Me want english sub for JP ver.
Me will buy
The Last Story (Wii), new rpg from the father of final fantasy
Jan 28 2011, 10:39 AM
7,740 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Some Yih |
Me want english sub for JP ver.
Me will buy |
Jan 31 2011, 10:52 PM
95 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: Gongaga |
anyone play the game liao?? Nice? Epic onot?
Feb 3 2011, 12:40 PM
90 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
i'm current only at Chapter 16 so these impressions are based on what i have played and not the complete story mode. (have yet to test the online multiplayer)
pros - refreshing battle system. can choose to play with different strategies and will benefit when you battle excellently (i see better item drops from enemies) and it's cooler too if you finish off enemies with style and precision - i find myself WANTING to retry each time i finish a battle just to see if i can do better ! - customizable colours on different parts of armour AND it shows accordingly in cutscenes. cool for those who do video capturing me thinks. cons - no FULL manual camera control using wii remote+nunchuk (there is with Classic Controller). but pressing the B button to Guard and switch between enemies is sort of a workaround - quite story oriented (read: Cutscenes) but there's a button to fast forward when required. this will be good for subsequent playthroughs and to quickly retry a battle to see if u can do better. - no side quest log ... i can't remember what i triggered or haven't done ! in the middle: - story is not overly new or surprising but fortunately the emotion is quite well presented (especially between Elza and Kanan) - progression may feel linear at times bcos there isn't same level of exploration like older JPRGs (but this isn't really such a game anyway) ... but this can be a good thing if you like the battle system as it brings the action faster - graphics and frame-rate at a few spots could be better but nothing that will spoil the gameplay - there are sidequest but not those with epic proportions type (if u get what i mean). i will write a better review when i finish it. will be away from home for CNY holidays QUOTE(lilko @ Jan 31 2011, 10:52 PM) This post has been edited by yangkuo: Feb 3 2011, 01:05 PM |
Feb 3 2011, 10:37 PM
153 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
QUOTE(lilko @ Jan 31 2011, 10:52 PM) Thanks to CNY holidays, I'm at epilogue chapter, after fighting the last boss in chapter 40. The epilogue is playable and you have to re-visit all places to trigger different event and conclude the story for certain characters.Story wise, it's a typical knight story deciding what is right or wrong, similar to Tales of Vesperia but add in a bit mystical legend stuff. The story is simple and you can figure out who is the bad guy or who will get tragic incident early in the game. Not as good as FF6/7 though. Battle system is like quite over done "Rojak". Imagine Final Fantasy + Metal Gear Solid + Gears of War + Metroid Other M + Xenoblade. What do you get? You can lean toward walls while exploring dungeon the Metal Gear Solid style and attack your enemy while they don't see you. You can also hide behind a brick/wall/pillar to avoid enemy attack, Gears of War style. You can also switch to first person view mode to look for enemy weakness or attack with arrow, the Metroid Other M style. Character will start physical attack automatically once you move near an enemy, the Xenoblade style. You can control your character and other team member to cast magic or other skill attack, since some of the enemy is only vulnerable to certain magic element. Each boss fight involved finding the their weakness, exploit it and thinking of a way to avoid enemy attack, similar to Metroid Other M. In other word, the battle system is quite complex, there are other things like equipment upgrade, combining magic attack and tension skill. It will take you quite some time before you are familiar with them. Once you can use them effectively, shouldn't have much problem with the boss, before that you'll be seeing a lot of game over screen. It's a hit or miss, depending on your preference. You'll need to play it in order to know it It is better than Blue Dragon & Lost Odyssey, just that they've pack too much idea in the game. It is also definitely better than FF13, despite of not so good looking graphics. I was playing FF13 on Xbox before this, then I rather quit FF13 and play this game instead. For me, it is quite fun to figure out what strategy to use in each boss fight. Some of them can be frustrating and you'll be seeing a lot game over screen, but it'll take some thinking. Going to continue with the epilogue now, don't know how long it'll take to finish it, since I've already spent 26-27 hours to get pass the last boss at chapter 40, but I wonder if it is really the last boss, since the epilogue still involved battle... |
Feb 3 2011, 11:50 PM
just to add, there is an option to turn Attack style to Manual for those who prefer so but then the button for Dive (moving in/out of cover and rolling ) is changed too.
QUOTE(OrangeStreet @ Feb 3 2011, 10:37 PM) ... This post has been edited by yangkuo: Feb 3 2011, 11:51 PMBattle system is like quite over done "Rojak". Imagine Final Fantasy + Metal Gear Solid + Gears of War + Metroid Other M + Xenoblade. What do you get? You can lean toward walls while exploring dungeon the Metal Gear Solid style and attack your enemy while they don't see you. You can also hide behind a brick/wall/pillar to avoid enemy attack, Gears of War style. You can also switch to first person view mode to look for enemy weakness or attack with arrow, the Metroid Other M style. Character will start physical attack automatically once you move near an enemy, the Xenoblade style. You can control your character and other team member to cast magic or other skill attack, since some of the enemy is only vulnerable to certain magic element. Each boss fight involved finding the their weakness, exploit it and thinking of a way to avoid enemy attack, similar to Metroid Other M. --- |
Feb 6 2011, 10:37 PM
153 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
Finally completed the game. Total 44 chapters, not sure if I've missed anything but chapter 42 & 43 is optional and can be skipped accidentally. These 2 chapters are not worth skipping if you've spent around 30 hours into the game. All in all, not too bad. It's not epic either, but worth to play.
Feb 11 2011, 12:06 PM
I decided to go ahead with JP version...
I found myself not wanting to use Command mode.. focusing all at Elza gathering and gatheringburst This post has been edited by pikacu: Feb 11 2011, 03:30 PM |
Mar 2 2011, 10:21 AM
Finished The Last Story...I skipped Chapter 2x and Chapter 43 iianm.
Story line...very nice but not that epic yet, predictable thou. Totally satisfy with TLS....but but but....I want to know more about White Tiger... spoiler : » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by pikacu: Mar 2 2011, 10:00 PM |
Mar 2 2011, 10:04 PM
The Last Story OST released : http://www.youtube.com/view_play_list?p=3C06E57B257F576D
Invitation to Darkness My fav ...during chapter 40 : |
Jun 30 2011, 03:40 PM
The Last Story confirmed for 2012 release in EU : http://www.nintendoworldreport.com/news/26966
Jun 30 2011, 04:12 PM
1,450 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: KK |
QUOTE(pikacu @ Jun 30 2011, 03:40 PM) 2012.. |
Jul 4 2011, 01:58 PM
Feb 23 2012, 10:05 AM
Reggie finally announced that "The Last Story" will be released in Americas this year. Localization will be handled by XSEED Games.
announcement made in the Nintendo Direct live stream for US. QUOTE(pikacu @ Jul 4 2011, 01:58 PM) |
Feb 23 2012, 10:06 AM
QUOTE(yangkuo @ Feb 23 2012, 10:05 AM) Reggie finally announced that "The Last Story" will be released in Americas this year. Localization will be handled by XSEED Games. woah, this is good news! hopefully with additional content in Dual layer DVD distribution!announcement made in the Nintendo Direct live stream for US. |
Feb 23 2012, 10:28 AM
PO'ed mine from HMV
Surprised PA is also selling PAL version of this game, but they only have the regular edition. |
Feb 23 2012, 10:42 AM
112 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
Feb 23 2012, 10:46 AM
Yes, Wii only
Feb 23 2012, 11:20 AM
748 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
wii is alive. two more rpg title to go
Feb 23 2012, 11:32 AM
contrary to how it's commonly reported Pandora's Tower is not what i would call a JRPG.
overall gameplay of that is more like an action game (think Devil May Cry) with minor RPG level up elements. and a little dating sim gameplay elements ... sorry if i assumed wrongly about the 2 more RPG titles. This post has been edited by yangkuo: Feb 23 2012, 11:33 AM |
Feb 23 2012, 12:16 PM
I think he meant The Last Story as well as Xenoblade as this is another RPG that hasn't seen a US release.
| Change to: | 0.0210sec
5 queries
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:37 AM |