Where to repair headphones?, Need to repair my headphone cable.

TSBushido
post Feb 11 2010, 03:58 PM, updated 16y ago

75 posts

Hey guys.

I just want to know anywhere/anyone can do recabling and repair for my headphones? I'm currently having this Phillips SHE9550 IEMs.

Just had it for two months and my cat decided to snap it in half, long story. :l

Anyway, i like this headphones alot and i wonder if it's beyond repair?

If it's repairable, who/where can do it? And maybe if i'm able to recable to better cables? Oh and budget less than RM90.

Help needed, thanks biggrin.gif

sep90
post Feb 11 2010, 04:01 PM

2,137 posts

check with pcworks
he 's our cable specialist and headphones cable's recabling master thumbup.gif
TSBushido
post Feb 11 2010, 04:03 PM

75 posts

@sep90: haha yeah. i've spoken to him before. but do you think it's repairable ?
accitzone
post Feb 11 2010, 04:03 PM

399 posts

putus d? Beyond Economic Repair... better buy new 1.
Johan-N
post Feb 11 2010, 04:05 PM

Life is Half Spent Before One knows what life is~
1,186 posts

mine also got problem

Logitech Chillstream gaming headset. Bought it for rm130++

would be a waste if i throw it away.

Mine the cable is not snap or anything. Just sometimes left side no sound. But then when i play wire abit then it will have sound back
TSBushido
post Feb 11 2010, 04:06 PM

75 posts

mine's putus. but it's a waste to just throw away like that without knowing if it's repairable or not.

i bought it from Singapore and its just few months old. :l
Johan-N
post Feb 11 2010, 04:07 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(Bushido @ Feb 11 2010, 04:06 PM)
mine's putus. but it's a waste to just throw away like that without knowing if it's repairable or not.

i bought it from Singapore and its just few months old. :l
so u think pcworks can repair it?
PcWork
post Feb 11 2010, 04:08 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

it can be repair.
but the workmanship charge will be as high as other earphone as the work that to be done will be the same to get it fix.
unless u willing to spend RM 60-70 to get it replaced with new cable. else better buy a new one.
and teach ur cat.. this is not food..

TSBushido
post Feb 11 2010, 04:09 PM

75 posts

@PCwork: i've just PM-ed you LOL.

but anyway RM60-RM70 are those normal cables or better cables? If it's better cables then i dont mind spending to fix it.
Johan-N
post Feb 11 2010, 04:09 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(PcWork @ Feb 11 2010, 04:08 PM)
it can be repair.
but the workmanship charge will be as high as other earphone as the work that to be done will be the same to get it fix.
unless u willing to spend RM 60-70 to get it replaced with new cable. else better buy a new one.
how about mine?

wire not putus but just sometimes left side no sound and have to go play with the wire
accitzone
post Feb 11 2010, 04:12 PM

399 posts

it can be repair.
tht's why it's called BER, Beyond Economic Repair..
PcWork
post Feb 11 2010, 04:19 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(Bushido @ Feb 11 2010, 04:09 PM)
@PCwork: i've just PM-ed you LOL.

but anyway RM60-RM70 are those normal cables or better cables? If it's better cables then i dont mind spending to fix it.
normal cable
ur earphone can't fit really big cable. that's why not much choice.
and if u seriously want good cable. i have silver cable that can fit into it.
estimated repair cost will be at least RM 300 for it.

QUOTE(Johan-N @ Feb 11 2010, 04:09 PM)
how about mine?

wire not putus but just sometimes left side no sound and have to go play with the wire
it is putus inside.. =)

QUOTE(accitzone @ Feb 11 2010, 04:12 PM)
tht's why it's called BER, Beyond Economic Repair..
you are right ..! =)
TSBushido
post Feb 11 2010, 04:20 PM

75 posts

@PCWork: wow RM300. x.x i might as well get something higher end ahaha.

Well thanks guys ! Guess i'll get back the same one. :l
terradrive
post Feb 11 2010, 05:37 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

How much did you buy this philips? You might want to check other alternatives since alot nice ones released into the market recently.
TSBushido
post Feb 11 2010, 05:43 PM

75 posts

i've got this for RM91 @ lowyat
Johan-N
post Feb 11 2010, 05:44 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(Bushido @ Feb 11 2010, 05:43 PM)
i've got this for RM91 @ lowyat
then might as well u get a new one... tongue.gif

TSBushido
post Feb 11 2010, 05:46 PM

75 posts

Yeah that's why tongue.gif
terradrive
post Feb 11 2010, 05:58 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

Or why not just take out the naked wire of the cables and solder them directly, make sure the nodes are correct though. Sound quality might not be as great but it can be given as a gift to anyone lol, better than throwing it away.
TSBushido
post Feb 11 2010, 06:00 PM

75 posts

i'll see what i can do with it. i suck at soldering tongue.gif
rafazafar
post Mar 22 2010, 05:16 PM

93 posts

how come its hard to contact pcwork? XD
Trying to get a recable. Any tips on how to ge thold of him?
tried pm-ing him, but 3 days dy no reply.
g3n0c1d3
post Mar 22 2010, 05:33 PM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

QUOTE(rafazafar @ Mar 22 2010, 05:16 PM)
how come its hard to contact pcwork? XD
Trying to get a recable. Any tips on how to ge thold of him?
tried pm-ing him, but 3 days dy no reply.
he's a bit busy i think...
DaEMoNteNTAcLe
post Mar 22 2010, 05:50 PM

~ w00d!!! ~
2,825 posts

i'd say if u need to get a hold of him u need to wait for his time.. i believe he's doing his PhD.. and believe me that takes a lot of time.. i did helped a friend of mind doing his.. trust me.. mmg tak cukup tangan.. lagi got ppl over here bugging him every day..
moniqee
post Mar 22 2010, 06:45 PM

7,864 posts

lol... yeah i heard over Enigmatic bulk that he's stopping doing recabling for ksc75 at the moment... coz in his hands also havent finish...

=) if u cant wait... then look for other ppl..
PcWork
post Mar 23 2010, 10:58 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(DaEMoNteNTAcLe @ Mar 22 2010, 05:50 PM)
i'd say if u need to get a hold of him u need to wait for his time.. i believe he's doing his PhD.. and believe me that takes a lot of time.. i did helped a friend of mind doing his.. trust me.. mmg tak cukup tangan.. lagi got ppl over here bugging him every day..
yeah
sorry
not feeling well past a 2 weeks
and i still have to continue my lab works. and report. everythings need to rush
and i have ksc75 to recable yet.
not only tak cukup tangan. i virtually has no sleep for last week. that's why i fall sick.. =(
sorry. i will on hold all recable business until i clear off the ksc75 on my hand first.
still a few to go...before i ship all of them out.

DaEMoNteNTAcLe
post Mar 23 2010, 11:09 AM

~ w00d!!! ~
2,825 posts

QUOTE(PcWork @ Mar 23 2010, 10:58 AM)
yeah
sorry
not feeling well past a 2 weeks
and i still have to continue my lab works. and report. everythings need to rush
and i have ksc75 to recable yet.
not only tak cukup tangan. i virtually has no sleep for last week. that's why i fall sick.. =(
sorry. i will on hold all recable business until i clear off the ksc75 on my hand first.
still a few  to go...before i ship all of them out.
get well soon..
hopefully later when ur free then i can take some of ur time to test out those adapters.. and possibly get a recabled koss myself.. smile.gif
Hitman66
post Mar 23 2010, 11:19 AM

Wow COD clone f**k blizzard
707 posts

ouch...

Hope you get better soon PcWork sad.gif
Yuki Ijuin
post Mar 23 2010, 01:37 PM

I just lurk nowadays.
649 posts

Hiya, my SR-60s having intermittent problems on the left can. Putus inside, I'm sure.

How much will it be for recabling it? Just normal wires. I don't need special reinforced ones anymore cause my family isn't going to bring it out for trips.
PcWork
post Mar 23 2010, 02:55 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(Yuki Ijuin @ Mar 23 2010, 01:37 PM)
Hiya, my SR-60s having intermittent problems on the left can. Putus inside, I'm sure.

How much will it be for recabling it? Just normal wires. I don't need special reinforced ones anymore cause my family isn't going to bring it out for trips.
i only have one type of cable for SR60.
recable is RM 150

but currently i am not taking order yet. a bit busy
maybe after 1@ 2 weeks .

Yuki Ijuin
post Mar 23 2010, 03:16 PM

I just lurk nowadays.
649 posts

When my brother confirm I shall let you know PcWork, prolly in a month's time, problem isn't so bad that the cans are unusable, so he can wait.
Hitman66
post Mar 23 2010, 03:26 PM

707 posts

This is the recabled SR60 will look like

DaEMoNteNTAcLe
post Mar 23 2010, 04:06 PM

~ w00d!!! ~
2,825 posts

comelnye... i want MikuMiku~~!!!!
Yuki Ijuin
post Mar 23 2010, 04:11 PM

I just lurk nowadays.
649 posts

FFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUU MIKU PLUSHIE. <3<3<3

Problem is money only, my family no one believes in spending more than a few hundred for audio stuff.
Hitman66
post Mar 23 2010, 04:32 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(Yuki Ijuin @ Mar 23 2010, 05:11 PM)
FFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUU MIKU PLUSHIE. <3<3<3

Problem is money only, my family no one believes in spending more than a few hundred for audio stuff.
Not only the cable managed to raise the SQ of your grado but the cable itself is very durable as well.The only problem is that the cable is abit stiff compared to the stock ones.Not to mention it's pretty heavy as well hmm.gif

QUOTE(DaEMoNteNTAcLe)

Go buy la brows.gif
rafazafar
post Mar 23 2010, 09:56 PM

93 posts

hope you get well soon happy.gif ..
forum feeling bit empty dy.. haha
PcWork
post Mar 23 2010, 10:02 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(Hitman66 @ Mar 23 2010, 03:26 PM)
This is the recabled SR60 will look like

NICE HEADPHONE STAND EH...

QUOTE(rafazafar @ Mar 23 2010, 09:56 PM)
hope you get well soon happy.gif ..
forum feeling bit empty dy.. haha
lol
i learn to control temper..haha
that's why lesser spicy thread now a days. lol
too busy with studies..

shadowshine
post Mar 23 2010, 10:09 PM

302 posts

How the recabled SR60 sound? smile.gif
Yuki Ijuin
post Mar 23 2010, 11:07 PM

I just lurk nowadays.
649 posts

Hitman: I switch to home use dy, sharing with brother and father. So heavier nevermind dy lu. Last time I used to carry it around in my hippocase and listen to it on the way back from work. I look super out of place in the bus and all. XD
DaEMoNteNTAcLe
post Mar 24 2010, 12:27 AM

~ w00d!!! ~
2,825 posts

QUOTE(Hitman66 @ Mar 23 2010, 04:32 PM)
Not only the cable managed to raise the SQ of your grado but the cable itself is very durable as well.The only problem is that the cable is abit stiff compared to the stock ones.Not to mention it's pretty heavy as well hmm.gif

QUOTE(DaEMoNteNTAcLe)

Go buy la brows.gif
if i know where got sure buy wan..
Hitman66
post Mar 24 2010, 12:51 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(PcWork @ Mar 23 2010, 11:02 PM)
NICE HEADPHONE STAND EH...
Lol have to buy another stand then.Satu mana cukup brows.gif

QUOTE(shadowshine @ Mar 23 2010, 11:09 PM)
How the recabled SR60 sound? smile.gif
Quite similar to Koss KSC75 but with bigger soundstage.PcWork last time also notice that when he listen to it straight after he finishes recabling it.

QUOTE(Yuki Ijuin @ Mar 24 2010, 12:07 AM)
Hitman: I switch to home use dy, sharing with brother and father. So heavier nevermind dy lu. Last time I used to carry it around in my hippocase and listen to it on the way back from work. I look super out of place in the bus and all. XD
If that's the case then shouldn't be much problem for you to recable it.The weight of the cable is enough to move my amp from it original position I tell ya. sweat.gif

QUOTE(DaEMoNteNTAcLe @ Mar 24 2010, 01:27 AM)
if i know where got sure buy wan..
Why didn't ask sooner brows.gif

http://www.amiami.com/shop/?set=english&vg.../e_display.html

Got plenty of them currently.Grab it while it still there.
DaEMoNteNTAcLe
post Mar 24 2010, 01:07 AM

~ w00d!!! ~
2,825 posts

QUOTE(Hitman66 @ Mar 24 2010, 12:51 AM)

Why didn't ask sooner brows.gif

http://www.amiami.com/shop/?set=english&vg.../e_display.html

Got plenty of them currently.Grab it while it still there.
alamak.. how to buy there?
hmm... megurine fluffy tadak ka..?
Hitman66
post Mar 24 2010, 01:18 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(DaEMoNteNTAcLe @ Mar 24 2010, 02:07 AM)
alamak.. how to buy there?
hmm... megurine fluffy tadak ka..?
Can find here

http://www.play-asia.com/paOS-13-71-91-49-...ka-70-3rvx.html

Usually just pay using paypal enough dy flex.gif
PcWork
post Mar 24 2010, 01:36 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(Hitman66 @ Mar 24 2010, 12:51 AM)

Quite similar to Koss KSC75 but with bigger soundstage.PcWork last time also notice that when he listen to it straight after he finishes recabling it.

u have secret amp?
if got
plug it in..
then it no longer sounds like ksc75..lol

anyway
what i mean is. character of the sound. is similar
but SR60 has much better weight / density of the sound.
everythings sound much more solids.
particulary much better bass slam..

Yuki Ijuin
post Mar 24 2010, 02:36 AM

I just lurk nowadays.
649 posts

I should prolly invest in an amp that I can use on my PC's output after doing the recabling. I still love my 60s very very much. <3
rafazafar
post Mar 24 2010, 11:34 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(Hitman66 @ Mar 24 2010, 01:18 AM)
Can find here

http://www.play-asia.com/paOS-13-71-91-49-...ka-70-3rvx.html

Usually just pay using paypal enough dy flex.gif
waaa nendroid.. haha.
havent seen them around for a while.. rclxms.gif

moniqee
post Mar 24 2010, 12:01 PM

7,864 posts

lol... now here pulak plush toy...
DaEMoNteNTAcLe
post Mar 24 2010, 12:09 PM

~ w00d!!! ~
2,825 posts

QUOTE(rafazafar @ Mar 24 2010, 11:34 AM)
waaa  nendroid.. haha.
havent seen them around for a while..  rclxms.gif
QUOTE(moniqee @ Mar 24 2010, 12:01 PM)
lol... now here pulak plush toy...
no worries.. it's a 'headphone stand' so still in topics.. biggrin.gif
ah.. dont have paypal.. so.. sad.. cry.gif

This post has been edited by DaEMoNteNTAcLe: Mar 24 2010, 12:14 PM
moniqee
post Mar 24 2010, 12:26 PM

7,864 posts

x paypal? create one lor... =)
Hitman66
post Mar 24 2010, 01:46 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(PcWork @ Mar 24 2010, 02:36 AM)
u have secret amp?
if got
plug it in..
then it no longer sounds like ksc75..lol

anyway
what i mean is. character of the sound. is similar
but SR60 has much better weight / density of the sound.
everythings sound much more solids.
particulary much better bass slam..
Well I compared it with your recabled ver. of KSC75.So far it's pretty much similar to me.

I changed the SR60's foam recently and from there the SR60 sounds better then KSC75 overall.

QUOTE(Yuki Ijuin @ Mar 24 2010, 03:36 AM)
I should prolly invest in an amp that I can use on my PC's output after doing the recabling. I still love my 60s very very much. <3
Having a new DAC would be better IMHO since grado didn't need much amplification which is the same case with audio technica headphones.
Yuki Ijuin
post Mar 24 2010, 02:37 PM

I just lurk nowadays.
649 posts

DAC... Will check around.

Sad lar, my list so unachievable in the near future.

Repair SR60s, New Foampads - 200
A good pair of IEMs - 100 to 200
Then only come to enhancing my Compy's sound output.

DaEMoNteNTAcLe
post Mar 24 2010, 02:46 PM

~ w00d!!! ~
2,825 posts

QUOTE(Yuki Ijuin @ Mar 24 2010, 02:37 PM)
DAC... Will check around.

Sad lar, my list so unachievable in the near future.

Repair SR60s, New Foampads - 200
A good pair of IEMs - 100 to 200
Then only come to enhancing my Compy's sound output.
i'd say spare about 200-300 for a good pair of iems.. laugh.gif
moniqee
post Mar 24 2010, 06:51 PM

7,864 posts

@Yuki Ijuin - u can ask DaEMoNteNTAcLe to sell u his sp1...
rafazafar
post Mar 24 2010, 07:27 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(DaEMoNteNTAcLe @ Mar 24 2010, 12:09 PM)
no worries.. it's a 'headphone stand' so still in topics.. biggrin.gif
ah.. dont have paypal.. so.. sad..  cry.gif
hahaha...

lol.. rclxms.gif

anyone know a decent usb dac?

Yuki Ijuin
post Mar 26 2010, 09:57 PM

I just lurk nowadays.
649 posts

Right now no money to pay for anything. Already queued up for a pair of KSC75 though, the IEMs will have to wait a bit as I memang don't like the sound of all of 'em that I audition before (Mostly cheap sony ones.) Feel like want to Audition Bijou but friend live very far away, then want to try out some Fischers also dunno where to find. D:

PCWork if you're still around how much for the KSC75 recable ar? Can recable directly with you from Enigma's bulk anot?
moniqee
post Mar 27 2010, 05:06 PM

7,864 posts

Bijou ar? u can audition at yuheng there... ( subang jaya area )
DaEMoNteNTAcLe
post Mar 27 2010, 06:45 PM

~ w00d!!! ~
2,825 posts

i bring my eterna nearly everywhere.. u can try it out if i happend to be arnd
yonggoh
post Apr 21 2010, 07:13 PM

1,314 posts

This inquiry is on behalf my friend..

He was working out today with his IEMS and he reckons the sweat has made the right side stop working...

His IEM is the 1st generation of UE triple.fi.10 (OUUCCCHH!!!!)

He is giving it hair drying treatment right this very moment but it's looking rather bleak..

He was wondering if anyone provides repair services for the UEs?
or perhaps can point me to someone who does... would be a shame to see these things R.I.P

jammerlee711
post Apr 21 2010, 07:50 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(Bushido @ Feb 11 2010, 06:00 PM)
i'll see what i can do with it. i suck at soldering tongue.gif
me too...i hv a sony mdr-ex35 and a mdr-ex82 waiting for me to revive them leh
but i'm vry *LOL* in this field.. pcwork can u show me which wire connect to which place and how to get rid of the wax/paint on the cable?
...thank eu~
xenohawk
post Apr 21 2010, 08:07 PM

991 posts

QUOTE(rafazafar @ Mar 24 2010, 07:27 PM)
hahaha...

lol..  rclxms.gif

anyone know a decent usb dac?
Can try Nuforce uDac at USD$99. I wanted to get one but a bit overspend already this month.. need to cool down for a while.
joeboto
post Jul 23 2010, 07:52 AM

insert title
913 posts

hai all,
sorry bump old topic.

so i got this koss portapro, and the cable very close to the jack is problematic. have to play play the wire near that area to get it work.

the question is:
1) how much RM to recable all the wires to a tougher one?
2) can i repair it myself? can anyone provide a link, or guide somewhere. (note that i have a very poor soldering skills)
3) i've googled about this koss lifetime warranty. the closest distributor i've found is in singapore. is it worth it to send it back or should i just DIY?

thanks. smile.gif
lordev
post Jun 4 2014, 03:15 PM

20 posts

How much if I want to recable my Razer Orca?
firaz93
post Dec 4 2015, 08:38 PM

34 posts

Is this thread still on? If it is, I just wanna ask if it is possible to repair my beyerdynamic custom one pro, the bass kinda suddenly GONE.
Meowologist
post Feb 25 2016, 12:25 PM

Does anyone here know where to repair a wireless headphone? One side is louder than the other
kokw3i
post Jun 30 2016, 01:43 PM

Hi all, I have a LG HBS 900 headset. The right earbud is not working, I found the cable inside is broken. Does anyone know who can offer a repair for it, and around how much will it cost? Thanks.
My contact number. 016 313 3883
Jairul
post Dec 23 2016, 01:21 AM

it can be repair.
Hello, my jble40bt left drivers sometimes works and sometimes doesn't.. it suddenly stop producing sound when using it which is so annoying.. I suspect the cable loose or putus.. can it be fixed? And how much will it cost? Plis reply soon and thnks in advance
imiahusghost
post Feb 23 2017, 01:28 PM

Hey, is this still exist?
Need to recable my AIAIAI TMA-1

woodiewo
post Jan 9 2023, 03:24 PM

18 posts

Hi bro,
Can you help me repair my sennheiser momentum wired ear phone ? It’s the drive cable putus. Very tiny cable.

0.0315sec    0.90    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:49 PM