i am replacing my pc for a laptop..
thats why i am searching for a good pc replacement..
and furthermore,the m15x higher specs is already 6.6k and i need to juz add in a little to get the m17x..
well,if i want to upgrade the proc n display it will cost me another 1k but i'm fine with it..

but in ur personal opinion..should i proceed with the m17x or consider the m15x?
mostly i will prefer M17x due to it is now offering Free GTX280M SLi...... But i think that most of the time u wont gaming right? M15x is better(Performance +portability)not M11x ya

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Mar 29 2010, 06:35 PM)
i bet you still don't find any games that doesn't satisfy your desire FPS rite mate? just don't name me stupid game's engine like the one used for GTA4 sweat.gif
C2D can be consider as high end Dual Processor which is not a problem that limit your GPU's performance.

but still, its depend on the optimization of game's engine. if you benchmarking Crysis & Crysis Warhead, where the Crytex Engine choose to optimize Dual Core instead of Quad core, you can see an increment of performance by using C2D compared to Quad.

but if the game's engine utilized Quad Core like Devil May Cry 4 and Resident Evil 5, your gaming framerate can be compensate by your monstrous GTX280M SLi. you don't even realized if there is less 5 FPS and if your FPS is more than 60 - you will not see the different at all.

so what i am stressing here is - the term bottleneck on C2D 28.Ghz is not significant. you may use that term for M11x or M15x for their processor, but not for M17x-R1. 
the real bottleneck will occur when you choose i7 for gaming.
M15x doesnt have bottle neck interms of performances when u solve the throttling issue, like what u said, 5FPS is not a big different, Core i7 have low clock 1.6, but u can ask those m15x user
M15x Core i7 SLOW?
Personal Used Alot Of Alienware, M11x, M15x, M17x, what spec also used before, if dont belive, u can ask All Alienware USer(forumer)
QUOTE(nitevision92 @ Mar 29 2010, 06:53 PM)
Now it's my turn to be worried. sad.gif
Almost about to buy the M15x. Always thought i7 optimization thingy was a problem, but not a big one.
No matter how, I7 is a better tech which give u a better performance, ultilize or not utilize, who care? u can see the different? you have Sharingan? or Byakugan?

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Mar 29 2010, 07:04 PM)
it is good processor to run most of the program - except gaming due to the HTT. most of the game use real clock (1.6GHz for i7-720), not clock during HTT.

but if you are not enthusiast that doesn't demanding of high setting, it suit you well smile.gif
QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Mar 29 2010, 07:17 PM)
yea, i heard ppl saying i7 is bad for gaming.. i mean not as good as c2d .. sad.gif
just heard those from sellers in lowyat last week smile.gif

cheers just my 2 cents
u know why they tell u Core 2 Duo is better? Cause Core 2 Duo wanna phase out d, wanna clear stock.

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Mar 29 2010, 07:20 PM)
it is FREAKIN good if the games support HTT, but sadly, only one game that support HTT so far...

but sometimes, this defect can be compensate by your GTX260M. ask around, they will say their gaming performance is not as bad as its rumors - since GTX260M cover this disadvantages for them. smile.gif
Even though it is not utilize, can u feel the performance drop? i wont think so

Added on March 29, 2010, 10:48 pm
QUOTE(Azurika @ Mar 29 2010, 10:06 PM)
if ur just getting base specs for m15x , rather go for the G-73 , for ur gaming needs perspective la, much more powerful and cheaper -.-" unless u WANT an Alienware for design and bragging rights xP then by all means.
QUOTE(trogdor1oh1 @ Mar 29 2010, 10:09 PM)
I didn't buy an M15x for the style and design at all, I just wanted a good gaming rig.
Does that mean I spent money wrong? ._.
QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Mar 29 2010, 10:10 PM)
asus that model is 17 inch my dear.. no one compares laptop with different size.

if u wanan compare, get a 15 inch and compare smile.gif

asus that model can be compared with 17 inch m17x
QUOTE(Fantasia @ Mar 29 2010, 10:27 PM)
*corrected
and if buy m15x and dont upgrade the GPU to GTX260M, u might as well get studio xps16 which has HD4670 and it's better than GT240M
Get from me, hahaha, cheapest price ever..... XPPS Studio 16? get from me also, cheapest price ever.......

This post has been edited by putochip123: Mar 29 2010, 10:48 PM
putochip123
post Mar 29 2010, 11:00 PM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Mar 29 2010, 10:35 PM)
but xps 16 doesnt have a good cooling system like the alieenware.
the xps does not have lightings like alienware too =D
how cold u wan? 30C? 40C? under stress? as long as the system doesnt exist the critical point then will be ok liao
putochip123
post Mar 29 2010, 11:17 PM

1,496 posts

then get a desktop and water cooling, i comfirm will be lower then 40" even overclocked and under stress. a laptop cant
putochip123
post Mar 30 2010, 12:00 AM

1,496 posts

ur vantage 8k right? my vantage only 7k
putochip123
post Mar 30 2010, 12:13 AM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(cy-yang @ Mar 30 2010, 12:02 AM)
hmm... still haven't run the test yet..
u get 7k for ur M15x with i7 920?
yup..... Core i7 920XM+GTX260M

QUOTE(FindingScreemo @ Mar 30 2010, 12:05 AM)
to be fair to everyone, i thought my M15x is awesome. the core i7 720qm works really well IMHO.

gaming and rendering 3D animations and model, i can say it's exactly what i expected it to be smile.gif
wanna upgrade to 820QM? brows.gif brows.gif
i have few units of it....

Added on March 30, 2010, 12:16 am
QUOTE(Azurika @ Mar 30 2010, 12:11 AM)
i didnt know the m15x is at 30-40 =.=" i know my m17x is running at 70+ in Malaysia la .... suddenly i felt my pc is hot >_<

eh putochip run what lappy vantage 7k wor ? thats very high for a m15x or very low for a m17x @@"
i runned M15x Core i7 920XM+GTX260M

This post has been edited by putochip123: Mar 30 2010, 12:16 AM
putochip123
post Mar 30 2010, 12:31 AM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Mar 30 2010, 12:25 AM)
yes it is slow IN gaming IF compared to other processors.
newer doesn't necessarily better.
yes you can feel the drop of performance.

try compare the benchmark of Crysis on both type of CPU.

please bear in mind that we are now comparing between high-end processor. so the winner and loser both doing an excellence job actually. stick to the main idea of this comparison. thats why i bolded some words to stress the main idea smile.gif

thats what i said previously nod.gif
is it? i tried QX9300 vs Core i7 720QM in crysis(both with GTX260M.......
Both are stick at 20-26 FPS.... Any different in it?
putochip123
post Mar 30 2010, 12:57 AM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Mar 30 2010, 12:44 AM)
you are comparing Quad Core vs i7, where both processor doesn't optimized for the engine.

try Core 2 Duo vs i7 smile.gif
just finished the test, using T9800(2.93Ghz), 20-29, doesnt make any different tongue.gif biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by putochip123: Mar 30 2010, 01:02 AM
putochip123
post Mar 30 2010, 12:36 PM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(wilsonjay @ Mar 30 2010, 02:01 AM)
my m11x arriving tmr <3
nice nice, more and more Alien Army
putochip123
post Mar 31 2010, 01:26 AM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Mar 30 2010, 07:34 PM)
WAH! I was away for a day or two and you guys have voted me to start Thread V4? Well I have done threads before, I don't mind doing a new one for Our Beloved Alien Army... But I need the updated info from Mr. Screemo smile.gif ... Also, some personal pics of the M11x, M15x (Which I also have) and M17x pls....

@Puto, if you're able to, send me some photos via PM of the range you have ? Like maybe arrange them side by side for comparisons between M11x(If you have) and M15x and M17x.

@Alien users, can contribute some to me too smile.gif

I'll try to get it done by this week and those who blog about ALIENWARE do send the links to me too smile.gif
ok, will will do All Alienwares side by Side from m11x to M17x for u......
putochip123
post Mar 31 2010, 02:00 AM

1,496 posts

nice setup, but ur m11x become a "Desktop" d
putochip123
post Mar 31 2010, 03:34 AM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Mar 31 2010, 02:02 AM)
haha yea... cuz i cant stand doing my assignments and playing games on 11 inch all the time (plus i would prefer to use full size keyboard). mayb others don experience it, but i do.. i feel headache and abit dizzy after bout 2 hours of staring at the screen. its even worse in day time, cuz the led is not bright enuf. >.< mayb its only my problem..

update, cuz the previous post has already reach its limit..

then u should go for bigger screen laptop...... hahaha tongue.gif
putochip123
post Mar 31 2010, 02:07 PM

1,496 posts

wih that price i rather get a own custom desktop with better motherboard and water cooling
putochip123
post Mar 31 2010, 04:18 PM

1,496 posts

My SRS sand box poison eveyrbody

Added on March 31, 2010, 4:20 pm
QUOTE(xandman @ Mar 31 2010, 02:38 PM)
hi guys.
need some convincing.
planning to get the m11x.
can any users of it plz give a comment on the performance?
bcoz ive read so many comments say it's slow n all.
thanks!
if u r thinking of performance M11x not ur choice, but if u r thinking of getting " Alienware" then i had nothing to say.....
M11x is for portable only, for shooting games should be no problem

This post has been edited by putochip123: Mar 31 2010, 04:20 PM
putochip123
post Mar 31 2010, 07:41 PM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(Shah.Legno @ Mar 31 2010, 06:50 PM)
helo..
i want to ask.. if i enabled my alienware m11x proc SU7300 overclock all the time from 1.3ghz to 1.6ghz..
is it will effect my proc life?
dont worry too much, normally a proc can stand for at least 7 years, even u reduce its life span to 3 years, also no problem wat, i think after 3 years you should be changing laptop d

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0434sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:36 AM