77 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Engineering Simple Guide to Engineering, Read here first before posting new topic

yixuany
post Feb 9 2010, 11:35 PM

53 posts

@FinFin and @scholy same dilemma here too. =(
i'm interested in maths and physics,i like understanding,analyzing and problem solving rather than memorizing facts. this kinda points to engineering right?
tho i'm not sure if i'll enjoy a career as an engineer? so i would really love to hear ur thoughts bout this...

This post has been edited by yixuany: Feb 10 2010, 12:24 AM
nanogen
post Feb 10 2010, 12:06 AM

188 posts

Hi folks...

I a doing Electrical and Electronic Engineering in the final year final sem (3 more months to graduation)

feel free to ask me anything in EE and i will try my bes to help out..

nice to meet all the (current/future) engineers
deShinyDevil
post Feb 10 2010, 12:58 AM

907 posts

QUOTE(nanogen @ Feb 10 2010, 12:06 AM)
Hi folks...

I a doing Electrical and Electronic Engineering in the final year final sem (3 more months to graduation)

feel free to ask me anything in EE and i will try my bes to help out..

nice to meet all the (current/future) engineers
where will u graduate from? i have a problem about the BEM qualification thing here.
zim_civil
post Feb 10 2010, 01:00 AM

93 posts

what the most reliable engineering field eh? hmm.gif
nanogen
post Feb 11 2010, 02:15 AM

188 posts

HI deShinyDevil

I actually studing my final sem in KBU coll..

what is the thing that troubles you regarding the BEM?

Added on February 11, 2010, 2:16 am
QUOTE(zim_civil @ Feb 10 2010, 01:00 AM)
reliable as in???

This post has been edited by nanogen: Feb 11 2010, 02:16 AM
dreamer101
post Feb 11 2010, 10:10 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(zim_civil @ Feb 10 2010, 01:00 AM)
zim_civil,

If you are asking this kind of question, stay away from engineering. You should not be an engineer.

Dreamer
lugiamcg
post Feb 11 2010, 03:13 PM

640 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Feb 11 2010, 10:10 AM)
zim_civil,

If you are asking this kind of question, stay away from engineering.  You should not be an engineer.

Dreamer
i definitely agree with u =D
deShinyDevil
post Feb 11 2010, 09:24 PM

907 posts

QUOTE(nanogen @ Feb 11 2010, 02:15 AM)
HI deShinyDevil

I actually studing my final sem in KBU coll..

what is the thing that troubles you regarding the BEM?

Added on February 11, 2010, 2:16 am

reliable as in???
uh, first i wanted to enrol in TARC at E&E, but thru the members in TARC thread, they said TARC E&E course is not accredited or qualified by BEM. so it make me a little bit concerns. any advice? thnx
BillySteel
post Feb 12 2010, 01:06 AM

661 posts

Ok just a little advice if you want career guidance in engineering please state something you like or attracts you or pique's your interest.

Common traits such as like maths,physics, like solving problem etc etc... don't help us or you.

One thing I learned from engineering is that you gotta love to learn...even stuff that you hate and look at it positively as extra knowledge.

If you think engineers don't rake in money and the taught of after i spend XXX ammount of money for something I love and cant afford living expenses in the future think again;
1)If you like your work, you excel in it,then you rise = money doing something you love
2)If you lucky enough to know which field of engineering can rake in the good bucks and dont mind sacrifices it is possible for you to be earning comfortably, hint*ex:O&G *
3)Good designers earn a lot if their product is the next it

Also I would recommend watching TED talks on youtube.
http://www.youtube.com/user/tedtalksdirector?blend=1&ob=4
nanogen
post Feb 12 2010, 01:55 AM

188 posts

QUOTE(deShinyDevil @ Feb 11 2010, 09:24 PM)
uh, first i wanted to enrol in TARC at E&E, but thru the members in TARC thread, they said TARC E&E course is not accredited or qualified by BEM. so it make me a little bit concerns. any advice? thnx
If you are doing EE, i dont think the accreditation of BEM is that important (relatively) compared to civil eng.
The most important accreditation you should be paying attention is MQA. I have heard of EE graduates from tarc still manage to find job in malaysia as well as singapore.

The qualification of BEM is for the professional status only such as CEng (charted Engineer) and if you are not aiming for CEng that it should not concern you.
Since most of the EE engineers in the market do not have the status and yet still surviving.

In addition, most of the EE course in the private colleges (especially twinning with UK university) is not accredited by BEM either because they only offer 3 years honour degree.
(BEM requirement needs 4 years of degree studies)

To fulfill this requirement, some uk uni come out with EE course know as MEng which is a 4 years degree course.
(MEng is Masters in Engineering but it is considered as undergraduate studies, not post grad).

So it really depends on how heavy you weight the accreditation from BEM.

I personally dont really care about it actually, so do my seniors.

(pls correct me if i m wrong in this matter)
deShinyDevil
post Feb 12 2010, 09:02 PM

907 posts

QUOTE(nanogen @ Feb 12 2010, 01:55 AM)
If you are doing EE, i dont think the accreditation of BEM is that important (relatively) compared to civil eng.
The most important accreditation you should be paying attention is MQA. I have heard of EE graduates from tarc still manage to find job in malaysia as well as singapore.

The qualification of BEM is for the professional status only such as CEng (charted Engineer) and if you are not aiming for CEng that it should not concern you.
Since most of the EE engineers in the market do not have the status and yet still surviving.

In addition, most of the EE course in the private colleges (especially twinning with UK university) is not accredited by BEM either because they only offer 3 years honour degree.
(BEM requirement needs 4 years of degree studies)

To fulfill this requirement, some uk uni come out with EE course know as MEng which is a 4 years degree course.
(MEng is Masters in Engineering but it is considered as undergraduate studies, not post grad).

So it really depends on how heavy you weight the accreditation from BEM.

I personally dont really care about it actually, so do my seniors.

oic. thnx for ur opinion.
blazexak
post Feb 26 2010, 11:16 AM

36 posts

Hi everyone smile.gif I just obtained my STPM results yesterday, i get a A- for my physics and PA respectively and B+ for my

math and chemistry respectively. Im thinking of venture into Aerospace Engineering. I do have interest in Maths and

Physic since my secondary school. I think is because of i did better in science subjects. Im wondering am i suitable for

this field??? hmm.gif Anybody taking aerospace engineering degree out there? can gimme some of your view??????/

This post has been edited by blazexak: Feb 26 2010, 05:27 PM
stinger82
post Feb 26 2010, 03:55 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(nanogen @ Feb 12 2010, 01:55 AM)

this is true. The IR title doesnt make much difference, unless you really wanted it, but to be frank, only in civil eng matters most, as you'll need an IR to sign off the project, like the master plan of a whole housing estate( correct me if i'm wrong, but thats more or less the whole idea) while for EE, even if you're a designer, the title Professional engineer doesnt mean anything, to be frank out of my 4 years in EE field(MFG field), i only saw one engineer bears an IR title, and this guy is in SMT.

(Sorry for the abbre up there). MFG Field= factory, SMT= ( surface mount tech , go google)

Added on February 26, 2010, 4:02 pmEngineering is good, tough, everyyear about mathematics. if you suck in maths, you need to spend more time every year in studying it, but no worries, you can make it. anyone from 4-10 A in SPM can handle it, and you can find a job, and you can even find a job in non engineering field.

You can go Banking, IT, finance, or whatever field you wish ( other than medicine,pharmacy) this is some advantage la, but spent like 100k in a 5 years course, this is a little benefit that we get smile.gif

some background of me, Local Private uni, EE, 4 years working in EE industry.

pay ok lo. but , nothing fancy. working hour, you're an engineer, so they expect the best of out you.

Just like doctor, you dont complain long working hour ( depends on which company, really)

they expect the best out of you, if you love to complain, well, i wonder how you finish the engineering course.

and now, engineering field is booming again in the northern part, job is never a problem, just where you wanted it, and to be frank, first job is the hardest, after that, no problem.

Just make sure where you really wanted to start your career, if its singapore, keep trying, dun give up just because you sit in the house jobless for 3 months, so you give in for a job in kl or pg.

Engineering ,you'll get a job sooner or later, but sooner doesnt mean its better. Right place and right career is the most important thing.

First year salary less than 3k, but look out for travel opportunity and training, after a few years, your pay will increase very fast.

Annual increment is not bad too, roughly 10%

This post has been edited by stinger82: Feb 26 2010, 04:02 PM
TSGeminist
post Feb 26 2010, 09:08 PM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

QUOTE(blazexak @ Feb 26 2010, 03:16 AM)
Hi everyone smile.gif  I just obtained my STPM results yesterday, i get a A- for my physics and PA respectively and B+ for my

math and chemistry respectively. Im thinking of venture into Aerospace Engineering. I do have interest in Maths and

Physic since my secondary school. I think is because of i did better in science subjects. Im wondering am i suitable for

this field???  hmm.gif Anybody taking aerospace engineering degree out there? can gimme some of your view??????/
What do you want to be after you finished your degree?

This post has been edited by Geminist: Feb 26 2010, 09:09 PM
deShinyDevil
post Feb 26 2010, 10:45 PM

907 posts

QUOTE(stinger82 @ Feb 26 2010, 03:55 PM)
this is true. The IR title doesnt make much difference, unless you really wanted it, but to be frank, only in civil eng matters most, as you'll need an IR to sign off the project, like the master plan of a whole housing estate( correct me if i'm wrong, but thats more or less the whole idea) while for EE, even if you're a designer, the title Professional engineer doesnt mean anything, to be frank out of my 4 years in EE field(MFG field), i only saw one engineer bears an IR title, and this guy is in SMT.

(Sorry for the abbre up there).  MFG Field= factory, SMT= ( surface mount tech , go google)

Added on February 26, 2010, 4:02 pm

if i want to enroll in tarc in electronic engineering, any comment from u? and what is meant by IR title?
wgn_white
post Feb 27 2010, 09:30 AM

200 posts

I am is this person.

- You like taking things apart, i.e. you like to understand how things work etc.
I open my things, radio, laptop, electric guitar and put them back together just for the sake to see what's inside.

- You find solving a problem exciting and you can spend hours trying to solve a problem.
Yes, I like CONAN especially.

- You enjoy learning, you always try to learn about new things and are always curious.
Yes, new subject is C++ and I am very interested in it.

- You have an interest in science based subjects, like math, physics etc
Yes, I love physics, electric and electronic.

- You like getting hands on and wouldn’t mind getting your hands dirty
Don't understand.

and

- I like engineering but I hate math and I am not interested in a dynamic, ever changing environment
I DON'T LIKE ENGINEERING MATH! I don't like to learn it, and I don't want to do the homework! Because of that I almost fail this subject! If I was forced to study I can pass with flying colors, meaning it's not my intellectual was challenge, but because I LAZE(HATE) to learn it.

Ironicly, I like commerce math where something about money makes me drool.gif

- I can’t even be bothered to Google the main branches of engineering so I’ll just post in the forum asking people about what is [insert] engineering subject
All I know I am in Civil and Construction Engineering... But I want to be an architect... am I in the right path?

Anyone? notworthy.gif
stinger82
post Feb 27 2010, 09:57 AM

288 posts

QUOTE(deShinyDevil @ Feb 26 2010, 10:45 PM)
if i want to enroll in tarc in electronic engineering, any comment from u? and what is meant by IR title?
tarc is not bad, but nowadays, they go for utar/ private uni, why specific reason you go for tarc? financial kind? to be frank, uni is more like a short cut, and i heard rumors had it that tarc is tougher than other uni/colleges

IR= title given to Professional Engineer ( IR= engineer in french = Ingénieur )

if you're into EE, IR isnt relevent, but if you're in civil, IR title helps a lot(lots and lots of $).

Added on February 27, 2010, 9:59 am
QUOTE(blazexak @ Feb 26 2010, 11:16 AM)
Hi everyone smile.gif  I just obtained my STPM results yesterday, i get a A- for my physics and PA respectively and B+ for my

this field???  hmm.gif Anybody taking aerospace engineering degree out there? can gimme some of your view??????/
pretty good, do you love planes or fighter? smile.gif that would be more motivated goal smile.gif

but defense industry in msia is pretty limited and race bias, but after you graduated u can try for SG smile.gif ( hence the brain drain )

Added on February 27, 2010, 10:08 amhem, seems like every post on this topic, forgot to mention one thing.

no matter how much you love to solve problem, make robot love maths, love physics. You need to study real hard in the 4/5 years course.

Every year one subject of engineering maths, but, no big deal, just study hard. Anyway hard work pays wink.gif

but the title engineer sounds good in the ears of in-laws though smile.gif

Added on February 27, 2010, 10:15 am
QUOTE(yixuany @ Feb 9 2010, 11:35 PM)
@FinFin and @scholy same dilemma here too. =(
i'm interested in maths and physics,i like understanding,analyzing and problem solving rather than memorizing facts. this kinda points to engineering right?
tho i'm not sure if i'll enjoy a career as an engineer? so i would really love to hear ur thoughts bout this...
well , your interest shows you're suitable to study. But no matter where you go, you need to memorize stuff. Can you imagine a doctor checking internet or books upon your diagnosis? Its just like studying SPm, but a little bit harder.

Engineer is a job, just like a sales person, a computer fixing guy. BUt, with a lot more responsibility.

Your technician works 7-4, so he can leaves at 4pm no matter what happens. but you need to stand there fix it until 6am in the morning ( happened to me) and no complain and comparing.

Can you stand stress? Will you snap easily?

But to be frank, the ability to work until pressure, is the key to excel, no matter where you go.

Choose the one you love, and love the one you chosen. But engineering is very flexible, you can always change your career after you graduate smile.gif they said engineering is one of the toughest, this i dunno : )

This post has been edited by stinger82: Feb 27 2010, 10:15 AM
deShinyDevil
post Feb 27 2010, 01:21 PM

907 posts

QUOTE(stinger82 @ Feb 27 2010, 09:57 AM)
tarc is not bad, but nowadays, they go for utar/ private uni, why specific reason you go for tarc? financial kind? to be frank, uni is more like a short cut, and i heard rumors had it that tarc is tougher than other uni/colleges

IR= title given to Professional Engineer ( IR=  engineer in french = Ingénieur )

if you're into EE, IR isnt relevent, but if you're in civil, IR title helps a lot(lots and lots of $).

Added on February 27, 2010, 9:59 am
maybe i can finish my diploma in tarc then transfer to do my degree in utar since tarc only have until adv. diploma. and another thing is qualification by board of engineers malaysia (bem), is it impoartant to make sure the course i study accredited by bem?
zeroty
post Feb 28 2010, 01:23 PM

95 posts

I'm interested in civil engineering. Can anyone tell me more about it and maybe share some experience? thanks a lot.
BillySteel
post Mar 1 2010, 11:41 PM

661 posts

QUOTE(blazexak @ Feb 26 2010, 12:16 PM)

Aerospace engineering is quite a good subject to study because your 'advance knowledge' in aerodynamics will allow you to be hired by car/aero/defense/design companies-Im not sure but maybe shipbuilding companies also.

Currently Malaysia has a growing aerospace industry, cant say how long will that last but the demand is there for the time being.

77 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0252sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 04:05 PM