Philips HDTV, Philips 9000 LED Pro 40/46PFL9704H
Feb 16 2010, 09:25 PM
4,865 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
i agree with u but if i do get plasma i will only use it for movies. tv n astro will hook up to my lcd
Feb 16 2010, 09:41 PM
1,042 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: Mars |
Feb 17 2010, 09:32 AM
3,858 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
The review for this panel is out.. Its pretty good that there are 224 clusters of LEDs for local dimming compared to the normal 130+ from competitors.
Trusted Reviews Philips 9704 Review Edit : I'm not a big fan of how JohnArcher reviews the displays but this is the only one around for now. Also for those not familiar he is a real fan of Philips. This post has been edited by anfieldude: Feb 17 2010, 09:36 AM |
Feb 17 2010, 09:53 AM
QUOTE(anfieldude @ Feb 17 2010, 09:32 AM) The review for this panel is out.. Its pretty good that there are 224 clusters of LEDs for local dimming compared to the normal 130+ from competitors. Yeah, read that review. Seems that TR has loads of Philips TVs and they usually get quite high scores.Trusted Reviews Philips 9704 Review Edit : I'm not a big fan of how JohnArcher reviews the displays but this is the only one around for now. Also for those not familiar he is a real fan of Philips. |
Feb 17 2010, 10:15 AM
4,390 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: Cheras, Malaysia |
I personally saw Philips panel in Harvey Norman yesterday, I think they are quite impressive and easily beat series 6 and 7 of Samsung's panel.
Just that the price tag is a bit step, their LED LCD cost RM1k more than samsung's counterpart |
Feb 17 2010, 10:27 AM
QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Feb 17 2010, 10:15 AM) I personally saw Philips panel in Harvey Norman yesterday, I think they are quite impressive and easily beat series 6 and 7 of Samsung's panel. Isn't it supposed to rival the Series 8 since they're both local dimming? BTW, which HN you went to?Just that the price tag is a bit step, their LED LCD cost RM1k more than samsung's counterpart |
Feb 17 2010, 10:55 AM
QUOTE(DemonTweakZ @ Feb 17 2010, 10:27 AM) Isn't it supposed to rival the Series 8 since they're both local dimming? BTW, which HN you went to? The Curveseries 8 aint worth the purchase, very expensive.. The 200hz is via software interpolation? haven't heard of any source with that kind of refresh rate.. Planning to visit MV branch if have the time This post has been edited by Sky.Live: Feb 17 2010, 10:55 AM |
Feb 17 2010, 11:38 AM
2,298 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Miri, Sarawak |
Feb 17 2010, 12:38 PM
639 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Feb 17 2010, 10:55 AM) The Curve It's not true 200hz but a combination of true 100hz + scanning backlight (switching on and off the backlight to create the black frame) to simulate the 200hz effect. Similar to Toshiba ZV series but I found it still not as good as those true 200Hz LCD tv but it's a cheaper way to produce the 200hz. Not sure whether Philips will do a better job on this. series 8 aint worth the purchase, very expensive.. The 200hz is via software interpolation? haven't heard of any source with that kind of refresh rate.. Planning to visit MV branch if have the time |
Feb 18 2010, 08:09 AM
218 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(DemonTweakZ @ Feb 17 2010, 10:27 AM) Isn't it supposed to rival the Series 8 since they're both local dimming? BTW, which HN you went to? eh? the LED series 8 is local dimming? i thot it's still edge lighting (as it's as slim as the series 6 & 7)... dun think edge lighting can have local dimming? yes? |
Feb 18 2010, 11:38 AM
Feb 18 2010, 03:38 PM
QUOTE(arremie @ Feb 18 2010, 11:38 AM) That is why I have said before...this are the people who never really enjoy what they are suppose to...the movies and the music. The enjoyed the hardware instead.For me, I don't go looking for minute differences or pause a screen for comparison. I don't do A/B switch just to look for the difference. I enjoy what I have and so far so good. |
Feb 18 2010, 04:11 PM
1,689 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(lightning69 @ Feb 18 2010, 03:38 PM) That is why I have said before...this are the people who never really enjoy what they are suppose to...the movies and the music. The enjoyed the hardware instead. I dont agree with your statement, those who keep changing their hardware are those who have enjoy what they have yesterday n need to try what to have for tomorrow but for u, u only enjoy what u have for yesterday but not tomorrow, in other words people like to try out newer gadget after they have enjoy what they have is already old, but of course u must have the $$$$For me, I don't go looking for minute differences or pause a screen for comparison. I don't do A/B switch just to look for the difference. I enjoy what I have and so far so good. |
Feb 18 2010, 04:19 PM
u definitely don't know my friend ronald
Feb 18 2010, 05:38 PM
QUOTE(Dickong @ Feb 18 2010, 04:11 PM) I dont agree with your statement, those who keep changing their hardware are those who have enjoy what they have yesterday n need to try what to have for tomorrow but for u, u only enjoy what u have for yesterday but not tomorrow, in other words people like to try out newer gadget after they have enjoy what they have is already old, but of course u must have the $$$$ i don't believe that newer hardware are significantly better than the older generation hardware. For instance, a power amp is a power amp...a newer model might have more features but not necessarily better sound. The same can be said about speakers too....Manufacturers keep pumping out new hardware with minor features upgrade so that they can empty your pockets....some features you might never or hardly use. What I have might be yesterday product but it more than stand up against many of the product out there today. This post has been edited by lightning69: Feb 18 2010, 05:42 PM |
Feb 18 2010, 07:00 PM
It's one of the most expensive TV out there, pricing @ 6999 for a 40".
Dont you think it's a bit expensive? I think it is the best looking LED set around right now.. Anyone saw anyplace selling cheaper? |
Feb 19 2010, 09:06 PM
QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Feb 18 2010, 07:00 PM) It's one of the most expensive TV out there, pricing @ 6999 for a 40". That is not to bad. 2 years ago, a 40" normal LCD cost more than that. Now for the same price, you get LED with local dimming.Dont you think it's a bit expensive? I think it is the best looking LED set around right now.. Anyone saw anyplace selling cheaper? |
Feb 19 2010, 10:10 PM
Feb 19 2010, 11:04 PM
Feb 19 2010, 11:59 PM
QUOTE(lightning69 @ Feb 19 2010, 11:04 PM) http://www.cresdo.com/tvsaudioskaraoke/lcd...&page=1&sort=3dSorry I was just following this link on the Philips 9704 pricing. I might be wrong. |
| Change to: | 0.0173sec
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:29 AM |