8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Alienware Mothership v3, the official alien armies thread

TSFindingScreemo
post Feb 21 2010, 10:18 PM

BOOO!
707 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Feb 21 2010, 10:16 PM)
tmr first question gonna ask them is whether this 1 year warranty is an international warranty. if not, then second question would be can i extend my warranty without the need of canceling the order. if my sa says yes and i need to cancel, i will be questioning him why.
after all, my unit is not built yet. they surely can change the database.
then if still cannot, i will have to cancel and order a new one.
in the end, wait for another 1 month.
i think you can upgrade the warranty thingy without cancelling the order. IIRC, you can do all this even after receiving your machine, just check out Dell's website and place your service tag. All the info will be there.
No? blush.gif
TSFindingScreemo
post Feb 21 2010, 10:24 PM

BOOO!
707 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Feb 21 2010, 10:21 PM)
yes can, you can even extend if after you receive it. problem is, you need to pay nearly 1k if you extend your warranty ONLY after you receive it, used it, abused it sad.gif

hehe sorry mr doktor ...

but screemo, according to someone, i forgot where i read from liaw.. that person says he canceled his order and make a new one because he wanted to extend his warranty.
Ahh, could be. Cuz I checked on the price if i wanna extend the bundled McAfee, the price is almost double. Well, i guess it works that way!
Its alwiz cheaper to get it done first time biggrin.gif
TSFindingScreemo
post Feb 21 2010, 10:34 PM

BOOO!
707 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Feb 21 2010, 10:29 PM)
okay okay thanks screemo ^^
everything will be clear tmr. either i get my unit 12 days later from my current edd or few days earlier of my current edd.

smile.gif thanks alot guys.
screemo, hows ur m15x? any hardware problem or wat? just wanna find out whether isit worth it to get the 3 years warranty or just go with the risk like mr string.
Welcome mate!
Erm, my M15x is okay, I'm not the type of user that will do all sorts of tweaking so I use it as it is. nod.gif
No major problems and honestly, you're paying for the warranty so that you will have a peace of mind for 3 years. It's a 'what if' situation we're facing as users. We won't know what will happen, so its up to you really. My previous laptop, the HP pavilion series, is still up and running for the 4th year now. I got the 3 year warranty that came with it, and guess what, it's still in perfect condition till today! Never claimed anything, and i'm not complaining. laugh.gif

Added on February 21, 2010, 10:37 pm
QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 21 2010, 10:27 PM)
By the way, that part in bold and red , is not from my own mouth, it's from the CS manager herself. Take it as you will. I tried deducting the useless McAfee AV software from my order, but since the order was already locked down, I had to take it. McAfee is a bloated AV, not as robust as BitDefender or Kaspersky.
QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Feb 21 2010, 10:32 PM)
what do you mean by bloated by AV?
in otherwords, macafee is not a trusted antivirus brand? but i got the 24 months version.. gonna be wasted again i suppose. or mayb in my next order i just tell my SA to cancel the macafee.

yeap, gonna install kaspersky.
Yup, just like string said, you can't take the mcafee out. if you ask the SA, he will tell you its bundled in the package. there's nothing you can do bout it. I did ask for it to be excluded, and it's not possible to do so. you gotta manually remove it. smile.gif

This post has been edited by FindingScreemo: Feb 21 2010, 10:37 PM
TSFindingScreemo
post Feb 21 2010, 10:40 PM

BOOO!
707 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Feb 21 2010, 10:39 PM)
what antivirus did you install mr screemo?
I'm still using the McAfee they gave. i don't really bother much bout AV.
Never really have any problems living without one anyway. HAHA.
TSFindingScreemo
post Feb 22 2010, 05:34 PM

BOOO!
707 posts

wow, looks like alot of M11x owner spawning everyday! biggrin.gif
TSFindingScreemo
post Feb 22 2010, 06:25 PM

BOOO!
707 posts

like string said, YCH logistics.. or even skynet..

i received stuff from Dell via this 2 logistics before. smile.gif
TSFindingScreemo
post Feb 22 2010, 08:52 PM

BOOO!
707 posts

don't trust the status too much, Dell might give u a shocker by giving call or sms telling that you'll be receiving your beast the very next day!!

TSFindingScreemo
post Feb 22 2010, 11:21 PM

BOOO!
707 posts

QUOTE(nas @ Feb 22 2010, 11:20 PM)
The M11x does not come with external ODD right?
Only HP provides the ODD i think, not Dellienware. lol
TSFindingScreemo
post Feb 22 2010, 11:31 PM

BOOO!
707 posts

I don't think the ext. ODD is a must buy item. Its all up to you.
I'm fine to live without a ODD though, I got the Blu-Ray ROM but i'm starting to question myself, how often do i really use it?

Other than ripping songs from CD and maybe a couple of installation, er.. that's all. LOL
TSFindingScreemo
post Feb 23 2010, 12:01 PM

BOOO!
707 posts

QUOTE(trogdor1oh1 @ Feb 23 2010, 11:44 AM)
Aya complaints about shipping for M11x, I don't suppose shipping for an M15x will be any better? tongue.gif

I have a question for M15x or M17x owners:
I want to order the M15x that has an i7 processor. Is it okay to leave turbo mode on all the time when on the charger? Is it possible to set it so that turbo mode is off whenever I'm on battery?
Is it even safe to leave turbo mode on all the time?
I don't feel like having to go to the settings every time I want to play a game =\
Turbo mode? Stealth mode?
If Stealth mode is what you meant, then I can safe it's not possible to have Stealth Mode ON when you're on batteries.
AS strange as it may sound, Stealth Mode (which is supposed to make u consume less power) can only be enabled on A/C, not batteries.
Enabling and Disabling the Stealth Mode can be done by simply touching the Media Button located on top of the keyboard, Stealth Mode will be the last icon on the right.

Don't bother to enable the Stealth Mode, why do you wanna save power on A/C and throttle your performance?

Correct me if I'm wrong tho', just my 2c. blush.gif
TSFindingScreemo
post Feb 23 2010, 12:12 PM

BOOO!
707 posts

Ahhh, I think that Turbo Boost is what you meant.
IIRC, it has been discussed before, and that the processor will do the Boosting itself without us having control over it.

Can we control 'em?
TSFindingScreemo
post Feb 23 2010, 12:15 PM

BOOO!
707 posts

Yup, the OC/boost is done by itself.
IIRC, only 1 core can be boosted, while the other 3 remains the same.

Ahh... i'm using IIRC wayyy too much, i'm getting old!
TSFindingScreemo
post Feb 23 2010, 04:32 PM

BOOO!
707 posts

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Feb 23 2010, 04:03 PM)
Finally Im back...
And Im delighted to see so much activity here...
There will be a surge in the number of M11x owners in the coming weeks.
Screemo, You have loads on your hands in maintaining the forum and namelist bro smile.gif
yea man, and exams up next week. assignments due this week!
TSFindingScreemo
post Feb 23 2010, 05:10 PM

BOOO!
707 posts

QUOTE(Kelv @ Feb 23 2010, 05:08 PM)
Any chance to buy an Alienware from local store and without the OS?
Doubt that.
TSFindingScreemo
post Feb 23 2010, 10:16 PM

BOOO!
707 posts

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q6wv2V5wbOk

check this video out.
TSFindingScreemo
post Feb 24 2010, 05:56 PM

BOOO!
707 posts

im going to my 4th month, still ok.
TSFindingScreemo
post Feb 24 2010, 07:35 PM

BOOO!
707 posts

I'll check if my supplier got this item dy smile.gif

Added on February 24, 2010, 7:36 pm
QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Feb 24 2010, 05:20 PM)
screemo wanna bulk this bag?
http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/product...19&sku=A3460823
very interested.. smile.gif
sure many m11x user also interested.
Its kinda new, don't know if my supplier in the US got hold of it yet or not. Will let ya'll know.

This post has been edited by FindingScreemo: Feb 24 2010, 07:36 PM
TSFindingScreemo
post Feb 25 2010, 12:00 AM

BOOO!
707 posts

QUOTE(michael_liew @ Feb 24 2010, 11:56 PM)
thanks a lot bro for ur kind reply
bt i would also like to ask for ur opinion for dis...
as im nt an expert on computers and that
for me i just know hw 2 play games oni
hahaha
n i heard many bros here saying oc n dis n that...
for me if i buy the m15x
can i just play like a normal laptop without worrying needing to oc this n upgrading dis?
and aslo ... if i buy the m15 nw .. can it support starcraft 2 n diablo 3 ?
i don plan 2 change to another laptop for hopefulyl another 3 yrs...
so jus wanna plan out all my options at dis moment
thanks again dude smile.gif
Yea, don't really need to OC and all those stuff. I think it should last you for 2-3 years, unless you're gonna test out graphically intense games, but if you're just another casual gamer like I am, i think it should be okay.
despite alot of negativity surrounding M15x and core i7, i'm very satisfied with mine. No worries mate, you're on good hands here! blush.gif
TSFindingScreemo
post Feb 25 2010, 12:02 AM

BOOO!
707 posts

haha, we replied almost the same thing!
TSFindingScreemo
post Feb 25 2010, 12:12 AM

BOOO!
707 posts

QUOTE(michael_liew @ Feb 25 2010, 12:06 AM)
FindingScreemo & Michaelbyz23

thanks a lot guys for the feedback

really helps me a lot on choosing the m11x or the m15x

bt if i were to order the m15x
i wont b upgrading anything...
i jus straight buy no customizing except for the mcafee internet security n extended dell warranty
still ok right..?
hahaha
n m15x can change the alienware head n keyboard colour while the m11x cannot rite? jus wanting 2 double make sure since i read page 36 or 35 saying that...

ayway thanks once again

Added on February 25, 2010, 12:10 amno need to buy any cooling pad aslo rite? got inside d hor? cos dell nvr say ..
Not sure bout M11x tho bout the color changing, but M15x, u definitely can do it.
My advice, get the base model with 1gb Gtx 260m, and 500gb, that should be good enough. GTX 240m, waste of money. cool2.gif
Just don't put any objects at the back of the M15x when you're running it at full steam as it will obstruct the hot air from coming out. I'm not using any cooler pads, so far so good! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by FindingScreemo: Feb 25 2010, 12:14 AM

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0347sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:28 PM